We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Show Prices
#22 of 320 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 177: English reviews
Start your review of Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg
 Click to rate
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 1 week ago

Always been very happy with Gastwerk (and the sister hotel 25 hours just across the parking lot is not bad either). Stay at the hotel, avoid the business lofts, they are in a separate building that is very quiet and no life at all (unless you like this!). I took my pet, they look very well after dogs. The buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnikPaquay
Fortune H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear AnnikPaquay, thank you for your kind review and for repeatedly staying at the Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best regards, your team of the Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So I've stayed here before and wasn't sure about it then, but back in Hamburg on business for one night so thought I would give it a go again....but I wish I hadn't The hotel looks great outside and in but the staff are "efficient" but lacking in care and service. Rooms look good but pretty sparse and cold even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twickenhamb
Fortune H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear twickenhamb, Thank you for choosing the Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg and for your contribution on Tripadvisor. It is with regret to hear that your recent visit was below your expectations. We are very sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the friendliness of our staff. In general we receive very positive comments in regards to our team members....

Reviewed January 10, 2017

I enjoyed the service during breakfast very much. The restaurant manager Mr.Wije was an amazing help with the local attractions. He got us the standard map that is available in every hotel and noted down the attractions and how to get there. My suggestion will be a personal map of the hotel which states where we are and where the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shehnaz S
Fortune H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Shehnaz S, thank you very much for staying at the Gastwerk Hotel in Hamburg and for your kind feedback. Further we would like to thank you for your suggestion and will definitely look into improving the layout and information on our city map. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and particularly highlighted the service during...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed January 8, 2017

We had a very nice stay at the Gastwerk Hotel, situated in an industrial building, nicely refurbished. The rooms are very spacious and have a huge balcony, more like a terrace to be shared with the other rooms. Breakfast was delicious: wide variety of cold and warm food, fresh fruit, cerials, juices and coffee. Unfortunately it is not included in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karlien K
Fortune H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Karlien K, thank you very much for your kind and honest review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you felt comfortable and that you liked the design of the hotel and your room. At the same time, we regret that you were not able to enjoy your stay to the full extend, due to the disturbance caused...

Zürich
Reviewed January 5, 2017

Impeccable design is the most prominent feature of this well run hotel that was built in an ancient gas factory. It is located a bit outside the city centre in the Bahrenfeld quarter, very conveniently located when you travel by car. The rooms are clean and tastefully equipped. Breakfast is solid. Here also the small problems start. While the (otherwise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carignano
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this nicely renovated old factory building last week. I love what they did here. It's really cosy, clean and tasteful. The only thing which bothered me is that every morning the cleaning staff always opened our room and that was kind of annoying coz I'm on a holiday and would want to have a long and nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank duchessofStrato
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 8, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Gastwerk Hotel for 4 nights during a trip to Hamburg. I can't praise it enough, clean and modern with extremely helpful reception staff. Bar and restaurant in the the hotel served good food and beer. As it was only about 10 minutes walk from the local S-Bahn it was a good base to go and explore the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
Fortune H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Phil P, Thank you very much for staying at the Gastwerk Hotel in Hamburg and for your excellent feedback. We very much appreciate your praise and thank you for your lovely words and the recommendation. Your praise is a huge motivation for us and we would be delighted to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, your team of the...

Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with loads of original features from the buildings previous industrial uses. We walked to and from the S-bahn substation everyday which made access to the rest of Hamburg very easy. The restaurant evening meal was amazing and even though breakfast tasted nice it is an expensive option. Staff were polite and happy to help with enquiries.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlisonGrice
Fortune H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear AlisonGrice, Thank you very much for your lovely words and your nice feedback. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel, quality and service in the Mangold Restaurant and the team in general. We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Your team of the Gastwerk Hotel...

Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

I have stayed frequently at this hotel over the last year (more than 20 times I think), so it's only right now to write a proper review before my last stay this week. I have stayed in more luxurious Hamburg hotels and hotels with better locations, but none of them match this place. Cool is the word that best describes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colm M
Fortune H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear Colm M, Thank you very much for your amazing feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay was a successful one and appreciate your praise which is a huge motivation for us, especially coming from one of our valued repeat guests. We very much look forward to your next stay. Warm regards, Your team of the Gastwerk Hotel...

Cumbernauld
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is great, the ambience, the decor, the food, and the staff! The bedrooms are very spacious and I loved the big windows in the rooms. The only downside was there was no tea making facilities and there was only five English channels that were all news channels that I could find! Not that you spend a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinemG6882NH
Fortune H, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review

Dear carolinemG6882NH, Thank you very much for staying at the Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg and for leaving your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that your stay was a successful one. It is great to learn that you were very satisfied with the comfort of the bed, the breakfast, the design of the hotel and the service. We further thank you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

277 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (237)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
25hours Hotel HafenCity
#8 of 320 in Hamburg
1,278 reviews
25hours Hotel Number One
#55 of 320 in Hamburg
398 reviews
Sternschanze
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
Movenpick Hotel Hamburg
#12 of 320 in Hamburg
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Volksschule
#10 of 320 in Hamburg
467 reviews
Neustadt
The Madison Hamburg
The Madison Hamburg
#3 of 320 in Hamburg
943 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 320 in Hamburg
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gastwerk Hotel – Hamburg’s first design hotel: Unusual industrial ambiance constitutes the perfect environment for living, working and relaxing. The original coal warehouse of the ancient gasworks now includes 141 Guestrooms, including rough red brick lofts and luxurious suites, a multifaceted conference area, the Restaurant Mangold, the L.BAR, as well as a Moroccan style SPA-area. A parking lot in front of the building and an underground car park is free of charge for our hotel guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg

Address: Beim Alten Gaswerk 3, 22761 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Bahrenfeld
Price Range: $118 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburg Gastwerk Hotel
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#22 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Gastwerk Hotel Hamburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“see above (avoid lofts)”
 of 5 bubbles AnnikPaquay, 1 week ago | Read review
“For those who prefer fresh air, the rooms on the "atrium" side are less ideal.”
 of 5 bubbles Carignano, Jan 5, 2017 | Read review
“ask for aircon”
 of 5 bubbles Odd895, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“Business loft rooms have a much better view.”
 of 5 bubbles cjr65, Aug 30, 2016 | Read review
“An atrium view with air conditioning”
 of 5 bubbles Maine-ahh, Jul 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question