We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin Germany
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (801)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (535)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#32 of 646 hotels in Berlin
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Butler service
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
iPod docking station
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Arabic and 1 more
1758Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,289
  • 325
  • 91
  • 41
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Cosmonaut11 wrote a review Jun 19
London, United Kingdom32 contributions41 helpful votes
The host in the restaurant was very grumpy. I arrived 20 minutes before the breakfast closed and when I politely asked if I could still eat she said only if I finish in 20 minutes. On the way from the buffet she nearly ran me over and did not apologise. At check in I left my car keys with the receptionist and asked for the valet or park it. I was assured it would be done. The next morning I learned that my car was left outside in the street the whole night. It is quite expensive and I asked for a safe parking even before I booked the hotel. The pool is closed for renovation, which I was not told prior to booking.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Make sure the valet actually parks your car
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jurij P, thank you very much for your recent visit with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome and we hope that you had a good journey to your next destination. Thank you as well for your time to write a review here on "trip advisor" but unfortunately we have to read that your stay has not been to your satisfaction. I hope you accept my sincere apologies for the service which have caused to you during your breakfast and that you didn´t get an information due to the pool closure. This is of course not our regular standard and I hope that these circumstances will not affect your choice for your next stay in Berlin. As we had quiet a lot of guest-cars in the garage our porter/doormen team brought your car already in the morning in front of the hotel but it did park in the garage during the night. We hope that you will choose our Hotel de Rome again and it would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation with us. Best regards and hopefully see you soon, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
Marc S wrote a review Jun 3
Marin County, California9 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed four nights at the Hotel de Rome at the end of May, 2022. The renovation of the hotel looks great but once we got into our room we found that things weren't quite right. For example, they did not provide enough electrical outlets for modern travelers, and noting was quite done exactly correctly. The staff was nice and helpful but the value just isn't there. They are charging prices comparable to the Ritz-Carlton and Kempinski but the facil;ty isn't as nice.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Marc S., thank you very much for your recent stay with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome and for your comments and rating here on "trip advisor". I hope that you had a good journey back and thank you very much as well for your nice comments about our staff but I am very sorry to notice that you have not been content with our electrical outlets in the room. Please excuse that we could not meet your expectations in this case and anyway I hope that you will travel back to us in Hotel de Rome. Then you can let us know prior arrival which chargers, adapters etc you need that we can try to organize for you in advance. Best regards from Berlin, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
Jonathan R wrote a review May 2022
Atherton, California7 contributions29 helpful votes
Stayed in April for four nights, The location of the hotel is terrific. The concierges are very helpful with directions and bikes and maps. Unfortunately, this hotel needs better management checking that systems are in place for consistent services. We saw numerous mistakes. Someone else's dry cleaning left in our closet. Bird Poop on the terrace not cleaned up. Room service orders consistently off. Phone calls for assistance unanswered. Room cleaning faling to use a checklist. Sometimes they replaced water bottles sometimes the did not. Some of this is a legacy of covid and getting back up to speed but a top tier hotel should have these issues sorted by now. The place is not terrible but I have stayed at many "Leading hotels of the world" and this is in the bottom 10 percent of that brand. The location and overall facility are fine but the training of personnel is poor.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear TravelGuy1991,, first off all let me thank you for your stay with us in Hotel de Rome and I hope that you had a good journey back. Let me also thank you for your nice comments about our concierge staff and about the location and I hope that you could explore the city a lot. On the other hand please accept my sincerest apologies for the poor service which you have experienced and please be assured that this is of course not our regular standard. Unfortunately we could not meet your expectations during your stay and it would be great if you will give us a second chance to show you that we can do much better. For your next stay you can contact us directly under following mail adress: mbuschmann@roccofortehotels. Thank you again for your comments and hopefully we can welcoming you back soon with us. Best regards from Bebelplatz in Berlin, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
Peter von Lyen wrote a review May 2022
Amsterdam, The Netherlands3 contributions1 helpful vote
Visited for the first time and.. Wow terrace, great service and food at the Restaurant downstairs. My next visit in Berlin, i will be looking to stay here again. Well, i know now what to expect from Rocco Forte?
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded May 25, 2022
Dear PeterLyen, thank you very much for your recent stay with us in Hotel de Rome and for your lovely words and great rating here on "trip advisor". We hope that you had a great journey back and we are very glad to hear that your stay has been to your fully satisfaction and that you had a great time on our rooftop and restaurant."Chiaro". The whole Hotel de Rome-team is very much looking forward to your upcoming stay with us and we are waiting for your reservation. Best regards from Berlin, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
Evi K wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
If only the cold was milder so we could enjoy our lovely private terrace! The room was wonderful, super clean and spatious. The hotel couldn't be in a greater location, you dive into Berlin's culture and history as soon as you set your foot on that square. Special thanks to Porter Mehmet for making our stay a memorable one, so geniunly friendly, professional and kind. Nice contemporary look, excellent facilities, elegant touches to make guests' experience unique.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded Apr 19, 2022
Dear 670evik, we would like to thank you for your recent visit with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome and we are very glad to read that your stay had been to your fully satisfaction. Thank you as well that you have named Mehmet for his great service and please be assure that we will share your comments with him and with the whole team. What a pitty that you felt not very healthy during your stay and we do hope that you are feeling better now. Thanks again for your great rating here on "trip advisor" and we do hope to welcoming you back soon with us. All the best and kind regards from Berlin, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
bshelbourne wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
The location of Hotel De Rome is second to none in Berlin. Very convenient for access to all major sights, but also to business hubs in the East and West. Easy access to transport links. The team are very friendly and welcoming. Overall excellent experience. Would highly recommend and will definitely return when in Berlin.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded Mar 16, 2022
Dear bshelbourne, thank you very much that you have chosen Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome during your last trip to Berlin. Also we would like to thank you for your great rating and your lovely words here on "trip advisor" and we are very glad that our team have made your stay to a memorable one. We are all looking forward to your future visit when your next trip to Berlin is scheduled. Thanks again and all the best, KInd regards, Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
Troy Pade wrote a review Jan 2022
Los Angeles, California24 contributions15 helpful votes
My husband and I were in Berlin for Christmas to see family. We booked via AMEX Platinum and so happy with our pick. The hotel was 2 blocks from one of the Christmas markets as well as adjacent to the shopping area. The hotel was decorated for the holidays which always kept us in the holiday spirit. We appreciate the snow as well you arranged for us upon arrival, made the mood even more festive. The breakfast buffet is incredible and the morning team was always upbeat and helpful, even when trying to accommodate my husbands iced coffee recipe! We hope to be back soon to see you in the warmer months too , so we can enjoy your rooftop bar and the views.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded Jan 6, 2022
Dear Troy P, thank you so much for your recent visit with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome. I am very thankful for your lovely comments here on "trip advisor" and for your great rating and it was our great pleasure to host you during your christmas holidays. It is so nice to read that you have been 100% satisfied with the service of our staff, with the breakfast buffet and with our christmas decoration. Hopefully we can welcoming you back in summer. All the best wishes for new year 2022! Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
kaisabo wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
From start to end, my stay at Hotel de Rome was exceptional. All staff were incredibly kind and accommodating - from assisting with dinner reservations to purchasing train tickets. In these crazy Covid times, Hotel de Rome felt like a wonderful escape (while also feeling like home). My room was sizable - outfitted with one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept on in quite some time. The hotel is also excellently located, making it the perfect stop for a quick trip to Berlin. I look forward to future trips here (and other Rocco Forte hotels).
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded Jan 6, 2022
Dear kaisabo, it is my great pleasure that you stayed with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome and that you had such a great time with us. Thank you very much for your nice comments and for your great rating here on "trip advisor" and please be assure that we will share your comments with our team. I am very happy that you have been content with all our services and with the hotel itself and the whole team is very much looking forward to your next visit with us. All the best wishes for new year 2022! Gordon Debus General Manager Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome
Read more
ken150 wrote a review Dec 2021
18 contributions6 helpful votes
Loved this hotel in a great location. The service at this hotel is “World Class” friendly and helpful. Bartender was friendly and helpful and knows his craft. Wait staff in the restaurant and both breakfast and dinner could not have been better.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded Dec 27, 2021
Dear ken150, thank you very much for your recent visit with us in Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome! It is my big pleasure that our team made your stay to such a memorable one and I am very thankful that you have shared your experiences here on "trip advisor". Please be assure that we will share your comments with our team and we will all looking forward to your next stay with us to present you again a great service. All the best for the new year 2022! Best regards, Yours, Gordon Debus General Manager
Read more
JohnklemLA wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Wonderfully private and elegant hotel housed in a grand, nineteenth century bank building on a very quiet street facing the Bebelplatz. Beautifully decorated with just enough edge to make it stand out from the Ritz Carltons and Four Seasons. Very personal service, gorgeous rooms and as good a location as you'll get.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon Debus, Sonstige at Hotel de Rome
Responded Nov 20, 2021
Dear JohnklemLA, I would like to thank you very much for your stay with us in Hotel de Rome and for your great review here on "Trip Advisor". It is my great pleasure to hear that your stay has been to your fully satisfaction and I am very thankful for these kind words which we will share with our team. Hopefully your next Berlin-trip will be scheduled in the future that we can welcoming you again with us to present you a great stay again. Best regards from Bebelplatz in Berlin, Gordon Debus General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$360 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
de rome hotel, de rome berlin
LOCATION
GermanyBerlinMitte / Mitte (Borough)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
145
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel de Rome
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel de Rome?
Nearby attractions include Dussmann das KulturKaufhaus (0.3 miles), Rausch Schokoladen-Geschaeft (0.3 miles), and Gendarmenmarkt (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel de Rome?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel de Rome?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel de Rome?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel de Rome?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel de Rome?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rausch Schokoladen-Café, Treffpunkt Berlin, and Charlotte & Fritz.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel de Rome?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel de Rome have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel de Rome offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel de Rome located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Berlin.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel de Rome?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel de Rome offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.