We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backpackers St. Pauli

Traveler (7)
Room & Suite (3)
Dining (1)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Next Stop: St. Pauli. Home of Alternative Lifestyle. Explore the district and get in touch with the cosy atmosphere of St. Pauli's little streets and corners. Learn about the history of this special area of Hamburg. From the beginning as the ropemakers worked by the river and gave famous Reeperbahn its name over the 60ies where the Beatles made their first steps on stage to the middle of the 80ies as Hafenstrasse was squatted and now. Starting off with a breakfast in the hostelcafe/bar or you prepare your own in our lounge, you are ready for the beauty of Hamburgs sights. In the evening our hostelcafe/bar offers snacks and drinks including a nice range of handcrafted beers from germany. Meet the other travelers here or again in our lounge where you can prepare your own meals. During spring/summer our backyard is open for a nice chillout in the hammock or from time to time with a nice BBQ. Our rooms are partly equipped with ensuite bathroom or balcony. For your belongings we provide lockers in the rooms for each guest. Every bed has its own reading light and a shelf. Extra powersockets can be requested at the reception. WIFI is free of charge, if you don't have a laptop or netbook, feel free to use our computer at the bar. Please note that bedlinen is not included and will be charged for a set. If you are staying 3 nights or more, bedlinen is included. Sleeping without bedlinen, using own bedlinen or sleepingbags is not allowed. Please understand that sleeping bags will be stored seperately and handed back at departure. In general we don't have age restriction but guests traveling alone unter 18 must provide a written approval by a parent or a guardian. Important: When you are checked in - there is no curfew but for check-in our reception has the following opening times: 08:00 - 00:00 April-October 09:00 - 22:00 November-March
Read more
Property amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Charming
Location
Full view
99Great for walkers
Grade: 99 out of 100
31Restaurantswithin 0.25 miles
6Attractionswithin 0.25 miles
Reviews & more
96Reviews
22Photos
0Q+A
4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 40
  • 38
  • 13
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The rooms and facilities are awesome. I loved the location as well...near to reeperbahn and other attractions. I felt that the staff could have been more welcoming..it could be a culture thing. There was a Male staff who was completely weird. If you forget about the staff the
Read more
Response from PauliTanja, Manager at Backpackers St. Pauli
Responded Nov 3, 2018
Dear Guest. Thank you for your stay. We have a popular Happy Hour every day from 19-21h. This is a wonderful possibility to meet the other guests in the hostel.
Read more
I informed these people that the credit card I had booked with had to be canceled due to fraud. Although the roughly dozen other hostels I booked for my trip all told me not to worry, and I could just pay with the new card upon arrival, these people insisted I had to pay in
Read more
I was mighty impressed with this hostel - travelling on a cheap budget you know never to set your expectations too high, but this place was a very pleasant surprise with just how comfortable it was. The room was extremely spacious, as were the bunk beds themselves, with a good
Read more
Wasn’t terrible but definitely the worst hostel I’ve stayed in. It’s clean and comfortable enough but there’s no atmosphere and the staff are condescending. They gave me the key to the wrong room when I checked in and then assumed I was wrong, they also threw out food I had in
Read more
Response from PauliTanja, Manager at Backpackers St. Pauli
Responded Aug 18, 2018
Dear guest, thank your for your stay and review. I would like to explain to third parties what happened. That day we had a training with a new staff member and as humans are not machines a mistake happened. I apologize for that. I value the friendliness of my staff in general. i just think it was a big misunderstanding which leads you to the expression we would be condescending. About the food: We don't throw things away which have name and departure mentioned on it. So i suppose it was eaten by somebody else. This is not nice but happens sometimes in a hostel. For the future guests. We are located between the redlight district (0,5km) and a bar/restaurant district (0,5km) in a normal residential street. The busstop is 0,2km away, S and U train 0,5km.
Read more
Very good stay with group of friends we booked a full room so had it to ourselves. Very Clean and friendly location Bea on the main desk was very helpful, excellent tour guide. Very handy location with lots of options.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
Imagine, if all six women farted all the time.
Photo provided by managementBackpackers St. Pauli
Bad
Photo provided by managementBackpackers St. Pauli
Bad
"Get the rooms NOT facing the bar downstairs!"
"Wifi only worked in the bar downstairs."
"we stayed in a dorm but it was good"
"Dorm rooms are fine :) windows are double glazed so noise isn't a problem."
PRICE RANGE
$20 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyHamburgAltona-Altstadt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing