We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
Graz, Austria
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location is very good, close to the main train station and the city center. Rooms are cheap. The size and cleanliness of rooms is ok, WiFi is fast and free. Breakfast selection is also very good .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sparefroh2
Manchester
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fantastic staff rooms are very clean fantastic location right in middle of town centre. All food places walking distance only. Great place to stay for weekend lovely place. You cant go wrong and wifi is fab it works beautifully.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 821amari
Battle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My room was far too warm and there was no heating control so I had to have the window open. Reception staff efficient but unfriendly(I have said this previously about this hotel): no welcome greeting - not even a Guten Tag! (She was eating as she spoke to me!) On departure the same attitude: no 'hope you enjoyed your stay',...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rimsky12
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Apparently this is a common misunderstanding, but when I book a twin room, I expect a twin room. I was in Germany for four days attending a trade fair in Essen, and used Gelsenkirchen as a base of operations. However, when my business partner and I arrived, we were told that we didn't have a twin room, they gave us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveKarma77
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always stay at the Ibis when visiting Germany and watching Schalke 04, look forward to staying again. Hotel is in a great location near the train station which is handy for everything, plenty of places to get food and drink close by as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Thomas Hennig Hotelmanager

Reviewed October 24, 2016

I'll begin by saying that I appreciate Ibis is an average hotel brand unlike Mercure etc. I was limited in choice as most of the hotels had been booked out nearer to Essen due to the International Spieltag 2016. This is much older that other Ibises I have visited and it shows. This hotel is in need of re-invigoration. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomw2005
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are constantly working on improving our service and the facilities. Only through the comments and feedback of our clients, we can attend to all these and therefore keep our guests happy. We are still busy to refresh the last rooms step by step next year. Sorry that we...

Sint-niklaas
Reviewed September 27, 2016

Nice sleepingroom but smal bathroom. The breakfast was good, nothing special but everything you may expect from a German dish. The staff was friendly at the reception and diningroom. On My way home I Forgot my pyjama, they offert to send it after, thank you verry much! The Hotel is nearby shopping street and train station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariok404
thomas_hennig, Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us at the Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen. Your warm and motivating comments will surely be shared with our entire team an they´ll continue to strive for excellence in every guest experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the not too far distant...

Js Goes
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Traffic in the middle of the night No airco Old building Rooms need an update and are very small, bed matrass is oke and it is clean. No service Not friendly people Breakfast small cafe is really terrible

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S4714LQnicolel
gelsenkirchen, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with your overall stay....

Milan, Italy
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

we among friends drvided to try this Ibis hotel. (chsin of hotels)but unfortunately we are nit sstisfied of it..the rooms are small, speciaĺy the bathroom. not to talk about the food its pessimistic. .never again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marylin P
gelsenkirchen, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with your overall stay....

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Hotel is not new but nice and clean. The staff is kind and helpful. Bathroom was okey. Beds were comfortable. Wifi worked good. Excellent location near railway staton, shops and restaurants. Very close to everywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krzchm
gelsenkirchen, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We are pleased, that you had a nice stay in our hotel. We are looking forward for your next visit in Gelsenkirchen. Best Regards Süleyman Aydin Assistant

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gelsenkirchen
Courtyard Gelsenkirchen
#1 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
171 reviews
Altstadt
Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen
Intercity Hotel Gelsenkirchen
#11 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
110 reviews
Altstadt
Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen
Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen
#2 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Arena
#6 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
24 reviews
Buer
Schloss Berge
Schloss Berge
#5 of 14 in Gelsenkirchen
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer WIFI free of charge. All rooms are equipped with 32" LCD Flat Screens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen

Address: Bahnhofsvorplatz 12 | 45879 Gelsenkirchen, 45879 Gelsenkirchen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Gelsenkirchen
Price Range: $62 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“add airconditioning and/or separate heaters for the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 896dinekeb, Oct 21, 2014 | Read review
“Avaoid this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles starcluster01, Jan 24, 2013 | Read review
“Corner rooms are very large (Ibis usual)”
  • view
  • room
  • Bed
  • Baby bed
  • 3rd bed
  • Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles Amesthyite, Sep 16, 2012 | Read review
“There is a train station at one end of the building. So, request a room facing the square, if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles GerrettConover, May 29, 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay