We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Costa Vasca

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Barcelo Costa Vasca
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 357: English reviews
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel had decent bedding, air conditioning and good features. The location is out of town but they run a shuttle, which you have to book, to the edge of town. Otherwise you can get a taxi for about 6 Euro to the old part of town. The buffet breakfast was good and one day we were going on an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
-XperienceManager-, Director General at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, I am grateful to find out you were pleased with our services and facilities. I would like to thank you for using this useful tool in order to know your opinion and suggestions and let us continue improving our services. I am delighted to see you enjoyed our shuttle service as well as the comfort of our rooms.... More 

scarsdale, ny
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This modern hotel situated among fashionable apartment buildings in a leafy part of the city is only about a 10 minute walk to the beach. They provide frequent free shuttles to the edge of downtown, most convenient. The buffet breakfast is excellent with many varied options. If you rent a car from Avis or Budget their office adjoins the hotel,... More 

Helpful?
Thank artbacis
-XperienceManager-, Director General at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all, let me thank you for the high punctuation you gave us and also, for sharing your feedback with us. Thanks to your comments, our efforts to offer the best service are confirmed making our improvements valuable. We are pleased to appreciate you made the most of our hotel enjoying facilities and services such as the... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely room with a balcony. The bedroom furniture was in good condition and the beds were very comfortable. The en suite was modern and clean. The housekeeper changed the bedding twice in the 8 nights we were there but we ran out of tea bags etc and shower gels etc, but these are only minor comments and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 158David1607
-XperienceManager-, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review

Dear David, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Barceló Costa Vasca and for relaying on Barcelo Hotels & Resorts to spend your stay. Is our commitment to make our guests have a nice and unforgettable experience in all our hotels through excellence and dedication. The Hotel Management takes into account all of the feedback we... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spotless hotel. Our room was nice and clean a very food size and a very well sized bathroom. Bed was comfortable however they were 2 single beds put together which kept pushing apart . The gym facilities were good, breakfast buffet was delicious and lots of choice. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The hotel is located a 10... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denisa R
-XperienceManager-, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review

Dear Denisa, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Barceló Costa Vasca and for relaying on Barcelo Hotels & Resorts to spend your stay. Is our commitment to make our guests have a memorable experience in all of our hotels through excellence and dedication. The Hotel Management takes into account all of the feedback we received.... More 

Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Barcelo Costa Brava is located 30-40 minutes to La Concha. Actually it is only 5 minutes by car and the hotel has a free shutle between 13:00 and 20:40, every 20 minutes, however here starts the first trick. The night life starts after 20:30 in the town because Spanish people (in this case Basque) eat after 20:00 and free shuttle... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Flyngdtchmn
-XperienceManager-, Director General at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for the helpful feedback you shared with us because we consider it a gift to improve our service. First of all, I would like to apologise for all the inconveniences you had during your stay in Barceló Costa Vasca and for not having achieved your expectations. It's a pleasure to hear you... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a nice hotel, trying very hard to be a 4 star but would be lucky to make 2 .Unfortunately the staff have a strange and arrogant attitude, they offer a welcome cava at reception for arrival but you have to serve yourself and only if you notice it there !! The pool doesn't open to 11am!! With kids... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank shazzez
-XperienceManager-, Director General at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are stunned by the experience you had in our hotel. Nevertheless, I would like to thank you for sharing this comment and letting us know the weaknesses of our services so that we can improve them in a near future. We are sorry to listen you did not enjoy our restaurant neither the breakfast. We focus in... More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As we prepare for a return trip to San Sebastian, I realise I never wrote up a review for the Costa Vasca from our trip last Autumn. We had chosen this hotel due to the unavailability of more central hotels due to a large conference in town. Our room was fine - everything in working order and quiet and we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LittlePumpkin
-XperienceManager-, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Barceló, Costa Vasca as your place in San Sebastian. We have a free shuttle service on summer season. However, distance from Hotel to the beach is only 6 minutes walking. Old Town distance from hotel is 1.7 kilometers, we consider this as an asset due to tranquility and peaceful hotel area in more than... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Guests are greeted with a complimentary glass of cava at check-in. The staff was most accommodating. Smallish room but the décor was chic, with light boxes and recessed lighting features. Comfy bedding. No noise. The European shower was impossible for me, a mechanically-challenged Yankee, to figure out. Hoses and nozzles squirted water everywhere but my body. Otherwise, a very comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kutskurina
-XperienceManager-, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking a few moments of your time to tell us about your experience with us and thank you for choosing Barceló, Costa Vasca as your place in San Sebastian. Distance from Hotel to the beach is only 6 minutes walking and another 20 minutes walk to Oldtown. We will welcome you next time with an... More 

Strangnas, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Make sure that the wifi is working in your room. For this money it should. Very good and useful information from the concierge. Very good breakfast with many different alternatives. The hotel is located a bit from the city. They need better transportation service.

Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lars S
-XperienceManager-, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review

Dear Lars, We want to thank you for doing of Barceló Costa Vasca your place in San Sebastian. Your opinion is very important for us, thus, we are improving our Wifi. We hope to hear from you soon. Please give us a chance to serve you again. Sincerely Mario Peralta Guest Experience Manager Barceló Costa Vasca More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A solid 3 stars hotel. The decor and its services are simple, but good. The breakfast (includedduring our stay) was very good, food quality, quantity, variety, and service. The cleaning room staff is very efficient and friendly. It is walking distance to La Concha and many neighborhood restaurants and grocery stores. If you like to walk a little, this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank v g
-XperienceManager-, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Barceló Costa Vasca as your place to stay in San Sebastian. We are a four stars Resort and as you mentioned, a good choice if you like to be close to the city center, the beach and a beautiful forest right on the seashore. Your opinion is very important for us and your satisfaction... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

613 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (374)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (138)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (158)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Pool (1)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Room (69)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#5 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#9 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Mercure Monte Igueldo
#17 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Barcelo Costa Vasca**** hotel is a landmark in San Sebastian, it is located 7 minutes by foot to Ondarreta Beach and 15 mins from the famous creation by the sculptor Eduardo Chillida "El Peine del Viento". Discover the city's historical and traditional side by enjoying a few tapas in the old Basque quarter or enjoy all the glamour of our city, taking a pleasant stroll, with magnificent views of the La Concha Bay. For the summer season (1 July to 31 August) we offer you 2500 m² of garden area to enjoy, where you can relax with a cocktail in our Swim Bar or cool yourself down in our semi-Olympic sized swimming pool. We also offer guests a convenient car park situated at the hotel entrance. Furthermore, during your stay you can enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barcelo Costa Vasca

Address: 15 Avenida Pio Baroja, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range: $174 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Costa Vasca 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Barcelo so you can book your Barcelo Costa Vasca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Vasca Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Barcelo San Sebastián Donostia
Barcelo Hotel Costa Vasca
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#4 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#10 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay