We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Lützowplatz 17, 10785 Berlin Germany
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$98
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$97
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$97
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$97
Official Hotel$98
travelup.com$154
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1467)
Room & Suite (453)
Dining (101)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 03/11/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 03/11/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#215 of 642 hotels in Berlin
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.1
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
Cheeky, different, fresh, curious and situated in the heart of Berlin, directly on the pulse of the capital and walking distance from numerous sights. Every room at Hotel Berlin, Berlin tells a piece of Berlin history – with authentic furnishings and attention to detail – the experience is rounded off by our personal service which is always tailored to our guests. A total of 701 rooms are available at the hotel, each with comfortable facilities and state of the art technology. In the urban style designed Gym & Sauna area, the full range of endurance - cardio training, medical exercises to strength training and stretching or pure relaxation in the spa oasis can be offered. At our Lounge Berlin, Berlin freshly prepared and expertly crafted dishes meet with trendy drinks in a cozy atmosphere.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Full view
97Great for walkers
Grade: 97 out of 100
38Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
17Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
4364Reviews59Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,345
  • 1,904
  • 738
  • 218
  • 160
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
muellernicola wrote a review Sep 25
Wallisellen, Switzerland9 contributions21 helpful votes
The hotel itself would be okay-ish. It's a business/conference hotel and not really made for tourists. The staff is rather passive, not very helpful and everything is super select-service. For a 4* hotel I would expect more interaction with the staff and a higher degree of service. You are not being checked-in by staff, you don't order food with staff and you don't get any drink recommendations from staff. Breakfast is poor and feels like a canteen. Don't take juices here - you feel like you're at McDonald's. Food quality is okay. Rooms are very small for Berlin standards but otherwise good. Beds are very comfortable but you don't have any way of signaling that you would like to get freh sheets.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Responded yesterday
Dear Nicola, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We understand how important an excellent night’s rest is for our guests and are pleased we were able to meet your expectations in this regard. However, we are sorry that you felt we fell short of our high service standards. Rest assured that we will use your feedback to address this matter with our team and take necessary action. We regret to hear that our breakfast was not to your satisfaction. The selection of options is carefully chosen to please all our guests' tastes, however, we are constantly trying to improve the variety and quality of food items that we offer and welcome any suggestions on how we could improve. Moreover, we do have varying categories of rooms with different sizes and would have been happy to help you find a room better suited to your requirements. Please let us know your preferences on your next visit. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Your Hotel Berlin, Berlin Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pollystar wrote a review Sep 17
Moscow, Russia82 contributions69 helpful votes
Worst experience ever! Super bad internet connection. Wi-Fi doesn’t work in a business hotel. Super ride people at reception. My friend asked for a name of the manager and was told “ you don’t need my name, if you ll need it it will be on my jacket” they also refused to call for a manager. And when my friend told he is rude and he will write a review about it- the manager( whoever it was ) told go for it. Super rude and provocative. Room was nice, breakfast was good, bed was good. But the attitude (((((((
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Don’t go
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Polly, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to hear that your room met your expectations and that we were able to tempt your tastebuds with our tasty breakfast. However, we regret that you felt the service provided by our reception team was not up to the usual high standard we set ourselves; this gives us the opportunity to review our procedures with them. We are also sorry for any inconvenience with our WiFi and can assure you that our technical team will be looking into this. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Your Hotel Berlin, Berlin Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TwisTurtle wrote a review Sep 13
London, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel would have been criminally overpriced if I'd paid half what they charged. The building itself is lovely, but it's let down by some truly terrible service and management. The negatives; - I didn't get housekeeping for two days, during the busiest part of my trip. This was despite me vacating my room and putting the proper sign on my door for them. When I went down to ask, they sent someone up who took the old towels and such away, but didn't bring any new ones, making me go down and ask again. - They hit me with hidden charges. At no point was it mentioned that the breakfast wasn't included in the price of the room, and that I'd be charged €15 extra a day for it. - The WiFi was terrible, not working half the time and very weak when it did work. It's 2022; strong, stable WiFi is as reasonable to expect as running water and lights. If I'd been here on business rather than a holiday, I'd have been livid. - The the entire floor I was on, including my room, had a bad smell that was coming from the airvents - On the final day, the rain caused a very large flood on the ground floor, of what I have to assume was sewage water, based on the smell - only soap is provided in the bathroom, not even shampoo, at least in my room - There was a glass soap dish in the shower which was not properly fitted. As soon as I touched it, it fell and shattered. Positives; - the venue is very pretty - rooms were comfortable and spacious - Good location, at least for all the things I wanted to do in Berlin - The breakfast, though overpriced and not clearly indicated as costing extra, did have a very large selection of decent food
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. We are pleased your room suited you in terms of space and comfort. However, we are sorry for any issues you experienced. Rest assured that we will not only address your concerns with our housekeeping department but have our technicians look into the Wi-Fi. Please do not hesitate to contact our team for additional amenities if required. Additionally, we have tried to ensure that our T&C's are listed visibly on our website, however, we have noted your concerns and will take this into review. Moreover, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience with regard to the odour, and please know we are investigating the cause. We take our customers’ concerns very seriously and have noted your comments. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity of providing you with an improved stay in future. Best regards, Your Hotel Berlin, Berlin Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ross B wrote a review Sep 11
2 contributions
Check in was difficult. They are introducing an automatic check in but it doesn’t recognise third party booking site numbers. I’m sure it will be better when it’s finished. But my biggest issue was with the invasive housekeeping. Do not disturb signs were ignored and I was woken at 10:00 with knocking that sounded like a police raid. On our day of departure, check out being 12:00, the staff attempted to come in twice at 11:00 to do the room. It gives an overall impression they try to run the hotel to suit the business rather than looking after the guests. I’ll be avoiding this hotel in future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing a review. We are sorry that your check-in experience was not as seamless as we would have liked and have noted your comment. Please also accept our sincere apologies for the incidents with housekeeping and rest assured that we will be reviewing this matter and the procedures to follow with our team to ensure the privacy of our guests. We hope you will return for an improved experience in the future. Kind regards, Your Hotel Berlin, Berlin Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nik MJ wrote a review Sep 10
2 contributions1 helpful vote
If you want to lose your things, then you are welcome. Fascists and deceivers are waiting for you in broken rooms. I forgot my T-shirt, and immediately called them, less than 20 minutes later. They said she'll be at the counter. As a result, they said that they did not know anything and asked to send an email. Thieves and fascists. They stole a T-shirt which is 5 years old, but it was dear to me. Broken rooms in addition. Disgraceful!! Can I give you 10 euros... Damn people.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Badir, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry you were not happy with your experience and are concerned to learn of the experience you had while staying at our hotel. If you could contact us directly it would be our pleasure to investigate further and have this matter resolved. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity of providing you with an improved stay in future. Best regards, Your Hotel Berlin, Berlin Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luke R wrote a review Sep 6
London, United Kingdom322 contributions75 helpful votes
What a stay, like seriously. The food, the staff the CHEFS"! Everything about this hotel has me coming back for more each time! The plaque of Mambo Number 5 is so amazing to see and it being local to all of the amazing landmarks, love this hotel so much! Not to mention the segway tours!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for such a positive review. It is rewarding to know that you had such a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your dining experience. This inspires our team to continue upholding our high standards of service. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Your Hotel Berlin, Berlin Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tantes0fie wrote a review Aug 2022
Trondheim, Norway140 contributions36 helpful votes
Great location. Easy to find. Nice, clean and surprisingly fine design inside - the Hotel does not seem as a designhotell from the outside - but we loved the interiour and the style inside. Nice AC, was very needed in the temp of 42 C!! Would love to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Dear SOfie, Thank you for this review of your recent stay. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient for you. We appreciate your kind feedback and will certainly share it amongst our team. We do hope to welcome you back in the future for another stay. All the best, Your Hotel Berlin, Berlin Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sean wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
We’ll the decor is nice but there are several issues which I am pretty much echoing from other reviews. Check in process is atrocious, “self-check”. Scanner doesn’t work. No confirmation number provided by Expedia to use to check in at kiosk. Only one or two agents at little desks who both had a line of people who couldn’t check in or out using the kiosks; one of which was rude. Mildew in shower. Luggage rack broken. AC a joke (does not work). Mini/bar fridge had to be swapped out. I towels provided in room and had to call; they did that quickly though. So basically a super nice understaffed motel 6. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Do not expect a pleasant check in process
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Responded Aug 5, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing a review. While we are delighted to hear that you appreciated our deco-style, we are very sorry you felt our service fell below the standards expected of us and apologise for any inconvenience during check-in. Please accept our sincere apologies, we can assure you that your comments will be shared with our team for review. We are also sorry to hear that your room and its amenities didn't quite meet your expectations. Please don't hesitate to inform us of any issues at any time as we are always on hand to offer comfortable solutions. Moreover, we are sorry for any inconvenience due to the air conditioning system. While it is centrally regulated, the temperature can be adjusted individually by +/- 3 degrees. We wish you had let us know of your concern at the time as our team would have been happy to assist with the controls. We regret any inconvenience due to the towels, but we are happy to hear that our team dealt with your concern promptly. We hope to welcome you back on future occasions. Best regards, Your Hotel Berlin, Berlin Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danilo P wrote a review Jul 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia256 contributions196 helpful votes
Berlin, Berlin The rooms are fairly nice, but that’s pretty much the only positive. 1. Check in was slow, we had to self check in (imputing the information of the person under which the reservation was made and scanning the passport) just to then have to cue on a line for a staff member - only one - to get info on the additional people staying in the room and getting the keys. They could have done it all in one go, requesting the details of additional guests during the “self check-in” part of the pilgrimage, or even beforehand, online. 2. There is no bottled water in the room and no room service. They replaced it by some self-service vending machines downstairs. Curiously, they did away with the service but they still want to charge more than 3.5 euros for a small bottle of water, which is a price level you only find in luxury places. Plus, selling small bottles and not large ones unnecessarily increases the use of single use plastic. If a person should drink at least 1.5L of water a day, then why not sell bottles that size and instead only sell half liter ones? 3. The location is not as good as it seems when you look at the maps. The place is well connected for sure, but the streets around the hotel are dirty, almost “industrial”, so the 300m until the subway is far from a pleasant walk. 4. Cleanliness is also poor. Our room had a sticky substance on the desk and on the floor, as if someone had let some sugary drink fall down. I don’t know how the cleaning staff could miss a shiny spot on the floor, the size of a large pan, but the fact is that I had to clean it myself otherwise our sleepers would all get dirty. 5. Internet doesn’t work. The router is probably located very far from our room (and ours is not even the last in the corridor), but we only got a trace of a signal. While we could still use our phones on 5G (thanks to T-Mobile), forget about working on your computer. 6. “Help” Desk is also of limited help. I called to request towels (because the cleaning lady took out the old ones but forgot to leave new) and apparently the room number shown in the help desk phone was not the room I was staying in. The person on the other end of the line put a lot of emphasis on this fact (as if it had been my bloody fault that they wired the phones wrongly) rather than in solving the towel problem. It sounded like a government office, very bureaucratic: “vell, ze number shown here is not your room number. You must call from ze phone in your room”… unbelievable. In the end, it took me a few hours to get the towels, by which time it was past my kid’s bed time and he was still waiting to shower. All in all, this was a very poor stay and I would not come here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Responded Aug 5, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share a review. While we are glad that you found your room to be to your satisfaction, we are very sorry to hear that your check-in experience was not entirely as you were hoping, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience while we review our procedures. Moreover, we regret to hear that our usual high standards fell short of what was expected of us and will follow up on your experience with our housekeeping to ensure that this does not occur again. Furthermore, we are sorry that our location was not entirely suited to your needs on this occasion. Additionally, we have passed on the issue with the room phone that you mention to our technical department and regret that this caused you inconvenience. Whilst an apology does not change the situation we do extend this with all sincerity. We value your feedback which highlights areas for us to review and where necessary improve our services and your remarks have been passed to the relevant departments for consideration. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on for a more memorable stay in the future. Kind regards, Your Hotel Berlin, Berlin Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jen S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I booked Hotel Berlin because it lists that it has AC. It does not. There are vents in the room that blow room temperature air. When I asked the front desk about whether it was just my room or all of the hotel that AC was not working in. They said it wasn't the type of AC that cools down the room....which is what AC is. I asked for a fan for my room three times and each time they said they would bring it in a minute, so you have to sit in your room and wait while they're not even bringing it. I called them back for a third time and they said all the fans were taken by other rooms, which of course they were, because there is no AC. When I checked in, my room didn't have hand soap, I had to play the same game of asking them multiple times. I first asked at 9pm and didn't get soap until almost 11. The fridges are very old and don't work either. The WIFI does not work in the rooms. I went and got a German SIM to be able to use my phone and hotspot my laptop, but I shouldn't have had to. If you don't plan on buying a German SIM, do not stay here because you will be completely cut off internet-wise.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Responded Aug 5, 2022
Dear Jens, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always try hard to make sure all our guests have a good experience and we are sorry to hear that your recent stay did not entirely meet your expectations. Moreover, we are sorry to hear that there was an issue with the air conditioning, this can be adjusted centrally on request and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. Furthermore, we also regret to hear that there was a concern with our usual high-speed internet; we would have had our technician come to assist you had we been aware. However, we value your feedback which assists us in highlighting areas to improve our services; please be assured that your comments have been passed to the relevant departments for their consideration. We hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit for an improved experience. Best regards, Your Hotel Berlin, Berlin Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$114 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel berlin
LOCATION
GermanyBerlinTiergarten / Mitte (Borough)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
701
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Berlin, Berlin?
Nearby attractions include Kleine Nachtrevue (0.2 miles), The Unique Bar Berlin (0.2 miles), and Sally Bowles Art Cafe and Bar (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Berlin, Berlin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Berlin, Berlin?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Berlin, Berlin?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Berlin, Berlin?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Berlin, Berlin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante II Sorriso, Lieu in Berlin, and Cafe Einstein Stammhaus.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Berlin, Berlin?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Berlin, Berlin?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Berlin, Berlin?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Berlin, Berlin offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Berlin, Berlin?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.