We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Markgraf Leipzig

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Markgraf Leipzig
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 23: English reviews
New York
Reviewed August 31, 2016

For a short one night trip to Leipzig, I booked the Markgraf in the Suedvorstadt area through Priceline. The area map on PL for Leipzig put everything close to the center as one area, although this hotel is located technically just south of the center. This turned out to be the best stroke of luck, because the Suedvorstadt area is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank siminnyc
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

As with most european hotels...if its a 4 star hotel take 1 star off. This is a 2.5 star hotel at best. Rooms are small and no air-conditioning. The no air conditioning part is a deal breaker in the summer as the rooms often match the heat outside till 2 or 3 am. Its a 20 minute walk to centrum...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ethan L
Hotel-Markgraf, Manager at Hotel Markgraf Leipzig, responded to this review

Dear Madam or Sir, our Hotel has no star! Sorry if we could not meet your personal requirements . They paid a low price and have it get a suitable room . We wish you all the best. Best regards from the Hotel Markgraf Leipzig.

Helsingborg, Sweden
Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

We ended up here because the traffic was crazy on the Autobahn and we need to sleep somewhere. Found a good rate for my family of 4. On the booking site it was rated 4 stars. However, it was a quite simple apartment that had been remade into a hotel room. It had two rooms, which was great. But there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cillidill
Hotel-Markgraf, Manager at Hotel Markgraf Leipzig, responded to this review

Dear Guest, our hotel is not a 4 star hotel! Thies rating is a reflection of how the property to the industry standard when it comes to price, facitlites and service offerd. With best regards your team from the Hotel Markgraf Leipzig.

Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Ideally located only a few minutes away from city center we have experienced one of the friendliest welcomes ever! The rooms were very tidy and spacious! Special thanks goes out to the beautifully French speaking young lady from east Poland with the brightest smile even when working next morning at six AM after New Year's Eve!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Attila K
Hotel-Markgraf, Reception at Hotel Markgraf Leipzig, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your so friendly opinion! It is wonderful to know that you felt good in our hotel. The 1st of January with so nice guests was a great beginning of the new year. :) We would be delighted to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in Leipzig! Pozdrawiam serdecznie! Your Hotel Markgraf team

Dresden, Germany
Reviewed October 11, 2015

The check-in time was at 15:00. and check-out at 11:00! I had never heard check-in time later than 14:00. The elevator was so small that my baby's stroller hardly got in! The hotel receptionist was not friendly at all. The breakfast was low quality with few choices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikou S
Hotel-Markgraf, Manager at Hotel Markgraf Leipzig, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your visit. We have no stars from the DEHOGA. - We are not a 4 star hotel! For any future questions please contact us.

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed December 27, 2014

We chose Hotel Markgraf for economy, location, and it was Rick Steves recommended. We were not disappointed. The hotel is a short tram ride from the Hauptbahnhof then less than one block from the tram stop. Check-in was uneventful and we headed up to our room. The room was reasonably sized, but not large. It was quite clean and had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daryl M
Reviewed September 11, 2014

First of all my reservation was messed up when I arrived, no rooms in the hotel building. Leipzig was busy that week with a conference going on and I was there on a work trip, a four day stay costing almost €1,000 for me & my colleague. The area around the hotel has a lot of young noisy families, it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nifhionnlaoich
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed May 19, 2014

far way from the center - no business service as airline check in no rooms before 15.00 no service after 22.00 and the staff know basic English and not friendly there are better options around in the city

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IB10
Ellensburg, Washington, United States
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel seems very unimposing from the outside but it has everything a traveler could want. The location was very convenient to either walk or take a tram to the main sights in Leipzig. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Our room was comfortable and modern; we were there in October and were able to have windows open at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
Brighton
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed a couple of nights and this hotel was everything I wanted and I have no faults. I first arrived the day before I was due to stay as my luggage had done astray and the airport would not deliver it to a field where I was camping out as part of the 200th anniversary of the Battle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhandolph
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
Zentrum-Süd
Hotel Michaelis
Hotel Michaelis
#21 of 100 in Leipzig
73 reviews
Leonardo Hotel & Residenz
#57 of 100 in Leipzig
40 reviews
Hotel Berlin
#28 of 100 in Leipzig
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum
Lodge-Leipzig
Lodge-Leipzig
#51 of 100 in Leipzig
10 reviews
Zentrum-Südost
Days Inn Leipzig City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Markgraf Leipzig offers more than your normal city hotel. Through its central location near the Main Train Station and the center of Leipzig it's an ideal spot for all kinds of excursions - whether business or leisure. There are many restaurants around the hotel offering national and international cuisine as well as countless bars and pubs. Hotel Markgraf offers 57 rooms. There are 4 room categories: standard, comfort, superior, apartments & family rooms. The stylish rooms at Hotel Markgraf Leipzig include satellite TV, large windows and a private bathroom. Some apartments feature a kitchenette and balcony. There is a free wlan acces in the whole hotel and a spacious winter garden where we serve breakfast. Our hotel in the center of Leipzig offers quality, comfort and a familiar atmosphere in which you will feel at home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Markgraf Leipzig

Address: Koernerstr. 36, 04107, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Location: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig > Südvorstadt
Price Range: $61 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Markgraf Leipzig 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Markgraf Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Markgraf Leipzig staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“there are better option around”
 of 5 bubbles IB10, May 19, 2014 | Read review
“My room was on the top floor at the back, it was pretty quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Rhandolph, Oct 26, 2013 | Read review
“I had a room near the elevators and only heard a few people on their way to breakfast. Otherwise, the building is quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles BonnieS5, Aug 20, 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay