We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The Fontenay Hamburg

Fontenay 10, 20354 Hamburg Germany
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (429)
Room & Suite (141)
Pool & Beach (32)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


#37 of 347 hotels in Hamburg
Travelers' Choice
THE FONTENAY is a reflection of modern Hamburg: open-minded, cosmopolitan and exceptionally welcoming. A homage to the Hanseatic city, the luxury hotel is tailor-made for the many national and international visitors who come to discover and rediscover Hamburg.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking garage
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Rooftop bar
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Steam room
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken


Full view
85Good for walkers
Grade: 85 out of 100
205Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
45Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
287Reviews3Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 197
  • 39
  • 26
  • 14
  • 10
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
SelA wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Reception service was extremely disappointing after our original room reservation was changed to a less attractive room without informing us until after arrival. The Fontenay reception staff seemed cold and indifferent and unwilling to make amends for their own mistake. Instead we were given the option getting a free drink or paying Euro 4,000 for a better room, which was outrageous. After waiting almost 2hrs to resolve the room situation, still with our suitcases unpacked and tired children, we decided to leave for another hotel. Really poor service for such a hotel. Thanks to the Fontenay we had a terrible start to what should have been a great family vacation. The valet however was a kind and fantastic gentleman and the only staff member we met who seemed to understand what 5-star service means.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from TF Management, Marketing at The Fontenay Hamburg
Responded Oct 25, 2021
We are very sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience at The Fontenay. Definitely our staff is trained to welcome our guests and make them feel at home from the very first moment they walk in. We will definitely forward your feedback internally and apologize for all inconveniences caused. We are sorry you couldn't enjoy your vacation as originally planned. Yours The Fontenay team
Read more
JJ wrote a review Sep 2021
Zurich, Switzerland1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was very impressed of this hotel At the very first page from the entrance I was not sure where was the reception, The lady at the front were on the phone did not even gave a glance to their guest, however the receptionnist tim who helped my check in were very welcoming me and guided to the seat, the checkin were very rapidly done, accurate and polite I even got un upgrade due to Club member. The room was very tidy, organised and very modern. The spa has to be reserved beforehand due to covid, also staffs were very polite and helpful, saunas were very cozy and clean, though gym was kind of small. I tried to go to bar however, the answer was completely booked out for the hotel guests during disappointing, I had to choose Room Service but totally excellence and never gonna disappointed with it. Breakfast were stunning that you can choose from buffets otherwise waiter/esses will help you directly for the drinks and egg dishes. Entire team was wonderful of which this hotel can be proud of. If there's one thing could be developed very detailed but the cups in the room seemed that had not been cleaned or polished for a long time. Except for that, everything was perfect I would definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Response from TF Management, Marketing at The Fontenay Hamburg
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Fontenay. We hope to welcome you again. Yours - The Fontenay team
Read more
Valkars wrote a review Aug 2021
Munich, Germany37 contributions61 helpful votes
It‘s really hard to pick a rating for this hotel because some things were really good and others were really bad. The hotel itself is beautiful and the location is really nice. The decoration in the lobby, restaurants and rooms is flawless. Everyone who works here is super nice and helpful. But one stays at a hotel with the idea of sleeping… and this was not really possible for us. The first room we got, had a weird pipe noise flowing on one side of the bed and the air conditioning was very loud. When we turned it off, the room was very warm even though outside it was not warm at all. For the second night, we changed into a new room and we also had noise problems. There are some sort of grids around the windows that kept creaking very loudly. At 1am we packed everything and changed rooms again and then it was fine. Fortunately the people at the reception were very accommodating and helpful but the fact that we couldn‘t get a good night sleep makes it very unlikely that we would stay here again. It‘s a shame because it really is a lovely place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Response from TF Management, Marketing at The Fontenay Hamburg
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to summarize your experience staying at the Fontenay. Firstly thanks for your positive words about our staff. We are glad you like the hotel's style and location. With respect to your feedback about the noisy rooms we are very sorry abou that. In fact it should be very quiet in our rooms - one of the benefits of the hotel being located in a parc. We are sorry that in your case there was unprecedented noise in not only one but two rooms, so we can only apologize for that. We would be happy to welcoming you again. Yours - The Fontenay team
Read more
19Sophie87 wrote a review Jul 2021
Venice, Italy43 contributions72 helpful votes
Certainly, it is an amazing hotel with a great bar and good spa. Food and drinks are also good, although I wouldn’t say exceptional. You need to know that the bar is open to non-hotel guests, meaning that it gets very busy, particularly when the weather is good. Although hotel guests have a priority to get seated, we had to wait quite some time. Considering the exceptional prices you pay at this hotel (double the cost of most other German five star superior hotels) I’m not really happy with this and I generally wonder why it is so much pricier. It’s certainly a great hotel - but I don’t see a difference to other hotels..
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from TF Management, Marketing at The Fontenay Hamburg
Responded Jul 27, 2021
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken your open feedback on board and would be delighted if you would choose The Fontenay again for your next stay in Hamburg. Your The Fontenay Team
Read more
CESAR wrote a review Oct 2020
Beverly Hills, California50 contributions90 helpful votes
love the architecture the spa the pool roomservice. there is nothing to complain about this property. Fascinating interiors all with the best materials. High tech but easy to understand. love the wooden floors- no smelly carpets.... cant wait to return
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
2 Helpful votes
Response from TF Management, Marketing at The Fontenay Hamburg
Responded Oct 26, 2020
Dear Julius, Thank you very much for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards The Fontenay
Read more
$306 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
GermanyHamburgRotherbaum / Eimsbüttel
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Fontenay Hamburg
Which popular attractions are close to The Fontenay Hamburg?
Nearby attractions include Planten un Blomen (0.7 miles), Alster (0.3 miles), and Kunsthalle Hamburg (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Fontenay Hamburg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at The Fontenay Hamburg?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Fontenay Hamburg?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Fontenay Hamburg?
Yes, a parking garage is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Fontenay Hamburg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stadtsalat, Restaurant Haerlin, and Helo Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Fontenay Hamburg?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Fontenay Hamburg have airport transportation?
Yes, The Fontenay Hamburg offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Fontenay Hamburg located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Hamburg.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Fontenay Hamburg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Fontenay Hamburg?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.