We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa del Sol

Calle de Finlandia 4, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife Spain
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (204)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (113)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#65 of 77 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Location
3.0
Cleanliness
3.7
Service
3.4
Value
3.6
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Table tennis
Car hire
Rooftop terrace
Currency exchange
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German

Location

Calle de Finlandia 4, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife Spain
Name/address in local language
Casa del Sol
207Reviews32Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 27
  • 57
  • 66
  • 27
  • 30
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
claire b wrote a review Apr 1
11 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
You get what you pay for. We booked directly with the hotel . Budget hotel but had everything we needed for a 6 day holiday. Two ring electric hob, good size fridge, (no door on the freezer compartment ) microwave, basic cutlery and crockery provided. You could buy washing liquid and dish cloth from reception. No kettle, coffee maker, pans to heat water to make hot drinks Triple room with a balcony , room was good size with wardrobe. There is a charge for the room safe of 2 euros a night. Balcony was good size with plastic chairs and table. The main bar wasn't open when we were there but you could get drinks from the small bar on the roof by the pool. (but no ice) We didn't eat in the hotel but there was a few residents having the breakfasts. The shower didn't work effectively , it took 3 consecutive days of asking to get it fixed, thanks to the helpful young lady on reception. The hotel is situated on a hill, you do get great views but if your not physically fit you will have trouble going into town. No restaurants or bars on the hill. We walked into town for our food and shopping, easy 15 min walk down, a lot slower going up. There is a bus stop at the bottom of the hill that we used to travel the north of the island. All times and information from Tourist information office at the harbor. Communication between hotel reservation department was extremely poor. They did not reply to any of my emails. I mentioned the administrative issues on our arrival to the hotel but was fobbed off by all the reception staff apart from the young lady who was the only person wanted to help. It did get sorted eventually (thanks again to the young lady on reception) but not until our last night stay. Unfortunately all the good work the young lady had shown us was destroyed as she was fed the wrong (fabricated) information from her colleagues and instigated a very heated loud argument with myself in the middle of the reception . She accused me of "Fu..ing her over" and swore several times. Her tone and language was aggressive loud and offensive. It was a real shame as she had been the only person who seemed to care about the customers. If your looking for clean, reasonable priced hotel with a good view this is it. But don't expect customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Dont need an alarm clock, cockerel will wake you up!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
leila wrote a review Mar 2024
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
Unsafe. Would not recommend. We had someone knocking on our door trying to get into our room banging and shoving the door 3 nights in a room. Hotel did nothing about it and have no CCTV and no way of monitoring who goes in and out the hotel. Also very bad location on a hill away from town. Unhygienic with dirty sheets and dated rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
glassempire wrote a review Jan 2024
Ireland26 contributions55 helpful votes
Perfect for short stay. Room service every day, squeaky clean, Reception very welcoming and helpful and selling big bottles of drinking water (ideal just for the start). Coffee machine available, also some kitchen utensils etc. Room big enough, beds comfortable. Patio all walled so that may be for keeping the privacy but for me (even as an introvert) felt like a bunker. But it was nice to sit out and watch my fav stuff on a laptop - internet is very good. There's a small kitchenette and a really big wardrobe with lots of room and enough hangers. Breakfast buffet was amazing with a galore of food for everyone. Also fab coffee and fresh juices available (loved their pineapple juice). Well, as nothing in this world is perfect... there is a catch but very easily solvable. Casa del Sol is located on the hill and the walk is rather steep - taxi from the seaside costs 5 euro so why worry? You're on holidays! In vicinity uphill there is a nice park Sortija, nice to go and relax. Down the road is a small botanic garden Sitio Litre (worth visiting, place with a soul). Bus stop is downhill called El Risco (less than 10 min walk) and uphill Taoro. Definitely recommend Casa del Sol! Lucy O'Neill from Ireland
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Uphill. Be prepared ;) Nice and quiet place. Small shop nearby. Water at the reception. Bus...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kadri A wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions
I liked that it was away from the busy streets. It is at a walking distance from the centre, quite uphill for those who don't mind. The walk to town is about 10-15 min. It seemed like it was a residential area. Parque de la Sortija is close by, amazing place and atmosphere. The staff in the hotel is friendly and helpful. There is a small kitchenette in the room. A bit basic but quiet and clean. If you are not into walking and want people around you, then you need to choose a bigger hotel somewhere by the sea.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I liked room no 201. Enough for 1 person.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michelle C wrote a review Jun 2022
North Shields, United Kingdom35 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
Value for money, definitely a budget hotel. Limited facilities, no bar unless restaurant was open (two hours in the evening) 15 min walk to the beach and promenade. Some lovely views and restaurants along the coast. Just over 3 euros taxi back to hotel. Very limited information at reception and nine of it in English (not many English visitors when we were there). Pool is nice but lacks a bar/snack facility. Courtesy bus was too small for all who wanted to use. No kettle or toaster, no dust pan and brush to clean up. Housekeeping was faultless. No information in the room about the area or other facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: You need to be able to walk a fair bit!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chris B wrote a review Feb 2022
Stafford, United Kingdom33 contributions45 helpful votes
This hotel suited us perfectly, but that is because it is no more than 200m from our friends' apartment and we only needed it as a base for going out with them. They are used to living up the hill from the town, and the €5 taxi fare back from town is normal for us all. There is a lovely walk into town down through a park, but up is tough! If you want to be in the town then this place will not do for you. There is little or nothing in the way of bars or restaurants in the immediate area, but if you are self-catering and on a limited budget than the place will work for you as there is a mini-market at the end of the road (maybe 80m away) and the rooms have self-catering facilities in the form of a microwave, heated ring and a decent fridge. The pool is lovely and the place is clean, but some fittings are showing their age. It once had a restaurant and a pool-bar, but no more. Lack of parking and difficult road-access limits the hotel's potential, but it would have been state-of-the-art fifty years ago. We signed up for breakfast, which was fine, but I do wish the Spanish went in for hotter food. Plenty of choice, but the full-English was served at full-Spanish temperatures! It is a budget place, so self-service and self-clear, but that's OK. It really is a lovely building with great views of sea and mountains. We loved it, and felt we had a bargain. There is not a shadow of doubt that we will book again, and soon, but if you want a hotel and pool-based holiday it is not for you. If you want a base to explore this lovely part of the island, then it is great.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Efficient new lift, so go high for views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Una wrote a review Feb 2022
Sligo, Ireland20 contributions9 helpful votes
Okay so first off our room was TINY, it smelled when we first walked in but I guess we got used to it after a while. The decor is very dated and there’s no life in this place. You have to walk the steepest hill of your life to get to town and back. Honestly if you’re carrying extra weight like myself it’s hell, we wasted lots of money on taxis just to avoid it. Staff seem nice enough, although even though we stayed for 10 nights they couldn’t even give us late checkout. I dunno what to say I guess it’s cheap but you’ll find much better quality on air bnb. I would avoid this place and I wish the reviews had warned me in advance…
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: You can get better places for your money
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
lisanmartin wrote a review Jan 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom20 contributions3 helpful votes
Absolutely loved this hotel....yes basic but just a base. We stayed for new year and the weather was beautiful....pool area adequate if you dont like it busy....the reception staff were great both day and night staff.....had breakfast one morning...was pleasently surprised....yes its at the top of a very big steep hill but is a nice walk down into town...we just caught a taxi back which was around 4 euros.....we have booked to go back in may for a week.....would recommend booking a room on the 5th floor.....the views are spectacular...could not fault this hotel x
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rose M wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed here for a week with my friend. Yes it was clean,tidy and the staff were friendly but I could feel the springs through the mattress so did my friend so we did not sleep very well. There was also a very bad smell coming from the bathroom which seemed to be coming from the drains. The pool bar which was advertised as open was not open once when we were there. I do not think I would recommend this hotel to my friends.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from grupopezazulturismo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa del Sol
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Dear Customer, We appreciate your stay and comments. We regret not having lived up to your expectations and, of course, we will take into account the information you transmit to improve the service offered. With best regards. Reservations department
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ian C wrote a review Oct 2018
Aintree, United Kingdom31 contributions21 helpful votes
just come back from a 4 day break, this hotel was TO US just a base and it did it very well, it is a basic hotel but Clean and Friendly, located up a steep hill.The pool is on the terrace plenty of sun lounges with mattresses which i was pleasantly surprised about.The only problem there was no Kettle, but we managed with a pan of boiling water for our tea and coffee, it has a two ring hob and a micro wave some cutlery plates and glasses, there is no air con in the room, there is safe it costs 2 euro per day with a 10 euro deposit, it does have a shower but the water pressure is rubbish the hotter you have it it will trickle, these are just small gripes but it really is a lovely hotel. In the local area are two small mini markets selling basic foods, there is a lovely cafe locally serving food and alcohol. Now if you want to go to the beach were the shops are it is down a very steep hill, felt like my calves were on fire, but it about a ten minute walk there are loads of bars and shops really cheap, we walked back up the hill once then decided never again, we ended up getting a taxi costs only 5 euro. This was a cheap break weather was brilliant and people friendly i would recommend this hotel as a base but nothing more.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Qmanagerservice, Director de Recepción at Casa del Sol
Responded Oct 10, 2018
Good Afternoon Mr. Ian; Thanks so much for taking your time and sharing your experience in Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you have a good time with us. We hope to see you soon Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Puerto de la Cruz area.
PRICE RANGE
$38 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
casa del sol hotel puerto de la cruz
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsTenerifePuerto de la Cruz
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASA DEL SOL $34 ($̶5̶1̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Puerto de la Cruz, Spain

Frequently Asked Questions about Casa del Sol
Which popular attractions are close to Casa del Sol?
Nearby attractions include Xwander Tenerife (0.2 miles), Parque Taoro (0.3 miles), and Jardin de Orquideas de Sitio Litre (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa del Sol?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Casa del Sol?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Casa del Sol?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Casa del Sol?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Rey de las Tortillas, Park Cafe-Restaurante, and Tasca Paso Doble.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Casa del Sol?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Casa del Sol?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Casa del Sol?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Castillo de San Felipe (0.9 miles), The English Library Tenerife (0.3 miles), and Bateria de Santa Bárbara (0.7 miles).
Does Casa del Sol have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Casa del Sol accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.