We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 697: English reviews
Podgorica, Montenegro
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff is super friendly and helpful, the hostel was quite clean, easily accessible by public transportation. The hostels is perfect for backpackers who are in need of a comfortable bed and want to spend less money on accommodation and save for some good beers and food in the city!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shargarepa S
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your excellent review. I have certainly passed on your compliments to my team and hope you will stay with us again sometime. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Naples, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

A very comfortable place, maybe the rooms could have more bearing surfaces but it's ok. Staff was nice and the hostel is near tram stop and metro station so it is very easy to go wherever you want in the city

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nando G
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for reviewing your stay. I am very happy you were satisfied with both staff and hostel and hope you will consider us again sometime. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Buhl, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Shower was not good, bathroom stalls too small, average breakfast. But huge hostel, great people, not too close to the city centre but with train/tram station nearby. It was amazing and I'll definitely come back :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lari S
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for your awsome review :-) We do hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Leipzig, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for 2 days, with my father (he's 60) and we liked the experience. The Hostel, in general, was very nice. Nice staff, nice breakfast, cool environment, very clean... But the bedroom was in a very noise corridor, and the bathroom (inside the bedroom) was very tiny. In general terms, I recommend this hostel to travelers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank subocc
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for reviewing your stay with us. I'm very glad you and your father enjoyed your time here and I do hope you will consider us again. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Lille, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel installations (buildings and common area) were ok; but the staff was really unkind and they seemed very unhappy to give us information or even talk to us. The breakfast was poor, too expensive for what was being served, also they said that they serve food during the evening but one night when we wanted to eat there the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raffaela D
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for commenting and sharing your experience. I'm very sorry you weren't completely satisfied with your stay and have passed on your comments to my team. I'm also sorry you found the kitchen closed on this occasion, however the bar or in any case would have been open to serve you a selection. Thanks again for your valuable...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall I had an average experience with this hostel. There was big common areas and the folks in the reception were able to help me out a few times. Our room was spacious but really needed a proper cleaning! The floor, bathroom and under the beds seemed like it had not been cleaned for a very long time :-( The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeeanb
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Your comments particularly on cleanliness are very helpful to me and I have passed them on to my housekeeping crew and will be taken on board. Thanks again and kind regards Sabine General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff are very friendly and very attentive to any and all needs that I had. They are very patient to any and all needs or concerns that you may have regarding your stay in the hostel. The rooms are cleaned each morning and they have an excellent selection of food to choose from in the morning. The receptionists are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Austin J
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many many thanks for your excellent review. I have certainly passed on your comments to my whole team. I do hope you will consider us again next time you're in Berlin. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Hotel was very nice and it's very easy to get anywhere in Berlim from there. There is a great transport network nearby and the staff were very helpful to explain what were our best options to explore the city.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rui L
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for posting your feedback. I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed on your compliments to my team. Thanks again and hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards Sabine General Manager

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed December 7, 2016

First of all, this Place is not Close to city center! If you travel on buget, I think this Place may be something for you. If you seeks for a little bit of Comfort, keep away. If you mind traces from the last guest in Your shower or in Your bed, choose somewhere else. If you are older than 30,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moroes
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. You are absolutely correct that we are a hostel for budget travellers and whilst we are not smack bang in the city centre we are very well connected to the trams and metro trains which leave right outside. I'm very sorry to hear that you weren't...

Reviewed December 5, 2016

+convenient and close to the railway station +cheap -hot water is limited mostly in during day hours...which is not good when outside the temperature is -3C. bathrooms could use a makeover. -cleaning is basic. They only change the trash can every day,no towel change and of course no new sheets for a five-day stay. -thin walls and damaged. You can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eirini92
SabineJRanft, General Manager at Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is very helpful for us and I can tell you that the issue with the water supply has since been fixed - you should definitely be getting hot water 24 hours a day! Thanks again and kind regards Sabine General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

533 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (272)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (229)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Common Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Four-Person Bunk Room (27)
Viewed
Private Double Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six-Person Bunk Room (33)
Viewed
Six-Person Bunk Room with Parking View (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Generator Berlin Mitte
Generator Berlin Mitte
#13 of 362 in Berlin
1,255 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#22 of 362 in Berlin
1,286 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#11 of 362 in Berlin
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
All In Hostel
All In Hostel
#48 of 362 in Berlin
549 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 362 in Berlin
1,166 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#6 of 362 in Berlin
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Prenzlauer Berg

Neighborhood Profile
Prenzlauer Berg
No Berlin neighborhood has undergone a greater change than Prenzlauer Berg. The artists and non-conformists that defined the district’s intriguing subculture in the 1980s and 90s have been replaced by a young, hip crowd that frequents the many cafes. Where there were once run-down houses in the shadow of the Berlin Wall, there are now designer shops. Beautiful old homes have been modernized and renovated, and on Sundays, thousands turn the park next to remnants of the wall into a playground for street artists, musicians, and flea market shoppers. This attracts young urban families who enjoy the balance of big city life and small-town comfort. Meanwhile, trendy, young, upper-class visitors from all over the world are attracted to the local high-end shops, cafés, and sophisticated bars and restaurants. The merits of this transformation are a favorite topic of debate around the city, but it makes for some of the best people-watching Berlin has to offer.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator is located in the ultra trendy Berlin district of Prenzlauer Berg. The area is great for shopping and sightseeing. If you’re a sports fan then the Velodrome hosts many sporting and music events, and guess what? We are only next door. The best way to see and do it all is by hopping on the S-Bahn or a tram into the city centre. This is an area that is lively and vibrant, you’ll never run out of things to do and see. When you get back to Generator, head to the bar and lounge and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the best entertainment for miles around. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Berlin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. T ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Address: Storkower Str. 160 | Prenzlauer Berg, 10407 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Price Range: $22 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg 2*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“toilets located in halls are never busy”
 of 5 bubbles , Nov 22, 2016 | Read review
“We were 6 and booked separately dormitory beds: so we asked few days before the booking to be all together and it was ok. :)”
 of 5 bubbles alexandren50, Nov 10, 2016 | Read review
“get a bike and talk to the welsh girl”
 of 5 bubbles jordanpU7911XT, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“near train station”
 of 5 bubbles Gosha86, Aug 18, 2016 | Read review
“For a view at the television tower take a room on the S-station side”
 of 5 bubbles claudiusj, Aug 7, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay