We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Oranienburger Str. 65, 10117 Berlin Germany
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$78
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Only 3 left at
$82
View deal
Official Site
$45
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$82
Hotels.com$82
Priceline$78
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (489)
Room & Suite (226)
Dining (86)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 10/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Generator Berlin Mitte
Updated 10/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#39 of 603 Specialty lodging in Berlin
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.2
Value
4.1
You’ll find Generator in the heart of the city, in the district of Mitte which is one of Berlin’s oldest districts. You couldn’t get a better location if you tried. Great for everything that is a must see in this great city as well as the nightlife. Oranienburger Strasse has become Mitte’s hub for nightlife, galleries, art, cafes and restaurants. The hostel sits in the centre of this grand street and is a terrific hangout for locals and travellers. Once you have seen and done it all head back to Generator, the perfect place of refuge, with great beds for sleepy heads, a bar and lounge that serves the best drinks and entertainment for miles around and of course you’ll be enjoying Berlin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons like a USB port and your own LED light for late night reading. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll definitely need more than a day to explore this city, it’s a culture vultures delight. We’ll see you there soon. -- Please note that due to the global pandemic, some venues, amenities, and services may have been eliminated or scaled down for the safety of our guests and staff. Please contact the hotel should you have any questions or concerns.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Table tennis
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Coffee shop
Snack bar
Vending machine
Walking tours
Nightclub / DJ
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
139Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
58Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2308Reviews49Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,039
  • 731
  • 271
  • 140
  • 127
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Elena wrote a review Oct 3
2 contributions
The beds are comfortable and clean. The rooms are basic, but totally sufficient to have a comfortable sleep. The people working there are friendly. There's also a place to work, hangout and eat, as well as a bar. It was also good to see that they have a washing maching and drier for a small price.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nate S wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
This hostel In located in Berlin mitte and charges absolutely outrageous prices for its service. The place is dirty, bed linens are full of stain. They have the rudest staff ever, very unprepared and unprofessional. SAVE your money staying some place else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Berlin Mitte, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Berlin Mitte
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We always try our best to provide the best experience. It looks like we have failed on this occasion. We hope you still enjoyed your time in Berlin. - Cristina, Front Office
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
klara z wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
DONT EVER GO TO THIS HOSTEL. My friends and I were there for one night and when we woke up the door was unlocked. 400€ were missing from my wallet that was hidden deep inside my backpack. I am sure I locked the door that night due to the horrible reviews this hostel has. Also, the towels are not provided by the hostel and they cost 4€ each. The bathroom was terrible and the shower head was basically broken.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Berlin Mitte, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Berlin Mitte
Responded 2 weeks ago
We take the security of the hotel and our guests very serious and we always try to make sure that we have a safe environment. Unfortunately, sometimes guests act in a way that are out of our control. We always try to remind our guest not to leave their belongings unattended and all our rooms have either lockable drawers, or we provide ample secure lockers so that you can store your most valuable things. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences that were encountered during your stay. I can understand your frustration and please know that we take all allegations such as this as extremely serious. Guest comfort and safety are of the utmost concern to us and Generator Hostels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a secure environment. Kind regards - Cristina, Front Office
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kajensen wrote a review Sep 2022
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic1 contribution
The front cafe was wonderful with friendly staff, good quality snack foods, and affordable prices. But this is a party hostel where 50-100 people fill up a courtyard. All the rooms surround the courtyard! If you need to sleep before 11:00 p.m., this hostel might be a deal-breaker
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Berlin Mitte, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Berlin Mitte
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. So great to hear you liked our property! 🏢 We hope to see you in our Generator again or in another of our great locations soon. - Catalina, Front Office
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
benedettatorselloit wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Perfect location to explore the city even for solo travelers. Metro station very closed as well as any other facilities. I highly recommend this hostel, I really felt home. I already miss this place. See you soon Berlin.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Berlin Mitte, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Berlin Mitte
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review. So happy to see that you loved our place! We are sending you some #genlove! Safe travels and we will see you next time you are out and about in Berlin! - Catalina, Front Office
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
315brit wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
very kind staff, clean, cool and stylish design. Had a junior appartment on the 6th floor, amazing! Private terrasse offers nice view. Kitchen equipment would allow longer stay and self accommodation (e.g. dishwasher with dish tabs, coffee machine, fridge, etc.). Feels a bit like being at home
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Berlin Mitte, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Berlin Mitte
Responded 4 weeks ago
Full 5 out of 5!?!?! We will take it! Vibing some #genlove your way! It's really nice to see that you had such a great experience at our property! We wish you safe travels and can't wait to see you hanging back here next time! - Catalina, Front Office
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kellyverschueren2022 wrote a review Sep 2022
Aalsmeer1 contribution
The bar played loud music the whole night, which made sleeping impossible. The room is very simple and small. Just a bunkbed, nothing more. Not even a chair. Room not very clean. For this price (almost 200 euro a night) I expected more.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Berlin Mitte, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Berlin Mitte
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I do hope that our 24 hour team were able to help you with some of the points you have raised. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it helps us improve our standards everyday. - Catalina, Front Office
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack L wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Brilliant location, great prices and lovely atmosphere. My one compliant was finding rubbish in my allocated drawer so housekeeping could be improved. Overall great experience and location as everything is within easy access from the premises.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Berlin Mitte, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Berlin Mitte
Responded 4 weeks ago
That's a pretty sweet 4 out of 5! We will take it! Really nice to see that you liked the Generator Berlin Mitte atmosphere. We are proud of it, and we love seeing our guests enjoying it! We wish you safe travels and can't wait to see you hanging back here next time! - Catalina, Front Office
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ovcha2022 wrote a review Aug 2022
Boston, Massachusetts1 contribution
I had a family trip in Berlin and had to stay somewhere. Just came back for the nights but the accessibility was nice, the staff at the check in counter were nice and available at all times. The AC was the perfect temperature the whole stay. I wish I had the chance to check out the amenities but the restaurant was popping every evening when I walked by so I'm sure it was nice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Berlin Mitte, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Berlin Mitte
Responded Aug 31, 2022
Hi there, Thanks for taking your time to review your stay on tripadvisor. We hope you had a nice time in Berlin and would love to welcome you soon again at Generator! Kind regards, Kai (Front Office)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
honesttraveller987 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Awful and rude receptionist - checking in queues were long, unclean rooms, I had to share a room with 5 guys and hygiene conditions were awful. Not going back ever to this place. My bed was also placed in the middle of the room which was an inconvenience when trying to place luggage and what not.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Berlin Mitte, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Berlin Mitte
Responded Aug 28, 2022
Hello we are so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We hope to be able to give you a second impression in the future since this is not how a typical stay at generator. // Isolde, front office
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$40 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyBerlinMitte / Mitte (Borough)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
139
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Generator Berlin Mitte
Which popular attractions are close to Generator Berlin Mitte?
Nearby attractions include Friedrichstadt-Palast (0.2 miles), Ramones Museum Berlin (0.2 miles), and Bode Museum (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Generator Berlin Mitte?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at Generator Berlin Mitte?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Generator Berlin Mitte?
Conveniently located restaurants include Café Couscous - Vege, Salamat, and MontRaw Restaurant.
Is Generator Berlin Mitte located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Berlin.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Generator Berlin Mitte?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Generator Berlin Mitte?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Memorial of the Berlin Wall (0.7 miles), East Side Gallery (2.5 miles), and Berlin-Hohenschonhausen Memorial (4.7 miles).
Is Generator Berlin Mitte accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.