We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Bredeney

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Bredeney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 43: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 18, 2016

We have used this hotel a number of times for trips to a local fair. We found the price reasonable and the rooms were clean. It is a basic facility - there is no air conditioning which is OK in autumn but I imagine is uncomfortable in summer, and no tea making facilitites in the room. The staff are friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
HotelBredeney, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Natalie, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our services again and had another pleasant stay in our house. Our whole team was very happy about your laudatory words, many thanks for that. Today we look forward to your next visit! Best regards, your HOTEL BREDENEY Team

Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is close to the Düsseldorf exhibition area.5 min by taxi. The hotel itself has several buildings and is outdated. The room are small and no luxury and toilet articles. In fact it's all quiet simple. Looking at the price we paid it was not worth the money. The breakfast is overcrowded and you don't have much choice. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
HotelBredeney, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thanks for your review and the feedback. However, we are puzzled by some of your criticism points. Please note that our prices are including breakfast and using the whole wellness area and that that they're higher when there is a big fair around. Kind regards, you HOTEL BREDENEY team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

This is about the 6th or 7th time of staying in this hotel. We come back here every year for a fair. The hotel rooms are quite basic but they are fine. The rooms tend to be quite small and there's no facilities for making drinks. However is if functional and the beds are comfy. They have a lovely bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
HotelBredeney, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, thanks for yor feedback. We are pleased that we already often welcome you as guests in our hotel. Of course we have already informed our staff in the breakfast restaurant about your complaint. Today we look forward to you next visit! Best regards, you HOTEL BREDENEY Team

Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

I did not know what to expect for this hotel. But the overall experience was nice. The hotel is quite, and whithin 5 minutes drive from Messe Essen (or 10 minutes walk). At check in we were provided with drink vouchers for the nearby restaurant, that proved to be a great place to have dinner, with special dishes for vegans...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy I
HotelBredeney, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for your feedback. We are pleased that you were satisfied with the majority of our services. The point you mentioned in regard to the selection of vegan food in our breakfast restaurant we will include in our future planning. We would be glad to welcome you again soon! Best regards, your HOTEL BREDENEY Team

Ohningen, Germany
Reviewed September 1, 2016

The room was tiny as well as the bathroom. But you very seldom - if at all - you will find a cleaner room or a bathroom in a hotel!! The beds were good and the rooms are silent. Breakfast was included and excellent. Not expensive at all!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reisender239306
HotelBredeney, Verkausassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and that you were especially satisfied with the cleanliness in your room. We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again. Kind regards, Your Hotel Bredeney -Team

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed April 18, 2016

This is a very big hotel recalling the good old industrial times of Essen. Very close to the fair ground, walking distance about 5 minutes. Breakfast and restaurant area could be improved as there are no options close by. Rooms have a great size and are very quiet with nice view into the garden areas of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andres E
HotelBredeney, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and that you were satisfied with our restaurant services We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again as a satisfied guest soon. Kind regards, Your Hotel Bredeney -Team

Malmo, Sweden
Reviewed April 17, 2016

Rooms are alright. Equipped with standard stuff. Rather small and outdated for being a 4-star hotel. Swimming pool and wellness area are good. Breakfast buffet offers a large variety of average quality. Security is terrible!!! We had our expensive classic car stolen from the hotel's parking lot where it was parked and locked during Techno-Classica Essen. There were no security...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bfm2004
Paris, France
Reviewed April 10, 2016 via mobile

2 parking places invoiced for the same car in two different rooms... Single rooms are more expensive for less place, bed is too small, shower cabin is very small and to close of the WC. Ok for a short stay but no more than two days Restaurant does not look attractive

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pierre M
HotelBredeney, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, thanks for your feedback. We're sorry for the carelessness of our receptionists and we I want to assure you that this is not the standard of our services corresponds. In the future we will continue to pay attention to improve our services constantly Kind regards, Your Hotel Bredeney -Team

Gort, Ireland
Reviewed December 4, 2015

Not the easiest to get to on a Sunday with public transport, but we managed. Taxi is the easiest way, from train station €16 . On the outskirts of Essen, away from shops etc. Room smelled of smoke, as we forgot that we should have asked for non-smoking( in Ireland it's all non smoking now) but staff happily moved us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShonaMacG
KatjaGaertner, Verkaufsassistentin at Hotel Bredeney, responded to this review

Dear Shona, thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and that you have perceived our staff as friendly. We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again as a satisfied guest soon. Kind regards, Your Hotel Bredeney -Team

Bottmingen, Switzerland
Reviewed October 15, 2015

Staff - To me it seemed that everything which was done by the staff of this hotel, it was done because they had to do it. There which made me feel like a guest or made me feel welcome. I was there, I paid and that was just good enough. Rooms - The smell in the rooms is awful. (most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMS1995
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essen hotels
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#9 of 71 in Essen
384 reviews
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rüttenscheid
Hotel Maximilians
Hotel Maximilians
#20 of 71 in Essen
44 reviews
Rüttenscheid
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Ypsilon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel Bredeney expects you right in the heart of the Ruhr. The traffic-favorable position (direct motorway binding A52/A40), our 220 parking places (max. EUR 6,00/24h) directly in front of the hotel and our 24 hours occupied reception guarantees you a pleasant arrival. Only a few minutes from the fair Essen away, directly at the edge of forest and in the proximity of many places of interest convenient, is the hotel Bredeney as well for Business trip as for short vacation with the family your perfect partner. With us you expect a relaxed atmosphere, a convincing price performance ratio with a free internet access in the whole hotel and, first and foremost, people who are ready to respond flexibility to all of your needs and wants - after all, life is complicated enough as it is. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Bredeney

Address: Theodor-Althoff-Str. 5, 45133 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Scandic Essen)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Price Range: $93 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bredeney 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bredeney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bredeney Hotel Essen
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Essen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Essen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Bredeney staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hangzhou, China

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Bredeney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for non smoking room if required. We asked when we arrived and got changed straight away.”
 of 5 bubbles ShonaMacG, Dec 4, 2015 | Read review
“Tell them you do not want a sofa bed as a bed!”
 of 5 bubbles travel1281, Jun 19, 2015 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles George180, Apr 23, 2015 | Read review
“Room in the range of 400 are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles DMS1995, Jul 1, 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor to back side”
 of 5 bubbles Johannes50, Apr 12, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay