We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Generator Hostel Hamburg

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Generator Hostel Hamburg
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 732: English reviews
Start your review of Generator Hostel Hamburg
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Double rooms with private bathroom are absolutely ok, clean, a bit small but there is everything you need. The position of the hostel is excellent, very close to the Altstadt and the main train station. Only problem: you cannot bring anything to eat or drink in your room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna O
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for the review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. If you are ever traveling to Hamburg in the future, we would be delighted to be your host again. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you are looking for one of those small cozy hostels where everyone know each other, this is not it. However, their facilities are great and everything is super clean and modern. Especially if you are traveling with a group, this is a great place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for the time you have spent to give us your feedback. I hope we can welcome you and your friends again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Bloomfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'll be honest, my experience in hostels is limited, but I really enjoyed my stay in this hostel. The rooms were clean and it seemed like it had a thriving bar section where it'd be really easy to meet fellow travelers. Beyond that, it's literally right outside the train station so it was really easy to find. I would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the your stay and the nice comment. We hope that we can welcome you soon again in Hamburg. In the meanwhile we wish you all the be best for your travels. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel Generetor is clean, has good service and an excellent location! I would go there again - in Hamburg or in any of the other cities they are located in in Europe. We stayed in a doble room - that was great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stiba82
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, many thanks for this fantastic feedback. We will continue to work on our facilities and services to keep up the good impression. Hope to see you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Liege, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very well maintained hostel, clean & sober + extra services. The only remark I could write is : OK each room has its own toilet block but it is not easy to wash one's face when a board prevents you to lean over the washbasin (or use the shower water ... ?).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K3196WRmarcd
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. Every feedback is important for us, because we constantly aim to improve our services and facilities. The bathrooms were mentioned often and I agree that they are small. We had limited choice, when we refurbished the hostel, as it is protected under heritage (even the "Beatles" were making music in our building!). Still we...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had to stand in line for 30 mins waiting to be checked in. When I checked in my bed was full of chips, loose tobacco and someone's dirty underwear. Had to wait for another 30 mins to get allocated a new bed. Barely got any sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sebastiansundback
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the valuable feedback. I regret that we were not able to change your view of Hostels. It is hard for us to control the behaviour of the other guests in dorms and to prevent that you find stuff on your bed that does not belong to you. Still we will work on the processes at Reception not...

Dongen
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very nice hotel /hostel . The location is top very close by the city ..the staff was very kind and helpfull We had a room with a bathroom with a good view over the city on the 7th floor. The room was big enough and clean. The beds were oke .. So for the price off €48,- in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marjolein V
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, Good to see that you left happy. Thanks for giving us your valuable feedback. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice clean room, amazing views in the 6th floor, with a great shower, perfect location next to train station. Good common areas and nice people at the reception always available to help you in any question, specially Jan.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 610angele
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, what a fantastic feedback. Thanks a lot. Especcially that you name the team member who has impressed you the most, is a fantastic thing. I will pass on your comment. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A bit typical of a couple of the Generators I have stayed in, but as a solo traveller out to meet people I found this hostel lacking in the atmosphere to get people socialising. Unfortunately for me the hostel is undergoing renovations to what looks like the main area for such things. As it was the area to chill out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jordan H
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, many thanks for the review. We aim to be more than just a cosy place to rest. Therefore we have opened last Friday our brand new Helter Skelter Bar, that gives you, while having a nice drink, the opportunity to meet some great people. I hope we can welcome you soon again in Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General...

Leganes, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There was a lot of noise from the street and the cleanliness was very poor, but I must say that the location was perfect and the instalations were confortable. I recommend it if you want to visit the city for a weekend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mzamf1
GeneratorHamburg, Manager at Generator Hostel Hamburg, responded to this review

Hi, thanks a lot for the nice feedback. We are there for you whenever you return to Hamburg. Regards, Sven Heberling Assistant General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

484 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Eight Person Room (27)
Viewed
Four Person Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Six Person Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Bridge Inn Hotel
#205 of 320 in Hamburg
162 reviews
St. Pauli
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
Hotel Hafen Hamburg
#71 of 320 in Hamburg
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altona-Altstadt
NH Hamburg Altona
NH Hamburg Altona
#51 of 320 in Hamburg
787 reviews
Hamburg-Altstadt
Barcelo Hamburg
Barcelo Hamburg
#27 of 320 in Hamburg
1,210 reviews
25hours Hotel Number One
#55 of 320 in Hamburg
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our fresh, brand new Hamburg Hostel opened in January 2012 and is located in the heart of St Georg, next to the central train station "Hauptbahnhof Sued". Many of Hamburg’s great attractions are on our doorstep, such as the Deichtorhallen, the City Hall and the area of Speicherstadt. We know that Hamburg can be expensive, so unlike many other Hamburg hostels we give you: FREE Wi-Fi Internet, FREE bed linen, central location and en-suite Rooms.All our other Generator Hostels are renowned for their famous late nights at Generator Bar which provide a unique atmosphere, entertaining our guests with DJ nights, Karaoke, quizzes and fancy dress evenings: expect this and many many more fun evenings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Hamburg

Address: Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Price Range: $29 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Hamburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Quiet, clean and comfy”
 of 5 bubbles simonpJ3860QC, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Make use of the secure lockers too if you arrive early.”
 of 5 bubbles luvleyleah, Jan 18, 2017 | Read review
“I had a room on the fourth floor with electrical blinds. Nice”
 of 5 bubbles sirius052016, Dec 14, 2016 | Read review
“Double check everything with the staff. Not the most professional.”
 of 5 bubbles , Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are nicer, however you may be walking up so choose a lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles SarthakNag, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question