We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 688: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

+convenient and close to the railway station +cheap -hot water is limited mostly in during day hours...which is not good when outside the temperature is -3C. bathrooms could use a makeover. -cleaning is basic. They only change the trash can every day,no towel change and of course no new sheets for a five-day stay. -thin walls and damaged. You can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eirini92
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The room was dirty, the areas under the beds looked like they were not cleaned in a while. Also, the shower temperature was difficult to tune, this could be a problem of just our room but the water was either too hot or too cold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fátima M
Copenhagen
Reviewed 1 week ago

unwelcoming employees,they seem to busy talking to each other and pissed off that they have to work and deal with the guest. The only nice person was the welsh girl in reception. dirty bathrooms, hallways, the bedsheets didn't seem clean, they gave one rashes. Just an unwelcoming and cold place. The location is not good, not a nice area. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophieanner2016
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm very sorry you weren't completely satisfied with your stay and I have certainly passed on your feedback to my reception team, both good and bad. We are certainly not located in the Berlin nightlife district but located on the city ring line, convenient for reaching...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bathroom in the room was clean, bunk beds were spaced nicely apart, close to the station, a little out of the city but not a far tram ride in. Good breakfast - just wish the kitchen was available to use outside breakfast hours

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley V
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for reviewing your stay. I'm glad you were happy with our hostel and hope you will consider is again when you are in Berlin. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Turku, Finland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Berlin for a convention in the Velodrom arena. The hotel was very easy to resch from Berlin Tegel airport and was on excellent distance from the arena. The walls between the rooms were very thin so you when the room neighbour partied until 4.30 am quality of my sleep went down drastically. Showers and toilets would need a total...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U2922JLsebastianm
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Many thanks for your review. I'm glad that you found your stay convenient and hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had issue from the start with this hostel: the staff upon arriving were not all that friendly, refusing to let a party of 8 behind us stay. There were better elements of the hostel staff which came in one particular member (whose name evades me) was helpful in every aspect, giving us the student discount that we were refused...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miniscots2
Nadine S, Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your time with us. I am very sorry you weren’t completely happy with you stay. Be sure that is not our standard. I will certainly use your comments to follow up with each department in order to make sure we improve. Thanks again Regards from Berlin Nadine Ass. General Manager

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've used this chain of hostels in other cities without issue but this particular location is awful. The walls are paper thin and you hear EVERYTHING in the adjacent rooms. The location of the hostel is right off the train BUT there is nothing around the area and even the staff recommended we get back on the train and go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtayl118
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm very sorry you had such problems sleeping during your stay and you weren't completely satisfied with our location. We are very well connected to public transport but not directly next to clubs and shops. Thanks again and kind regards Sabine General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place was so cheap (less than 8€/person, for Berlin, it is definitely cheap) and it was so worthy: modern and clean rooms, super adorable staff, clean showers and toilets which are ok. We loved staying there, and we would definitely book again there when we will be back in Berlin ! Oh, just one thing to improve: that would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre N
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for sharing your experiences at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. I'm very glad you had such a good time with us and do hope you will come and stay with us again should you be planning another trip to Berlin. I have passed on your compliments to my team. Thanks again and kind regards Sabine General...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from a trip to Berlin on a stag & stayed in the Generator Hostel.As it says on the title Cheap for a couple of nights stay if on a budget looking for accommodation in Berlin.The rooms themselves are fit for purpose i stayed in a twin room with its own shower again it costs a little more to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcgraldo
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for reviewing your stay and sharing your experience. We hope to see you again sometime and in the meantime wish you all the best. Best regards from Berlin Sabine General Manager

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel is great for youger travellers and large groups. Rooms are basic but modern and clean. Heating and wifi worked well. Some noise from train station to rear of hostel. Breakfast basic but fresh. Communal areas had a good vibe after 5pm. You can't walk into the main centres and can either walk right from the hostel to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidaylover25
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. I am very glad you found breakfast fresh and were satisfied with the heating and wi-fi. I hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

531 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (269)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (129)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (229)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Common Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Four-Person Bunk Room (27)
Viewed
Private Double Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six-Person Bunk Room (33)
Viewed
Six-Person Bunk Room with Parking View (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Generator Berlin Mitte
Generator Berlin Mitte
#14 of 361 in Berlin
1,219 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#24 of 361 in Berlin
1,256 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#11 of 361 in Berlin
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 361 in Berlin
1,143 reviews
Friedrichshain
All In Hostel
All In Hostel
#50 of 361 in Berlin
537 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Prenzlauer Berg

Neighborhood Profile
Prenzlauer Berg
No Berlin neighborhood has undergone a greater change than Prenzlauer Berg. The artists and non-conformists that defined the district’s intriguing subculture in the 1980s and 90s have been replaced by a young, hip crowd that frequents the many cafes. Where there were once run-down houses in the shadow of the Berlin Wall, there are now designer shops. Beautiful old homes have been modernized and renovated, and on Sundays, thousands turn the park next to remnants of the wall into a playground for street artists, musicians, and flea market shoppers. This attracts young urban families who enjoy the balance of big city life and small-town comfort. Meanwhile, trendy, young, upper-class visitors from all over the world are attracted to the local high-end shops, cafés, and sophisticated bars and restaurants. The merits of this transformation are a favorite topic of debate around the city, but it makes for some of the best people-watching Berlin has to offer.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator is located in the ultra trendy Berlin district of Prenzlauer Berg. The area is great for shopping and sightseeing. If you’re a sports fan then the Velodrome hosts many sporting and music events, and guess what? We are only next door. The best way to see and do it all is by hopping on the S-Bahn or a tram into the city centre. This is an area that is lively and vibrant, you’ll never run out of things to do and see. When you get back to Generator, head to the bar and lounge and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the best entertainment for miles around. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Berlin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. T ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Address: Storkower Str. 160 | Prenzlauer Berg, 10407 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Price Range: $22 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg 2*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“toilets located in halls are never busy”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We were 6 and booked separately dormitory beds: so we asked few days before the booking to be all together and it was ok. :)”
 of 5 bubbles alexandren50, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“get a bike and talk to the welsh girl”
 of 5 bubbles jordanpU7911XT, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“near train station”
 of 5 bubbles Gosha86, Aug 18, 2016 | Read review
“For a view at the television tower take a room on the S-station side”
 of 5 bubbles claudiusj, Aug 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay