We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Calle Calzada Martianez 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife Spain
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Priceline
$93
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/27/22
Traveluro
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1061)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (568)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 04/18/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 04/18/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 84 in Puerto de la Cruz
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
4.0
Welcome to the Gran Hotel El Tope where you will be made to feel at home during your stay with us.Our philosophy is to create a warm and enjoyable atmosphere where all our guests are considered to be our friends.Enjoy the calmness and the facilities provided in a warm and cosy family-like atmosphere where our kind staff members will be on hand to assist you at all times.Our hotel reflects the hospitality typical of the area as acknowledged by our guests.Our guests will enjoy free Wireless DSL Internet access throughout the hotel. The Gran Hotel El Tope is magnificently located with a panoramic view of Puerto de La Cruz and the fabulous Valle de la Orotava. In addition, it is also adjacent to the Martianez Shopping Centre, which is less than five minutes walk from the Atlantic Ocean beach and next to the fabulous swimming pool complex, Lago Martianez. The hotel is only 25 and 90 kilometres from the airports Tenerife North and Tenerife South, respectively. Each room is spacious and bright with a unique and elegant character, where every detail makes a difference. Our en suite facilities included fully equipped bathrooms, hair dryer, T.V., Telephone, wall-to-wall carpet and air-conditioning, as well as an optional safe and a mini bar. Their balconies are overlooking the sea or offer a view to the mountains.The swimming pool is located in a unique setting surrounded by green vegetation and magnificent gardens.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Billiards
Car hire
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German

Location

Full view
96Great for walkers
Grade: 96 out of 100
105Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
30Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1466Reviews156Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 491
  • 524
  • 263
  • 101
  • 87
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ale wrote a review May 22
Manchester, United Kingdom14 contributions10 helpful votes
Great hotel for the price we paid. Reception staff and housekeepers friendly and the room was spotless cleaned every day with fresh towels. Decent pool area with bar serving drinks and snacks. Breakfast had plenty of variety for a classic continental breakfast. Hotel entertainment wasn’t great, it catered to the elderly residents, there’s plenty of elderly people in this area. Location is fantastic so close to everything, up or down the hill. The steps are a lot, but we found walking up the road easier. You’d only struggle if you were really really unfit. It’s worth it for the views anyway. Would stay again if was in the area. Enjoyed the free parking also.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: To not choose “breakfast included” but to explore some local places.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Linzi wrote a review May 7
2 contributions
We came here for a 4 day break, we arrived late and the man on the desk was very nice. However when we got to our room we didn’t have a balcony (we had this stated on our booking) we did get our room changed but the balcony looked over to some amazing views it’s blocked with a horrible Perspex glass so unless you stand up you can’t see anything. We only had breakfast included which had a lot of variety of very strange foods!! Sprouts and carrots was a veggie option one morning?? This hotel is not close to the beach or bars it requires going down a very steep hill or 50+ stairs, there is no music round the pool, no games , no activities, no pool snacks, Real lack of atmosphere, there was a mention of pool towels? This was never offered to us. The staff in the breakfast room were not friendly at all, The rooms are large and the shower was great but there is no tea/coffee making facilities and the beds are so hard and uncomfortable. The evening entertainment consisted of a very bright lit room with a singer, we was only there 4 nights and she played twice in that time so not much variety. I don’t recommend this hotel to families, or people with mobility issues. I’m glad we stayed no longer than 4 days We spent most of our time out of the hotel , lots of nice bars and restaurants. We even paid to go into the huge swimming pool next to the sea !! Amazing!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Machado Galan, Director General at Hotel El Tope
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your comment, your opinion is important to us. We are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations during your stay with us, it is a pity that you did not enjoy your holiday. We have several types of rooms, and depending on their characteristics they have different rates. We also have in our lobby bar, singers every night. Our pool towel service is available to all our guests, at reception and directly in the pool area, where the lifeguard attends you. We send you our best regards, El Tope team
Read more
Kaylee J wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I stayed here with a friend for four nights. Every day our rooms were cleaned, beds made, new towels and toilet paper etc. On our arrival they had provided a bottle of bubbly as I had explained prior to our visit that we were celebrating my friends birthday, it was such a nice touch! We had the sea view with a balcony and would highly recommend this room as the view was amazing! The hotel is beautiful and spacious and we found all staff to be very welcoming and accommodating to anything we needed. We only had breakfast included, and we both felt the variety of food was good! They had pastries, warm normal breakfast foods, yoghurts and fruit and salamis etc there really was something for everyone. Also breakfast running until 10:30 is really good. The pool area was on the smaller side but more than ample for what we needed, it was never busy and often had the pool to ourselves anyway. Plenty of sunbeds available and it was always manned. I did not use the gym but I did see it, it is a small gym but there were free weights and cable machines. There was also a beauty parlour in the hotel. I would advise those staying to try Lago Martiánez, it’s about a 5/10 minute walk from the hotel and costs $5.50 to get in but there are over 5 pools, the pools are beautiful there and the staff are so friendly - the man on admission even remembered us on our second visit! The cocktails are beautiful there and good prices too. The hotel is located on a hill but both my friend and I didn’t find this a problem but I could see how those with mobility issues may struggle slightly. There’s plenty of options when you walk down for food and shops etc, there is a supermarket really close to the hotel also. This hotel is really close to the Agatha Christie steps which is a must see! I would also recommend those going to this hotel to go to Loro Parque, it is a really good day out. There are free trains going near the McDonald’s by the hotel which are beautiful to go on as you can see the area. Overall, the hotel was beautiful and we could not fault our service. The location was perfect for us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Machado Galan, Director General at Hotel El Tope
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your detailed and wonderful review about your stay at our hotel and for sharing your experience with other travellers, for us your opinion is very important, it motivates us to improve every day. It is a pleasure for us to know that you have spent a great holiday with us, that we have met your expectations, and that you have enjoyed our gastronomic offer and our facilities. If you decide to return to Puerto de la Cruz, do not hesitate to choose us again, we will be delighted to welcome you back. See you then, Best regards, El Tope team
Read more
Sue N wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Firstly please ignore the bad reviews. This hotel hits all the right places. My room was spotless, very spacious, bed comfy , the shower was amazing always plenty of hot water and a beautiful view. Food plenty of choice. Must say lunchtime very limited as no buffet, served off a menu. The staff work really hard at making you feel welcome a little wave if not serving you. Meet some lovely people, some who having been going there twice a year, for the past 18 years. That alone speaks for its self. Probably not the best places if you have mobility issues as up a steep hill or about a million steps .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Machado Galan, Director General at Hotel El Tope
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your review, for your praise for our staff and for sharing your great experience with other travellers. Your feedback is important to us! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our facilities and our services. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too far future! With our best wishes, Best regards, El Tope team
Read more
Cristina R wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had our stay in hotel El Tope in April 2022 and I’ve been really surprised ( in good way ). first of all we arrived at the hotel around 1 o’clock at night after a very long journey and a delayed flight, and we’ve been welcomed with little meal , which to us meant a lot at that time , as we been starving lol. The food provided was lovely , big variety of pastry , fruits , types of breads , salads , warm meals , yogurts , grilled and desserts. A lot of light food , mainly vegetables dishes, variety of cheeses which is very good for hot season. They had drinks for any taste. The housekeepers doing a great job , as the whole place is literally shining of cleanliness, room been cleaned everyday and towels changed constantly. The staff from restaurant working hard and doing a great job. Friendly , nice , even if their English was not as good they still tried to make everything comfortable for us. The hotel is located on a hill so this can be a little inconvenient. Reception staff friendly and helpful as well. I have to admit I have been bit scared reading the bad reviews but the things changed as soon as we stepped in the hotel. Is true , many elderly people there as I read , but this have nothing to do with the hotel. Why would you care who is sitting next to your table ? :) I liked their idea with “a la carte” service for lunch , if they wold do it buffet type , a lot of food would go to waste. El Tope been a good choice and I will come back any time. The town itself is a little heaven. Good job El Tope team , hope to see you again !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Rent a motorbike is best choice for these roads , views and town
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Machado Galan, Director General at Hotel El Tope
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your kind review and for sharing your experience with other travellers. We are glad to hear that we have met your expectations and that you have enjoyed our facilities and services. We thank you for your compliments towards our staff, your opinion is very important to us because it motivates us to keep improving every day. If you return to Puerto de la Cruz, we will be pleased to welcome you again, With our best wishes Best regards , El Tope team
Read more
Jess wrote a review Apr 2022
9 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed here for 10 days in April 2022. The hotel looked nothing like the photos. The staff were extremely rude and unwelcoming to the point we actually had to speak to a manager about the way we were treated by a particular member of staff. The food wasn’t up to our standards so ended up eating out most days even though we had paid for all inclusive. We found it strange how we paid for all inclusive and yet we were unable to get a drink until 11am as that’s when the downstairs bar opened and any drinks ordered after 11pm we had to pay for. We were constantly asking for toilet roll as the cleaners wouldn’t replace empty rolls and found they weren’t the best at cleaning our room. The shower in our room was broken and it was a slight hazard for our 3 year old daughter who kept hurting herself on the drain in the shower. We seemed to be happier when we weren’t in the hotel as the customer service was just shocking. The only decent thing about it was the bed itself. We shall not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Machado Galan, Director General at Hotel El Tope
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, your opinion is important for us! We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. It is a pity that you have not enjoyed our services, nor our gastronomic offer. We have a wide range of local, national and international dishes, for breakfast uffet and dinner buffet. With our best wishes, Best regards, El Tope Team
Read more
Farzana K wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Apart from a room to sleep in, this place offered nothing else. The main desk staff were rude! (What does it take to get a smile) Most hotels I have stayed in offer complimentary water but here everything required payment. The bed I slept in, rattled and squeaked every time I turned. The pillows had no life in them. The location was nice and it gave us somewhere to sleep but besides that, I wasn’t too pleased. Upon leaving we had to check out at 12pm but our shuttle transfer was not until 5pm. We were advised by the lady staff member, we could use the facilities and if we required a room to shower and change in, a courtesy room would be provided. There were 8 of us, so when we asked for a courtesy room the manager only allowed us a tiny one bedroom space!!!! What a joke!!!! The atmosphere was a little strange, we were stared at every time we entered or left the premises. This wasn’t just at the hotel though, we felt stared at anywhere we went. Maybe because we were naturally browner than those trying to get brown???!! 😂
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Machado Galan, Director General at Hotel El Tope
Responded Apr 11, 2022
Thank you for your review. Your opinion is important for us to improve the quality of our services. We are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations. Check out time it is at 12pm, and whenever the client needs it, we offer one or two, it depens of ocupation, courtesy room, to provide a comfort service, you can change or shower before leaving the hotel. We would be pleasure to welcome you again, Best regards, El Tope Team
Read more
Paula E wrote a review Mar 2022
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom69 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
We booked this hotel not knowing much about it. We had read in the comments that it was full of elderly people. We found there was a mix of age ranges staying at the hotel. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. It was my partners birthday whilst there so i had asked for something to be noted on his bday. We arrived to champagne on ice and again on his birthday 4 days later! The bedroom, bathroom and balcony were really spacious and again very clean. There is a modern mixer shower fitted which was lovely and water pressure was fab. There’s fitted in air con/fans. We were bed and breakfast. The breakfast was presented as a buffet with a wide range of choices, there were different types of bread/baguettes, there were all items available to make a full English breakfast, there were all types of fruits, cereals, pastries, pancakes and much more. The food tasted fresh and you can have as much or little as you like. There were also a selection of fruit juices, coffees and teas available. The hotel is set on a steep hill, so this could be a problem for some, for us it was good to get our steps in each day! We did get a taxi back also once or twice for around €4. There is everything you need at the bottom of the hill, tonnes of restaurants serving different cuisines, supermarkets, mini markets, dessert parlours, gift stores, perfume and cosmetic stores, clothing stores and so on. The weather wasn’t sunbathing weather when we visited but we had enough to do to locally to keep us busy. Very happy with our stay would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Machado Galan, Director General at Hotel El Tope
Responded Apr 12, 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your lovely review with other travelers. Your opinion for us is very important. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and we are glad to know that you have enjoyed the hotel services and our wide gastronomic offer. We would be more than happy to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, El Tope Team
Read more
Isabel S wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I had a lovely stay. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The receptionists were very kind, as were the bar staff, housekeeping and the pool attendant. I was all inclusive and the food and drinks selection were fantastic, good quality and a lot to choose from. Location is was very good, less than 10 minute walk to the sea to swim and the nearest bus stop is 2 minutes away and is very well connected with services around the island. Room was very modern, clean and comfortable, with a beautiful huge shower and floor length mirrors. I had a very relaxing stay, thank you to all your staff!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Machado Galan, Director General at Hotel El Tope
Responded Apr 12, 2022
Thank you very much for your review and for sharing it with other travelers. We are very happy to know that you had a very relaxing stay with us and that you have enjoyed our facilities and our gastronomic offer. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again, until then we wish you the best, Best regards, El Tope Team
Read more
Sue M wrote a review Feb 2022
40 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here for 8 nights, late February, Booking a sea view room half board. Overall - hotel very clean, rooms comfy, good sea view. Good shower and hairdryer in bathroom. No kettle in room which was annoying. Cigarette and snack machines in foyer. Cushions provided for sun beds, staff very on point with wiping things down and observing covid safety. Hotel was situated on a really steep hill - its definitely not suitable if you have mobility issue. A car is essential, however, totally inadequate parking - we had to pay 15€ one night to park elsewhere as there was just no space. Taxis to and from the town are around €4 each way, and although that's ridiculously cheap annoying to have to pay it when you've hired a car but dare not use it to go out of an evening, because you are unlikely to get a parking space when you get back. Good selection of food on offer, vegetarian fare choice good, but often the food was really cold, and a couple of times the breakfast pastries were on the stale side. Waiters a little too enthusiastic at times- as my husband lifted a slice of toast from his plate, the waiter whipped the plate away without even checking if he had finished eating! Drinks are not included with half board evening meal, and you also couldn't get a coffee in the dining room other than with breakfast. They adhere very strictly yo men not being allowed to wear shorts at evening meal. The entertainment on offer is very dated and pretty awful. The staff were really polite and helpful, on one occasion we had issues with the shower, and it was dealt with efficiently and very quickly. There is a spa, but on every occasion we tried to book the jacuzzi it was broken ...and I gather it has been for an awfully long time! If you just need a base that is clean and comfy, El Tope fits the bill. But if you expect a little more from a 4 star hotel, it's not the place for you!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Car essential due to steep hill!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Machado Galan, Director General at Hotel El Tope
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Dear Sue, Thank you very much for your review about your stay at our hotel, your opinion is important to us because it helps us to improve. It is a pity that our services have not lived up to your expectations and we are sorry that at that time we did not have the spa working.We appreciate your praise for our employees. We will love to welcome you again, Receive a cordial greeting, The Tope team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$56 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCanary IslandsTenerifePuerto de la Cruz
NUMBER OF ROOMS
220
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel El Tope
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel El Tope?
Nearby attractions include Xwander Tenerife (0.1 miles), Bee Hive Pub (0.2 miles), and Playa San Telmo (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel El Tope?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel El Tope?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel El Tope?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel El Tope?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel El Tope?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Crown Tandoori, Vinoteca Con Pasión, and Bambi Gourmet.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel El Tope?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel El Tope?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel El Tope offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel El Tope?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel El Tope?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Castillo de San Felipe (0.9 miles), The English Library Tenerife (0.5 miles), and Bateria de Santa Bárbara (0.4 miles).