We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Parador de Gijon

Save
Share
Avenida Torcuato Fernandez Miranda 15, 33203, Gijon Spain
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (196)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (13)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#8 of 49 hotels in Gijon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
647Reviews2Q+A20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 215
  • 260
  • 123
  • 38
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Gloria V wrote a review Jan 2020
Colchester, United Kingdom28 contributions6 helpful votes
We have stayed in this Parador a few times and we really looked to our return visit this time. Everyone is so friendly and there all lots of restaurants within walking distance or a short taxi ride. We would definitely return again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from PilarV652, Manager at Parador de Gijon
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Dear 328guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such brilliant feedback following your stay with us. I am truly pleased that you enjoyed a fantastic experience. It is with my hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards. Pilar Valdés. Manager.
Read more
Emma M wrote a review Jan 2020
Cordoba, Spain384 contributions155 helpful votes
We are regular travellers around Spain, and if we can afford it we always stay at one of the beautiful Paradores located around the country. Sadly, the Parador de Gijón was a real disappointment. From the outset it's hard to find, with very bad signposting. We were late to arrive because of this, and when we mentioned it to the receptionist he denied this was true, insisting that the signposting was fine. Oh well, you choose your battles, but is it right to argue with tired and clearly frustrated travellers about this, almost as if they were making it up? The room was very small for the amount of money we paid, with windows you couldn't open because of the amount of furniture stuffed in. However, the most baffling thing happened that evening, when my family and I sat down for a snack in the pretty bar area. We ordered drinks and asked if there were any sponge cakes or biscuits available. Please note that 4-6pm in Spain is PRIME snack time when most people sit down to enjoy a coffee/tea and something to eat. We were firmly and rudely told by the cold waitress that 'the kitchen was closed' before she marched off. 'Wow', we thought, 'a Parador with no snacks available?'. Even the simplest 'cafetería' in Spain has a few things on display to snack on, but this hotel that charges triple figures in the high season had zero food to offer. Not even a small croissant or pre-packaged cake. It's a Parador, remember. Five minutes later a local lady arrived and was offered a slice of sponge cake. The cake was produced and that was that. It seems that snacks are available but only if you're a local person... Amazingly bad service. Finally, the following morning my husband and I got scalded by the shower which turned boiling hot after two minutes by itself. Thank goodness we werent bathing our child, because I wouldn't even like to say what consequences that would have caused. We told the receptionist about this who didn't utter a word of apology and said she would mention it to her superiors. The cleaning staff, however, were extremely kind and friendly, especially to our small daughter. Let's get real. Whoever is running this so-called Parador needs to work on staff training and levelling this hotel up to the standards of other Paradores in Spain because, at the moment, it has far to go. We have stayed in hotels paying less than half of what this place charges and recieved far better, friendlier and proactive treatment. Poor and the worst Parador we have stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I would suggest that you enquire as to which rooms are larger if staying with two or more people,...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from PilarV652, Manager at Parador de Gijon
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Dear Electric-Emma . Thank you very much for taking your time to share with the users and with us your recent experience at the Parador de Gijón. We regret that your expectations have not been met during your visit, we will continue working on the continuous improvement of our services to improve the experience of our guests. We will be delighted to receive your visit again in the near future, Yours sincerely Pilar Valdés. Manager
Read more
Mobile566297 wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
We had a beautiful room and fantastic food. The hotel is located right in a park with a lake and water foul. It is 2 blocks from the beach, about 2 km from the historic city center. The only drawback was the lack of connectivity via WiFi.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from PilarV652, Manager at Parador de Gijon
Responded Dec 2, 2019
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your recent stay with us. We take careful note of your comments and suggestions, which help us to continue improving our service day by day. With kind regards. Pilar Valdés. Manager
Read more
kbjoye27 wrote a review Nov 2019
4 contributions
We enjoyed our Gijón experience, particularly the location of the parador on the edge of a good-sized park and fairly short walk from a beach and the walkway along it. We had a comfortable room with a view of the park. Breakfast was good but there were not as many options as we have had at other paradores. The only negative issue we had at this parador was the poor WiFi connection and slow speed when it managed to connect.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from PilarV652, Manager at Parador de Gijon
Responded Nov 7, 2019
Dear kbjoye27, We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to leave your impressions about your stay, and we thank you for the trust you have put in our hotel. We hope your next visit. Best regards Pilar Valdés. Manager
Read more
pennyfarncombe wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
Excellent stay in the Gijon Parador, we then took the train to Oviedo to visit the Cathedral and Museum there which were very good. The Gijon Parador is located next to a park which made a pleasant walk into the city centre.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from PilarV652, Manager at Parador de Gijon
Responded Oct 26, 2019
Dear pennyfarncombe, We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to leave your impressions about your stay, and we thank you for the trust you have put in our hotel. We hope your next visit. Pilar Valdés. Manager.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$87 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
parador de gijon gijón
LOCATION
SpainAsturiasGijon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Parador de Gijon
Which popular attractions are close to Parador de Gijon?
Nearby attractions include Muséu del Pueblu d'Asturies (0.3 miles), El Real Sporting de Gijón y las Reliquias Perdidas (0.07 miles), and Estadio El Molinón (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Parador de Gijon?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Parador de Gijon?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Parador de Gijon?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Parador de Gijon?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Parador de Gijon?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Salgar, La Casa del Parque, and Restaurante Los Pisones.
Are any cleaning services offered at Parador de Gijon?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Parador de Gijon offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Parador de Gijon?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Parador de Gijon?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Barrio de Cimadevilla (1.3 miles), Termas Romanas de Campo Valdes (1.2 miles), and El pozo de la Barquera (1.3 miles).
Does Parador de Gijon have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.