We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center

Save
Traveler (106)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (11)
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good45%
  • Average20%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“altona station”(19 reviews)
“stag do”(23 reviews)
“guest kitchen”(4 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Wheelchair access
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City Center
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
71
91
48
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
71
91
48
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaltona stationstag doguest kitchenbed roomfree wificheap hotelminute walkrooms are basicnight lifelate checkcontinental breakfasts bahnper dayyogurtdormreeperbahnlads
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 226 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2017

4 of us stayed here to watch the STAMP festival in Altona. We were allocated a 6 bed room which we had no complaints about as we appreciated the space. The room was bigger than your average hostel with shelves and rails to store your...More

Thank rumandcake
Response from Toni M, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City CenterResponded June 19, 2017

Dear Guest, thanks so much for take the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to read that if you would have the chance to come back to Hamburg, you would stay with us. We have the possibility to rent some ventilator in...More

Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile

We were 8 persons so we got our own shared dorm (so not that much "shared"). The rooms were spacey and clean and the beds were comfortable. The room had a private shower and toilet. We did only stay one night. The room was very...More

Thank Konrad Ö
Response from Toni M, TEAM at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City CenterResponded June 16, 2017

Deare guest, we are pleased that you choice our hotel and enjoy your stay. We hope to see you again. Kind regards! TEAM Meininger

Reviewed May 30, 2017

The hotel is close to the metro station, which was convenient. Accommodations were very basic, so if you are looking for a little nicer place to stay and have a bit more money to spend, look elsewhere. Kelly at the front desk was very friendly...More

1  Thank Lindsey T
Response from Toni M, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City CenterResponded June 6, 2017

Dear Lindsey, thank you for rating us. We are glad you liked your stay. Our construction work took longer than expected but we would be happy to welcome you back after it's finished. Greetings from Hamburg, your MEININGER-Team

Reviewed May 26, 2017

Another German hostel with a name problem. It is actually in quite a handy location but I have no idea why it's called City Centre and not Altona as it is nowhere near the Hbf and the centre of Hamburg but really just around the...More

Thank Adam S
Response from Toni M, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City CenterResponded May 30, 2017

Dear Adam, thank you for rating us. We are glad to hear you liked your stay. As you already mentioned, the Centre of Hamburg is only 10 Minutes away with S-Bahn, therefore our Hotel is called 'City Center'. We hope to welcome you back any...More

Reviewed May 25, 2017 via mobile

Very near to Altona station where you can travel all over the city.. Our room was a bit small but had all the necessary.. Plus there was a nice view.. There is a bar.. A luggage room and a guest kitchen.. The price for a...More

Thank Lucia M
Response from Toni M, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Hamburg City CenterResponded May 30, 2017

Dear Lucia, thank you for rating us. We are glad to hear you liked your stay. Greetings from Hamburg, your MEININGER-Team

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Hamburg, Germany
See all 324 hotels in HamburgSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$56 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
$56 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (106)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (11)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Center & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Oliver M
January 12, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MEININGER-Team | Property representative |
Hi Oliver, If you have a reservation and you haven´t been asked to make a payment yet, you´ll have to pay by arrival. We wish you a great time and looking forward to welcome you! Your Meininger-Team Hamburg
1
Vote
Google Translation
Louise B
October 4, 2017|
Answer
Response from J7Y | Reviewed this property |
The people on reception were not exactly helpful at times while I stayed there. However I’m sure they could manage this easy task. Otherwise I think there’ll be places at the airport to do it easy enough.
0
Votes
Jay821989
July 30, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from J7Y | Reviewed this property |
You do get a few towels, maybe just 1 per person tho. Not sure about an ironing room. I think there was either an iron in the room, or you could rent one from reception. Sorry for the slightly vague answers!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"int 6 beds mixed room there's a kind of private area, choose this one"
Read review
"Room at the back to avoid noise of road/people waiting for taxis."
Read review
"Rooms at front noisy"
Read review
"All rooms are quiet, but away from the entrance because of smokers is recommended"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing