We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Axel Hotel Berlin

Lietzenburger Str. 13/15, 10789 Berlin Germany
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (731)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (288)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#304 of 602 hotels in Berlin
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
3.9
Value
3.8
Located in Schöneberg, the heart of the gay scene in the city, Axel Hotel Berlin is fascinating for its cosmopolitan spirit and delicious, by the careful combination of design and comfort, and for excellent service. The charm and elegant mix of gold on black, overlay and textures make Axel Hotel Berlin a unique space in the German capital. With 87 design rooms, fully equipped to provide guests with maximum confort and a different stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Full body massage
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Italian

Location

Lietzenburger Str. 13/15, 10789 Berlin Germany
Name/address in local language
Axel Hotel Berlin
2202Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 780
  • 670
  • 377
  • 192
  • 183
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
dwsnc41 wrote a review Jan 2024
Greensboro, North Carolina1 contribution
Axel Berlin was really upped their game since I last visited 2023. Clean, improved breakfast menu instead of buffet type offerings. About 5 different offerings with assorted fruit bowl, yogurt and assorted breads with each order. Sauna, steam room and hot tube all working with plenty of towels. Clean room with stocked mini bar and snack at a somewhat reasonable price. Front desk employees were friendly and knew what they were doing this time. No riff raff in the lobby and wanting to get upstairs. Room was clean (jr suite) with soap, lotion, conditioner and shampoo and robes. My only drawback was there were no English speaking channels on the TV, no biggie. A great improvement
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Borja Valeiras, Atención al cliente/recepción at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded 2 weeks ago
On behalf of Axel Hotel, we would like to thank you for your loyalty, we highly appreciate that you keep choosing us on your visits to Berlin. Furthermore, we are glad to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us; we will keep working hard so that we can guarantee an optimal experience on your future stays with us. We hope to see you soon. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve R wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel had a bad drain smell on floors 4,5 and 6. We asked to be moved because the stench was so pungent and we couldn’t sleep. The staff had such a bad attitude about it and were really unhelpful. They couldn’t care less about their customers!! We didn’t have constant hot water either, they definitely have a plumbing problem…..it was a total disaster!! The Axel needs a complete refurb and change of management. Cigarette burns on the dirty carpet…….NEVER stay here! 😡
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay at the Artim or Riu
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Borja Valeiras, Atención al cliente/recepción at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded Jan 4, 2024
On behalf of Axel Hotel, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. We are currently under a process of transformation and evolution, and we highly value your feedback in order for us to tackle our weaknesses more efficiently. We hope you give us another chance in the future so you can assess our growth, and, in the meantime, we encourage you to try one of our other locations. Apologies and kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Markus W wrote a review Dec 2023
Zurich, Switzerland862 contributions156 helpful votes
+1
Staying at this hotel was quite a disappointment: The carpet in the room smelled like cigarettes (and the reception did not really care), there were cigarette burns in the bathroom. The whole hotel is in dire need for an upgrade (wear and tear is really not acceptable). Housekeeping is slow (took them until 4:30 PM to clean the room). There is a strong smell (of cleaning products?) in the entire hotel. When I returned to the hotel one afternoon, there was a homeless person or drunk hotel guest sitting in the lobby, next to a puddle of some liquid. Again, reception did not care. Staff is friendly but clueless and useless. On the positive side, the room was spacious, had a bathtub, and was clean (bed linen etc). Gym is good. Breakfast was included in the price and consisted of pastries and a choice of a list of menu items that could be ordered (all options were kind of similar). Location is good, easy walk from Wittenbergplatz subway station. There are probably better alternatives in the area that I would encourage you to explore rather than staying at the Axel hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Borja Valeiras, Atención al cliente/recepción at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded Jan 4, 2024
On behalf of Axel Hotel, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. We are currently under a process of transformation and evolution, and we highly value your feedback in order for us to tackle our weaknesses more efficiently. We hope you give us another chance in the future so you can assess our growth, and, in the meantime, we encourage you to try one of our other locations. Apologies and kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matt Burgess-Evans wrote a review Nov 2023
60 contributions74 helpful votes
The positive of this hotel is that it is in a great location. Close to transport links and local gay bars and local restaurants. Everything else isn’t so great. The hotel is really tired and looks like it needs a refurb. It’s in poor condition throughout the communal areas and the bedroom was not any better. The room smelt very stale, the floor to ceiling windows open all the way so you could literally fall out of them, the curtains were hanging off the track, the bath was stained and marked. The hotel also only has ONE iron for the entire hotel. The room had a hairdryer which was like a toy hairdryer that you would give a child. The reception staff were slow and not very helpful when we requested an iron or when we reported that we had no hot water for 2 days. Also, the advertised spa facilities were off the entire duration of our stay. Not a great experience and not a hotel that I would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Borja Valeiras, Atención al cliente/recepción at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded Nov 23, 2023
On behalf of Axel Hotel, we apologize if we have not been able to meet your standards. We are currently under a process of transformation, and we highly value our guests feedback as it will allow us to tackle our weaknesses more efficiently. Unfortunately, a reception staff are not technicians; therefore, they cannot fix hot water problems, just inform about them. Furthermore, there is only one or two irons in the hotel, if they are in use, we cannot do much, as much as we would love to help. We hope you give us another chance in the future to change your mind; and in the meantime, we invite you to try any of our other locations so you can experience the full Axel Experience. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
StephenJamesGilbert wrote a review Nov 2023
Lincoln, United Kingdom88 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
Six friends occupying three rooms. Hotel is in a very good location for the gay scene. Hotel is generally rundown and a bit dirty/scruffy. The rooms are damp. The heating in the room did not work and it was cold in November. The shower was good lots of hot water. Bed is comfortable. The hotel has a night club style, the rooms are dimly lit. There is no Kettle in the room. There is a small fridge with minibar. The steam room is out of action. The Jacuzzi is small dirty and does not work, no air bubbles or water jets and was cool/cold. The sauna is small and was switched off at 8:30 pm, not the advertised 10 pm. The staff are young and pleasant. The room housekeeping was done each day day, but you must remember to put your card on door handle. You can leave your luggage free of charge at reception. Late checkout is €25 for three hours. Would we visit again probably yes because of the location. Also lots of guys in the hotel are on social media so it’s easy to arrange hook ups.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Borja Valeiras, Atención al cliente/recepción at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded Nov 17, 2023
On behalf of Axel Hotel, we are sorry if we have not been able to meet your standards. We are currently under a process of transformation and evolution, so we highly value your feedback in order to tackle our weaknesses better. We hope you give us another chance in the future to assess our growth. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Travis D wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
My experience to date has been terrible. The staff are very unhelpful, almost to the point of being rude. The spa is broken! In general the hotel is very 'tired' and needs a renovation - carpet is discussing and very obvious signs of damage. It's clear they are not valuing their guests or making an attempt to keep the hotel to its usual standards. Also one lift not working.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Borja Valeiras, Atención al cliente/recepción at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded Oct 31, 2023
On behalf of Axel Hotel, we would like to apologize if we have not been able to meet your standards. We take our guests 'feedback seriously and we will forward your review to our board meeting. We are currently under a process of transformation, and we hope you give us another chance in the future to change your mind. Apologies and kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jeanette Serdyn wrote a review Oct 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions
Surely one of this world's most depressing and lacklustre hotels. The front-of-house staff tried their best, but the place is just awfully run. The rooms are dark and spartan. Having a sore throat the one night, I asked whether I could get some bowling water in which to dissolve medicinal powder. No kettle on the premises. I moved to another nearby hotel, which was so much better - and cheaper. Truly to be avoided.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Borja Valeiras, Atención al cliente/recepción at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded Oct 3, 2023
On behalf of Axel Hotel, we would like to apologize if we have not been able to meet your standards. We are currently under a process of transformation and improvement, so we highly value your feedback as it will allow us to tackle our weaknesses more efficiently. We hope you give us another chance in the future to change your mind. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adamj7777 wrote a review Sep 2023
London, United Kingdom91 contributions44 helpful votes
My room had a faint smell of bad drain pipes but not from them. The smell was in the middle of room in one of the pillow positions ok the bed which was strange. I could not figure it out. The room lacked some basics that you would get in much cheaper hotels in the same area, such as there was no kettle and no where to put luggage in the room. My bag had to sit on the floor in the way. I’m terms of sleep I was very disappointed . The bed was quite hard and the pillows were very very soft or very hard. Additionally, as I was on the first floor the bar downstairs kept me awake with the music (very noises base, bed shaking at some points). Then when the bar closed there was 45 mins of dragging furniture around which was very loud. This was awful the night before the Berlin Marathon and detracted from my experience of the next day (and my performance) as I had less than 4 hours sleep. I could also hear a lot from next door rooms (doors banging shut, toilets flushing etc). The hotel is advertised as having soundproof rooms but this is just simply not the case at all and was very disappointing. On the positive side: Great location, I always stay in this area anyway. Rooms nice and clean and good housekeeping staff. Reception staff friendly. Spa quite nice. There was a safe in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Borja Valeiras, Atención al cliente/recepción at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded Sep 29, 2023
On behalf of Axel Hotel Berlin, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. We highly value your feedback, as we are currently in a stage of transformation and development and your review will allow us to tackle our weaknesses more efficiently. We are glad to hear that at least our staff was on the positive remarks, and we hope you give us another chance in the future to assess our growth. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Conor G wrote a review Sep 2023
2 contributions
I was having a shower and a stranger entered our room uninvited. They saw me naked in the shower. I was with my partner and we were lucky we were in the room because the receptionist gave a stranger our key. They could have stolen our passport or belongings if we had not been there. The same mistake happened twice as the stranger (not an employee) returned again later without knocking, just entering. No spoons in the hotel. Charged for the minibar even though we didn’t take anything. Hotel apologised but staff negligence resulted in me being exposed to a stranger non consentingly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Borja Valeiras, Atención al cliente/recepción at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded Sep 7, 2023
On behalf of Axel Hotel we would like to apologize once again for the issue occurred during your stay. We are still in contact with you regarding these issues and we hope we fix them soon. Furthermore, the minibar issue has been completely refunded already. We apologize for the inconveniences experienced, unfortunately mistakes happen when training new personal. We will keep in contact. Apologies and kind regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christian J wrote a review Sep 2023
New York City, New York3 contributions1 helpful vote
The first night I woke up in the middle of the night to find two people with flashlights in my room. When I confronted them they quickly left. I told the receptionist but nobody from management reached out until I wrote them an email a week later. They did tell me that they could see from security camera footage that they were not hotel guests.I would not stay in an Axel hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Borja Valeiras, Atención al cliente/recepción at Axel Hotel Berlin
Responded Sep 4, 2023
First of all, we would like to reiterate our apologies. As we have talked with you in multiple occasions, we did everything that was in our hands. We checked cameras, we checked your door openings and we offered all of our help if you wanted to file a police report. Nevertheless, as determined after our analysis, there was no card used to open your door. Yes, the two men were not from the hotel, but they had entered as visitors with a hotel guest and found the door to not be fully closed. Despite this, we have deeply apologized and have offered different ways to solve this but unfortunately you have not accepted any of them, so it is also not true that we have neglected the situation. We are sorry you ended up having such a terrible experience with us and we hope you give us another chance in the future to change your mind. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Berlin area.
PRICE RANGE
$76 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyBerlinTempelhof-Schöneberg (Borough) / Schöneberg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AXEL HOTEL BERLIN - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Germany)

Frequently Asked Questions about Axel Hotel Berlin
Which popular attractions are close to Axel Hotel Berlin?
Nearby attractions include Kaufhaus des Westens (KaDeWe) (0.1 miles), Viktoria-Luise-Platz (0.3 miles), and Prinzknecht (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Axel Hotel Berlin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hasty Pastry, Indisches Restaurant Maharadscha, and Oyster Bar KaDeWe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Axel Hotel Berlin?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Axel Hotel Berlin?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Axel Hotel Berlin?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Memorial of the Berlin Wall (3.2 miles), East Side Gallery (4.1 miles), and Gleis 17, Grunewald (3.1 miles).
Is Axel Hotel Berlin accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.