We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

A&O Koeln Dom

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
A&O Koeln Dom
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 28: English reviews
Start your review of A&O Koeln Dom
 Click to rate
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed December 29, 2016

Elevator would barely hold 2 people or luggage and was broken. Finally got it fixed. Had to send up our luggage and walk up to the 3rd floor. The room was tiny and mattresses were horribly uncomfortable. The hotel was supposed to be non-smoking, but people were smoking anyway. The hallways were filled with smoke, and the hotel did nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelinMindy
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Reviewed December 23, 2016

we used a reduction voucher and that made it more than worth it - very cheap, clean, great breakfast (bread, rolls, cornflakes, meat and cheese, salad, eggs). we had sufficient towels (one small and one large), tv and (very) hot water. best location in the middle of town.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MF543
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed December 2, 2016 via mobile

It was a place to rest our heads but nothing more. This is pretty budget accommodation so if you understand that in advance you won't be disappointed. My partner and I stayed in a standard double room. The bed was average to uncomfortable and the sheets/duvet rough. It was warm though and due to the freezing weather outside, this was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HouseDepositHoliday
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed August 13, 2016

This place was so typically European.......quaint elevator, small room, but with all the amenities, and breakfast in the morning. It also has a pay per use computer terminal in the lobby area, but within 2 blocks there is an internet cafe. The location is excellent - 2 blocks from the train station. The room rate was certainly reasonable for being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan S
Paris, France
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

I book a room for 68 €. I had a quite room with window right on the train tracks and no hot water in the morning to shower with. Breakfast was an additional 7€. For a little more I could have had a lot better. The staff is pleasant enough but the owners are too greedy. Unless you get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JKHrOR2015
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed January 11, 2016

Poor elevator, rooms were too small to open up 2 suitcases - my friend and I have to take turns. Totally overpriced, didn't eat anything from the breakfast bar. Room was too hot. We were given a room at level 1 and you can hear people talking downstairs, wasn't able to get proper sleep at night without earphones.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanvan1308
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Dom, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you very much for taking the time to review the A&O Köln Dom. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and considered the rooms as too small. I am sure the heating could have been lowered if you had spoken to reception about this problem. Furthermore, it is rather...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2015

This hotel/hostel is ideally suited for anyone on a budget travelling into Colgne by train. It is literally across the road from the train station and close to Am Dom which is so tall its visible from any location so you will never get lost if exploring the city on foot. Rooms are basic, but clean, and room cleaning is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne E
Edinburgh
Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

Me and my brother stayed here for a couple of nights while travelling around northern Germany. The hotel was priced as a budget hotel but in reality it was a hostel (so too expensive for what it was). The room it's self was so small that it heated up like an oven which made it almost impossible to get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Scotzman
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Dom, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate the A&O Köln Dom. We are sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your stay and considered the room as too small and warm. However, I hope you still managed to have a nice time in Köln. Best Regards, Your A&O Customer Service Team

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 11, 2015

I thought this place was a bit overpriced given that the room was small and quite basic. But it is clean, comfy and in good repair and the staff are great. Location is very convenient for exploring the old town/cathedral area and for the railway station. Quite a bit of street noise and the street the hotel on is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank exilencfc
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Koeln Dom, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to review the A&O Hostel and Hotel Köln Dom. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. However, I will also note your comments about the street noise and the wifi, so we are aware of the demands of our guests. We hope to welcome you again soon....

Reviewed June 10, 2015

When I stayed here it's name was Hotel Good Sleep. It is located very centrally, close to Kölner Dom and Rhein and main train station. It is perfect place for a good sleep if you are going to stay short to visit Cologne. Rooms are small but clear. If you are going to drive in Cologne be aware of many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bkraoren
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
#148 of 262 in Cologne
73 reviews
Central Hotel am Dom
#208 of 262 in Cologne
297 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
Hotel Konigshof The Arthouse
#151 of 262 in Cologne
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#32 of 262 in Cologne
820 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Sandmanns
Hotel Sandmanns
#65 of 262 in Cologne
117 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#68 of 262 in Cologne
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about A&O Koeln Dom

Address: Komoedienstr. 19 - 21, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Good Sleep)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Price Range: $70 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — A&O Koeln Dom 1.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your A&O Koeln Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Sleep Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from A&O Koeln Dom staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from A&O Koeln Dom staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles TravelinMindy, Dec 29, 2016 | Read review
“Get a sleeping bag & sleep at the station if this is the last hotel available in Koeln.”
 of 5 bubbles 149pujak, Apr 20, 2014 | Read review
“The higher the quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Carlos_Vagamundos, Apr 5, 2014 | Read review
“Avoid 210 (and possibly 211?) and anything else beside the lift(elevator).”
 of 5 bubbles b037, Jun 27, 2013 | Read review
“Dont get the room with the bunkbed in it”
 of 5 bubbles BETTYB569, Jun 18, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question