We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Trankgasse 1 - 5, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia Germany
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$247
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/15/22
Booking.com
$248
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/14/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
$199
View deal
Expedia.com$247
Travelocity$247
eDreams$249
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (982)
Room & Suite (476)
Dining (133)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.

About

#3 of 290 hotels in Cologne
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Laptop safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
181Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
85Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1663Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,266
  • 274
  • 68
  • 35
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
wanderlust9802 wrote a review Oct 5
Ft Worth, Texas101 contributions69 helpful votes
We have never experienced better service from every single member of hotel staff than at this hotel. From the valets to the concierge and waitstaff in the dining room, everyone was polite and helpful. The rooms are large with ample closet space, a huge bathroom with tub and separate shower. And right across the street from the cathedral and shopping and restaurants. It was a pleasure to stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
pangst2022 wrote a review Sep 2022
Munich, Germany1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had a great city trip to Cologne and thoroughly enjoyed the Excelsior Hotel Ernst! Service was impeccable from arrival to departure. Food in the restaurants was at a very high level and the location takes some beating.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimiko Mücke, Guest Services / Front Office at Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Responded 1 week ago
Dear pangst2022, thank you very much for taking your time to give us feedback about your recent stay with us! We always strive to create individual moments for our guests and are delighted that you had such a pleasant time in Cologne. Rest assured that we have shared your lovely feedback with the entire team. How wonderful to hear that we amazed you with our individual service and our food in our restaurants. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back soon. With warm regards Kimiko Mücke Training & Quality Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynelia R wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
I am currently staying at the Excelsior hotel and here is my feedback so far. My full stay will be 5 nights I’ve been here 3 nights. 1.great location. They hotel is directly in front of the cathedral, 2. great service - everyone who works at the hotel has been extremely friendly and helpful. 3. Piano bar has great cocktails and service but overpriced with an average €20 + per drink, 4. The Michelin star rated restaurant Taku was perfect. Now for the disappointing part - 5. the room has been sub par to say the least. The bed sits low, the AC is not cold enough, the room seems extremely dated even the nob on the sink is coming apart and the room is facing a building (other rooms). Additionally today Sept 9th there has been no water at the hotel. While they state it’s a street issue and It will be back in a few hours it’s now been over 6 hrs since my last check in and no water. The hotel is listed as a leading hotel of the world and while the restaurant and service have been great the rooms need attention and I would have thought they would have delivered a bottle water or something as a bare minimum to brush ones teeth.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimiko Mücke, Guest Services / Front Office at Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Lynelia R, thank you very much for taking your time to give us feedback about your recent stay at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. We are very pleased to see that we managed to exceed your expectations in regards to our location, our Michelin star restaurant "taku" and that you pointed out our staff! What a great feedback which we shared with the team. Nevertheless we deeply regret that you were affected by the loss of water for several hours and that no water was provided to you. Our team worked hours to supply our guests with bottled water. The fact that you did not receive water is of course not up to our standard and please accept our apologies for these inconveniences. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to regain your trust in our quality and service during your next visit and thank you again for your honest comment. With warm regards Kimiko Mücke Training & Quality Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborah D DeWitt wrote a review Aug 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands198 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
I've been doing the Eric and Deborah travel bucket list since my husband's passing in Sept. 2021. Cologne was on the list of cities we wanted to see together. I asked my friend who lives Germany to meet me there and headed to this beautiful hotel. They are doing some minor renovations in the lobby, but the entire hotel is so elegant. Our room was enormous and with complimentary breakfast and the proximity to everything in the city made it even better. The staff was very accommodating and the food at breakfast was good as well. I will return to this hotel when I travel back to Cologne and would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimiko Mücke, Guest Services / Front Office at Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Responded Aug 11, 2022
Dear Deborah D, thank you very much for your wonderful rating here on Tripadvisor. Your kind review is exactly the type of experience we strive to create for each guest and we are delighted to hear that we were able to create lasting memories for you. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your room and the facilities that much. Please be assured that we shared your feedback with the whole team right away. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back soon at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst in the heart of Cologne. We wish you all the best and sending you warm regards Kimiko Mücke Training & Quality Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Monica T wrote a review Jun 2022
Orlando, Florida21 contributions24 helpful votes
I cannot say enough great things about this hotel. The location was across the street from the train station and the amazing cathedral. We walked to dinner every night along with many other places in town to site see as well as shopping. The accommodations were very impressive. Our room had a walk in closet, a large shower and the walls were lined in wood. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. They had a great fresh hot breakfast with plenty of options for gluten free patrons. The bar was also nice for a night cap.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimiko Akiyama, Gästeservice/Empfang at Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Responded Jun 27, 2022
Dear S3677QVmonicat, thank you very much for your wonderful feedback here on Tripadvisor! The entire team strives for this experience which you depicted and we all are very proud and happy that you had such an unforgettable and pleasant visit of Cologne. We are very happy about your positive evaluation and we will share your compliments with the entire team. This is a wonderful motivation to all of us! It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back soon. With warm regards Kimiko Mücke Training & Quality Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
onthemach wrote a review May 2022
250 contributions414 helpful votes
Aging, but offering timeless service. Unmatched position facing the Cathedral, this property is still the best in Cologne and indeed it represents a landmark in and of itself. Excellent staff, prompt service, spotless rooms, offer a very pleasant stay. .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Quiet courtyard room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimiko Akiyama, Gästeservice/Empfang at Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Responded May 11, 2022
Dear OnlyFiveStars, thank you very much for taking your time to review us here on Tripadvisor. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your room and the facilities that much. “Your individuality is our excellence” is lived by all of our staff and we aim for making your stay an unforgettable experience. Please be assured that we shared your feedback with the whole team right away. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back soon. With warm regards Kimiko Akiyama Training & Quality Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guillermo Hoter wrote a review Apr 2022
198 contributions234 helpful votes
Housed in a pre war building with the elegance and ambience of times gone, the hotel has all the modern conveniences and located just 2 minutes walk from Central Railway Station. Elehant restaurant, very good breakfast buffet, free mini bar, excellent service. You cannot expect better in Cologne.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimiko Akiyama, Sonstige at Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Responded Apr 4, 2022
Dear Guillermo H, we do not take it for granted that our guests are taking the time to evaluate their stay with us on an online portal. For that we are very grateful and delighted that you did so and that you decided to share your wonderful compliments also here on Tripadvisor with us. We are very happy to hear that you had a great time in Cologne and it would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you back soon at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst. Kind regards Kimiko Akiyama Training & Quality Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
m1nkeh wrote a review Dec 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands14 contributions10 helpful votes
Really enjoyed our stay at the Excelsior in Cologne, the service was excellent, the food was excellent and it was fun to spend Christmas away with a little luxury. As a base for exploring Cologne, you couldn't really go wrong with this property, would recommend certainly!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Georg Plesser, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Responded Jan 5, 2022
Dear m1nkeh, thank you very much for your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and recommend especially our excellent service and food. Thank you very much for choosing us as your place to stay in Cologne. It would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you back soon at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ingrid N wrote a review Dec 2021
London, United Kingdom165 contributions45 helpful votes
I was so looking forward to my trip to Cologne with my niece as we had to cancel from the previous year due to Covid. On check-in we decided to upgrade to a suite which was a very large sitting room facing the Dom, a large bedroom and bathroom. the bathroom is in need of upgrade, it had a bath/shower combo which was very high to climb into, not ideal. A walk-in shower and separate tub would always be my preference. The wi-fi was patchy and not available in the bedroom, I had to ask for a plug-in hotspot for that room. The TV only had one English speaking channel, BBC News even though it listed various others, ITV etc. these were not available - I did mention this to the front desk but they couldn’t help. The breakfast in-room dining was misleading, it did not mention that there was one inclusive price for everything. We ordered tea first in the morning which duly arrived (there was no kettle in the room) and later we ordered a basic breakfast of a bakery basket and cheese/meat plate - for this they charged 60 EUR (all inclusive breakfast price) however they also charged the tea service seperately at 19 EUR - I did talk to the front desk and they did reduce it by 30 EUR however not great value and to be honest, with a suite upgrade that we paid for it would have been nice if the rate included breakfast. Overall a disappointing experience which was a real shame.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If choosing a Dom view room, the church bells start ringing around 5:30am so keep your window...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimiko Akiyama, Sonstige at Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Responded Jan 5, 2022
Dear Ingrid, Thank you for choosing the Excelsior Hotel Ernst during your recent visit to Cologne. We regret that we have not met your expectations regarding your chosen room category and would like to assure you that we do offer a wide variation of different categories with variety sizes and furniture. Our reservation team will be pleased to advise you on your next booking. Please be assured that we will take a note regarding your favorites and will be happy to provide a matching room for your next stay. We have read your remark regarding the room service breakfast and please allow us to add that you ordered our continental breakfast for 25 EUR per person and not the whole breakfast selection for 36 EUR per person. The price of 60 EUR are composed by the continental breakfast and the roomservice fee of 10 EUR. Our roomservice team is always happy to assist you with any further questions or wishes regarding your orders. Nevertheless we will discuss your feedback regarding the room service and the technical issues with the appropriate teams. Our technical department will also check the tv in your recent room because we offer more than one English channel and we are sincerely sorry that we were not able to find a solution during your stay. Creating memorable moments for our guests is what we strive and work hard for every day and we are truly sorry that we did not manage to do so during your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you again at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst and to convince you of our hotel during your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
xsauth wrote a review Dec 2021
Freising, Germany430 contributions227 helpful votes
Stayed for 1 night, two adults and 7yr old kid, and booked via LHW. Overall - wonderful place, old-fashioned feeling and very warm, attentative service. Before coming, we exchanged a couple of communications via email and they were responsive and detailed. Upon arrival we got triple upgrade - which I was really surprised, even we've booked via LHW / status tier. The room we got was amazing - very spacious, super design and unusual shape, with extra bed for the kid already arranged. Nice touches like free minibar and ultra quick room service with some home made sweets. Hotel interior was nicely decorated for festive season (also exterior as well, not just inside), with special attention to Ginger House at the lobby, where the kid got complimentary treats, as well as we bought back home traditional Stollen. Breakfast was good and included for LHW members, yet the room itself was very dark, with dimmed lights, which perhaps is nice for a dinner, but looks strange at the breakfast time. Food was mix of buffet and a la carte, high quality and great taste (incl their specialty dish). All at all - great and truly luxury experience, a bit overpriced due to special season, but nevertheless a beautiful stay, well relaxed and enjoyed. Would stay again if in Cologne.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Georg Plesser, Geschäftsführer at Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Responded Jan 4, 2022
Dear Aleksejs, thank you very much for taking your time to give us feedback. Lovely to hear that the Excelsior Hotel Ernst truly exceeded your expectations. Your kind words are very much appreciated and will be shared with the whole team. We really hope that you enjoyed our traditional Stollen at home with your whole family! Your review is a great motivation to us! We always strive to create a special experience for each guest and are delighted that we managed to do so during your visit and it would be a pleasure to welcoming you back soon at the Excelsior Hotel Ernst in Cologne.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$225 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
excelsior hotel cologne
LOCATION
GermanyNorth Rhine-WestphaliaCologneAltstadt-Nord
NUMBER OF ROOMS
137
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Which popular attractions are close to Excelsior Hotel Ernst?
Nearby attractions include Cologne Cathedral (0.03 miles), Kolner Philharmonie (0.2 miles), and NS Documentation Centre of the City of Cologne (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Excelsior Hotel Ernst?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Excelsior Hotel Ernst?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Excelsior Hotel Ernst?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Excelsior Hotel Ernst?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hanse-Stube, maiBeck, and Kuchi Mami.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Excelsior Hotel Ernst?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Excelsior Hotel Ernst have airport transportation?
Yes, Excelsior Hotel Ernst offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Excelsior Hotel Ernst located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Cologne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Excelsior Hotel Ernst?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Excelsior Hotel Ernst?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Excelsior Hotel Ernst offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.