Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa

Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa

Urbanizacion Arena Beach Carretera Estepona - Cadiz, Km 151, 29680, Estepona Spain
Ala carte
Traveler (1794)
Piscine extérieure
Pool & Beach (309)
Room & Suite (237)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, Jun 1
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
$208
$189
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#6 of 31 hotels in Estepona
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ubicado en primera línea de playa muy cerca del puerto deportivo y pesquero de Estepona. Hotel diseñado en un estilo de arquitectura tradicional, con bellos balcones sobre el mar, sin olvidar en ningún momento el toque modernista y aplicando en cada una de las partes del hotel las nuevas tendencias, tanto decorativas como tecnológicas. Con un claro enfoque al relax y la tranquilidad, uno de sus puntos fuertes es su Elba Thalasso Spa, con más de 1400 m2 dedicados a esta materia, y otro es su área de negocios con capacidad de hasta 300 personas en sus diferentes salones. Atención personalizada y oferta gastronómica variada. Único hotel 5* en Costa del Sol con servicio Todo Incluido (servicio opcional). Días de apertura del Thalasso Spa: Viernes, Sábado y Domingo. Horario: 10.00h - 14.00h y 16.00h - 20.00h.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Entertainment staff
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,873 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in the heart of elegance, Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa is celebrated for its stylish and comfortable atmosphere. Guests are often impressed by the spacious and well-maintained rooms that boast captivating views, although a few have noted maintenance concerns. The luxurious spa and multiple pools stand out among the hotel's amenities, despite occasional cleanliness lapses. Affordability is a highlight, with travelers appreciating the reasonable pricing and value for money. While the staff generally receives accolades for their friendliness, service can sometimes be hit or miss.
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Relaxing

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
2,873Reviews147Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,695
  • 645
  • 308
  • 134
  • 91
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
James W wrote a review Aug 2021
Munich, Germany27 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has much going for it. The view out to sea is wonderful and with direct access to the beach it´s a great place to relax in the sun. The rooftop pool with its sun terrace is the nicest part of the hotel for sunbathing and the spa is really very good (even if I find the 20€ charge unacceptable). Also the rooms are very large and beds comfortable. The bathroom was also large with external windows and spotlessly clean though the products cheap. THat said my maid was extremely good and each morning, seeing me going to breakfast did my room out of order to avoid disturbing me later in the day. Breakfast is also more than adequate and it was appreciated that this was adults only.

This hotel though is not really 5 star and as long as the price reflects more a good 4 then I´d have no hesitation in returning. That, however would only be in quieter months with fewer children. The hotel can do nothing about school holidays but the children there and their selfish parents were some of the worst I´ve experienced anywhere! There were days when the noise was just dreadful. To remedy this the hotel should outright ban reserving sunbeds by the pool as is common in other quality hotels so there´s enough for families by the main pool. Then they could make the rooftop adults only and ban not only inflatables but also any type of ball games or anything that makes a noise up there. It is a shame that many of the British families complaining here about rough treatment (the staff were always extremely kind and attentive to me) didn´t show others the level of respect and consideration they, themselves were demanding.

The location is also not ideal with little within walking distance but Estepona is only a short cab ride away and beautiful when you get there. My advice would be to budget for 20€ extra per day to get there and add that to the cost of the holiday at the time of deciding whether or not to book.

I also struggle to understand the complaints about few Covid measures. The hotel has a policy of mask wearing indoors with screens and ample hand gel. Outside people were still wearing masks for no apparent reason. There comes a point when people have to think and make decisions about the risk for themselves.

The only really negative aspect of this hotel was the noise from remarkably unruly (largely British) kids and it is with some Schadenfreude that I read that they had trouble sleeping. Given their behaviour it´s hard to see this as anything other than rough justice! In any case booking a seaview room solves this problem.

This is a very good resort hotel and when seen (and priced) in those terms I´d have no hesitation in recommending it to others but though the should only come out of season (as I will be next time) when the place is peaceful enough for relaxing break.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Seaview rooms are a must
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elba Estepona Elba, Director General at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa
Responded Jan 8, 2022
Dear G1350PRjamesw: We are currently reviewing comments from our clients in 2021 to be able to take them into account for future planning, and would like to thank you very much for sharing your experienes. As it is part of our philosophy to provide our guests with outstanding culinary highlights, ensure excellent service and maintain and constantly improve all facilities to a maximum, we value our guests’ comments and are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. As the welfare of our guests is very important to us, we are delighted to read such a detailed comment. We understand completely that there is a difference in noise level and volume of guest between high season and mid season, and are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our quiter months. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IPBushy wrote a review May 2021
Coin, Spain161 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
All the staff were very pleasant such as at reception, in the dining hall, and the cleaning ladies. Checking-in was speedy and trouble-free and we found our room easily enough. It was everything we expected it to be, at the price. Dining was in the buffet hall and was very good. There were even some concessions to the English palette, but mostly excellent Spanish fare. Being a buffet we were not left hungry!! Staff were attentive and removed old crockery and cutlery quickly. Drinks were brought to the table smartly as well. The pool looked good although we did not use it and there was access to the beach, which we did use. Check-out was easy.

Parking was pretty much “find a space if you can". I imagine if the tourist season gets underway this year drivers may struggle to find somewhere within a few minutes walking distance! We asked for a couple of things from reception over our stay and on both occasions we had to ask twice! Neither were difficult so I don't know why we had to remind them. Although dining was good I thought it was a bit pricey, even taking good value into account. We live in Spain so I know how much a meal should cost! Pray you don't get someone in a room anywhere near you who likes to move furniture about. There are, of course, no carpets so scraping chairs can be really disturbing, otherwise, it was quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elba Estepona Elba, Director General at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa
Responded Aug 15, 2021
Dear IPBushy: We wish to thank you for your evaluation., as it has been a pleasure to welcome you at the hotel. We are also delighted to hear that you especially enjoyed our excellent gastronomy and that we could ensure you a range of international and spanish meals. Our staff is always eager to provide a fast, competent and individual service. Nevertheless, we are continuously seeking to improve our service and we highly appreciate your feedback. We hope that you had a delightful stay with us and a wonderful trip back home. Kind regards Katja Ehnert (Deputy Manager)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Heidi D wrote a review Aug 2020
Gibraltar73 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked for a couple of nights over a long weekend as a last minute “need a break” weekend. The staff were friendly and attentive from start to finish. Of course, the hotel was by no means full which suited us in terms of peace and quiet and everything was very organised in terms of sanitation and social distancing. Our room, a prestige double with sea view, was very spacious with a fabulous bathroom and a beautiful view. There is an excellent offering at the buffet breakfast that will cater for everyone, again, all very well organised. We ate in the Andalusian restaurant on the second night and the meal was superb with excellent service. A thoroughly enjoyable couple of nights away and we would certainly recommend and return in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elba Estepona Elba, Director General at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa
Responded Oct 6, 2020
Dear HeidiD955, Thank you for your kind recommendations of the Elba Estepona Gran Hotel &Thalasso Spa*****. We are delighted to learn that your time spent here was enjoyable and that you liked our spacious rooms. This together with the friendliness of my team are the real assets of the hotel. It would be a pleasure to host you in the future. Best regards, Juan Manuel Galán General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
danny8795 wrote a review Jul 2020
Tamworth, United Kingdom33 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Here is an email I sent to Hotel Elba 7 days ago and have not had a response!

Hi 

My name is Daniel Downes and my wife and i stayed in room 543 on Saturday 27th June 2020.

We are currently filming for a travel blog informing UK travellers about alternatives to flying, where to stay etc.

We booked an overnight stay as we would be driving from San Sebastian and wanted a bit of luxury and a comfortable bed.

After reading the reviews and looking at the hotels website, we decided that Elba would give us what we needed.

We had previously stayed in the 4 star H10 in Estepona which was glorious and felt Elba, being 5 star, would be a step up.

How wrong we were!

From start to finish the hotel has disappointed us at every opportunity.

There was a 45 minute wait to check in and the lobby was very hot and not air conditioned.

The staff on reception were friendly and helpful.

We had booked a double room with sea view and on entering the room were somewhat disappointed with what can only be described as a partial sea view.

The room was extremely dusty (please see attached photos) and had a damp smell which had obviously been noticed as there was an air freshener in the room.

The bed was two single beds and not the double as requested.

The mattresses would have been disgraceful in a 2 star hotel!

They were old, very hard and had sizeable dips in them, please see attached photo.

With every movement you could hear and feel the springs popping so all in all we had a terrible night's sleep.

To make matters worse the entertainment was ridiculously loud with the female singer shouting the lyrics and i am sure there would have been no part of the hotel that couldn't hear every word.

This noise carried on until 11.15pm a full 1 hour and 44 minutes after my wife and i tried to get to sleep.

The tea and coffee facilities again, were something you would expect in a 2 star hotel (please see attached photo).

There was no milk of any description and when I rung reception they apologised and said they would send some up.

5 minutes later a cleaner knocked the door with 8 more sachets of cheap coffee and no milk. She explained that I could go to the restaurant and get my own milk but that it wouldn't be open for another few hours!

The levels of cleanliness in the hotel were again really poor and considering we are still in a pandemic is shameful to say the least.

Many of the reviews heaped praise on the breakfast and im not sure if we ate at a different buffet but again the breakfast was of a poor standard and no where near what H10 had on offer.

The hot food was cold, the bread was stale and again we were served with cheap tasting coffee.

The whole experience of Elba means we are very unlikely to stay in any of the Elba hotels.

We are leaving today very tired, hungry and disappointed and feel it needs to be brought to your attention so that future travellers do not through what we had to endure.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Daniel Downes

Get Outlook for Android
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elba Estepona E, Director General at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa
Responded Jul 3, 2020
Dear Client, I have not received your e_mail and I apologize for it, please use this to apologize on all the opinion pages where you have written. First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Elba EStepona Gran Hotel ***** for your holidays as well as for taking the time to write your impressions about your stay. Unfortunately it seems you have left our hotel with a bad impression, which is a shame as we did our very best to satisfy your every need and we are really sorry to know that your expectations were not meet and we wish to apologize for this. Tripadvisor helps other clients to choose a hotel based on the overall satisfaction of other guests that have stayed in the same hotel, since the opening of our hotel we have achieved and maintained an excellent rating record. The rooms are also properly reviewed before check in of guests, however if you find the slightest imperfection or anything in need of cleanliness or repair you may advise reception or the Management the same day . We like to highlight that most of our client are talking positive about the great food and quality selection we offer, well about our frindly and helpfull staff, We hope that this experience has not tarnished your image of our Hotel. We kindly ask you for a chance where we can assure we will do our best to achieve our main goal: your maximum satisfaction. Yours sincerely, Juan Manuel Galán General Manager Elba Estepona Gran Hotel *****
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lilia wrote a review Aug 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates60 contributions110 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Honestly this doesn’t deserve five stars!!! I booked a premium room with sea view and besides the view the hotel failed me. It’s a cheap looking hotel with old facilities and decor. The room is full of insects which can be avoided, I’ve been in resorts in tropical destinations with far more insects and there were none in the room. The pool area looks cheap. Lunch is expensive for the quality. The rooms don’t have free water (the bare minimum any hotel should have) and you have to pay 5€ a bottle! Check in starts at 3pm and checkout at 12pm so not sure why they charge people for 24hours.. Overall NOT WORTH THE PRICE. Run away and spend either less in a decent 4 stars or a bit more in a proper 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elba Estepona Elba, Director General at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa
Responded Aug 12, 2020
Dear thisislilia, Thank you for sharing your feedback at Tripadvisor. I’m truly sorry to learn that we didn’t meet your expectations, what’s more, we fell far away from them. That’s certainly not the direction in which we wish to go and we really appreciate your valuable comments. Our Team is looking into the issues you mentioned and we believe in providing better experiences for our future guests. Best regards, Juan Manuel Galán General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ella W wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are British save yourself the cash and do not book here. The garden rooms have very loud (and I mean think of it like a nightclub noise) playing until 12am EVERY NIGHT. We asked to move rooms as our 2 year old was struggling to get to sleep and we’re told this wasn’t possible as they had no rooms (not 1 available for the whole week?!) yet we were still able to see availability for booking online that week. Hhhmmmmm So lied to at main reception. Why anyone would think it’s ok to have a live singer screaming badly at the top of their lungs every night I don’t know?!. It is so unrelaxing and unfair on paying customers who don’t get a decent night sleep.

The buffet food is below average and that is being extremely generous, same old brown food or salad each night with literally zero creatively or flavour. Using old breakfast rolls as pizza for dinner m. Same at breakfast, also be sure to get in early as the buffet has to be served to you and there is about 5 staff for 50 people so you can imagine the wait times. The gym is tiny and dirty. One treadmill for the whole complex this is meant to be a 5 star establishment 😂 also if you are British expect to be treated as a second class citizen. We only actually met 2 other British families here ( it’s mainly Spanish) and they too were placed in the noisy part of the hotel (garden rooms). I cannot express how much we regretted our stay here. Another note We brought a small inflatable for the kids and were told no inflatables allowed in the pool the second we got it out?! but apparently a load of drunk Spanish lads playing water volley ball taking up half of the pool during peak time is ok?! Go figure.

Also there is only an Aldi supermarket across the bridge no other shops or things to do. You’ll need to hire a car but parking is a joke here so good luck. Rooms are dated, like most things in the hotel have seen better days but it’s the terrible customer service and cleanliness that really lets the place down. Wouldn’t recommend this place to my worst enemy. Will never return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elba Estepona Elba, Director General at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa
Responded Aug 31, 2021
Dear 181ellaw: Thank you for your comments. Please, accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences that were unpleasant for you. Henceforth, we would like to comment on some of your statements: We assure you that we pay attention to every guest and are endeavored to make all our guests feel comfortable in our hotel. Thats why I'm sure, that our staff at no point made any rude comments or differences between nationalities while serving you and your family. The rools for the pool use are stated clearly in several displays around the pool area and are for all guests. The only exception for the use of balls, inflatables and other stuff inside the pool are the hours of pool entertainment with our entertainment team - this could be for example a match of waterpolo. It is correct, the entertainment in summer months inludes every day life music in the evening hours. Please take into account that the typical rest-time with silence in Spain is delayed comparing to northern countries, usually it's 12 o'clock when everything should be quiet. Once again, we are sorry that your vacations were not as dreamed off. Sincerally Katja Ehnert
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CMCLeicester wrote a review Jun 2022
Leicester, United Kingdom35 contributions30 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Plus points:
Huge rooms
Very friendly bar staff
Estepona town is very nice
Err that's it

Minus points:
Cleaning leaves a lot to be desired, including used ear bud in the bathroom & a cork on the bedroom floor on arrival.
Sometimes the tea, minibar, toiletries etc. were refreshed, but usually not
Junior suite for 3, 3rd bed was a camp bed, only towels, cups, glasses & balcony chairs for 2. Asked for the additional towels daily, became something of routine (sometimes twice daily as reception staff seemed to have very short memories). Never did get the other items.
All areas very, tired
No table service from the bar (would deliver drinks to the table but not take orders) No pool service at all
Buffet was brown & boring every day, every meal, practically no variety & only warm. Plates cold which didn't help either
Reception staff were either disinterested or poorly trained. Booked a taxi one day for an hour ahead, the receptionist wrote the details down, an hour later we waited outside & no taxi, we checked with reception & a different worker informed us they do not book taxis for short journeys.
Coldest pool I've ever been in (including Wales in March), surely 5 star hotels should heat the pool. Small heated indoor pool. Small is the definitely the word.
The beach is not private & looks as though it was used a set for the film Dunkirk.

Speaking to other guests the overwhelming opinion was the hotel is significantly overrated & the only redeeming feature is it is cheap.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Manuel Galán , Director General at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa
Responded Jun 7, 2022
Dear CMCLeicester , Thank you for taking the time to comment on your very recent holiday with us. I’m sorry that we dissapointed you. The lack of our assistance and problem resolution is unacceptable and I wish to deeply apologize for it. It’s obvious that we failed and I’m truly sad to learn that we didn’t make it up to you with the rest of our services or facilites. I remain at your full disposal, Juan Manuel galán General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lingopete2015 wrote a review Feb 2020
Nantwich, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Accept that this hotel is outside Estepona, ( we had a hire car), after that- great friendly staff, lovely welcome and welcome drinks from Carmen, fabulous huge room(505) with rain shower and seaview balcony, great ceiling fan! beautifully cleaned and refreshed every day. Buffet breakfast with absolutely everything inside or out. There is an Aldi over the road ! Taxis(nearly always ouside) to the port (charming) or Estepona itself (friendly) are about 10 euros. Bar is staffed also by friendly people for drinks snacks etc. Superb indoor pool (seaview) very warm and outdoor not so warm! This was great value for money (we stopped 9 nights) and we hope to return soon!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elba Estepona E, Director General at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa
Responded Feb 17, 2020
Dear lingopete2015, Thank you for having chosen our resort for your holiday and for your valuable time spent on this online review. I’m pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities and service offer and we would be definitely happy to welcome you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your reservation, so that we can assist you with whatever inquiry or wish you may have. Best regards, Juan Manuel Galán General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ToryHawe wrote a review Feb 2020
22 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
There are a lot of hotels to choose from in this area but I would highly recommend this one. Hotel rooms are very luxurious. We had one with a sea view and a balcony with sun loungers. Hotel staff are lovely and room service was very fast. We ordered beers etc to the room. In the evening we ordered wine, choc brownies etc and it was all very delicious. Very clean and efficient hotel. They even offered to clean our room when we wanted (after 4pm when we left for the evening). We got breakfast included and it was very worth it. So much choice and all delicious. Fruits, breads, cooked foods, eggs, pancakes, meats and cheeses etc. Gorgeous. Very spacious hotel with lots of areas to relax and have a beer or a coffee. Lovely grounds. It only cost us 7euro to get a taxi into Estepona and we did that for 3 days in a row as it is such a lovely town. You are right infront of the beach at this hotel and a nice board walk. I slept loads because in the hotel room you arent aware of any other guests. Very quiet which was lovely. Foyer is impressive and nice atmosphere. Lovely stay so thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elba Estepona E, Director General at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa
Responded Feb 21, 2020
Dear ToryHawe, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us and other holiday makers on Tripadvisor. As we value very much all comments of our guests, we are delighted to read that you had such a memorable stay in our hotel in Estepona. We will share your praise with all the team, I am sure they will be very motivated about it. We hope to see you again on your future travels Kindest regards, Juan Manuel Galán General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lori-An E wrote a review Sep 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was beautiful and had a relaxed feel which is just what we hoped for. Rooms and facilities were great and clean. We had a sea view room with a balcony so it was lovely to wake up to the view each day. The food was excellent (we ate both at the buffet and a la carte) with a wide range of options. The pools had options for family swimming or an adults only one which we appreciated (we have kids bit didn't travel with them so was nice to have some adult only time!). The spa was lovely with two hydro pools, a plunge pool and around 7 sauna, steam and laconium type rooms. We also had massages which were good. The hotel is situated on the beach which is sand and pebbles but very clean and people were sunbathing, swimming and even scuba diving there. It is just under 2km to walk into Estepona from the hotel and there is a beach promenade for most of this, alternatively around 10euros in a taxi each way. We would highly recommend this hotel and although we didn't go with kids it would be nice for families as well. We hope to return in the future
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Manuel Galán , Director General at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa
Responded Dec 2, 2023
Dear Lorian333, First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to evaluate our services in such a detailed and positive way. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the quality of all our services. We look forward to welcoming you again soon, Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leila T asked a question Feb 2024
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Are kids allowed in the indoor pool? Thanks
Answer from Colin G
Hazel Grove, United Kingdom514 contributions150 helpful votes
I'm not 100% but think this is an adults only hotel
Chester family asked a question May 2023
Cheshire, United Kingdom27 contributions16 helpful votes
Anyone been to Gibraltar from this hotel - fancy some shopping
Answer from Chester family
Cheshire, United Kingdom27 contributions16 helpful votes
Is there a nice kids area/ kids club and pool? Any details gratefully received
Answer from MrBlue85
Cardiff, United Kingdom34 contributions97 helpful votes
Sorry we were golfing so didn’t check out car hire. I’m sure the hotel can sort it out. Found them very helpful
Andrew S asked a question May 2023
2 contributions
What time is breakfast?
Isaac H asked a question Jul 2022
Worcester, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, do all family rooms have a sea view please? Thank you 😊
Answer from andrewkidd3
Whitstable, United Kingdom58 contributions16 helpful votes
Not all have, bottom end of hotel looks over the gardens, would recommend paying the extra. Have a good time and good choice of hotel.
lovingthesunshine wrote a tip May 10
shropshire uk71 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking at hotel . If you can get a larger room suite as soon as possible worth it ."
Read full review
Shoshana wrote a tip May 4
Toronto, Canada148 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great resort, but it is a little dated & needs an update"
Read full review
Lilly A wrote a tip Apr 2024
Gibraltar7 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Skip breakfast, and skip booking any spa treatments - they are really overpriced, not much availability, and honestly just really not good. "
Read full review
Chris V wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"You can do better"
Read full review
Lyn Burns wrote a tip Apr 2024
Madrid, Spain38 contributions20 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are used to proper 5 star quality this is not the hotel for you. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Estepona area.
PRICE RANGE
$194 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran hotel elba estepona and thalasso spa, gran hotel elba estepona & thalasso estepona
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of MalagaCosta del SolEstepona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
204
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ELBA ESTEPONA GRAN HOTEL & THALASSO SPA $196 ($̶2̶1̶8̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa?
Nearby attractions include SIGNUM Escape Room (2.3 miles), Centro Historico de Estepona (2.7 miles), and Paseo Maritimo de Estepona (2.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sabores Gourmet, Chanchalay Bar, and The Forge Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
All Estepona HotelsEstepona Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EsteponaHotels near Elba Estepona Gran Hotel & Thalasso Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars