We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Taschenberg 3, 01067 Dresden, Saxony Germany
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$156
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/16/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$110
View deal
Official Site$156
Priceline$156
ZenHotels.com$208
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1243)
360
Panoramas (22)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Updated 06/26/20

About

#13 of 116 hotels in Dresden
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Built in the 18th century by the Saxon king, August the Strong, as a pledge of love to his mistress and faithfully restored in 1995, Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski is a beautiful combination of historic glory and modern design. The hotel offers 182 elegant rooms, 31 luxurious suites and culinary excellence from three different venues including: the Palais Bistro, the Cafe Vestibul and the Karl May Bar. In addition, there are six elegant conference rooms on the Bel Etage and a divisible meeting and ball room. The Taschenbergpalais offers five-star catering services in and around Dresden. The hotel has also its own spa lounge with a pool.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, German
1855Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,258
  • 371
  • 154
  • 46
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
panayot papandreu wrote a review Oct 1
1 contribution
beautiful property at perfect location, but run by people who only pretend to be professional and decent while behind this facade they are rude and couldnt care less for their customers - and this runs right from the top management to the housekeeping
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Taschenbergpalais, Owner at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Paapuuu, Thank you for your review. We are of course truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Hotel Taschenbergpalais. However, with the little feedback given we cannot understand what went wrong or why you did not get a good impression of our service. Please feel free to contact us at any time for more detailed feedback so we can use it to grow and improve with it. With best regards Marten Schwass General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
xsauth wrote a review Dec 2021
Freising, Germany430 contributions227 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed two times by 1x night, on the way to Poland and then on the way back, and found this as majestic and beautiful place to be. The rooms are unique, with special interior feel and rich, classy details, yet super comfortable. The hotel itself is large and airy, with perfect inner yards where the restaurants are located, in the very center of the city and easy walk-around opportunity. The breakfast was typical to Kempinski (great!), with ample selection and top quality dishes, while the dinner seriously surprised us and went above expectations with all that sea food and fish offering they had, paired nicely with excellent choice of wines - that was stunning on late summer evening to be there! We also went to the pool upstairs, a bit cold for my feel, but cozy and modern ambience, top clean and lovely, with even small sauna in adjusting to the pool. On the separate side, I would mention that pricing here was very low comparing to many places, and even lower than the Kempinski hotels in Baltics. I don't know the reason for this, but certainly the quality and service of the hotel is highly rated and there is nothing wrong with this place at all. The underground parking with direct elevator to the hotel also adds benefits for me as convinient stop-over point for long travels within Germany/Poland/Czech directions.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Taschenbergpalais, Owner at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Responded Jan 1, 2022
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and gladly shared the positive feedback with all of our employees. It would be a great pleasure welcoming you with us again! With best regards Marten Schwass General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexis wrote a review Sep 2022
Paris, France19 contributions19 helpful votes
Very nice room (Deluxe), beautiful view on Theaterplatz, large and updated. Perfect service answering your wishes at once. The best location to visit Dresden. And for the price of a bad place in London or Milan....
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Taschenbergpalais, Owner at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Blaise, Thank you very much for your positive review of your stay at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden. We are truly happy you enjoyed your time with us and shared your wonderful experience with everyone. Gladly I forwarded your positive feedback to all employees as well. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back with us soon. For now I am sending my best regards from Dresden Marten Schwass General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mippzon wrote a review Aug 2022
Lund, Sweden60 contributions29 helpful votes
During August we stayed at the Taschenbergpalais Kempinski for 6 nights. From the very first moment we parked the car outside the hotel we felt the professionalism and welcome feeling from the staff. The check-in process was quick but our room was not yet ready. The reception trainee immediately offered to store our luggage and move it to our room when it was ready. She also gave us restaurant recommendations for lunch while we waited and offered to call us when the room was ready. The room itself was very spacious with a really nice view of Semperoper and Residenzschloss Dresden. The safe and the TV felt a bit dated and the TV was stored in a cupboard, so we never really used it. There was always a complimentary bottle of water each day and the possibility to make your own tea and coffee in the room. The bathroom had both shower, a bathtub, and a separate room for the WC. The room was kept clean both on arrival and during our stay. During our stay, we requested extra pillows, iron, and an ironing board which all arrived very quickly. The breakfast was included in our room rate and was a delight almost every day. We got seated on the terrace with good space between the tables. The staff took orders for drinks and warm dishes by the table and then it was also possible to pick things from the buffé. This solution ensured that the breakfast was a calm experience and a good start to the day. On our last day it was raining so they could not serve outdoors, then the experience was a bit stressful as all the people had to sit indoors. There are a handful of good restaurants in the hotel such as a Parisian-style bistro, a classic German restaurant, a fish restaurant, a bar, and a café. Not all restaurants have the same opening hours and some are actually closed some days during the week. There are other restaurants just a few meters from the hotel, and if you really need something to eat or drink quickly, there is a restaurant called Alex on the square outside the hotel which is open every day until really late in the evening. The location of the hotel is perfect as the main sights of Dresden are more or less right outside the hotel. All restaurants and sights are available within 15 minutes' walking distance. If you arrive by car you can easily unload the baggage right outside the hotel if you talk to the concierge staff. The hotel is also offering valet service but if you don't want to pay that much for parking, there is a good-sized parking garage just behind the Semperoper. It takes approximately 5-10 minutes to walk to the garage from the hotel and the garage is open 24/7. The hotel also has a small spa and pool area on the top floor with a sauna and bookable treatments. Children are allowed in the pool area at certain hours of the day if accompanied by an adult. During evenings no children are allowed, which is highly appreciated by me. It was a delight to stay at this luxury hotel with a very high service level and calm environment. If I ever go back to Dresden, I would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room on level 3 with views towards the castle and Semperoper if staying in lower-priced...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Taschenbergpalais, Owner at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Dear traveller, Thank you very much for your positive review of your stay at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden. We are truly happy you enjoyed your time with us and shared your wonderful experience with everyone. Gladly I forwarded your positive feedback to all employees as well. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back with us soon. For now I am sending my best regards from Dresden Marten Schwass General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guestfromprague wrote a review May 2022
41 contributions36 helpful votes
Before corona era I was for many years black member of Kempinski chain, it means I spend 30 and more nights every year in the Kempinski hotels. Now I am a platinum member, staying 10 or more nights there. I can say, that I am a Kempinski fan. But in Dresden the loyalty to the chain has no value. Normally as a platinum member you get upgrade of your room to the next category. This time we didn’t get it. I looked on the internet and there were 3 rooms of the next category available at the moment of my check in (I have a print screen of the reservation system). Why they didn’t gave me the upgrade? I don’t know. Price for the room is very reasonable. Generally between 200 and 250 Euro. But if you are used to the Kempinski standards, you will be very disappointed. I guess, that the last reconstruction of the hotel was realized 20 or more years ago. Everything is totally time worn. Because the hotel was not reconstructed for many, many years, there is no noise isolation. You hear all neighbors, every step on the floor, the lift, simply everything. Most funny is the TV in the room. The diagonal is about 50 centimeters (the size of a computer screen) and the distance from the bed is about 3 meters. This is not a joke. But it corresponds with my statement, that the last reconstruction was done many years ago, because TVs with the 50 centimeters diagonal doesn’t exist for many years, just a no name chinese production. Do you need turndown service? You must order it. Is it not logical for you? Allegedly it is sustainable. That’s a pity, that they are not fair enough and instead of saying “cost cutting” they call it sustainability. But it is for sure modern. Sleeping comfort is a disaster. Very old mattress with big hole in the middle. Management of the hotel will probably call it sustainability again. To use the same mattress for 20 years or longer. For the guest is it a catastrophe. Breakfast was really excellent. Very tasty. Very good service. That’s a pity, that you must wait in the queue for 15 Minutes to get a table. Collecting of your luggage and valet parking works very well. The biggest advantage of the hotel is the distance from Zwinger, Operahouse and the city center. Generally I must say, that Kempinski in Dresden is together with Kempinski Budapest the worst Kempinski hotel I stayed in, but if you take in the consideration very reasonable price of the room, than I would give 3 points from 5.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Go for a breakfast in good time not to wait in the queue.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Taschenbergpalais, Owner at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Responded May 12, 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Taschenbergpalais. As already replied to your response on our internal survey, we are sorry that the complimentary upgrade was not communicated properly to you at check in. You did however receive it. Our hotel rooms and lobby will be completely renovated starting January 2023. With this remodeling all your critic points will be improved. It would be our pleasure welcoming you back with us after the renovation works are finished. With best regards Marten Schwass General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin Drinkall - Europe wrote a review May 2022
Frederiksberg, Denmark424 contributions149 helpful votes
I had been engaging with the hotel on Instagram for some time before my trip to Dresden. So when a challenge was thrown down to eat a Kempinski bolognaise in the Palais Bistro I booked a table. The Palais was the original home of the Kings lover. He even built a bridge from his castle to her castle for his plate of daily pasta! Enough of that. The chef came out of the kitchen to explain all his beliefs on how to make a good bolognaise sauce. I thought at some point I had detected a hint of Marjoram but he denied emphatically claiming he only used Rosemary and Thyme. I thought different but didnt want to cause a scene. That happened later when my Jaegermeister went flying all over the white table cloth. Great dish!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Taschenbergpalais, Inhaber at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Responded May 6, 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your great review with us and other guests. We are very happy to read that you had a good experience at the Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden. Your positive feedback is a great motivation for the entire team. Thank you very much. Kind regards Marten Schwass General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lilacgirl41 wrote a review Nov 2021
Asbury Park, New Jersey262 contributions118 helpful votes
Staying at this hotel is staying in a piece of history. It is a gorgeous property with service to match. The restaurants are beautiful and the location is perfect for all things Dresden. It is wonderful!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Taschenbergpalais, Owner at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Responded Nov 10, 2021
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and gladly shared the positive feedback with all of our employees. It would be a great pleasure welcoming you with us again! With best regards Marten Schwass General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judith F wrote a review Oct 2021
Seattle, Washington86 contributions54 helpful votes
This is a well-located hotel near the square. Our room included breakfast buffet. Room was average sized, service okay, but disappointed perhaps because of the price. I had originally booked a jr suite, but the hotel said they were over-booked and offered me a superior double for ~ 30 Euros less per night. I would have rather had the suite…Could not tell that they were very busy. Don’t understand. I feel that the product is over-priced for what you get.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Taschenbergpalais, Owner at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Responded Oct 28, 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Taschenbergpalais. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us but I truly thank you for the constructive criticism which has already been forwarded to the respective department heads for evaluation. Actually we are not familiar with a recent overbooking situation. Maybe some miscommunication occurred? We hope to welcome you once again as our guest and show you a better side of our service. With best regards Marten Schwass General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
QuotetheRaven wrote a review Sep 2021
Thousand Oaks, California29 contributions24 helpful votes
For over $200 a night at a Kempinski one expects at least the internet to work. Not so, neither day nor night could we establish a rapid connection. In addition it was a dark, dreary room with no view and no artwork- dismal taste. We were allotted a single tiny container of shower gel. And despite the fact that we did not breakfast at the hotel, we were charged $72 and presented with a forged bill for that service. This chain has lost all its luster.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Taschenbergpalais, Owner at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Responded Sep 17, 2021
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden. Unfortunately we do not know to which booking your review is referring to. Please feel free to contact us for any unclear invoice statements. Our hotel does not forge bills - I strongly deny this claim. If there was a mistake made we will of course correct it. Apart from that I have forwarded your critic to our respective department heads for further evaluation. With best regards from Dresden Marten Schwass General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
michaelesf wrote a review Aug 2021
San Francisco, California27 contributions10 helpful votes
The Kempinski is a great option when visiting all the art treasures in Dresden. This is a 5 star hotel with all that you would expect, with a few bumps as they open back up. Look for a good deal on rates and/or an upgrade if you can.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Taschenbergpalais, Owner at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Responded Aug 16, 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your great review with us and other guests. We are very happy to read that you had a good experience at the Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski Dresden. Your positive feedback is a great motivation for the entire team. Thank you very much. Best regards Marten Schwass General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$136 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
taschenbergpalais kempinski hotel, taschenbergpalais kempinski dresden
LOCATION
GermanySaxonyDresdenInnere Altstadt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
213
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski?
Nearby attractions include Frauenkirche Dresden (0.3 miles), Gemäldegalerie Alte Meister (0.09 miles), and Green Vault (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Moritz, Karl May Bar, and Kunst-Cafe-Antik.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Dresden.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.