We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Romantik Hotel Zum Stern

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Romantik Hotel Zum Stern
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 21: English reviews
Frenkendorf
Reviewed October 19, 2016 via mobile

We arrived in a cold evening. The reception was very friendly. The access to our room was a little bit difficult:steps down and up and down and up. The room itself was very cold the heating wasn't turn on. The water to wash the hand measuring 33°C waiting 5 minutes and the maximum temperature in the shower went up to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
Markus H, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zum Stern, responded to this review

Dear Mr. J., We thank you for rating our Romantik Hotel Zum Stern. For your inadequately heated room and the too low water temperature we would like to apologize again in all form. We already have described the problems on this day on the site. To your restaurant visit we would like to note the following: With 17 points in...

Köln
Reviewed August 11, 2016

This is a hotel I would have adored ten years ago - but since then things have happend, unfortunately not in this hotel. Don't misunderstand me, the place is good and worth the price, it's just not state of the art. There is carpet in the rooms, the bathrooms need a refurbishment etc. - on the other hand, the price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andreas_H151
MSteinwitz, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zum Stern, responded to this review

Dear Andreas, thank you for your review and the impressions of your stay. We are very happy, that you enjoyed the food in our hotel and that you agree with our price-performance. Unfortunately a few things in our hotel are not to your taste, we are sorry for that. All rooms in our Romantik Hotel Zum Stern are very different...

Paris, France
Reviewed April 27, 2016 via mobile

Very good restaurant and breakfast. However rooms are awful. Cold furniture (and I don't mean antique which would be great), mattress that should have been replaced years and years ago, wifi that has a signal near 0..... This hotel has what it needs to be a great destination but have to do a lot to improve. The owner own many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudefrmtl
MSteinwitz, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zum Stern, responded to this review

Dear Claudefrmtl, thank you for your review. As much as we are happy that you are pleased with our restaurant and our breakfast, so much we are regret that you don´t like your room. All rooms in our Romantik Hotel Zum Stern are very different in shape and style. Unfortunately we are not able to determine in which room you...

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

Had a very comfortable stay at Hotel zum Stern with a large double ensuite room. Excellent shower too. The staff were very kind and welcoming and also the breakfast was great. I learned later that if you want to have a hot breakfast you need to order it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan17
MSteinwitz, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zum Stern, responded to this review

Dear Johan17, thank you very much for your nice review. We were very pleased about it. Hope to see you soon at our hotel. With best regards Romantik Hotel Zum Stern Michael Steinwitz Manager

Paris, France
Reviewed October 23, 2015

First booked this hotel for two nights since we were arriving from Frankfurt. Glad I took one day away and went on for a longer stay in Potsdam. Bad Hersfeld, in the historic center, is quaint townwith some fachwerk houses but not really useful for a tourist with limited time to spend. One night was fine. If you are a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vmerr
Stern S, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zum Stern, responded to this review

Dear Madame or Sir „vmerr“, Thank you for taking time to evaluate our Romantik Hotel Zum Stern. We are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet as well as the charmed of the rooms. Regrettably, we find that you could not cope with our shower. We would have offer your another room, if we would have known about it. It's...

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 22, 2015

We arrived at this hotel, (in a very good location right in the centre of the old town), yesterday for a stay of one night. Reception was friendly and helpful after they got over their initial frostiness! The room we were given was depressing and dark, and reminiscent of Old Germany, with dark furniture, and wooden framed beds, which I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mickigirl1310
Stern S, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zum Stern, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Mickigirl, thank you for rating our Romantik Hotel zum Stern. We are very sorry about the frostiness welcome on our reception. We think that the language barrier in the first moment was a problem for our employee. But we are very happy that our colleague later was friendly and helpful. Sorry also for the inconvenience with you room....

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed July 22, 2015

An experience not to miss. The hotel is in the very center, the rooms are generous and the furniture is antique. Each room bears the name of it's most representative guest (the Duke of Wellington, the Grimm brothers...). Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calin58
Stern S, Manager at Romantik Hotel Zum Stern, responded to this review

Dear Mr. or Mrs. Calin58, thank you for rating our „Romantik Hotel Zum Stern“. It is nice to read that you felt well in our house with its 45 individually furnished and decorated rooms and could enjoy your stay. We would be pleased to see you again soon in Bad Hersfeld and remain with best regards your team from the...

Yorkshire
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here as part of a European motorcycle journey. Make sure you follow the directions and on arrival parking was no problem. The car park is effectively at the rear. Going through the hotel you pop out onto a central pedestrianised area. The room was good and free WIFI. The bar is a few seats but OK. Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCooperman
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel in great location in city. Rooms ok and well kept. A bit dated. But in my opinion not 4 stars as advertised. Breakfast was average with not large selection. Does not compare with other 4 star hotels. Seems to miss the small details like good fresh brewed coffee selections, no bathroom amenities (shampoo, lotions, etc), high quality towels. Owners...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitchenwizard3110
Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewed August 29, 2013

we enjoyed a short holiday in this excellent hotel. the building is very old and situated on a very central location. the wooden furniture is referring to the interior of farm houses, while tapestry, lamps and the bathroom interiors are modern. it was very convenient that bathroom and toilet were in two seperate rooms. all rooms were spacious and pleasant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plokktiplokk
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Hersfeld hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Haus am Park
Hotel Haus am Park
#1 of 8 in Bad Hersfeld
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&F Hotel am Neumarkt
B&F Hotel am Neumarkt
#5 of 8 in Bad Hersfeld
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thermalis
Hotel Thermalis
#4 of 8 in Bad Hersfeld
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel am Kurpark
Hotel am Kurpark
#3 of 8 in Bad Hersfeld
50 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sleep & Go
Hotel Sleep & Go
#2 of 8 in Bad Hersfeld
41 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waldhotel Glimmesmuehle
Waldhotel Glimmesmuehle
#6 of 8 in Bad Hersfeld
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the Romantic-Hotel Zum Stern,the historical setting is just as authentic as our hospitality. Enjoy comfortable rooms and an awarded cuisine at the gourmetrestaurant L'étable and Stern's Restaurant. You find us directly at the Linggplatz in old town Bad Hersfeld. By car via Webergasse. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Zum Stern

Address: Linggplatz 11, 36251 Bad Hersfeld, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Bad Hersfeld
Price Range: $137 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Zum Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Romantik Hotel Zum Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Romantik Hotel Zum Stern staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Romantik Hotel Zum Stern staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Lower floor in the front for view of the historic center....very quiet even with a morning market....”
 of 5 bubbles vmerr, Oct 23, 2015 | Read review
“There is no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles Mickigirl1310, Sep 22, 2015 | Read review
“Make sure to ask for a room in the main building. There are some rooms in the adjacent building, which are more 'standard' compared to the ones in the main building. Do note that WiFi doesn't work in some rooms in the main building, and the reception staff will be able to tell which rooms don't have internet.”
 of 5 bubbles NitzanT910, Jun 8, 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay