We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Avinguda de Francesc Cambo 14, 08003 Barcelona Spain
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
$350
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$351
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/23/22
Expedia.com$351
Priceline
eDreams$351
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (221)
Room & Suite (80)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/14/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Barcelona EDITION
Updated 06/14/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#52 of 541 hotels in Barcelona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

The Barcelona EDITION is a luxury lifestyle boutique hotel located in the city center, beside Picasso Museum and the Barcelona Gothic Cathedral, adjacent to the Santa Caterina Market and steps away from Plaça de Catalunya, Passeig de Gràcia and Barceloneta beach. More than 15 iconic Barcelona’s main sights and historic landmarks are walking distance from the hotel, avoiding any transportation while discovering Barcelona’s best kept secrets.

The hotel epitomizes luxury through the personal, intimate, individualized and unique hotel local experience and the timelessly elegant design that Ian Schrager is known for.

The Barcelona EDITION features 100 stylish and sophisticated rooms and suites with custom-made Le Labo bathroom amenities, a selection of rooms with stunning views over the iconic architectural masterpiece Santa Caterina Market roof, multiple connecting rooms for family travel and exclusive penthouse suites with private panoramic terraces and extended space.

The hotel provides personalized service and inspired amenities for your stay in Barcelona. The evolving local and dynamic restaurants & bars experience includes the signature restaurant Bar Veraz with an outdoor sitting area, the renowned bespoke cocktail bar Punch Room, the clandestine supper club Cabaret and the iconic The Roof, a panoramic Mediterranean rooftop terrace for al-fresco all day dinning, offering stunning views of Barcelona and an outdoor plunge pool. Experience a one-of-a-kind restaurants and bars concept all under the same roof.

The Barcelona EDITION offers parking and 24 hours room service and includes free high-speed Wi-Fi, daily turndown service and access to the 24/7 gym.

Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 7 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
603Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
287Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
285Reviews12Q+A25Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 230
  • 31
  • 10
  • 6
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Chrissy D wrote a review Sep 23
Miami, Florida99 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
This is our last time for our first trip to Europe after 2 years hiatus because of the pandemic. I had so many people recommend this hotel as one of the best in Barcelona. The staff has been friendly and the rooftop is very lovely, but the room is the size of a shoebox. As an Amex platinum member, I usually receive an upgrade as is, as well as always ask. They said no and that none were available spite when originally booking just yesterday I saw that bigger rooms were available for my dates. My boyfriend and I cannot even maneuver around the bed and based on the map we have the smallest room the hotel even offers. The bed is very comfy but the room is so loud. We can constantly hear people in the hall and movement above us, as if it’s a motel. The view is just industrial buildings as well with sunlight coming in even with my OCD-level attempt at sealing the curtains. I’m really disappointed as I bit the bullet to spend a hefty amount to stay here and was expecting a lot more. However, we have 2 days left and I won’t let it ruin the last days of my 2 week trip, just was hoping for something better and at the level of what I paid for. Very comfy robes and treats delivered.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t book if you can only get the king bed rooms.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergi S The Barcelona EDITION, Marketing at The Barcelona EDITION
Responded yesterday
Dear Chrissy328, I would like to first extend you my apologies for the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay. It is our aim to exceed our guests' expectations and I am sorry to read that we did not manage to do so this time. We do really appreciate your feedback, it is important for us in order to improve. We hope to welcome you back to The Barcelona EDITION and provide you the memorable experience you deserve. Best regards, The Barcelona EDITION
Read more
Brian Julian wrote a review Sep 5
Los Angeles, California87 contributions93 helpful votes
To summarize: I share what the other reviewer Dewon R wrote in saying that the hotel is NOT Marriott loyalist friendly. As a guy who spends 150-200 nights a year in Marriott properties, I've seen and experienced it all - from the lowliest Moxys and Alofts to the St. Regis, Ws, and Ritzes. So let me be honest in saying that the Edition was underwhelming at best if you're used to the usual VIP treatment at any other Marriott property. To be fair, it wasn't all bad, here's an honest, objective breakdown: Pros: - Modern, new, great view. Rooms have nice finishing. - Nice rooftop bar with some select seats for in-houseguests. - Friendly staff who try their best and are helpful. - The interior design is like a grayer color palette of the W. Cons: - No breakfast (first time in 10 years as a Titanium member that I was not given any). - No lounge to compensate for the loss of said breakfast ^ - Not a big room upgrade (first time in a decade I didn't get a suite as a Titanium). - Someone woke me up from a nap in the afternoon to 'check the minibar' and didn't even apologize when I told them I was taking a siesta. - Atmosphere can be a bit pretentious. AKA: kind of people who do things 'for the gram' probably like this place. I've stayed at many hotels in Barcelona and preferred Le Meridien and even the Renaissance over this one. Sure, they're not as trendy, but not only more centrally located but offer way more despite being having the price. But above all, my main problem with this property is of they don't want to recognize Marriott brand loyalists and Elite members, then why be part of the Marriott chain in the first place? Just stay independent.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Book a suite because you won't get upgraded even for your loyalty
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergi S The Barcelona EDITION, Marketing at The Barcelona EDITION
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear blttavo, First of all, I would like to present you our most sincere apologies with regards to your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations. I would also like to thank you for the time you have taken to break down the positive and negative aspects about your experience at The Barcelona EDITION. We value very much our guests' feedback, as it helps us to improve. We would like nothing more but to welcome you back and provide you with the memorable experience you deserve. Best regards, The Barcelona EDITION
Read more
ritchie m wrote a review Sep 2
Honolulu, Hawaii1 contribution1 helpful vote
Great Hotel Location and Outstanding Staff and Service. I would especially like to recognize Mr Munir Viñas.. I had left my wallet in room and ìt was found a day later but I was at the Westin in Valencia.. 300 + KM Mr Viñas volunteered to take the train to Valencia to return wallet.. as we would be going to Croatia in 48 hours. My "Readers Choice" Lifetime Award 😀... Muchas Gracia to all at EDITION and Westim
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Dewon R wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York17 contributions8 helpful votes
My partner and I were so excited to stay at this new hotel as the finale to our amazing weeklong trip exploring Spain. With the price per night close to 250 Euro for a basic room, we expected a lot (especially given that I am a Lifetime Platinum Bonvoy member). Sadly, we were disappointed and actually checked out early and switched to the Le Meridian after 2 nights, where we received the type of service and benefits, I am accustomed to for Platinum Elite members (complimentary breakfast and huge suite upgrade). Let’s start with the Pros: - Very modern new hotel. With great finishes - Staff are all impeccably dressed - The Rooftop is beautiful- amazing views of the city. Good drinks and food - Breakfast was delicious - They sent me a delicious chocolate dessert as they knew we celebrating my belated birthday - Great location and great products in the bathroom (Le Labo) And now the cons: - This hotel is not for you if you are an Elite Bonvoy member. You do not get breakfast as a benefit. We were offered the “special price” of 19 Euro each for breakfast. We decided to try it out on our last day there. While very delicious, upon checkout, they tried to charge me 68 Euro for breakfast! This was resolved eventually. - For the price you pay per night here, I was underwhelmed. The room is tiny, although modern. I was told I was “upgraded”- the upgrade was basically the same room with a couch at the window. And the view from the couch? 3 giant trashcans. Very disappointing - There is very minimal closet space. No bedside drawers for storage. 2 of the drawers in the closet were occupied with bar items for purchase which I had to empty and use for clothes. The bed is also very Soft- if you like firm beds or accustomed to Marriott’s heavenly beds, be warned. Also, after about 5 failed requests for “firm pillows”, we were finally sent what they called their firmest pillows, which were honestly subpar- we had to use the throw pillows from the couch to get some neck support. - When we tried to check out early due to our unhappiness, we were told we would be charged an extra night- so we were forced to stray an extra night. Upon arriving back in New York, I noticed that the tip we left on the rooftop bar the first day was charged as 14 Euro, instead of the 4 Euro which I distinctly remember leaving as the tip on the receipt- very sketchy. I did not complain, as it is totally not worth it. - The bar has great views and great food and drinks but honestly is way overpriced. - After spending over 650 Euros for 2 nights at this hotel, I was only credited 2500 Bonvoy points for this stay which definitely seemed incorrect. When I contacted Bonvoy customer services about it, they immediately adjusted it to the correct amount of over 10,000 points. Overall, we were very disappointed. If you want a modern hotel and don’t care about things like Elite benefits, storage for your clothes or sleeping comfort, then go for it. I do not think this hotel compares remotely to other 5-star Marriott hotels we stayed at during this Spain vacation (Maria Cristina in San Sebastien; Hotel Marqués de Riscal in El Ciego; Le Meridian in Barcelona). Our next stay at Barcelona, we will stick to the Le Meridian for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sergi S The Barcelona EDITION, Marketing at The Barcelona EDITION
Responded Aug 11, 2021
Dear Dewon R, I would like to first present you our sincere apologies for your recent experience with us. I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations; we value very much your feedback as it enables us to improve our guests experiences. Our team will soon contact you with regards to your comments and the charge. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The Barcelona EDITION and provide you with the memorable experience you deserve. Best regards, The Barcelona EDITION
Read more
usdan106 wrote a review Aug 2021
3 contributions
We had an amazing stay at The Barcelona EDITION! The COVID protocols were just right and they shared so much information about the wonderful city. We were able to enjoy both breakfast and dinner at Bar Veraz as well as an afternoon at the rooftop pool - highly recommend both! Thank you Inigo Roy for your team’s exceptional work!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$357 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelonaCiutat Vella (Old Town) / Sant Pere / Sant Pere, Santa Caterina i la Ribera / El Born / La Ribera
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Barcelona EDITION
Which popular attractions are close to The Barcelona EDITION?
Nearby attractions include Palace of Catalan Music (0.2 miles), Gothic Quarter (Barri Gotic) (0.2 miles), and Basílica de Santa Maria del Mar (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Barcelona EDITION?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Barcelona EDITION?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Barcelona EDITION?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Barcelona EDITION?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Barcelona EDITION?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cremat 11, Pizzeria Da Nanni Barcelona, and Brugarol Barcelona.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Barcelona EDITION?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does The Barcelona EDITION have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Barcelona EDITION offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Barcelona EDITION located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Barcelona.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Barcelona EDITION?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Barcelona EDITION offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.