Hotel Hostal Cuba

Calle Sant Magi 1, 07013 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca Spain
Traveler (294)
Dining (43)
Room & Suite (20)

About

4.5
#43 of 95 hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
The Hotel Hostal Cuba with 15 rooms is located in the popular Santa Catalina area in Palma. This 4 stars hotel has a great decoration of its double rooms, junior suites and suites, a spectacular views of the city, a delicious restaurant and a spectacular Sky Bar. The best choice to enjoy some leisure days in Palma.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Nightclub / DJ
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bottled water
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Harbor View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Catalan and 2 more
591Reviews4Q+A50Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 367
  • 141
  • 38
  • 22
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kathryn B wrote a review Mar 2020
Wallington, United Kingdom42 contributions10 helpful votes
Went here for the evening for tapas. Brilliant evening, food was good, they had a DJ which made the atmosphere lively. Was just what we needed after a long day. Tapas was well presented and plentiful and very tasty, food value for money too. Would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jordi P, Propietario at Hotel Hostal Cuba
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear Mrs. Kathryn, Thank you very much for such a nice commentary. We are very glad that you enjoyed our dishes and the nice section of our DJ. We hope you can visit us again and maybe try our buffet breakfast or the cocktails in the Sky bar (now open) of the Hotel Hostal Cuba **** with the views over the Port and Cathedral. Till next time!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vincentbaud0 wrote a review Sep 2021
Geneva, Switzerland46 contributions61 helpful votes
If you are not anymore in your 20s, Hotel Hostal Cuba is the best place to enjoy Palma de Mallorca. This was the 3rd time at Hotel Cuba in the last four years with my best friend and we are always happy to come back!
Despite rooms are relatively small, the staff is extremely nice and kind (reception, roof top, bar, restaurant), the location (Santa Catalina) is just perfect to enjoy the nightlife of this sparkling city.
Great music at the bar (and basement) after 23.00. Do not miss the sunset from the rooftop. Long drinks are excellent.
We will be back again next year. Never tired of Hotel Cuba.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: The room 204 has 2 windows: one on the sea side and the other one on the park. Highly recommended.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dirección General, Director General at Hotel Hostal Cuba
Responded Sep 22, 2021
Dear vincentbaud0, Thank you very much for your kind comment, we look forward to seeing you again soon, we love having you as a guest in our Hotel. We always proud of offering the highest standard service every day and improve and change with the current times. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gavin wrote a review May 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom107 contributions82 helpful votes
Worried that we’ve well passed our twenties and might be now too old, here are back after several visits and loved our stay here. Gorgeous rooms, seriously spotlessly clean with every attention to detail. And we had the smallest little room at the back that yes it is expensive but you get it or you don’t. If you’ve lost that spring in your step and not happy with a hat wearing dj on the floor above, it maybe isn’t for you. Breakfast is stunning, little amazing sandwiches or some incredible eggs with fizz or how does a sublime tomato and asparagus quiche grab you? They have this included. Is there anything better than a morning on the roof of this yes loud but special little hotel, but my god I’m glad it is still alive and dancing
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dirección General, Director General at Hotel Hostal Cuba
Responded May 31, 2022
Dear Mr Gavin, Thank you very much for your positive, detailed and beautiful review regarding our hotel and skybar. We hope see you again soon in our Skybar, Restaurant, Club and Hotel!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SiriZ wrote a review Sep 2022
Munich, Germany28 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed at this wonderful stylish hotel for several days with my teenage daughter and we absolutely loved it. Aside from being a great base for exploring Palma, the hotel itself is perfect. Comfortable room with thoughtful extras, delicious breakfast served on the rooftop terrace with a view of the cathedral on the one side and the port on the other, extremely helpful and friendly staff and great F&B at the restaurant. We enjoyed the Skybar in the evenings and the small, fun in-house club on the weekend. If you’re looking for a place with a fun vibe, this is perfect. Will definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Our bathroom had a glass door. You may want to check with the hotel first if sharing with a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dirección General, Director General at Hotel Hostal Cuba
Responded Sep 28, 2022
Dear SiriZ, Thank you very much for your kind comment, we look forward to seeing you again soon, we loved having you as a guest in our Hotel. We are always proud of offering the highest standard service in every aspect of our hotel. Every day we are improving and changing with the current times. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stuart W wrote a review Jun 2022
United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
We went to the rooftop restaurant and were terribly disappointed. We had booked a table that wasn't ready when we arrived. The surly waiter begrudgingly cleared most (but not all) of the previous diners plates away and then disappered. No offer of a drink or anything.

There were lots of sun umbrellas to protect you from the 34 degree heat. Just a shame none of them were actually positioned over the tables. We soon overheated.

We went to see what the buffet breakfast was like. There was hardly any food left, and what was left looked as if it had been there for hours. Very underwhelming. We've been here before a few years ago, normally you would be greeted by a smorgasbord of delights. Today was not that day. It was a struggle to find anything appetizing. When we did find a few morsels to eat, there were no plates. So we went to the bar to ask for some clean ones, the bar was just covered in dirty crockery, the delightful waiter looked at us as if we had asked for his kidney.

The place was a mess, the service was terrible, the food pretty much inedible.

When asked how it had been by the front of house, as they charged us the full rate, we expressed our disappointment. A casual shrug of the shoulders was about the sum of their customer service.

A shame, this used to be a real gem. Now I would avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dirección General, Director General at Hotel Hostal Cuba
Responded Jun 29, 2022
Dear StuartwR9295WX We are sorry that the expected service during your breakfast in our Sky Bar was not to your satisfaction. From the management we apologize for all the inconveniences that you mention such as not having clean crockery at the moment or that you were not offered to drink anything upon arrival. Of course, these inconveniences have nothing to do with our usual protocol where the client must be attended at all times and end the day wishing to return. Do not doubt that everything you have told us we will pass on to the people responsible for the service that day so that it never happens again. We would love to welcome you again another time and be able to show you that our quality standard remains intact.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iris Daria wrote a review Aug 2023
4 contributions
Very nice hotel, great amenities and location is perfect!

Very comfy rooms - the bed is very comfortable and the pillows as well. Also, the toiletries are great as they are from Rituals.

Breakfast is great and is served on the rooftop terrace which make it amazing - however, if it's sunny it can get really hot as the umbrellas are not doing much.

If you like partying, then you are in the right spot. The neighborhood is very lively and the hotel itself is famous for the rooftop bar and also the restaurant that turns into a club at nightfall. However, be aware that it's quite loud in the rooms and your sleep might be a bit disrupted - the party is going until 04:00 AM or so. 😅

Overall, we had a nice experience and managed to get a good sleep in spite of the noise.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dirección General, Director General at Hotel Hostal Cuba
Responded Sep 14, 2023
Dear irisdaria, Thank you for choosing us as your hotel for your stay in Palma and for taking the time to write us this positive and informative review. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are very happy that you felt comfortable in our hotel. We always pride ourselves on providing the highest level of service every day. We hope to see you again soon in our hotel, restaurant, sky bar and club!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annabel R wrote a review Apr 2022
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands69 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in their apartment which is separate but connected to their Hostal/Hotel. They have given it a different name: Santa Catalina Loft. It is a small but 3 story apartment with one bedroom and roof terrace. The apartment looks alright. However our stay of 5 night was horrible. There was a lot of noice. The apartment was located above a bar and next to the hotel. After not sleeping at night, early in the morning the suppliers delivered their goods, lots of noice of little carts with crates on it. Especially Friday night and Saturday day night the disturbance was horrific.
Another frustration was the mattress, it didn’t sleep well. We thought that it was a lousy mattress or a lousy topper. After the 2 night I checked the mattress and then I saw that the had folded a duvet on top of the mattress (probably to protect the mattress). On our request the hotel took it away (but they were not very likely to). Both showers leaked water on the floor. The glass panels of the showers were not properly sealed.
The rain shower in the downstairs bathroom was so low that a person taller than 1.85cm cannot stand straight up under the shower.
In the kitchen the induction cooker was located next to the sink, which I think is forbidden by law. I complained and was talked that the manager would contact me since she was not there on Sunday. We are almost a week later, never heard from them anymore……
The electrical socket came out of the wall after carefully removing the plug of my hair straightener.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Very noisy area, many people complain.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dirección General, Director General at Hotel Hostal Cuba
Responded May 9, 2022
Apreciada Sra AnnabelIR316, gracias por su visita y comentarios. Efectivamente Santa Catalina es un barrio con mucha vida y una oferta de ocio muy completa lo que, en ocasiones, puede provocar que haya mucha actividad en la calle. En relación al colchón, entendemos que no le resultara cómodo pero debe saber que es nuevo y que nuestro equipo en seguida hizo la modificación que ustedes solicitaron. Lamentamos que su estancia no fuera de su agrado.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Derek M wrote a review Nov 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
The meal here was probably the best we have had and at a reasonable price. Less than 100 Euros, including tapas to start and a bottle of wine! The rack of lamb and veal were delicious and portion sizes were very generous. An excellent meal was topped off by a drink in the rooftop cocktail bar which had a lovely atmosphere and panoramic night views over the city. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dirección General, Director General at Hotel Hostal Cuba
Responded Nov 26, 2023
Dear Meaddt, Thank you very much for your amazing rating and lovely review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed dinner at our restaurant and our cocktails and views at the skybar. We hope we can see you again soon in our Sky bar, Restaurant, Club and perhaps Hotel!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thomsonambra wrote a review Jun 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom82 contributions42 helpful votes
It’s currently 1am and the relentless techno beat is enough to drive you crazy. I’m on the 1st floor and it’s my 3rd night of barely sleeping.
The concierge lady just shrugged and said yes, it’s noisy!
It’s so depressing. The hotel is in a great location with friendly staff but I paid a lot of money to get very little sleep. Earplugs make no difference!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dirección General, Director General at Hotel Hostal Cuba
Responded Jun 29, 2022
Dear Thomasonambra, We regret that the rest during your stay was not the desired one. We have strict protocols regarding the respect of our guests' rest, although Santa Catalina is an area of ​​Palma with a lot of life during the weekend, which can sometimes cause discomfort. All our rooms are soundproofed but, despite this, some inconvenience may be generated, which we deeply regret.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael Meininghaus wrote a review Aug 2021
Rheinberg, Germany1 contribution
We had wonderful four days in this fantastic hotel. The Staff was very friendly and we will come back for sure. This Part of Palma in Santa Catalina Is very romantic. Short ways to other Parts of the City. The breakfast was extraordinary. To keep ist short
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dirección General, Director General at Hotel Hostal Cuba
Responded Sep 3, 2021
Dear Nomad 36090050933, Thank you very much for your kind comment, we look forward to seeing you again in Palma at any time. We always proud of offering the highest standard service every day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Patrice C
Le Vesinet, France60 contributions34 helpful votes
Hello, for breakfast you just turn up. There are enough tables to accommodate all the guests in my opinion. I have no clue about lunch or dinner, but there is no real kitchen up there.
Show all answers
heather12345 asked a question Mar 2017
Glasgow, United Kingdom737 contributions85 helpful votes
Hello What are the sky bars opening hours on a Sunday? Is it open in afternoon or only evenings? Thank you
Answer from portiaCambridge
Santa Maria del Cami, Spain26 contributions7 helpful votes
You need To check with hotel. It is weather dependent. Though they will always open for residents. But this can mean if it is a non open night it could be just you 😕
Sandra J. Carl asked a question Aug 2015
Palma de Mallorca, Spain21 contributions17 helpful votes
what is the average price of cocktails on thecterrace?
Answer from Ekman24
Stockholm, Sweden9 contributions5 helpful votes
10 euro
joana r asked a question Jul 2016
Palma de Mallorca, Spain3 contributions
que marca de psico utilizan para su coctail pisco sour????
Answer from joana r
Palma de Mallorca, Spain3 contributions
which brand and model pisco grape used for pisco sour
Show all answers
TracyIuk wrote a tip Sep 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
"No pool, which wasn't an issue for us. The reception staff provided information of a beach club just 10 mins taxi drive away - fab!"
Read full review
SiriZ wrote a tip Sep 2022
Munich, Germany28 contributions4 helpful votes
"Our bathroom had a glass door. You may want to check with the hotel first if sharing with a friend and not comfortable with this."
Read full review
Annabel R wrote a tip Apr 2022
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands69 contributions17 helpful votes
"Very noisy area, many people complain."
Read full review
vincentbaud0 wrote a tip Sep 2021
Geneva, Switzerland46 contributions61 helpful votes
"The room 204 has 2 windows: one on the sea side and the other one on the park. Highly recommended."
Read full review
pspbird1 wrote a tip Jan 2020
Munich, Germany9 contributions6 helpful votes
"Avoid the Sant Magi room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Palma de Mallorca area.
PRICE RANGE
$163 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainBalearic IslandsMajorcaPalma de Mallorca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL HOSTAL CUBA - Prices & Reviews (Palma de Mallorca, Majorca)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Hostal Cuba
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Hostal Cuba?
Nearby attractions include Mercado de Santa Catalina (0.09 miles), Sa Llotja (0.3 miles), and Es Baluard Museu d'Art Modern i Contemporani de Palma (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Hostal Cuba?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Hostal Cuba?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Hostal Cuba?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Hostal Cuba?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Hostal Cuba?
Conveniently located restaurants include Izakaya High Japanese Cuisine, FaBrick food & more, and Bistro Esencia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Hostal Cuba?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Hostal Cuba?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Catalan.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Hostal Cuba?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sa Llotja (0.3 miles), Palau de l'Almudaina (0.4 miles), and Son Marroig (1.5 miles).
Does Hotel Hostal Cuba have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Hotel Hostal Cuba accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.