We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Save
Share
Storkower Str. 160 Prenzlauer Berg, 10407 Berlin Germany
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$365
View Deal
Agoda.com
$69
View Deal
Trip.com
$373
$46
View Deal
SAVE $327
Expedia.com$365
eDreams$373
Booking.com$373
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (391)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (231)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 10/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Updated 10/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#309 of 562 Specialty lodging in Berlin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Generator is located in the ultra-trendy Berlin district of Prenzlauer Berg. The area is great for shopping and sightseeing. If you’re a sports fan then the Velodrome hosts many sporting and music events, and guess what? We are only next door. The best way to see and do it all is by hopping on the S-Bahn or a tram into the city centre. This is an area that is lively and vibrant, you’ll never run out of things to do and see. When you get back to Generator, head to the bar and lounge and get yourself a well-deserved drink or two and soak up the best entertainment for miles around. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course, you’ll be enjoying Berlin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Billiards
Table tennis
Walking tours
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Full view
60Somewhat walkable
Grade: 60 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
5Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,937Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 388
  • 633
  • 418
  • 213
  • 285
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
U_P732 wrote a review Sep 2020
Pohlheim2 contributions2 helpful votes
The rooms are too small to spend much time inside. This is clearly a hostel even the two bed rooms. But not to compare with German Youth Hostels, which have higher quality. I cannot imagine, how one can say, that this is a hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Monique Marnach, Geschäftsführer at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Responded Oct 1, 2020
Dear U_P732, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am disappointed to read that we were unable to meet your expectations. Next time, let someone at reception know if you're unhappy with anything and we will do our very best to offer you a solution. Reception operates 24 hours a day in order to ensure our guests always have someone on hand should they have any questions or concerns. You're absolutely right, we are a hostel and have been welcoming guests for over 18 years. We'd be very grateful if you could contact us directly and let us know how you made your booking, if you were under the impression that we were a hotel this would be something we would need to rectify with the tour operator. Guest feedback is invaluable so thank you once again for leaving a review. We wish you all the best on your future travels :)
Read more
Cylar1 wrote a review Apr 2020
Paris, France16 contributions21 helpful votes
The most horrible hostel I ever stayed in! The place is filled with dirty arabic and turkish workers, they stink, they smoke in bathrooms and in their rooms, and they don t follow any Corona distance and gathering rules, and the Generator team doesn t do anything about it! Also the showers are dirty and have old broken shower curtains, the toilets were dirty too often, the bathrooms are for mega masses where people smoke and then open the windows afterwards to let freezing cold in so that I had to freeze every single time taking a shower! Also the Asian cleaning team doesn t understand any English or German, and they disregarded every single time my privacy sign on the door and forced their entry in, once I was half naked and severely bleeding, I had to force close the door several times, and because I couldn t take care of my heavy bleeding at the same time, my floor was full of blood then afterwards! When I told the Generator team about this incident, they gave a damn about it and started to be impertinent with me! Then, after I checked out, I saw on my bank account that this Generator team started to use my credit card illegally and they started to withdraw illegally money from my account, claiming falsely that I had used several beds, what is complete nonsense because I am only one person!!! I reported them for FRAUD!!!!! AVOID! AVOID! THIS PLACE!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Avoid!!! this place !!!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Monique Marnach, Geschäftsführer at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Responded Apr 22, 2020
Dear Frau Bergemann Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It’s surprising to read that you were so dissatisfied. Our system shows that you made an initial reservation for 3 nights and then extended that a further 4 nights which suggests that you found our accommodation more than sufficient. As you expressed fear of contracting COVID-19 prior to your arrival, we suggested that a private room would be the best option for you but unfortunately you decided to go against that and book a dormitory which meant that you would not only be sharing the room but also the bathroom facilities with other guests. Had you followed our advice you would have avoided nearly all of the issues you mentioned in your review. It is a shame that you never took the time to address these issues whilst you were staying with us as we would have been more than happy to find a solution for you. Regarding the housekeeping team entering the room whilst you were inside, it is their job to do so - please remember that the room you were staying in was a shared dormitory which means you could potentially be one of multiple guests in the room, your opinion does not count for everyone. However, if you were alone (which you were) you can always speak to someone at reception about this. We work 24 hours a day to ensure our guest's issues get solved as quickly as possible. In the future we would suggest taking this approach rather than the aggressive one you used. Whilst staying you used all 4 sets of bed linen in the room, these were for potential guests. The 10€ charged to your card was to compensate for this and will be used for cleaning costs. Again, if you had taken the time to speak to someone at reception we would have been more than happy to explain. At Generator Prenzlauer Berg we welcome all nationalities, races, genders and sexuality's. The comments you've made about the other guests at our hostel have resulted in you being placed on our blacklist, meaning that you will longer be welcome at our property. Despite the way you treated myself, my team and other guests, we wish you all the best on your future travels. Monique Marnach, General Manager
Read more
Chepeto2 wrote a review Feb 2020
Berlin, Germany49 contributions28 helpful votes
Im so sad to say that in 25 "years traveling around the world i had never experienced such a rude and awful welcome as in Generator Berlin. I was attended by a young curly hair arab looking guy (no prejudice just that i dont konw his name) but the rudest impolite arrogant and all the bad adjectives you can come up with. Unfortunately i had prepaid for 2 weeks otherwise i had gave up my stay at Generator. The rest of reception people coorect, just that one that really spoiled my day. The hostel is quite ok clean and affordable. Get rid of that guy please. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex B, Front Office Manager at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Responded Feb 4, 2020
Dear Chepeto, thank you for your important reviews. We are so sorry that you get bad experience with us. You are right ! Thats not possible, we will speak with the reception guy. We guarantee that this will be not happen again. We hope that you enjoy the City Berlin. Maybe we see you next time again. Best regards Credo- Reception Manager
Read more
Paula M wrote a review Jan 2020
Warsaw, Poland2 contributions2 helpful votes
The Stay was great. Good quality for those prices. That was my second stay there and hopefully not last. Reception was professional and rooms where neat. One disadvantage was the housekeeper who wanted to clean the room, hour before actual check out time. Overall, it was enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex B, Geschäftsführer at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Responded Jan 18, 2020
Dear paulamatecka2019, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly liked the value for money and reception staff. I am sorry that you were disturbed before check-out, I will make sure your feedback is passed on to the housekeeping manager. We hope you had a great time in Berlin and look forward to seeing you again - Amy, Reception
Read more
Julie L wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We had booked a "private" 6 beds room with my friends, to be sure there wouldn't be any unknown person with us, so we didn't have to worry about our stuff. But on the new year night, our room has been burgled, and all our valuable items have been stolen (computers, speakers, headsets, cash). We believe it was the hotel staff because none of us have lost there key, and the staff comes in your room at any hour, starting to clean even if you are sleeping in your bed. People at the reception didn't care about our problem. This is unacceptable. Thank to Generator for this wonderful 1st day in 2020.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex B, Manager at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Dear V356BVjuliel, thank you for your feedback and I am so sorry to hear that some of your belongings went missing during your stay. Naturally, we take the security in house very seriously which is why we have several measures in place including a security team who patrol the building. We always encourage guests to use the secure lockers located on the ground floor for storing valuables, these lockers have contents insurance and 24 hour cctv surveillance. All incidents such as this are investigated by us internally as well as the local police, we work together in order to compile as much information as we can with the hope in resolving the situation as quickly as possible. If you have any questions in the meantime, please feel free to contact us directly. Amy, Reception
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$33 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
generator hostel berlin hotel berlin
LOCATION
GermanyBerlinPrenzlauer Berg / Pankow (Borough)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
238
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Which popular attractions are close to Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg?
Nearby attractions include Escape Berlin (0.2 miles), Velodrom (0.2 miles), and Habanos Smokers Lounge (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Skykitchen, Loft14, and Blaue Adria.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Memorial of the Berlin Wall (2.8 miles), East Side Gallery (1.8 miles), and Berlin-Hohenschonhausen Memorial (2.1 miles).
Does Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.