We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 23 Hotels in Bochum
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 34: English reviews
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is globally ok for business trip except limited free wifi connection (you need to pay for more hours and data). My main issue is the conditions of the hotel (or booking platform) egarding booking and cancellation fees.

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank B8775OUbrunoc
Keerbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
167 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2016

What can you say about this hotel, the room are clean and not too small... that's it. It is located in Wattenscheid, which is not the most beautiful or romantic place there is. The hotel itself is quite cold looking, the breakfast is not super and the rooms were really really hot during summer. Airco apperantly didn't work (or if... More 

Helpful?
Thank tmstt
Marious S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tmstt, thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with us. Pity that we could not entirely convincing you from our hotel. Unfortunately we have not enough information to check your reservation details. We are very sorry, we don't have air condition in our rooms. We hope we can convince you at your next stay in Bochum.... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Happy with every aspect of this hotel. It proved that smokers can be catered for with no detriment to non smokers. Staff were all most pleasant and helpful. All food was of good quality and reasonably priced.

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank geem4
Marious S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear geem4, thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your experience. It´s great to see, that you enjoyed our restaurant offer. We hope you had a great time in Bochum. We are looking forward to your next stay, have a good time! Best regards Your TRYP Bochum Team More 

Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2016

Modern, clean hotel with great air conditioning and a nice breakfast buffet. Plenty of free parking. We had two twin beds, next to each other, in the European style, which we prefer. There was nothing particularly remarkable about the room, it was just a good solid midrange hotel room.

Helpful?
Thank k1ckstand
Marious S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear k1ckstand, thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your experience. It´s great to see, that you enjoyed your stay in Bochum. Please visit us very soon. We are looking forward to your next stay in Bochum! Best regards Your TRYP Bochum Team More 

Delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2016

We stayed at this property when we went to Dusseldorf for an exhibition. We were a group of 100 Indians and the hotel people were quite supportive and allowed our tour organiser/chefs to use their kitchen. The location was very quite and it was good going for a walk around the property. Train station was walking distance. So it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank priyankpj
Marious S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear priyankpj, thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your experience. We can remember your group and also had a great time and much fun. We are looking forward to your stay 2017 in Bochum! Best regards Your TRYP Bochum Team More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is situated on a small green patch opposite a mall and within walking distance of the centre of town. Plenty of parking around the building. Staffmembers at the reception and at breakfast are very friendly. Breakfast buffet is wonderful. Lots of hot and cold breakfast items. Everything looks and tasts fresh. The room was very basic though. No... More 

Helpful?
Thank ronald2700
Marious S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ronald2700, thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your experience. It´s great to see, that you enjoyed our restaurant offer. We hope you had a great time in Bochum. Maybe we can offer you our superior rooms if you would like to have more comfort. We are looking forward to your next stay in... More 

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Arrived late a Friday and checked easily and fast in to my room, a very spacious room. A warm welcom from the personel and got good service from staff. When I arrived late back from clubbing the nightreceptionist opened the bar for me so I could have my night cap.

Helpful?
Thank Tore_Traveller
Marious S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tore_Traveller, thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your experience. It´s great to see, that you felt welcome in our hotel. We hope you had a great time in Bochum. Please visit us very soon, we would like to welcome you again! Have a good time! Best regards Your TRYP Bochum Team More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2016

The room was simple with an odd style of furniture. Two very narrow single beds instead of a double or queen size bed. All in all the room could have been cleaner. Several surfaces were way too "sticky". Restaurant service was a bit slow and not very attentive. The "free" Internet was not working in the room. All in all... More 

Helpful?
Thank theM0gwai
Marious S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear theM0gwai, thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your comment. Pity that we have not met your expectations. We hope you´ll give us the chance to show you that we can do better. We like to welcome you again and hope we get a second chance. Regards Your TRYP Bochum Team More 

Viernheim, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2016

The shower looked a bit like mold stainds and mold aside on the wall. Very tiny bathroom. had 2 beds with 90 cm seperated by bed tables. In my room on the 1st floor i heard the automatic door of the kitchen that kept going

Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank N1718SDchristianp
Marious S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear N1718SDchristianp, thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry the room was not according to your wishes. Our restaurant is open till 10 p.m. so we hope you could sleep well. Maybe we can have one more try, to show you we can do better. We are looking forward to it.... More 

UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Let's start with positives: - helpful and polite team, both at the reception desk and in the restaurant - quite spacious rooms - good size bathroom - pretty good breakfast selection - we have tried burger meal and tortellini from snack menu, both cooked fresh on site, but portion sizes were proper meal sizes Downsides': - breakfast items not topped... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula020
Marious S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paula020, thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your experience with us. We are happy that you were basically satisfied, but of course we want you to leave with a smile. Unfortunately we have not enough information to check your reservation details. We guess you stayed in Bochum to the fair, where we have many large groups. When... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bochum hotels
Ibis Bochum Zentrum
#3 of 23 in Bochum
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Bochum City
Ramada Hotel Bochum
#5 of 23 in Bochum
203 reviews
Mitte
Acora Hotel Und Wohnen Bochum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in a quiet area, in Holland Business Park, and very close to the centre of Wattenscheid and a wide range of restaurants and shops, the city of Bochum and Dusseldorf Airport, the Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid is the best option for staying in Bochum-Wattenscheid thanks to its excellent access to anywhere in the city, its full facilities and the quality of its services. The Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid provides 111 spacious and bright rooms; free high speed WiFi internet; different dining spaces; a sauna and free parking for our guests; an outdoor terrace; a large, bright hall and 3 meeting rooms for up to 100 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel

Address: Josef Hauman-Strasse 1, 44866 Bochum, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bochum
Price Range: $58 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Bochum Wattenscheid
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bochum
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bochum
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tryp Bochum-Wattenscheid Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Lower floor rooms are better option”
 of 5 bubbles priyankpj, Aug 13, 2016 | Read review
“Top floor close to sauna”
 of 5 bubbles Stephenrp1, Sep 15, 2015 | Read review
“They do still have rooms for smokers - if you don't smoke, ask for a room well away from those.”
 of 5 bubbles claudiaf102, Dec 4, 2014 | Read review
“Average hotel, out of town centre”
 of 5 bubbles N-M4F, May 7, 2013 | Read review
“Nothing around so no noise, any room OK.”
 of 5 bubbles essexboyracer2004, Aug 23, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay