We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Bredeney

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Bredeney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 38: English reviews
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

This is a very big hotel recalling the good old industrial times of Essen. Very close to the fair ground, walking distance about 5 minutes. Breakfast and restaurant area could be improved as there are no options close by. Rooms have a great size and are very quiet with nice view into the garden areas of the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Andres E
HotelBredeney, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and that you were satisfied with our restaurant services We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again as a satisfied guest soon. Kind regards, Your Hotel Bredeney -Team More 

Malmo, Sweden
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

Rooms are alright. Equipped with standard stuff. Rather small and outdated for being a 4-star hotel. Swimming pool and wellness area are good. Breakfast buffet offers a large variety of average quality. Security is terrible!!! We had our expensive classic car stolen from the hotel's parking lot where it was parked and locked during Techno-Classica Essen. There were no security... More 

Helpful?
Thank bfm2004

Travelers are raving about these Essen hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

2 parking places invoiced for the same car in two different rooms... Single rooms are more expensive for less place, bed is too small, shower cabin is very small and to close of the WC. Ok for a short stay but no more than two days Restaurant does not look attractive

Helpful?
Thank Pierre M
HotelBredeney, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, thanks for your feedback. We're sorry for the carelessness of our receptionists and we I want to assure you that this is not the standard of our services corresponds. In the future we will continue to pay attention to improve our services constantly Kind regards, Your Hotel Bredeney -Team More 

Gort, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

Not the easiest to get to on a Sunday with public transport, but we managed. Taxi is the easiest way, from train station €16 . On the outskirts of Essen, away from shops etc. Room smelled of smoke, as we forgot that we should have asked for non-smoking( in Ireland it's all non smoking now) but staff happily moved us... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShonaMacG
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Shona, thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and that you have perceived our staff as friendly. We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again as a satisfied guest soon. Kind regards, Your Hotel Bredeney -Team More 

Bottmingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

Staff - To me it seemed that everything which was done by the staff of this hotel, it was done because they had to do it. There which made me feel like a guest or made me feel welcome. I was there, I paid and that was just good enough. Rooms - The smell in the rooms is awful. (most... More 

Helpful?
Thank DMS1995
California, USA
Level Contributor
993 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

Taxi 11 euro to convention center or just take a nice walk. Quite rooms all over. Reasonable rates include large breakfast buffet. Dinner buffet for euro 21 was good too. Paid parking available. Recommended MeuterMedia

Helpful?
Thank MeuterMedia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

Hotel Bredeney is set back from the main road and my room was facing out to a green area and trees - it was very quiet. Our room was small, but on the plus side the bed was very comfortable. Overall the hotel decor is outdated and there was some building work going on. The way the bedrooms are numbered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Odettexx
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Madame, thank you that you took the time to write down your opinion. We are happy to hear that you had a calm and pleasant stay at our hotel. We are little bit surprised about your feedback regarding our breakfast. We usually get positive feedback, but of course we are sorry that you don’t like our breakfast offer. Regarding... More 

Coventry, Vermont
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I am very disappointed with the Hotel as a whole! I and some colleagues were staying at this particular hotel on a business trip. My colleague and I had to check in relatively late due to work commitments. When we got to our room we were very surprised to see no bed but a sofa bed! We couldn’t believe it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank travel1281
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Madame, first we would like to thank you that you took the time to write down your opinion. We’re sorry about the discomfort you had. As you know there was the “GIFA/METEC” fair in Düsseldorf, that is why we were fully booked and are not able to offer you all of our room types. After you came down you... More 

England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We booked a 'Comfort Room'. It was two lifts and a very long walk from reception and once we got there it was very small, very hot (we asked for a fan which we had to keep on all night) with outdated decor and fittings and the bathroom was tiny and smelt of mould - I had to open the... More 

Helpful?
Thank George180
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Sir, thanks for your feedback. We are very sorry that you’re disappointed because of the room setup and the broke down lift. For the failure of the lift we would like to apologize and assure you that this is not the standard of our services. Thank you for your praise regarding to our restaurant und breakfast. Kind regards, your... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The only pluses it this hotel are: 1) it is close to Essen Messe; 2) nice and clean pool, nice pool service. MINUSES: - disgusting smell of antiquity and/or perfume chemical; - interior design some where is old and strange (it will just suffice to mention this "display stand of forgotten personal possessions" in corridor (I don't know was it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ton1ka
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rüttenscheid
Hotel An der Gruga
Hotel An der Gruga
#19 of 71 in Essen
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel Bredeney expects you right in the heart of the Ruhr. The traffic-favorable position (direct motorway binding A52/A40), our 220 parking places (max. EUR 6,00/24h) directly in front of the hotel and our 24 hours occupied reception guarantees you a pleasant arrival. Only a few minutes from the fair Essen away, directly at the edge of forest and in the proximity of many places of interest convenient, is the hotel Bredeney as well for Business trip as for short vacation with the family your perfect partner. With us you expect a relaxed atmosphere, a convincing price performance ratio with a free internet access in the whole hotel and, first and foremost, people who are ready to respond flexibility to all of your needs and wants - after all, life is complicated enough as it is. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Bredeney

Address: Theodor-Althoff-Str. 5, 45133 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Scandic Essen)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Price Range: $96 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bredeney 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Bredeney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bredeney Hotel Essen
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Essen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Essen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay