We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Silken Saaj Maar

C. de San Telmo, 18, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife Spain
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (199)
Room & Suite (89)
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#73 of 77 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
3.0
Service
3.0
Value
2.7

Finding an ideal budget friendly hotel in Puerto de la Cruz does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Hotel San Telmo, a nice option for travelers like you.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Puerto de la Cruz, Hotel San Telmo is located a short distance from Historico Muelle Pesquero Puerto de la Cruz (0.1 mi) and Iglesia de Nuestra Senora de la Pena Francia (0.2 mi).

Hotel San Telmo features a 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and currency exchange, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and free breakfast.

If you like seafood restaurants, Hotel San Telmo is conveniently located near Regulo, Cofradia de Pescadores, and Terraza del Mar.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular castles such as Castillo de San Felipe.

Hotel San Telmo looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Puerto de la Cruz.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Public wifi
Pool
Restaurant
Game room
Billiards
Car hire
Concierge
Sun terrace
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more
272Reviews10Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 38
  • 68
  • 48
  • 43
  • 75
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ossskrarrr wrote a review Oct 2020
12 contributions13 helpful votes
Of course, it depends on what is most important for you, but if you're looking for a cheap place to stay in the center of Puerto de la Cruz, well-communicated with all tourist attractions, with a few nice beaches nearby and easy access to multiple bars, shops and cafés, with friendly and helpful staff serving really good food in the local restaurant this is definitely a place for you. Also, central bus station is not far from this hotel, so you can easily get from Puerto de la Cruz to any other part of the island by bus. This is only *** hotel, so you shouldn't expect any luxuries, but it is clean and beds are comdortable. There is also a pool on the roof, but it is very small, probably it would be good for children, however you'll have quite nice view of the ocean from there. The only thing I could complain about is all noises I heard from the corridor and from the room of our neighbors, rooms are not well soundproofed. Anyway, for that price is perfect, imho. So, I recommend this hotel for people who do not spend too much time in the room and treat hotel mainly as a place for sleeping and eating :) good luck!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL SAN TELMO SAN TELMO, Director General at Hotel Silken Saaj Maar
Responded Oct 27, 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for your comprehensive assessment of our hotel.We are happy that you found what you were looking for on your holiday with us. We are happy that you value our services, the location of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you for recommending us and we hope that you will return very soon to enjoy Tenerife and the Hotel San Telmo Mar. Best regards, Guests Relations Team Hotel San Telmo Mar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Storyteller267412 wrote a review Sep 2020
Livingston, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked in for 12 nights, the only good thing about hotel is location. Rooms are clean But certainly not superior room that I paid for. About half way through holiday hotel was overtaken by about 40 African refugees, who were also put up in the alleged superior rooms. They loitered around stair wells and in communal areas. They knocked on my door a few times which meant I had to be asked to move rooms. I paid to come on holiday to relax enjoy The sun This has been wasted by feeling uncomfortable around refugees. The breakfasts are diabolical, have given up on eggs as I have returned them twice because they are cold. Just having a roll on jam. They have served spare ribs 4 times in 10 days. No imagination. Have asked to speak to manager on several occasions, but he never seems to be around. Safe to say would not recommend and won’t be back
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don’t book
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL SAN TELMO SAN TELMO, General Manager at Hotel Silken Saaj Maar
Responded Sep 30, 2020
Dear guest, We regret that the assessment of our hotel has not been positive. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location in the heart of Puerto de la Cruz. As for the accommodation of immigrants in our hotel with the collaboration of the Red Cross, we must emphasize their fantastic behaviour. We are very proud of our decision and our guests enjoy their stay with complete normality. We hope you will visit us soon. Best regards, Guests Relations Team Hotel San Telmo Mar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Villeneuve1959 wrote a review Jan 2020
Salisbury, United Kingdom120 contributions71 helpful votes
Location good. Building showing its age with now-old doors to terrace difficult to slide. Tired/dated decoration in common areas. Basin in room badly cracked; had to get them to unblock drain from this and bath. Room very basically furnished though bed was ok. One evening meal I had not to be repeated. Breakfast limited in choice, and poor quality ingredients. My request for a room on top floor made months ago ignored. Could be so much better if the management upped their game...
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL SAN TELMO S, Manager at Hotel Silken Saaj Maar
Responded Jan 31, 2020
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us and the rest of the users. We appreciate your fantastic comments on the excellent location. On the other hand, we are sorry for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We take note of all your comments and suggestions to try and improve our guests' experience. However, we would like to clarify that room assignments are made on a reservation basis. We hope that this incident does not tarnish your memory of your stay at our hotel and decide to visit us again soon. Best regards, Guests Relations Team Hotel San Telmo Mar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anca M wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
I really loved this hotel. The location is perfect, the room was big, spacious with balcony and sea view from the side.The food was very good and the staff were amazing. we will definitely go there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL SAN TELMO S, Manager at Hotel Silken Saaj Maar
Responded Jan 14, 2020
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us and the rest of the users and for giving us the highest score. We appreciate that you value the hotel in general, our excellent location, the spaciousness, the views and comfort of the room, the food service and the fantastic work done by the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Best regards, Guests Relations Team Hotel San Telmo Mar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Loo2u wrote a review Dec 2019
2 contributions3 helpful votes
We got this on a last minute deal. I dont understand why there`s so many bad reviews on here. The staff were friendly, rooms clean, and the breakfast had plenty of choice. I would have no problem returning again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL SAN TELMO S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Silken Saaj Maar
Responded Dec 26, 2019
Dear Loo2u, Thank you very much for sending us your opinion about our hotel. Thank you very much for all your comments about the excellent work of all our team, our rooms and the breakfast service. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Guests Relations Team Hotel San Telmo Mar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Danny Boy wrote a review Nov 2019
County Londonderry, United Kingdom53 contributions35 helpful votes
We were staying in Costa Adeje and went up to Puerto de la Cruz and stayed overnight in the San Telmo Hotel. We had a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony overlooking the sea.The reception area and the rooftop bar and restaurant are bright and airy. The bedrooms are a bit basic but clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was fine and the staff friendly. The hotel is in a great location with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. It is an ideal place for a short stay. We got a very good B&B rate and intend to stay there again when back in Tenerife
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Pay for a sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL SAN TELMO S, Manager at Hotel Silken Saaj Maar
Responded Nov 18, 2019
Dear Derek, Thank you very much for assessing your stay at our hotel and for transferring us such fantastic comments. We are happy to know that our excellent location right in front of the sea, the reception, the bar and the roof terrace stands out. We also appreciate your comments about the buffet breakfast, the excellent work done by all the team and the fantastic value for money. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Guests Relations Team Hotel San Telmo Mar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GEORGE M wrote a review Nov 2019
DUNFERMLINE2 contributions9 helpful votes
On arrival we were put into room 115. An inside room looking out into an internal light well with a view of a wall. When we asked to be moved to what we understood to be the type of room we had booked (sea view and balcony) , we were told "maybe tomorrow or the day after" . This room move cost me an additional 10 euros per night . After talking to other guests it appears that this was a common occurrence. The food was uninspiring and bland with little choice . The hotel even ran out of muesli and substituted dry oats instead . We ended up eating out more than we intended to as a result . When the time came for us to leave our flight was not until after 1.00 am the following day. We packed our cases and went for a last stroll and returned at 12.30 pm to be met by the reception staff who scowled at us and let us know in a very unfriendly manner that we were meant to vacate the room by 12.00 . We were not told about this . As we went to the room we were followed by the domestic staff member who muttered under her breath and kept looking at her watch and scowled at us as we were collecting our things . We were not even out of the room when she stormed in and started to haul the sheets from the beds and threw them on the floor. She threw the remote control for the T.V. to me and said "reception" . Not good !! The staff in the dining area were good however and no complaints there. We will not be following through on our plans to return in 2020 for the Carnival. Going to stay at this hotel was one of the worse decisions I have ever made.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: be prepared to pay extra after you have been put into a rubbish room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL SAN TELMO S, Manager at Hotel Silken Saaj Maar
Responded Nov 13, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us and other users. We deeply regret the inconveniences you had during your stay here. About the room we have to say that we always assign the room based on the reservation made, and so we always do. As for the food, daily many guests visit us and are satisfied with this service, we regret that there is not always your case. In addition, our team always tries to do its best work to ensure the comfort and positive experience of all our guests. The check out time was duly informed at the time of booking. It is necessary to leave the room in time to prepare it for the next guests, however, we always offer to keep the luggage if our visitors want to take a final walk. However, we apologize again for all the inconveniences you encountered here and will take note of your comments to improve for the future. We hope that you will be able to change your mind and visit us again soon. Best regards, Guests Relations Team Hotel San Telmo Mar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Klaudia R wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I would definitely not recommend this hotel! It caused me more stress and distaste more than anything. The rooms are not very clean and are extremely old fashioned!The staff don’t know a thing about anything and are not helpful one bit. The bathroom and room is not pleasant to stay in and from the first day I couldn’t wait to leave this place. The food was not any better, it wasn’t fresh and lacked flavour. Overall this is definitely one of the worse hotels I have been to. This hotel should definitely not be rated 3 stars, I have been to other hotels with the same ranking and they don’t even compare to this. It has ruined my whole family trip and Tenerife experience. If you are looking for somewhere that’s a holiday nightmare this is definitely the place to be!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL SAN TELMO S, Gerente at Hotel Silken Saaj Maar
Responded Oct 23, 2019
Dear Klaudia, Thank you for letting us know your opinion about your stay with us. We deeply regret that you got such a negative impression of your experience here, that our hotel has not lived up to your expectations and that you have not been able to enjoy your holidays. We are sorry for all the inconvenience you had during your holidays and we regret that your expectations were too high considering you had booked a 3-star hotel. However, we value all opinions equally and take note to continue improving for the future. We hope that you will be able to give us a second opportunity and visit us again on another occasion. Best regards, Guests Relations Team, Hotel San Telmo Mar.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
maryX288RC wrote a review Sep 2019
Roscommon, Ireland19 contributions30 helpful votes
I stayed in this hotel for a week. A very clean accommodating hotel but basic. Staff were lovely and friendly and assisted us with any enquiries we had. The hotel is very central to all amenities. Ypo do need to ask for a room with balcony thou. Yes I would recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL SAN TELMO S, Manager at Hotel Silken Saaj Maar
Responded Sep 11, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you very much for assessing your stay at our hotel and for transferring us such fantastic comments. We appreciate your words about our team, our great location and for appreciating the team's effort to keep the facility clean. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Guests Relations Team Hotel San Telmo Mar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dave f wrote a review Aug 2019
19 contributions1 helpful vote
aftear reading some reviews we was a bit nervous about booking here but all was ok . staff was freindly the place was clean. breakfast ok nice room with a great sea view .great location.we could allways get a sunbed. bad points no fridge in the room. & when we was by the pool & went down to the bar to get a drink there was nobody at the bar most of the time it could do with a bell .all in all for the price we paid we was happy & would use here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: sea view a must due to no aircon
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTEL SAN TELMO S, Manager at Hotel Silken Saaj Maar
Responded Aug 16, 2019
Dear Dave, we appreciate that you have taken a few minutes to share with us and the other TripAdvisor users your experience in our hotel. WE are glad to know that our facilities were clean and the food, views, rooms and location were to your liking. We also appreciate your kind words about the staff and they were friendly with you whole your stay. We take into account your tips to improve our services, we will make as soon as possible. Best regards, Guests Relations Team Hotel San Telmo Mar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Puerto de la Cruz area.
PRICE RANGE
$118 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
san telmo hotel
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsTenerifePuerto de la Cruz
NUMBER OF ROOMS
91
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL SILKEN SAAJ MAAR - Prices & Reviews (Puerto de la Cruz, Spain)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Silken Saaj Maar
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Silken Saaj Maar?
Nearby attractions include The Molly Malone (0.2 miles), Iglesia de Nuestra Senora de la Pena Francia (0.2 miles), and Bee Hive Pub (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Silken Saaj Maar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Silken Saaj Maar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Silken Saaj Maar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ibéricos Gastro-Bar, Indian Crown Tandoori, and Vinoteca Con Pasión.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Silken Saaj Maar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Silken Saaj Maar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Silken Saaj Maar?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Castillo de San Felipe (0.8 miles), The English Library Tenerife (0.7 miles), and Bateria de Santa Bárbara (0.2 miles).
Does Hotel Silken Saaj Maar have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.