We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

art'otel cologne

Save
Share
Holzmarkt 4, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia Germany
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$109
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (604)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (190)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from art'otel cologne
Updated 05/27/20

About

#46 of 283 hotels in Cologne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Inspiration’s everywhere at art’otel cologne. We’re opposite the Chocolate Museum in the Rheinau docks and a short walk from the World Heritage Cologne Cathedral. Visit the Altstadt (Old Town) to discover the Römisch-Germanisches Museum and the Wallraf Richartz and Ludwig Museum. You’ll enjoy 218 guestrooms, many with coloured cubes overlooking the harbour, Pan-Asian cuisine in our award-winning Chino Latino restaurant, an indulgent sauna and signature cocktails on our alfresco patio surrounded by SEO’s artwork.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Business
Languages Spoken
German

Location

Full view
89Good for walkers
Grade: 89 out of 100
31Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
25Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1328Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 423
  • 565
  • 218
  • 75
  • 47
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Linda1001_11 wrote a review Oct 2020
Frankfurt, Germany31 contributions28 helpful votes
- Room was not cleaned once during our 4 day stay - even after explicit request it was still not cleaned (very odd during Corona times!) - Fresh towels only upon explicit request - Super noisy room at main road - Minibar was empty, Bar was closed - On one day, a lady entered our room and woke us up in the early morning (there was no „Do not disturbe“ sign available)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Philip Skitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne
Responded Oct 16, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very sorry to read that your stay with us was not in line with your expectations. Due to the corona virus, we do not offer daily cleaning like the years before. In case you need cleaning, fresh bed linen or towels, you need to contact the reception. After you leave the room, our team is allowed to enter and clean it or change the bed linen. Also due to the corona virus, the minibar is empty, but you can order everything via our reception, and our bar is open on Friday and Saturday from 6pm. We are sorry if there has been a misunderstanding, but you can find on all our sales channels as well as on our official website following information: "Due to the coronavirus (COVID-19), this property is taking steps to protect the safety of guests and staff. Certain services and amenities may be reduced or unavailable as a result." Since we enjoy a great location in Cologne, it is possible that you can hear noise from the street sometimes. This is the reason why we have invested in good soundproof, so our guests can relax in their rooms. Once again, we are sorry to know that some aspects of your stay left your disappointed. As there is always room for improvement, your constructive feedback will be discussed internally. We hope that despite the negatives encountered, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more memorable experience. Best regards, art'otel cologne Management Team
Read more
Marc S wrote a review Jul 2020
Brussels, Belgium522 contributions247 helpful votes
Back from staying again at this hotel - we came back as first time we liked the hotel, the nice rooms and the location. That all was still as expected (clean nice roomy room and bathroom) but the room was unbearably hot (23-25 C) and even with the airco on max and on all night, nothing changed. Opening a window is not an option due to the very noisy and busy road in front of the hotel (room 212). We mentioned this at check out. The person tending the desk gave us a piece of paper to write down the complaint and that it would be taken care off. We gave the details (room 212, date 25 July 2020 and email address) and returned the paper. We are now 5 days on and no news. The hotel is quiet and there is no reason not to acknowledge the issue. I read since that others complained about the non functioning airco in the days before our stay,.. One wonders if Covid is affecting the level of customer care or maintenance. We will reconsider this hotel for future stays if a proper response is received.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Philip Skitch, General Manager at art'otel cologne
Responded Jul 30, 2020
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your impressions with us. We are glad you were satisfied with facilities offered and we hope you had a great time exploring Cologne. We however deeply regret the inconvenience during your stay. The technical team had been made aware of the issue and has since resolved the problem; we are sorry for the lack of communication around it. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you and to improve your impressions on our service. Best regards, art'otel cologne Management Team
Read more
Patrick wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
The Art Hotel in Cologne is a beautiful hotel in a great location. This is why my partner and I selected it for our trip to Cologne in February 2020. Sadly, however, we came away from the hotel feeling disappointed and let down by poor service all weekend. We arrived on Friday and checked in to our room, which was lovely. We tried to have a cup of coffee from the machine in the room, but after half an hour, we established that the coffee maker wasn’t working. We phoned down to reception who said they would send someone up right away. About half an hour to 45 minutes later, a man arrived. He inspected the machine and said it was broken and offered us a kettle instead. This wasn’t really good enough, so we raised the issue with another staff member at reception that evening. When we told her of the issue, she simply wrote our room number down and said she would “try” to do something about it. When we got back that evening, the same broken coffee machine was still in our room. The next morning we once again went to reception where I asked a man working there to sort the problem with the coffee machine. I said we wanted a new one put into the room and would be back later that evening. Once again, we came back that evening and nothing had changed, and there was no update from staff. At that stage, having dealt with three different members of staff, we decided we would be better off not stressing ourselves out any further by trying to get the issue resolved. The next day, when checking out, nobody even asked us how our stay was. The broken coffee machine was never even mentioned, as if it hadn’t been raised with three separate staff members. I’m usually not one to leave negative reviews. I understand that staff are usually trying their best and are often very busy. But our experience with staff at reception was so disappointing that I felt the need to say something. In truth, it wasn’t even really about the coffee machine in the end (we love coffee but not so much that a lack of it would ruin a weekend!). It was about the fact that we were made to feel that our concerns didn’t matter by staff at the hotel and that a fairly substantial issue with our room was actually not a problem at all. It is such a shame that the service at this hotel is poor because it is a beautiful, clean, comfortable hotel in a great location. It has so much going for it. But a hotel’s beauty is worth little if the residents don’t matter to staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from acologne, Manager at art'otel cologne
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for haven chosen art'otel cologne for your stay in Cologne as well as for sharing your feedback with us. Firstly we would like to thank you for the compliments; We are happy that you were satisfied with the cleanness, the comfort, our location at the Rhine river and much more. On the more negative note, we would truly like to apologize for the inconvenience with the coffee machine. You are completely right, what you experienced is something that not should have happened and we are very sorry for the inconvenience. Please rest assured that this is not in line with our standard. The attitude of some of our team members (you experienced) is not in line with our standards and please rest assured that your comment will be taken very seriously. Our hotel is usually highly praised for its hospitality and outstanding service and it is our aim to provide our guests with exceptional service; therefore we are very sorry to know that you had a different experience. We truly hope to get another opportunity to welcome you and improve your opinion on our service. Best regards, art'otel cologne Management Team
Read more
Scuder85 wrote a review Feb 2020
Los Angeles, California99 contributions76 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights in the Panorama Suite. Great size suite with nice views and loved the fact that could open the windows. Had a lovely size bath tub and separate shower. Only issue was that the doors to toilet and shower kept hitting the ceiling and could not open all the way. Poor design. The breakfast was extensive but service was non existent. Had to get everything on my own.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from acologne, Manager at art'otel cologne
Responded Feb 11, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for haven chosen art'otel cologne for your stay in Cologne and for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed staying with us very much; Thank you for the 5* rating. We offer our breakfast in buffet style, so everyone can choose what he/she likes to eat. We are sorry if there has been any misunderstanding regarding our offer and service. It would be our pleasure to get another opportunity to welcome you. Best regards, art'otel cologne Management Team
Read more
Mark G wrote a review Jan 2020
9 contributions14 helpful votes
Quirky property with an interesting 21st century minimalist interior Friendly staff Views over the Rhein Excellent soundproofing Some rooms come with a interesting 'glass booth' which extends out of the building over the river Artwork is neutral unlike other Art'otel properties where it can be a bit overpowering
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms have a river view
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from acologne, Manager at art'otel cologne
Responded Jan 2, 2020
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for having taken the time to review your recent stay. We are delighted to know you had such a memorable stay and were satisfied with all aspects of it. Providing exceptional service is at the heart of what we do and it makes us very happy knowing that we met your expectations. With hope to get another opportunity to welcome you, we are sending you our best regards. art'otel cologne Management Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$95 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
art`otel cologne hotel cologne
LOCATION
GermanyNorth Rhine-WestphaliaCologneAltstadt-Süd
NUMBER OF ROOMS
218
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about art'otel cologne
Which popular attractions are close to art'otel cologne?
Nearby attractions include St. Maria im Kapitol (0.3 miles), Kranhäuser im Rheinauhafen (0.2 miles), and Chocolate Museum (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at art'otel cologne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at art'otel cologne?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at art'otel cologne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at art'otel cologne?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to art'otel cologne?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rheinau, Brauerei zur Malzmuehle, and Mederrano.
Are there opportunities to exercise at art'otel cologne?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is art'otel cologne located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Cologne.
Are any cleaning services offered at art'otel cologne?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does art'otel cologne offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to art'otel cologne?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Heinzelmaennchenbrunnen (0.7 miles), St. Ursula (1.1 miles), and St Kunibert Basilica (1.1 miles).