We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$190
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/22
Travelocity
Only 3 left at
$190
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/22
Agoda.com
Only 3 left at
$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/30/22
Hotels.com$190
FindHotel$173
Orbitz.com$190
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (34)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (2)

About

#321 of 645 in Berlin
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.6
This small boutique hotel is situated in a lovingly renovated building from the 19th century and is centrally located in Berlin. The Dude offers a 24-hour reception, free WiFi, bike rental and an American fine dining restaurant. Rooms at The Dude all come with stylish décor, air conditioning, high quality parquet flooring, Bose-bluetooth-soundsystem, Egyptian cotton bed linen, flat-screen TV with satellite channels, safe, minibar, ironing board, tea and coffee facilities, Nespresso coffee machine and a private bathroom with toiletries from Rituals. The YADA YADA breakfast club offers snacks and drinks in a relaxed setting during the day and a full breakfast buffet in the morning. The Brooklyn restaurant offers an American fine-dining experience and serves high-quality meat from selected suppliers in the American Midwest and in other world regions. The Dude is 300 metres from Heinrich-Heine-Straße and Märkisches Museum underground stations.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
40Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
16Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
49Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 30
  • 10
  • 4
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jtem999 wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
We had a great stay here. The hotel has a lovely characterful charm about it. It was all spotless and freshly painted. Exactly as the pictures. It's a 15 minute walk North to museum island - a couple of stops West to Reichstag and 20 min walk East to East Side Gallery so everywhere is very accessible. We walked to most places. Breakfast is next door in an equally charming cafe. The rooms are clean beds comfy and we had a dedicated luggage room with shower where we were able to leave stuff on the last day. We were in an "apartment" I but it was in effect a double room - but that was all we wanted anyway. Very well priced. To note - access and check in is all digital, which I found difficult (couldn't upload covid pass and docs) but it didnt matter as the text response is really immediate so someone on hand to help. It was a perfect stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
moodbeast wrote a review Jan 2020
Raja Ampat, Indonesia271 contributions83 helpful votes
I stayed here for 5 days in early December. I booked a Grande after all the micro rooms in Paris as a splurge. More space than I needed! Shower had great water pressure, the room was evenly warm without having to make adjustments and brightly lit. The breakfast buffet had a terrific selection (go early only because there aren't many spots) and nice quality coffee. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly. Actually everyone was very friendly. I wish the restaurant was open, but it's still being renovated. There are 2 metro stations within walking distance. It's not in a very exciting or interesting neighborhood, which is it's only drawback. HOWEVER, it is about a 5 minute walk to Tresor (with it's neighboring performance space, Kraftwerk, which I loved) and another club (I think it's called Sam's?)next to the northeast entrance of the Heinrich-Heine-Straße. I had no problem getting around. I'd stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Sarahinwilmslow wrote a review Oct 2019
Wilmslow, United Kingdom139 contributions90 helpful votes
This hotel is lovely and the staff (and lovely brown Labrador) are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotless and stylishly decorated, the bed is very comfortable and the mini bar prices are reasonable. We asked a lot of questions of the reception staff during our stay as we had not visited Berlin before and every time they were knowledgeable and helpful. Although there is not a lot going on in the immediate area of the hotel, it is very close to the underground station and you can get tickets from the reception staff. I would stay here again without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Eleanor H wrote a review Sep 2019
8 contributions2 helpful votes
Berlin is my absolute fave city and The Dude may now be my favourite hotel within my favourite city. Located just north of Kreuzberg (very cool area) it is away from the main tourist trail, but has great transport links to all across the city. The hotel itself is very boutique, has great decor, an adjoining restaurant and cafe, and has the most welcoming staff I have ever experienced. What makes it even better is how much they go out of your way to make it a truly unique and personal trip. If I could give more than 5 stars I would!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
george e wrote a review Aug 2019
Indianapolis, Indiana104 contributions63 helpful votes
Stylish but not pretentious. Accommodating. Attentive, multi-lingual staff. Comfortable bed. A/C (a rarity in Germany). Great location (3 minute walks to the Märkisches Museum and Heinrich-Heine-Straße U-Bahn stations), groceries nearby, in-house Yada Yada breakfast club a must visit every morning, Literally, all of Berlin, from Friedrichshain to Spandau, was no more than a half-hour away at any time. Quick cab to Tegel and we were regrettably gone. I would give The Dude a 6 star rating if they offered it. Only con - their full-service restaurant was closed for renovation but we were told it is outstanding by a number of people. We will stay there on our next trip to Berlin, no doubt.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Bex wrote a review Aug 2019
Cape Town Central, South Africa11 contributions
We arrived at midnight after a long weary journey. The gentleman waiting to check us in couldn’t have been warmer and had us all laughing and smiling within a couple of minutes. Eccentric, in the best way! Perfect welcome. The rooms are simple and beds very comfortable. Complimentary coffee and tea. Air conditioning, a fan and slippers.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Gillster40 wrote a review Jul 2019
Motherwell, United Kingdom360 contributions93 helpful votes
+1
Found this hotel on trip advisor after initially considering the Marriott. Excellent location with 2 underground stations a very short distance away. Welcomed by a lovely and friendly Chocolate Labrador. We stayed in room 46 on fourth floor over looking the main road above main entrance. Beds were comfortable, room was spotless, double bed with duvet each. Fridge was stocked with usual supplies but enough room for 4 small bottles of water. Toilet was a bit small but good shower facilities. Air con was very good and large window opens also. We ate breakfast at the coffee shop directly opposite the hotel on 3 occasions.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Alex R wrote a review May 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel stay had been fine until after I left. As I checked out I mentioned to the manager at the front desk the towel was stained when I arrived - I didn't complain but politely informed. He then sends me an unpleasant message afterwards accusing me of having done it. He has since refused to apologise. Arrogant and rude is an understatement - avoid
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jost H, Inhaber at The DUDE By Charly
Responded Jul 12, 2019
Hello Alexander Rahaman, Congratulations! Hopefully you feel better now after posting your comment everywhere in the world wide web. But you know what. You are not going to blackmail me! No one will. You complained about the cleanliness of the towel (I personally worked at the front desk and you did not know who I was) You told me to better throw away the towel. I was shocked about this statement because usually neither our laundry nor my housekeeping staff works so bad. So I immediately went to your room and convinced myself. I will not go into detail what I found there. It is unacceptable and disgusting. People like you should show respect and not blame others for their own mess. I cant stand this attidude at all. Jost Hartwig
Read more
ravikaur2016 wrote a review Apr 2019
Copenhagen, Denmark18 contributions1 helpful vote
This small hotel is a real gem - excellent friendly staff, superb location, and a great breakfast cafe. The cafe manager actually remembered what kind of tea I preferred after the first day. This is so unlike the impersonal interaction one receives in big chain hotels. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Jost H, Geschäftsführer at The DUDE By Charly
Responded Apr 21, 2019
We love taking care of you, so I'm really glad that you felt so good here. From breakfast to your sleep at night, we want your time with us to be really memorable. Thanks for writing this great review! Next time you're staying with us let me know, I'll make sure that we take great care of you. Warmest, Jost Hartwig Managing Director hartwig@thedudeberlin.com
Read more
Frank M wrote a review Apr 2019
Europe339 contributions177 helpful votes
This boutique hotel, which reminds me of the Bowery in NYC, is superbly located where all great neighborhoods can be easily and quickly accessed. In addition, the staff are incredibly helpful. The food options for breakfast and dinner are great and the rooms are very cozy with lots of light and wooden floors. I'll be visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jost H, Geschäftsführer at The DUDE By Charly
Responded Apr 21, 2019
This is such a nice review, Frank! We love getting the chance to spoil you! We'll forever do our best to make sure you feel that energy every time you stay with us. Thanks again for these kind words, we'll see you again very soon! Jost Hartwig Managing Director hartwig@thedudeberlin.com
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$109 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyBerlinMitte / Mitte (Borough)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The DUDE By Charly
Which popular attractions are close to The DUDE By Charly?
Nearby attractions include EXIT Game (0.3 miles), Tresor (0.3 miles), and KitKatKlub (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The DUDE By Charly?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The DUDE By Charly?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The DUDE By Charly?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The DUDE By Charly?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The DUDE By Charly?
Conveniently located restaurants include YADA YADA breakfast club, Cana Restaurant, and Dolcetto.
Is The DUDE By Charly located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Berlin.
Are pets allowed at The DUDE By Charly?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The DUDE By Charly?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to The DUDE By Charly?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Memorial of the Berlin Wall (1.9 miles), East Side Gallery (1.2 miles), and Berlin-Hohenschonhausen Memorial (4.2 miles).
Does The DUDE By Charly have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.