We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen

Show Prices
#2 of 71 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for: 1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time at this hotel. I became a member of the Accor family so things are more easy. I must say some things are more easy but not all. I make a small resume : - check out the receptionist asked for my company information and that's somethings i already put into check in sheet online. ( not a big... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank v
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear Frank v. Thank you for taking youre time to take part on our satisfaction survey. We are happy that you became a member of the Accor familiy and we are very glad that the service was good and professional to you. We are sorry for the inconvienience during your stay. We have a brand new coffee mashine and we... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

We are spending four nights at this hotel and are very happy with the room, location and helpfulness of the staff. The bed was extremely comfortable. Just two things to note that aren't so good. First, we've found the shower very difficult to operate. This is the third Mecure Hotel we've stayed in during this trip and we had no... More 

Helpful?
Thank FelicityB4
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear FelicityB4. Thank you for your rating on tripadvisor. First of all we are proud that you rated us as an "excellent hotel". The renovation ends in September and we hope you will be our guest next time when you are in Essen again. Best regards More 

Moulton, Alabama
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

The best bed in our 16 days of travel in Europe and one of 5 hotels. The AC is great for a July visit. Conveniently located within walking distance of the "Rue" and not far from the train station.Courteous, helpful front desk staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaceyef
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear Kaceyef, Thank you for rating us at tripadvisor. We are happy because of your very good rating and specially that you are very satisfied with the Hotel. Thank you for being our guest during your stays in Essen. More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016 via mobile

Have stayed in a number of German Mecure hotels and this is no different. Great staff, nice modern lobby and bar/restaurant but the rooms are all dated, tired and generally in need of a refurb. Even for a relatively low budget hotel there are a lot of other better polished hotels out there in the same price bracket. Mercure need... More 

Helpful?
Thank James H
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear James H. Thank you for rating at tripadvisor. We are glad to inform you about our renovation. All of our 132 rooms will be renovated during summer 2016. Also the public area will get a modern style. We hope to welcoming you again. More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

3 night stay in the Plaza, and I couldn't complain about anything. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast (food a touch colder than I'd like but no worries), quiet room on the top floor to boot. I can't really make this review much longer as I don't have anything to whinge about. Perfectly good business hotel, about 200 - 300m from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank THE_Chris
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear THE-Chris, we are delighted that you have stayed with us and you have taken the time to tell us about your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your personal words. We are very happy about your praise. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. More 

Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Mercure Plazza Hotel very much. Crossing to the nearest Ubahn was a bit cumbersome, but we managed. The breakfast was very rich and satisfying. The room was spacious enough for our needs.

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Helpful?
Thank yizhakm
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear yizhakam. Thank you for rating us at tripadvisor and for your personal words. We are happy because of your very good rating and specially that you are very satisfied with the Hotel-Team. We are happy to welcome you again in Essen. More 

Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Average Business Hotel with OK staff but not more. Good breakfast buffet. Overpriced car park fee: 18€/night is a bit over the top for a City like Essen. This is the reason for me to seek for another Hotel the next time.

Helpful?
Thank Jan R
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear Jan R. Thank you for rating us on tripadvisor. We are glad that you specially enjoyed your breakfast during your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. More 

Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
182 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Very lovely hotel with parking (to pay) about 15 minutes walk to main station. very friendly welcome at reception. Super and very large breakfast buffet with (very good) service of hot drinks at your table. large room with large (queensize) bed. nicely decorated room with small desk and table with 2 comfortable chairs.

Helpful?
1 Thank mechelaar
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear Mechelaar. Thank you for rating us on tripadvisor. A rating can´t be better. So thank you for your opinion. We hope that you will be our guest also next time you stay in Essen. More 

Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

This hotel located in the heart of Essen is an ideal spot for travelers - for both business and leisure. Located at the start of the central Bismarckstrasse, the hotel has all amenities like gym, swimming pool, health club, etc. Its right next to a very picturesque cathedral. Just walk across the road and take a right and you come... More 

Helpful?
Thank SamirMoosa
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear SamirMoosa. Thank you for rating us on tripadvisor. We are very happy about your very good rating and we are proud that you are overall satisfied. We are looking forward to welcome you again. More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

I stay in this hotel every week and it's great, the hotel is clean and tidy as you would expect, and is only 5 mins walk from the train station. However the thing that makes this hotel special is the staff, the guys in the bar are really great and always go the extra mile to make sure I have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
Margret L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen, responded to this review

Dear Andy T. Thank you for rating us at tripadvisor. We are happy because of your very good rating and specially that you are very satisfied with the Hotel-Team. Thank you for being our guest during your stays in Essen. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essen hotels
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#12 of 71 in Essen
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostviertel
Welcome Hotel Essen
Welcome Hotel Essen
#6 of 71 in Essen
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 1.5 km from the city centre, the 4 star Mercure Plaza Essen offers 132 bright and comfortable rooms. The Essen trade show centre is 1.5 km away from the hotel. The A52 and A40 motorways are easily accessible. Within 200 m of the hotel are the Folkwang Museum and the Philharmonie Saalbau concert hall. The Boxengasse hotel bar is a popular place for a drink in the evening. Guests can enjoy our swimming pool and sauna. Basement car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen

Address: Bismarckstr. 48-50, 45128 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Südviertel
Price Range: $85 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Plaza Essen
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essen
#5 Business Hotel in Essen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Essen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay