Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection

The hotel Courtyard
Traveler (875)
Panorama of the Superior Room at the AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
360
Panoramas (1)
Single Guestroom
Room & Suite (239)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
$411
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
$411
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Only 1 left at
$397
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#27 of 130 hotels in Granada
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

Gran Via De Colon 31, 18001 Granada Spain
Name/address in local language
1,492Review27Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 818
  • 447
  • 147
  • 35
  • 45
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
kgv2828 wrote a review Mar 2022
San Francisco, California2,079 contributions214 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 8 nights and got a room overlooking the main Grand Via. The room was a decent size and the bathroom was larger than expected. This is on a main street that is in a special zone that limits private vehicles from entering. It is central and walk-able to most locations. We walked to the Alhambra and Albaicin neighborhoods. It right next to the Cathedral and Royal Chapel and close to many other sights.

The hotel is very nice with a great central courtyard that is very peaceful with a water fountain. There are sofas along the 2nd floor to lounge and tables for having some tea on the first floor. Overall a great place to relax after a long day going to sights.

Breakfast was very good. One could order a few items like eggs and bacon and waffles to go with the breakfast buffet. Breakfast was very good with extremely attentive service from the staff. Overall service was also really good from the front desk helping print our excursion tickets to the room service staff doing a good job of cleaning the rooms.

I would stay at this hotel again due to the central location, wonderful central and peaceful courtyard, good breakfast and very good service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get the Premium room facing the central courtyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
clobdell wrote a review Jul 2022
Glen Ellyn, Illinois62 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautifully converted former convent that retains elements of its former function (markers in the courtyard) but offers everything one would expect from a modern hotel (delicious restaurant, gym, strong water pressure, etc.). The rooms are well appointed and the bathrooms offer everything one needs including dental kits, bidets and other amenities.

As a Marriott Titanium member, the staff acknowledged my status upon check in and offered us breakfast at no charge for one of our rooms. Because our children were staying in a separate room, we were charged €18 per person for their breakfast per day but the continental buffet was expansive with multiple options for ordering off of the hot menu at no charge. Valet parking was quick and convenient.

Evaluating our stay based on just these elements would warrant another visit but the reason why we definitely will return is the staff.

Upon arriving without two of our bags from Madrid (thanks, United!), Natasha Shchukina at the front desk worked tirelessly with United trying to coordinate the return of two of our bags. Unfortunately, the second day of our stay was a holiday so our bags would not be returned until the day after we departed for Seville. Even though we were no longer guests, Natasha continued to work with our AirBnB host, United Airlines and the courier company to ensure our luggage arrived in Seville a full 24 hours after we checked out of the hotel. Natasha easily could have “passed the buck” to our new host but she continued to try to solve the problem for us, even emailing me several days later to verify our luggage reunification.

Thank you for the exceptional stay, Natasha and staff, and we will most certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ivan Dražić wrote a review Jan 2022
Bribir, Croatia475 contributions126 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located in an old monastery, which gives it a certain charm and interesting architectural solutions. The location is 15 minutes walk from the train station and a few minutes walk from the cathedral, which is an excellent central location. It is therefore surrounded by many restaurants and various stores.
The hotel is in the luxury hotel class and I have to agree that it looked like it, from the service to the quality of the rooms and breakfast. The staff was very friendly, the room perfectly clean and nicely decorated. My Marriott Platinum status was recognized and I received an upgrade to the apartment (via SNA) and a late check-out with no problems.
I was extremely pleased with the breakfast. Hot items were ordered a-la-carte, cold items were on display and the selection was more than good and the ingredients were of exceptional quality. I would also like to highlight the beautiful decoration of the restaurant and the very friendly service.
However, I would like to point out two problems that they did not want to have in this category and at this price, and I hope they will work on them. There was a tea and coffee maker in the room, but there were no coffee capsules and only one tea bag. Upon my chat request, more tea bags were quickly brought, but the coffee capsule was still missing. Another problem was the supply of food. Namely, I came to the hotel on New Year's Eve and it turned out that the hotel could not provide anything to eat that afternoon and evening (according to the receptionist), not even through room service. I have to admit that for the price I paid, this fact surprised me quite a bit and I give the hotel a lower rating because of it. I understand that the restaurant was fully booked, but I also cannot understand that room service was not available.
Nevertheless, I would go back to this hotel and definitely recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travelfun001 wrote a review Mar 2020
Oakville, Canada3,512 contributions595 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My comments are about the service/staff and the hotel.

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel (we previously stayed at an AC hotel). At check in I asked 3 times for a quiet room, I was assured the room we were assigned (120) was one of the most beautiful in the hotel and quiet. It's one of the rooms that is in the old convent, low window, there's a shared balcony (not sure what it is called) that circles all the rooms on this level. It's open to the courtyard below. As I told the team at check out we could hear people talking loudly until 2:30 on Friday and 3:30 on Saturday (not sure if they were in the courtyard or on the "balcony"). In addition the room is right beside the closet where they store the room cleaning carts and that noise starts at 9:00. They gave us free parking for our inconvenience.

The hotel wasn't full by any means so I'm not sure whey they didn't give us a room they knew would be quiet. I would not stay here again for this specific reason.

If you follow their driving instructions you can avoid driving in restricted zones. We missed one turn so we followed our car GPS and it also directed us to avoid said restrictions using a different route. Valet parking is very convenient. Breakfast buffet is 22 euro per person, you can order hot dishes freshly prepared.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HPSPA, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear Colette F Thank you very much for your review after your stay with us in your visit to Granada. We are very sorry the stay was not completely as planned due to some noise in the courtyard, it is usually a very quiet area but perhaps some of the guests stayed there until late and, in the silence of the night, any noise can be certainly intensified. I am sure the hotel staff did what was in their hands to try to solve the issue, but I will check with them what happened exactly and why your room was not changed, if you requested it. Also the information has been shared with the Housekeeping Manager. Hope that, apart of this inconvenience, you enjoyed the time in our city. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can help you with anything else, will be our pleasure to assist you. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NJ-Eric wrote a review Jun 2022
NJ452 contributions666 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When I arrived at this hotel I thought I had hit the jackpot: beautiful grounds, complete facilities and great service. My room was on a beautiful inner courtyard. On the way to the room the desk clerk mentioned that their restaurant had a flamenco exhibition at the restaurant that night, that was at a fair price of (I forget exactly, but not cheap and not exorbitant) that would require a reservation. However I had other dinner plans. When I returned from dinner, I saw the courtyard below me was set up with a stage and restaurant tables since I left a few hours earlier. Eventually, I saw the flamenco show for free from my room through a window that looked out directly onto the courtyard. If I had reserved for the show, I certainly would have felt ripped off. The show was loud but I didn't mind. However, after the show, the loudness increased. It turned out that the bar also opened out onto the courtyard open air and they had some very very loud drunks continuously for hours and hours until midnight or so. And it turned out that the windows and walls let all the noise in as if my bed was in the bar. My view: they MUST noise-proof these rooms or at least disclose what they are selling to you. And they need to monitor the level of noise allowed from the raucous bar (it was the next night after a huge soccer match apparently) until the noise-proofing is done. And it would have been brave and honest if they had disclosed the flamenco show was in the courtyard. They might have said many thought it was so much more enjoyable to observe from close up than from the 2nd floor room. What a letdown, especially the bar noise!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula Autograph Collection, General Manager at Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Dear NJ-Eric, First and foremost, we would like to thank you for having chosen us during your stay in Granada and also for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Thank you for your nice comments about the property and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience with the concert and bar noise. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We will ensure the necessary guidelines are in place and reviewed to prevent from occurring in the future. Thank you again and have a great week! Kind Regards, Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ncm1965 wrote a review Jan 2020
Hitchin, United Kingdom324 contributions156 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at St Paula's between 1st and 4th January. I may have got it wrong, however, driving to the hotel seems to require you to take a left turn, go along the back streets and then turn back towards the hotel - there may have been guidance as to how to drive towards the hotel. If these was, I missed it. As you approach the hotel from a street level, it appears not particularly inspiring, however, the architecture above ground floor level give a clue.

We were received quickly by reception. We had booked a kingsize bedroom, however, they had noted it as a twin room. We were immediately reassigned a double room.

Our hire care was dealt with by a valet. It emerged in due course as we had left it!

The room was probably the nicest hotel room I have ever been in. The room had a large private balcony area off it. The bedroom had I would imagine orginal or at least long standing wooden shutters. The balcony was perfect for afternoon sun. Bed was comfy and there were comfy chairs inside.

The bathroom was split into a bath and toilet area. All well equipped.

Breakfast was on the lower ground level in what might have been a chapel or refrectory. Very nice food, however, not that varied. I found the Iberian Ham a bit intimidating i.e. quite thickly cut.

I do have negatives:
1) As a Brit, I do lie to have access to English speaking news programmes. It appeared that this was limited to CNBC (China) or Russia Today. I might have missed something, however, our TV went unused because of this (not necessarily a bad thing).
2) This is an old building that has been very cleverly converted. I did find that there was noise from the adjcant bedroom and also early morning as things were moved across the courtyard below.
3) The sinks do not have plugs. I would have liked a plug in the sink for shaving purposes, but I am now getting old and I understand that I will be in the minority.

Overall, however, a lovely, great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: To look over the former cloister/quad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
paula c wrote a review Sep 2021
Atlanta, Georgia838 contributions377 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for one night and enjoyed the hotel thoroughly. First of all it is stunning and interesting. The bedroom was very comfortable. Although parking is off site the hotel has made it very easy to park the car.

The hotel is centrally located and the staff were great. A superb property
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Auggie721 wrote a review Oct 2021
Cumming, Georgia36 contributions59 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned from a lovely stay at the Hotel Palacio for vacation. The service was fantastic and the rooms were well done. Next time I am in Granada, there is no question I will stay here again.

The front desk check in was very cheerful and helpful, they also recognized my Titanium elite status. We were upgraded before arrival to a junior suite with a suite night award, but were upgraded one more level to a full suite upon arrival. The suite was huge and had 2 rooms. The air conditioning was ice cold and despite facing the street we heard zero noise. The room was very clean and housekeeping was excellent.

We also enjoyed breakfast each morning in the inner courtyard. You could sit inside or outside, and I liked the mix of the self-serve buffet for cold items and the waiter bringing hot food like eggs. Covid protocols were well done at breakfast and in the lobby.

The location was very central and easy to walk to Plaza Nueva. Overall we loved this hotel, the room, the service, breakfast, everything. From someone who travels a ton, this hotel gets my highest compliments. Kudos for not compromising service during Covid times. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms are quiet, no issues in the new section facing the street
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SSwith3 wrote a review Aug 2022
St. Catharines, Canada309 contributions78 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a premium king room for two nights. The hotel is beautiful, the location excellent, the rooms large and the surroundings comfortable. The room and bathroom were both spacious, but the finishings oddly out of character at times. The furniture (other than the bed) was not designed to be comfortable for longer periods, and there was no desk if needed. Breakfast was okay but selection of fresh made dishes was both small and they did not appear to be freshly made on arrival (we had the distinct impression the hotel was not very full).
The gym and Turkish baths were tucked in a corner in the basement and seemed to be unused. The bar and lounge were comfortable but aside from breakfast we did not eat at the hotel. The inner courtyard is gorgeous and the central location on the edge of the Albaicín makes this a great choice. But all things considered the quality of some of the finishes and the offerings of the hotel are not in line with the high price of the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Premium king rooms are in the original convent and overlook the courtyard, have beautiful wood...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Belgo wrote a review Sep 2021
Belgium37 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
You only really get to know what kind of service you can expect when there is a crisis. And only when there is a crisis will I ever take issue with bad service. The rest of the time, I don't have high expectations.

We were having a wonderful time at this hotel until the electricity was unexpectedly (to us at least) cut off due to work in the street.

The reaction from the staff was as nonchalant as it can ever be. They simply could not care less and made no effort whatsoever to make any of their guests comfortable (never mind myself who has Marriott Ambassador status...which of course should not matter). We were left to sit in a dark room or fight for the few armchairs in the courtyard.

Shame really because this really is a lovely hotel and I was thinking of planning a work event here. Not any more.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanna H H asked a question Apr 2022
Exeter, United Kingdom15 contributions5 helpful votes
Hi. We are staying with you in May. Due the bedrooms have kettles please? Thank you
Answer from Rahul A
Singapore, Singapore45 contributions69 helpful votes
Yes, they do.
Answer from Ctopping84
Tring, United Kingdom42 contributions38 helpful votes
Im checking in to the hotel tomorrow, they have parking for €30per day...theyve also said I can offload my luggage and leave the car whilst expliring granada on foot before actually checking in...
Answer from susan p
corte madera7 contributions12 helpful votes
I would call the reservationist at the hotel, but also, if you are noise sensitive, i would request NOT to be around courtyard as their weddings, etc. last late into the night. we loved the staff, hotel was really nice, but the noise was a huge issue for us.
sukiesagooreddy wrote a tip Apr 11
London, United Kingdom26 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No pool"
Read full review
Bhoddisattva wrote a tip Mar 2024
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom82 contributions90 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get room overlooking courtyard Note my comments about driving there and parking "
Read full review
sam1992uk wrote a tip Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom19 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking onsite but the valet parks the car in a nearby parking. At the time of staying it was 30 € overnight. Careful with bus lanes."
Read full review
twisteddiva wrote a tip Dec 2023
Virginia455 contributions224 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only valet parking available, but plenty of cabs everywhere."
Read full review
Jen wrote a tip Sep 2023
New York City, New York15 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have a meal at the restaurant"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Granada area.
PRICE RANGE
$394 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ac palacio de santa paula, autograph collection hotel granada
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula by Marriott
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of GranadaGranadaCentro - Sagrario
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL PALACIO DE SANTA PAULA, AUTOGRAPH COLLECTION - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Escuela Delengua (0.2 miles), Tablao Flamenco Casa Ana (0.2 miles), and Basílica de San Juan de Dios (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Mercader, Palacio Andaluz Almona, and Betula Nana.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Granada.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Granada HotelsGranada Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GranadaHotels near Hotel Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars