We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel El Tope

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel El Tope
Hotel El Tope
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

787 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 465: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was my 12th visit to El Tope, always loved the place. After being diagnosed with my 3rd cancer in less than two years I asked my oncologist if I could take a holiday, he told me that I should go as soon as possible. I looked at the Thomson website, saw the refurbishment and booked my old favourite. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Karen A
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great hotel for the price. The room did have a couple issues. The shower does not have a lip and so our room got flooded a couple times. The towels were dingy and not very soft. Other that, the place is great. Very clean, friendly staff and the food was okay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a good room in the main part of this hotel last year but this year were very disappointed with our basement room. The bathroom smelt of poor drainage, mould was growing on the walls, paint peeling off the ceiling and the towels were old and worn. The carpet in the bedroom was threadbare in places and the balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank richardcaroline2017
Hoteleltope, Guest Relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear richardcaroline2017, Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of your holidays with other travelers. We are very sorry that your holidays with us were not up to your expectations. We always ask our guests to inform the reception for any inconveniences they may have, so we can fix it as soon as possible. Thomson sells Twin Rooms with...

Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewed December 27, 2016

In our Tenerife trip we had one night in Puerto de la Cruz, so we booked room in Hotel El Tope. It was definitely a good choice and we would love to stay here again next time. We asked for the room in the last floor, because we heard that it could be a bit noisy in the night time....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarune P
Hoteleltope, Guest relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear Sarune P, Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are very happy that you had such a good time and everything was up to your expectations. We hope to welcome you again in the future, and wish you all the best until then. Best regards, Your El Tope Team

barnstaple
Reviewed December 23, 2016

We were returning customers this year to the El Tope. Don't know whats happened to the customer service but last year we were met by all we want is to make you happy to this year Stephanie on reception who was very indifferent to both our needs and feelings. Having paid for a superior triple aspect Teide view room was...

 Report
Helpful?
16Thank carrieandgeorge
Hoteleltope, Guest relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear carrieandgeorge, Thank you for your review. We deeply regret that your stay were not up to your expectations. The contract with Thomson has changed, the Superior rooms are no more corner rooms but the larger rooms with terrace in the first floor. Neither is the kettle included anymore. Nevertheless, we gave you the kettle for free as you were...

Birmingham
Reviewed December 18, 2016

Bizarre hotel! On check in I was greeted in German,when I politely pointed out I was English they didn't speak to me again! Vile Waiters at breakfast who continually addressed you in German only! And the breakfast is very Germanic...and all guests were German over the age of 50.No problem there but the staff only speak Spanish and German..they will...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Mikebaggies
Hoteleltope, Guest relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear Mikebaggies, Thank you for your comments regarding your holiday. We want to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. We wish you the very best for the future and hope to welcome you again in Puerto de la Cruz. Kindest regards, Your El Tope Team

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 15, 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Positives: Excellent views, very good modern spacious room, enormous balcony on corner room, staff very friendly and helpful, room cleaned well. Reasonable value for price paid. Food was adequate, nice at times, plenty of it. Negatives: Pillows did not suit us well, constant battle to keep slow wifi connected, kept having to re-login.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank David A
Hoteleltope, Guest relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear David A, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy that in general you had a nice stay with us, and that our facilities were up to your expectations. We take note about your suggestions and pass it to the respective departments. We hope that this won't prevent you of visiting us again, and wish...

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

Myself n my partner have just come back from a 7 day stay at the El Tope hotel on arrival we were taken to our room down several in fact 7 flights of stairs to find out that there wasn't even a lift my partner has mobility problems it was like been in the dungeons just left and forgotten the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank gladstone4680
Hoteleltope, Guest relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review which is highly appreciated. We are sorry that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations. Let us kindly inform you that what you had already paid for was your booked room category. The rooms in the main building are more expensive than those in the basement, that's why we have to charge...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed November 21, 2016

The room was ok, with a nice terrace and a fantastic view over Puerto de la Cruz and you can see the Teide just looking up. The breakfast and the dinner is served in a buffet, both served by competent and frindly staff. You have show cooking in both services, so you can ask your special tortilla or your fried...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JordiTr7
Hoteleltope, Guest relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear JordiTr7, Thank you for your nice review. We are glad that you had a good time at our house and that your general impression was good. We hope to welcome you again in Puerto de la Cruz! Best wishes, Your El Tope Team

Arona, Spain
Reviewed October 25, 2016

Still one of the top hotels in Puerto - there seems to be a new regime whereby large numbers of rooms are now allocated for several holiday companies. Can limit the choice of the independent traveler.

Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andyj969
Hoteleltope, Guest relations at Hotel El Tope, responded to this review

Dear andyj969, Thank you very much for sharing your review of your holidays at our house. We are glad that you had a pleasant holiday. Thank you for having been our guest. Looking forward to your next stay! Our best wishes, Your El Tope Team

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

589 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (340)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (237)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Double Room with City View (37)
Viewed
Double Room with Mountain View (35)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (34)
Viewed
Junior Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto de la Cruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Tenerife Playa
H10 Tenerife Playa
#9 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#3 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,648 reviews
0.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#16 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Las Vegas
Catalonia Las Vegas
#14 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Gran Hotel El Tope where you will be made to feel at home during your stay with us.Our philosophy is to create a warm and enjoyable atmosphere where all our guests are considered to be our friends.Enjoy the calmness and the facilities provided in a warm and cosy family-like atmosphere where our kind staff members will be on hand to assist you at all times.Our hotel reflects the hospitality typical of the area as acknowledged by our guests.Our guests will enjoy free Wireless DSL Internet access throughout the hotel. The Gran Hotel El Tope is magnificently located with a panoramic view of Puerto de La Cruz and the fabulous Valle de la Orotava. In addition, it is also adjacent to the Martianez Shopping Centre, which is less than five minutes walk from the Atlantic Ocean beach and next to the fabulous swimming pool complex, Lago Martianez. The hotel is only 25 and 90 kilometres from the airports Tenerife North and Tenerife South, respectively. Each room is spacious and bright with a unique and elegant character, where every detail makes a difference. Our en suite facilities included fully equipped bathrooms, hair dryer, T.V., Telephone, wall-to-wall carpet and air-conditioning, as well as an optional safe and a mini bar. Their balconies are overlooking the sea or offer a view to the mountains.The swimming pool is located in a unique setting surrounded by green vegetation and magnificent gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel El Tope

Address: Calle Calzada Martianez 2, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Puerto de la Cruz
Price Range: $58 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Tope 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel El Tope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Tope Tenerife/Puerto De La Cruz
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto de la Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel El Tope staff and other travelers.
52 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (52)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Tope staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Make sure you get a refurbished room and don't expect what is in the Thomson brochure”
 of 5 bubbles R3214WNkarena, 5 days ago | Read review
“ask for a room as high as possible - the view is amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles sarunep2015, Dec 27, 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for a direct view to the Teide, and a fifth or higher”
 of 5 bubbles JordiTr7, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room upstairs, do not accept a downstairs room!”
 of 5 bubbles 443charleyh, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are okay but for a view and open balcony you may need a superior room or you may be underground!!!”
 of 5 bubbles showcoachman, Oct 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question