We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre

Traveler (119)
Room & Suite (62)
Dining (23)

About

#14 of 70 hotels in Essen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Expect a warm welcome at the centrally located Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, only 10 minutes by train from the convention centre and 40 minutes by taxi from Dusseldorf Airport A quiet setting by a leafy park and excellent transport links make Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre a good city-centre choice. The modern redbrick hotel is just 2 minutes' walk from Berliner Platz subway station, and it's 5 minutes' ride from there to Essen Central Station. Prepare for a busy day by fuelling up with a complimentary continental breakfast and surf the web with high-speed Internet in your peaceful Guest room. Catch up on work in the 24-hour Business Centre, or get colleagues together in the meeting room. Your base at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre is just 500m from Thyssen Krupp business park and close to major companies like Bitmarck. Essen has gone from industrial powerhouse to creative trailblazer as the European Capital of Culture 2010. Stroll to the centre to see the medieval cathedral, or test your nerve on the themed rollercoasters at Movie Park Bottrop, 20 minutes by train from the hotel. Relax on a sofa in the lively Lobby while surfing the web with wireless Internet, or meet for drinks and snacks in sociable Blue Moon Bar. Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre's friendly staff can suggest local restaurants and help you plan your day. Up to 2 Children under 18 stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Our hotel staff speaks English and Polish. We are looking forward to your visit to the Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre!
Read more
Property amenities
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Business Center with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Save More on Your Rate
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
78Somewhat walkable
Grade: 78 out of 100
19Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
454Reviews
7Q+A
20Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 118
  • 204
  • 98
  • 25
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We (my sister, her two kids and I) stayed three nights in the hotel and on the 2nd day I took a sandwich and banana from breakfast as snack for the kids. So waitress, who I recognized from the morning before to be not the friendly type, said to me that taking food from the
Read more
Response from HIEX_Essen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre
Responded Jul 20, 2017
Dear Guests, Thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking time to write this review. We always take the feedback of our guest very serious, because it will help us to implement our ambition to improve ourselves all the time. Therefore we apologize for any inconveniences. Of course we will talk about with our service about this matter. We would be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel! With best regards Guest Relations Manager
Read more
The hotel was fine. Everything was clean and the breakfast was complete, but the size of the room was miniature, we barely fit. We are four, but we have never had such a little room. But as an option it was good
Read more
Response from HIEX_Essen, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre
Responded Jul 2, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and appreciate your compliments regarding our clean hotel and good breakfast options. On the other hand, I apologize for the inconvenience the size of the room assigned to you may have caused. All of the Holiday Inn Express houses over the world have the same standertised room size. I appreciate feedback that we receiveso that we can ensure to provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Best Regards Dominik Moltrer Senior Guest Service Manager
Read more
This is a uninspiring business hotel. There are only two noteworthy things: -the a/c is non-functional, just delivering air of the same temperature as the room/hallway has when you turn the a/c off. The problem is structural, they checked to other rooms, same thing. Avoid
Read more
Response from HIEX_Essen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre
Responded Jul 1, 2017
Dear guest, thank you for your stay at Holiday Inn Express and your review. We have to apologize for any inconviences with the a/c. We will communicate your review to our technicians to fix the problem as soon as possible. We are sorry that you did not like our breakfast buffet which is the Holiday Inn Express standard. Another point is that other hotels in this price range do not offer a buffet which is free of any charge. Nevertheless we hope to welcome you again. Thank you again for your feedback! Guest Relations Team
Read more
It was a pleasant surprise to discover this hotel. We stayed over for a night, we had a room on the 3rd floor, it was quiet, very clean with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was ok and the stuff very friendly. We recommend it.
Read more
Response from HIEX_Essen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre
Responded Jun 28, 2017
Dear guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel "Holiday Inn Express" and for evaluating our services. It is a great pleasure to read that you are feeling satisfied with our services. It is a big compliment, which we will communicate to our whole staff. We take the feedback of our guests serious and your outstanding evaluation is a great motivation to us. It would be absolute paramount to welcome you back again in our hotel. With best regards Guest Relations Manager
Read more
We were surprised to be told the AC was not working in the hotel when at check-in we asked for a room on the sunny side overlooking the pleasant square with grass and trees. We took the room anyway but did find it hot when we came back to the room each day and found the windows
Read more
Response from HIEX_Essen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre
Responded Jun 28, 2017
Dear guest, Thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking time to write this review. We always take the feedback of our guest very serious, because it will help us to implement our ambition to improve ourselves all the time. Therefore we apologize for any inconveniences. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel, also to persuade yourself of our improvements. With kind regards Guest Relations Manager
Read more
PRICE RANGE
$66 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn essenessen holiday inn express
LOCATION
GermanyNorth Rhine-WestphaliaEssen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
153
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing