We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Abba Playa Gijon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Abba Playa Gijon
Abba Playa Gijon
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

314 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 47: English reviews
Topsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 17, 2016

Great location , easy underground parking ( payable ) with extra spaces for 4WD vehicles .Rooms spacious and WiFi very good .Great views on upper floors of the beach/sea. Breakfast adequate , bar area good.Beds comfortable .Very comfortable .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Golf95
Abbaplayagijon, Director de Recepción at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review

Dear client Thank you very much for your comments Best regards

minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed September 15, 2016

A definite 3 star hotel at 5 star prices, Very clean, but sparse amenities. 4 thin towels. Bath soap attached to wall in shower. No kleenex - a small plastic package of them in the toiletry area. Used toiletries not replaced. A/C very spotty and does not work if you open the window for air.(good for the environment) We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerJeanne
Abbaplayagijon, RECEPCION at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments and we will take it in consideration. We will work to improve the complaints you mention in your post. Regards,

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed August 20, 2016

I stayed here for 4 nights the rooms are very small but I dose have a good sized bed, I was traveling alone and I think if you had 2 cases in these rooms with 2 people you would struggle. I also had a room at the front of the building which is next to a main road and quit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithx1
Abbaplayagijon, Director de Recepción at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you very much for your comments. Best regards

London
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is in a good location but is just not at the level the price suggests. Staff who were on duty were great but they were few and far between, carpet in corridor on third floor rotten from spilt cleaning chemicals, room needing some basic maintenance and simple requests not carried through. Don't get me wrong, this is a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grayal
Abbaplayagijon, RECEPCION at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We appreciate it and we will try to improve our service. Regards,

Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful beach and ocean view. Next to lovely park, bird sanctuary and walking path with large play area for children. Delicious gluten free baguettes and croissant. Spacious well appointed room comfortably fit parents and a teen. One caveat, we were directly below the rooftop dance party. With loud music thumping til 2am on Saturday night, ear plugs were a must...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lalunamama
Abbaplayagijon, Front Office Manager at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you very much for your comments. Best regards

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 16, 2016

Stayed for 5 nights in late June 2016. !0 of us with 5 rooms. Rooms were very nice, excellent location for hotel Staff were most helpful and attentive Excellent breakfast Nice bar, especially the roof bar Underground parking is available at a charge Reasonable room rates for the quality and location of hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hg9272016
Abbaplayagijon, Front Office Manager at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you very much for your comments. We're glad to know you've enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Hope to see you soon. Best regards

Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

Comfortable hotel just on the corner between Gijon's beach and the Football Stadium. Not very big rooms but confortable ones and with wide windows. Also wide common areas . The parking is small so it is possible not to find a parking place inside. Close to it in other hotel aside there is a public parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cornatel
Abbaplayagijon, Front Office Manager at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you very much for your review. Hope to see you again soon Best regards

Trelleborg, Sweden
Reviewed April 20, 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in April. Good rooms, fresh and clean. Very comfortable beds and big spacious bathroom. The breakfast was good with lots of things to chose from. Service att the hotel was also good. Only negative thing was that Wifi was very slow.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattias E
Abbaplayagijon, Front Office Manager at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review

Dear Mattias Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed February 20, 2016

Nice hotel, good premises y pretty well located near the beach. Maybe the rooms are not very big, but everything is clean. I did not have the chance to try breakfast. Very attentive staff. I would come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaDiGi
Abbaplayagijon, Director de Recepción at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review

Dear Madi Thank you very much for your comments. We're glad to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards

Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

Nice stay, friendly staff, great breakfast and secure car parking - but - overpriced and extra for breakfast and extra to park the car. Apparently booking on line gets you breakfast included which we tried to do but the website failed. Helpful check in staff helped with that though and included breakfast. But they still tried to charge us again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff P
Abbaplayagijon, Director de Recepción at Abba Playa Gijon, responded to this review

Dear Geoff , We welcome your comments and the time devoted to share them with other Tripadvisor users We note your comments to improve our customer service Yours faithfully

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

359 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (102)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (242)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Beach (29)
Viewed
Family Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
Superior Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gijon hotels
NH Gijon
#1 of 47 in Gijon
633 reviews
Silken Ciudad Gijon
#2 of 47 in Gijon
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hernan Cortes Hotel
Hernan Cortes Hotel
#3 of 47 in Gijon
442 reviews
AC Hotel Gijon
#11 of 47 in Gijon
273 reviews
La Arena
Hotel Principe de Asturias
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The modern Abba Playa Gijón is situated next to Inglés Park, 165 ft from San Lorenzo Beach. It features an outdoor swimming pool with a sun terrace. The rooms at Abba Gijón enjoy views of San Lorenzo Beach, Isabel La Católica Park or the pool. Each is equipped with air conditioning, a flat-screen TV and a private bathroom with amenities. Guests have access to a fitness center, sauna, jacuzzi and Turkish bath. Massage treatments are available and there is a free towel service from the front desk. Castiello Golf club is 3 miles from Abba Playa. The center of Gijón is 5 minutes away by car and Asturias Airport is less than 30 miles away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abba Playa Gijon

Address: Paseo Doctor Fleming 37, 33203, Gijon, Spain
Location: Spain > Asturias > Gijon
Price Range: $65 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abba Playa Gijon 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Abba Playa Gijon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Playa Gijon Gijón
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gijon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gijon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Abba Playa Gijon staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Abba Playa Gijon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Upper floor sea view .”
 of 5 bubbles Golf95, Sep 17, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for view of the beach.”
  • TV and mini fridge
 of 5 bubbles ExplorerJeanne, Sep 15, 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the back of the building will be quieter. supermarket a short walk oposite macers for water, there is one just in town as well”
 of 5 bubbles keithx1, Aug 20, 2016 | Read review
“Sea views are a little more expensive, I had a pool side view which was very nice 2 Good lifts”
 of 5 bubbles hg9272016, Jul 16, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the east side will have no view, but be quieter. Rooms in the south west corner will have the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles paulcZ3212LM, Jan 2, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay