We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 47: English reviews
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Hotel is not new but nice and clean. The staff is kind and helpful. Bathroom was okey. Beds were comfortable. Wifi worked good. Excellent location near railway staton, shops and restaurants. Very close to everywhere.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank krzchm
gelsenkirchen, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Süleyman Aydin Assistant More 

Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

All excellent, except for the receptionist when I checked out who did not smile or say a word - just snatched my key!!!! This is most unusual for an Ibis/Accor hotel! ALSO - beware if you get a room at the front as refuse collection starts at 0700 and is still continuing at 0900!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rimsky12
gelsenkirchen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are sorry if you were not enjoyed the quality in the usual service at check out.This incident was discussed with the employee. Our hotel is located right in the city centre.Unfortunately, we can... More 

Blandford
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

I use the Ibis Gelsenkirchen on a regular basis each year. It is a fantastic hotel close to the train/tram station and the town centre. I use in for most home games for FC Schalke and is fantastic value.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shane A
gelsenkirchen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Shane we were pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your friendly remarks are a great motivation too. We are very much looking forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back again to the Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen on your future travels to Gelsenkirchen! Kind Regards Süleyman Aydin Executive Assistant Manager More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016

We stayed for 12 nights. Location was very convenient for bus and train commute. Very close to the high street and shops. Breakfast was well laid and adequate. Staff very polite helpful and could communicate in English. The room was basic, clean and well maintained by cleaners but the double bed mattress was hard, uncomfortable and the quilt size was... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank 793talhas
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are constantly working on improving our service and the facilities. Only through the comments and feedback of our clients, we can attend to all these and therefore keep our guests happy. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the not too far distant future. Best Regards... More 

Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

This is one basic Ibis hotel. Very good location, close Hbf, still on a quier streets that noice is no problem in the night. ( Ok there was a false fire alarm in the night we visited,but..) Good breakfast and our room was ok

Helpful?
Thank ClassicJPP
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. For the false fire alarm, we would like to apologize. Unfortunately a guest was pushing the fire detector for a joke. We... More 

Gelsenkirchen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

We were very satisfied of our stay of two days. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The personal is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good. The hotel is close to the shops and the train station. An hotel to remember for next time.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert V
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

Really shame that there is not air conditioning in rooms or fans, we spend one night here on very hot night and with open window which looking on busy high street we didn't get any sleep. Apart of this hotel is ok with good location. Oh yeah and parking is only one secure parking witch is around the corner from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lukasz J
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Deat Guest, thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with your overall stay. Sure we... More 

Antony
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

Close to railway station. Newly overhauled to the latest Ibis standard. Few restaurants closeby. One point to bare in mind when heat wave shows up, there is no air conditionning. Else I have a good night sleep every time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 284xavierr
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we were pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your friendly remarks are a great motivation tool! Sure, we do not have any air condition, but some fan for cooling are available on the reception. We are very much looking forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back again to the Ibis... More 

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015 via mobile

Descent hotel in good location. Usual Ibis style, cheap and cheerful Hotel clean, room adequate, bathroom a bit small. Hotel located in good location for train station and town centre Lots of bars, shops and restaurants nearby. No complaints

Helpful?
Thank Tom S
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gelsenkirchen
Altstadt
Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen
Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen
#2 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Altstadt
Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen
Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen
#11 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Courtyard Gelsenkirchen
#1 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Arena
#5 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Buer
Schloss Berge
Schloss Berge
#6 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer WIFI free of charge. All rooms are equipped with 32" LCD Flat Screens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen

Address: Bahnhofsvorplatz 12 | 45879 Gelsenkirchen, 45879 Gelsenkirchen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Gelsenkirchen
Price Range: $62 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay