We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin Germany
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$426
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/20/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Rocco Forte
ZenHotels.com
$401
View deal
Expedia.com$424
Hotels.com$424
Priceline$426
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (809)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (535)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#32 of 644 hotels in Berlin
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Butler service
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
iPod docking station
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Arabic and 1 more
1765Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,293
  • 328
  • 91
  • 42
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
dan_from_the_UK wrote a review Yesterday
Derby, United Kingdom28 contributions71 helpful votes
Another gem in the Rocco Forte portfolio, and a truly fantastic stay. The welcome was superb, with genuine interest in our journey and a glass of champagne offered in the stunning lobby. The Junior Suite we stayed in, with terrace, had a lovely view and was incredibly spacious with a good seating area, plenty of lighting and a very comfortable bed. As a resident guest, access to the rooftop was guaranteed and the view and atmosphere was especially memorable. Equally, the bar near the lobby was lovely and served some very reasonable priced cocktails. Chiaro was an interesting concept, with superb service from Chloe. I’m not totally sold on the food nor the decor personally. A special shout out to the female concierge with the Clef D’or, her restaurant recommendations made our stay and she sought us out to make that special connection with us, she offered true Forbes five star service! Minor issues involved the replenishment of tea and coffee, with mugs and cups being removed, and then multiple phone calls needed to request replacements. I’m the end I gave up! All in all, a lovely stay in a very special hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Explorer wrote a review Aug 1
Basel, Switzerland1 contribution
A unique blend of classic grand hotel and Berlin cool, Hotel De Rome was our perfect urban hideaway for enjoying the capital with family and friends. Sightseeing to Berlin‘s monuments and cultural heritage was a splendid walk through Hotel de Rome‘s neighborhood. The considerate and attentive staff added the personal note that instantaneously made us feel at home. The terrace was literally top-notch, rounding up our travel experience with a gorgeous view and unforgettable sundowners.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
aliBee331 wrote a review Jul 2022
Worcester, United Kingdom48 contributions38 helpful votes
We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this lovely hotel. We had 3 rooms ( one under a separate booking) as we were in Berlin for a family wedding and wanted somewhere special to stay. We regularly visit Berlin as have family there and have previously been a bit disappointed with some of the hotel offerings. The Hotel de Rome did not disappoint in terms of our gorgeous spacious deluxe room, the wonderful roof terrace and beautiful spa area - we knew the pool was closed but look forward to seeing it next time. The breakfast though expensive ( not included in our room rate) was amazing although difficult to do it justice if you have a small appetite like me! We loved drinks and lunch on the terrace and as residents we were always given a table. The reception staff are charming - special mention to Nick who couldn’t have been more welcoming every time we returned and asked about the wedding etc. The reason I have only given 4 stars is that beyond reception there was a staff organisation problem - maybe still COVID related with staff shortages and lack of consistency. Our luggage took more than half an hour to arrive in our room - we had to chase it twice as we had a lunch reservation. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. They are offered on request. We made daily requests ( often more than once) and failed completely to get coffee making facilities but did get a kettle and some herbal tea bags - no milk or breakfast tea until by some luck the last day. What we did receive was never replenished or tidied away by housekeeping. More phone calls required. When you are staying for 4 days this is a fairly basic requirement without the need for expensive room service every time you want a tea or coffee. Similarly our bottled water wasn’t replaced and we had to ask for loo rolls as very little supplied - not a big deal but a 5 star hotel. There seems to be confusion between whether housekeeping or room service are responsible for room amenities. The above issues were minor irritations ( I will take my own tea and coffee next time!) and absolutely did not spoil our stay. We will definitely return on our regular trips to Berlin and look forward to to it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear aliBee331, thank you very much for your recent visit with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome and we hope that you had a good journey back. We are also very thankful for your time to give us a rating here on "trip advisor" and for your nice comments about the room, rofftop terrace, spa and our reception team. Please be assured that we will share also your nice comment about Nick with him. On the other hand we are verry sorry that you had to wait for such a long time for your luggage and that you did not get the coffee machine although you asked several times for that. Also the repleneshing of your used items is normally a regular thing to do and so we hope that you accept our sincerest apologies for this negative experience which has caused to you. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back soon and you can contact me directly. I will be to your assistance. With best regards from Bebelplatz in Berlin, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
PhilDoh wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom29 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
Absolutely lovely hotel, very stylish and the staff at reception were very helpful and could not do enough to help. The room was well appointed, but I think there are areas starting to show its age. No issues though as everything was clean and well looked after. The issue we had was the attitude of the staff on the roof top bar. Asked for a cocktail and told very curtly that they don't do them (they do downstairs). Then you are put under a lot of time pressure to order, even though you have just been given the menu - obviously there were more important people to associate with... Not a relaxing environment at all. Terrible attitude unless you look the part.. When the staff are serving you, they seem to be looking everywhere else except at you. If you are not part of the trendy set (or friends) you will be treated like second class citizens, so we left after 1 drink with a very bad experience. Even this was a challenge, we had asked 3 or 4 staff members to have our bill, but after 10 minutes we just got up and left to sign the bill to our room at the kiosk thing, even that took time. Terrible experience, the arrogance and poor service was unbelievable. The bar on the ground floor has 100 times better service. Friendly and welcoming, nothing too much trouble. In effect, nice hotel, pity about the experience with its ( main?) attraction
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the roof top bar, over promises and under delivers
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear PhilDoh, thank you very much for your recent visit with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome. We hope you had a good journey back and we are very thankful that you have taken your time to share your experience here with a rating on "trip advisor". Thank you for your nice comments about our reception team but on the other side we feel very disappointed that you had such a negative experience on our beautiful rooftop terrace and we hope that you accept our sincerest apologies as this is of course not our regualr standard and our primary goal is ist to give every guest the same attention and good service as you can accept it from our hotel. Please be assured that we will take this into serious consideration.. It would be our big pleasure to welcoming you back with us and for your next reservation you can contact me directly. Hopefully see you soon. Best regards from Berlin, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
Cosmonaut11 wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom32 contributions42 helpful votes
The host in the restaurant was very grumpy. I arrived 20 minutes before the breakfast closed and when I politely asked if I could still eat she said only if I finish in 20 minutes. On the way from the buffet she nearly ran me over and did not apologise. At check in I left my car keys with the receptionist and asked for the valet or park it. I was assured it would be done. The next morning I learned that my car was left outside in the street the whole night. It is quite expensive and I asked for a safe parking even before I booked the hotel. The pool is closed for renovation, which I was not told prior to booking.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Make sure the valet actually parks your car
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Dear Jurij P, thank you very much for your recent visit with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome and we hope that you had a good journey to your next destination. Thank you as well for your time to write a review here on "trip advisor" but unfortunately we have to read that your stay has not been to your satisfaction. I hope you accept my sincere apologies for the service which have caused to you during your breakfast and that you didn´t get an information due to the pool closure. This is of course not our regular standard and I hope that these circumstances will not affect your choice for your next stay in Berlin. As we had quiet a lot of guest-cars in the garage our porter/doormen team brought your car already in the morning in front of the hotel but it did park in the garage during the night. We hope that you will choose our Hotel de Rome again and it would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation with us. Best regards and hopefully see you soon, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
Marc S wrote a review Jun 2022
Marin County, California9 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed four nights at the Hotel de Rome at the end of May, 2022. The renovation of the hotel looks great but once we got into our room we found that things weren't quite right. For example, they did not provide enough electrical outlets for modern travelers, and noting was quite done exactly correctly. The staff was nice and helpful but the value just isn't there. They are charging prices comparable to the Ritz-Carlton and Kempinski but the facil;ty isn't as nice.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded Jun 13, 2022
Dear Marc S., thank you very much for your recent stay with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome and for your comments and rating here on "trip advisor". I hope that you had a good journey back and thank you very much as well for your nice comments about our staff but I am very sorry to notice that you have not been content with our electrical outlets in the room. Please excuse that we could not meet your expectations in this case and anyway I hope that you will travel back to us in Hotel de Rome. Then you can let us know prior arrival which chargers, adapters etc you need that we can try to organize for you in advance. Best regards from Berlin, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
Jonathan R wrote a review May 2022
Atherton, California7 contributions29 helpful votes
Stayed in April for four nights, The location of the hotel is terrific. The concierges are very helpful with directions and bikes and maps. Unfortunately, this hotel needs better management checking that systems are in place for consistent services. We saw numerous mistakes. Someone else's dry cleaning left in our closet. Bird Poop on the terrace not cleaned up. Room service orders consistently off. Phone calls for assistance unanswered. Room cleaning faling to use a checklist. Sometimes they replaced water bottles sometimes the did not. Some of this is a legacy of covid and getting back up to speed but a top tier hotel should have these issues sorted by now. The place is not terrible but I have stayed at many "Leading hotels of the world" and this is in the bottom 10 percent of that brand. The location and overall facility are fine but the training of personnel is poor.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded Jun 13, 2022
Dear TravelGuy1991,, first off all let me thank you for your stay with us in Hotel de Rome and I hope that you had a good journey back. Let me also thank you for your nice comments about our concierge staff and about the location and I hope that you could explore the city a lot. On the other hand please accept my sincerest apologies for the poor service which you have experienced and please be assured that this is of course not our regular standard. Unfortunately we could not meet your expectations during your stay and it would be great if you will give us a second chance to show you that we can do much better. For your next stay you can contact us directly under following mail adress: mbuschmann@roccofortehotels. Thank you again for your comments and hopefully we can welcoming you back soon with us. Best regards from Bebelplatz in Berlin, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
Peter von Lyen wrote a review May 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands3 contributions1 helpful vote
Visited for the first time and.. Wow terrace, great service and food at the Restaurant downstairs. My next visit in Berlin, i will be looking to stay here again. Well, i know now what to expect from Rocco Forte?
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded May 25, 2022
Dear PeterLyen, thank you very much for your recent stay with us in Hotel de Rome and for your lovely words and great rating here on "trip advisor". We hope that you had a great journey back and we are very glad to hear that your stay has been to your fully satisfaction and that you had a great time on our rooftop and restaurant."Chiaro". The whole Hotel de Rome-team is very much looking forward to your upcoming stay with us and we are waiting for your reservation. Best regards from Berlin, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
Evi K wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
If only the cold was milder so we could enjoy our lovely private terrace! The room was wonderful, super clean and spatious. The hotel couldn't be in a greater location, you dive into Berlin's culture and history as soon as you set your foot on that square. Special thanks to Porter Mehmet for making our stay a memorable one, so geniunly friendly, professional and kind. Nice contemporary look, excellent facilities, elegant touches to make guests' experience unique.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded Apr 19, 2022
Dear 670evik, we would like to thank you for your recent visit with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome and we are very glad to read that your stay had been to your fully satisfaction. Thank you as well that you have named Mehmet for his great service and please be assure that we will share your comments with him and with the whole team. What a pitty that you felt not very healthy during your stay and we do hope that you are feeling better now. Thanks again for your great rating here on "trip advisor" and we do hope to welcoming you back soon with us. All the best and kind regards from Berlin, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
bshelbourne wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
The location of Hotel De Rome is second to none in Berlin. Very convenient for access to all major sights, but also to business hubs in the East and West. Easy access to transport links. The team are very friendly and welcoming. Overall excellent experience. Would highly recommend and will definitely return when in Berlin.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded Mar 16, 2022
Dear bshelbourne, thank you very much that you have chosen Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome during your last trip to Berlin. Also we would like to thank you for your great rating and your lovely words here on "trip advisor" and we are very glad that our team have made your stay to a memorable one. We are all looking forward to your future visit when your next trip to Berlin is scheduled. Thanks again and all the best, KInd regards, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$366 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
de rome hotel, de rome berlin
LOCATION
GermanyBerlinMitte / Mitte (Borough)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
145
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel de Rome
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel de Rome?
Nearby attractions include Dussmann das KulturKaufhaus (0.3 miles), Rausch Schokoladen-Geschaeft (0.3 miles), and Gendarmenmarkt (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel de Rome?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel de Rome?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel de Rome?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel de Rome?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel de Rome?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rausch Schokoladen-Café, Treffpunkt Berlin, and Cookies Cream.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel de Rome?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel de Rome have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel de Rome offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel de Rome located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Berlin.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel de Rome?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel de Rome offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.