We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Petit Palace Arana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Petit Palace Arana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

655 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 195: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner, two kids and I stayed in a family room for one night en route to the port and were delighted with the fabulous friendly welcome from Patricia. The place smells great and the rooms are really nice. The hotel is a fab blend of modern and old, and the breakfast was one of the best I've had for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wammy C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pros: for the sake of balance and perspective, there were some pros. The hotel is very centrally located and the breakfast was pretty good. Cons: room was extremely small. The wallpaper in the bathroom was bulging in places due to the moisture. Electrical socket next to the bed did not work (it was not fitted properly and was loose). Room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gerard1985

Travelers are raving about these Bilbao hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I do not like this hotel. It was a big disappointment because of these problems: 1. Dirty, old and inconvenient shower, I spent a lot of time to find how to switch it to normal regime. 2. Absence of the normal wardrobe. There was only a stick with several shoulders in our wardrobe, without any shelfs for clothes. 3. Two... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnaLv7
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great, small hotel in the perfect spot. 5 minutes to the metro and just steps from some of the best pintxos, local nightlife and shopping in Bilbao. Walking distance to the Guggenheim, the funicular to Artxanda and Baslica of Begona. I have stayed here twice now. Staff is helpful and welcoming. The rooms are good, with comfortable beds. Many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shopony
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to share your kind feedback following your recent stay with us . I was so happy that once again we have met your expectations . Your lovely comments that the team were really friendly and helpful are equally most appreciated. I will ensure the team’s service is duly recognised. I was delighted... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved this hotel. The staff were so helpful with our general queries and with train timetables. It may be small but the location was ideal as it's so central in between the old town, river and modern shopping areas. Breakfast room was unusual as it's practically in the attic and you have to mind your head on the roof beams...I'm... More 

Helpful?
Thank A1observer
Sonia L, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear guest. Many thanks for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback following your recent stay with us . We are delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations in terms of the central location of the hotel and most importantly the service you received. We are more than happy to see... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff are very friendly and helpful. When you are staying in the old quarter and have a car it is usually difficult to get to your hotel as no cars are allowed- not so with Petit Palace Arana- it is right at the corner of a street that allows cars and you can temporarily put your car beside the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steelrodz
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear Guest I truly appreciate your kind words following your recent stay with us at The Petit Palace Arana It is great to read that the location of the hotel was ideal for you and that you enjoyed your stay with us Your lovely comments that the team were really friendly and helpful are equally most appreciated I have passed... More 

UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a family room for two adults and two kids. The hotel is in a great location in the old town, within easy walking of all the cities attractions including the Guggenheim Museum. The staff are very friendly and the room was clean but a bit on the small side. The main issue was that the air conditioning made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim2008
Sonia L, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear Jim, We really thank your time sharing with us your impressions after your recent stay in Petit Palace ARANA. Whether we try to offer to all our guests the best experience in Bilbao it seems we did not be succes in some points relating to your stay. We feel greatly disappointed for the problem related to the air conditioning... More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the 5th location of Petit Palace we visited. Unfortunately the worst. The sanitary is old; noisy airco, creaky floors. Impossible to get any fresh air in the room. When you make a reservation for bikes they give them to other guests if you don't take them in an hour. The cleaning crew makes a lot of noise the... More 

Helpful?
Thank jk343634
Karmele A, Gerente at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for having chosen our hotel and for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us Your feedback is invaluable to us, as this allow us to continuously improve our service and facilities. Please accept our sincerest apologies if during your stay some of our services were not completely satisfying. We regret... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was very noisy, the worst hotel we have stayed in on our five week holiday in Spain and Portugal. Estafania on reception was very nice, professional and helpful but she was the only good thing about this hotel. The bathroom was long and skinny, you grazed your knees on the wall going to the toilet and the shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank MR S
Sonia L, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will report our housekeeping for the low... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A struggle to find as we had a car and couldn't find the car park, it would be helpful to have the name of the closest car park on the confirmation e mail. Because of the unusual 40 degree heat we found the 6 minute walk with baggage from the car to the hotel very hard work. Staff delightful. Shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank Odile T
Sonia L, Director de Recepción at Petit Palace Arana, responded to this review

Dear Odile, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to our amazing city. We are delighted to see that you could appreciate the helpful and friendly deal from our staff . We are really proud for the delicious breakfast daily served in our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

186 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (168)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bilbao hotels
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
Gran Hotel Domine Bilbao
Hotel Miro
#4 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Abando
Ibis Bilbao Centro
Ibis Bilbao Centro
#13 of 43 in Bilbao
4.0 of 5 stars 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Petit Palace Arana Bilbao is a boutique hotel situated in Bidebarrieta street opposite Arriaga theater, between the old district and the Ensanche (modern distric). The Petit Palace Arana occupies an emblematic building dating from the nineteen century, being the oldest hotel in Bilbao. Our modern rooms feature flat screen TV (with Satellite TV), hydro-massage shower, air-conditioned/ heating and mini-bar. Some of the rooms have balconies. Located in the heart of the city, in the gastronomic area where you can taste the best pintxos and typical gastronomy. It is situated just few minutes from the Guggenheim Museum and the other Bilbao tourist attractions.Room types •64 stylish rooms.•High-Tech rooms: laptop, exercise bike, trouser press, hydro massage shower and king-size bed.•Family rooms up to 5 people: King-size bed or two beds plus bunk beds. (Baby cots free of charge).•Equipped rooms for pets (bed, feeding and water bowls).•Rooms for disabled people.•Smoking & non smoking rooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about Petit Palace Arana

Address: C/ Bidebarrieta 2, 48005 Bilbao, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Bilbao > Bilbo Zaharra
Price Range: $86 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Arana 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Petit Palace Arana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Arana Bilbao
Petit Palace Arana Hotel Bilbao
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay