We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Dachauer Str. 37, 80335 Munich, Bavaria Germany
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
$123
View deal
Priceline
Only 1 left at
$101
View deal
Hotels.com$123
Algotels
ZenHotels.com$125
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (443)
Room & Suite (170)
Dining (50)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#63 of 427 hotels in Munich
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Because of its unique design, GEO Saison, Germany’s leading travel magazine, has voted Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich as Europe’s most beautiful hotel. Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich is located directly on Stiglmaierplatz in the district Maxvorstadt in the heart of Munich. The main central station, Königsplatz and Maximiliansplatz are just a few minutes by foot away. Here you'll find 174 luxury fitted rooms and public areas, that reflect the glitterati in Munich and the cult figure Monaco Franze.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
101Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
14Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2584Reviews13Q+A27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,321
  • 800
  • 289
  • 93
  • 81
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bram P wrote a review Nov 2022
Seoul, South Korea1 contribution
Even though I do not question their cancelation policy, I’m still really upset that I wasn’t able to cancel it after informing them a week upfront that I could not come due to a death in the family. That’s for me an sign that they don’t care about their guests and therefore they will never see me again!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Please be more empathic for your guests
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bożena45 wrote a review Nov 2022
Zug, Switzerland8 contributions10 helpful votes
A hotel downtown Munich: great location, great bar, nice interior design, rooms are very clean, young staff has always a smile for you. Rooms are small, you can’t even move your suitcase from one part of the room to the other without lifting it, because the passage is to narrow. You have your bathroom integrated into the room (sleeping area and toilet/shower separated only by glass from each other), so that it is 1 m from your bed, no warm food for breakfast, which guests usually expect in 4*. There is sort of a reception but it is not a real one. You can’t contact the reception via phone neither from outside nor from inside of the hotel. I recommend this hotel for single travelers and for stays up to 3 nights max. Not for demanding customers.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Don’t expect warm food for breakfast and laundry service.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jamesjoyceg wrote a review Sep 2022
Edmond31 contributions45 helpful votes
First, I want to say that the staff here were wonderful, the accommodations were clean, and the breakfast buffet was good, with a nice dining area. However, this is the first time I have had to sleep on a mattress on the floor since I was in college! As a 68 year old woman, this was a complete surprise and not very comfortable. The mattress was built into the floor, next to two very narrow steps to reach the sleeping area. There were also NO chairs in the room, only a small metal stool next to a counter, where I was able to sit and put on my makeup. The shower stall was all clear glass, with very little privacy. The shower had to be entered through the toilet cubicle, and there was no exhaust fan for steam or odors. My BFF and I were traveling together for a week, and had requested a room with two beds, but when we arrived we were told they had no rooms at all with two beds. All in all, it was not comfortable for us senior citizens, although I think it would be fine for younger people.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Irene W wrote a review Sep 2022
Toronto, Canada638 contributions189 helpful votes
We stayed at the Ruby Lilly for 5 days to visit Münich and Oktoberfest, as part of a bigger EU trip . The staff is great, as is the hotel, especially the rooftop terrace. The rooms are clean, modern and well put together… although storage is an issue, for 2 adults travelling or staying more than 1 night, it would be good to not have to live out of our suitcases on the floor. Otherwise, no issues. The toiletries are super, too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
robbmadd wrote a review Sep 2022
Sacramento, California100 contributions39 helpful votes
This is a bare bones hotel. There are no amenities. No one to help with luggage, no in room refrigerator, no food unless you count the awful frozen microwave pizza. No phone in the room. We booked a loft room which is big and clean. The mattress is too hard. The pillows are two large overstuffed and two small flat rocks. We wanted to change hotels but would receive no refund. The staff and the shower are wonderful
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The loft room is big and has windows that open
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
carl g wrote a review Sep 2022
Dublin, Ireland100 contributions31 helpful votes
This hotel really is class. The vibe is amazing as soon as you walk in and are then greeted with friendly staff. Simple things like having fresh lemon and mint water at reception is an easy win. The rooms are cozy but specious and very clean tidy and bright. Good view up the main street too. Location is 10 min walk from main train station, 30 seconds to a tram line, and 4 minutes to the underground with super connections everywhere. Tea and coffee available in the galley was also a welcome surprise especially as fruit tea was there with instant hot water tap. Now we get onto the bar and the staff. All very friendly, and great company to sit at the bar and have a drink and conversation with, however.... someone stole the show. Taffy!!! I honestly can not praise this girl enough. We got to know here in the 5 days very well, she was always up for a chat whilst making drinks for clients. Super friendly, led by example to others around and a genuine superstar. Nothing was ever too much, regardless of what any client asked and always done it with a smile on her face and a positive attitude. I could see other staff members bouncing off her positivity and attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
helena wrote a review Aug 2022
Pirbright, United Kingdom3 contributions
My husband and I just returned home from our holiday to Munich.. needless to say, Ruby Lily were nothing short of absolutely fantastic! From start to finish, staff were helpful, friendly and made everything easy; nothing was too much trouble. Our ‘Cosy’ room was small but perfectly formed, so with that in mind, opt for a larger room if you aren’t very familiar with your roomie(s)! For example, our shower had glass walls all the way around with a curtain that could be drawn at your discretion 😁. There isn’t room service available at the hotel, but you can order food from the bar/Reception. There also isn’t a phone in your room, good to know before you travel so you can save the number of the hotel on your mobile before arrival. We were in room 517, and because of the location of the hotel and it’s proximity to Stigmaierplatz tram and U-Bahn, we could sometimes hear the transport running at night time, it wasn’t enough to wake us, but just something to be aware of - Munich is a city after all! The only thing to bare in mind is that this is a small, very boutiquey hotel with little to no amenities (no pool, crèche etc) so not really appropriate for families. There is a roof terrace, which is again small but perfectly formed, with a swing and beam bag chairs(!), which is lovely to sit on and watch the Bavarian sunset with a tipple of your choice - which leads me to my final point, prices at the hotel are competitive and align with the level that you would expect given the pricing of the rooms themselves. For example, for my Husband and I to have breakfast one morning, it cost us 36€, and for us to have a cocktail in the evening could cost us upwards of 12€. Just something to keep in mind if you are on a budget. With that being said, there are ample places that you can go to to pick up more of a bargain, we regularly frequented the 24hr vending machine shop down the street to pick up some beers and snacks. You can also purchase food to be delivered on UberEats and the German version of Deliveroo/Just Eat.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Milena B wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Beware of scams. My credit card was overcharged repeatedly and when I called to speak with someone about this, no one was available due to "understaffing." No doubt there is a staffing issue at the hotel as their policies are draconian and their staff has no ability to act in the customer's interest. I was partially refunded out of "good will" (when the error was clearly made by the hotel and their booking system), but did not receive a refund for the rest of the double charge. They are still holding my money. Complete nonchalant unprofessionalism when dealing with the serious issue of overcharging a credit card and not available by phone. Unacceptable in this business.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Ruby, Geschäftsführer at Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Hey Milena B, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that your credit card was charged twice. Unfortunately we had a problem for one day with our system. But it should already be corrected and the amount should be refunded. However, if you still feel like you have open points to cover regarding that issue, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We're also sorry to hear that you were not able to reach us by phone. The hospitality industry is currently experiencing severe staff shortages. Therefore, we had to temporarily limit our availability by phone last month. But fortunately, we are now reachable for you again as usual. We would like to apologise again for this incident and hope to see you again in one of our Ruby Hotels soon. Your Ruby Lilly Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Loïc W wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
One of the worst experience a hotel could deliver ever. The hotel has such staff shortage you actually cannot call them! They make continuous mistakes, take your money and do not care about their clients, or can’t because clearly the staff quits when they see how clients are treated. Extremely pricy for what you get, and as a result you discover a business that is terrible at its mission: hospitality and service
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Many hotels in the area offer way better service and price (and you don’t pay for their...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Ruby, Geschäftsführer at Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Hey lo_cw736, Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us. We're sorry to hear that you were not able to reach us by phone. The hospitality industry is currently experiencing severe staff shortages. Therefore, we had to temporarily limit our availability by phone last month. But fortunately, we are now reachable for you again as usual. It's a pity you did not enjoy your stay as much as you could have. We appreciate that our approach might not be everyone's cup of tea, but we’ve deliberately decided not to be all things to all people. We hope to welcome you again soon at one of our Ruby hotels, to convince you of our concept next time. Your Ruby Lilly Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Doug Schneider wrote a review May 2022
Canada21 contributions11 helpful votes
I travel to Munich annually for business with a team (COVID-19 stopped that for 2 years, but now we're back in action). We used to stay at another hotel in Munich, but since we discovered the Ruby Lilly, it's been our choice for 5 weekly stays (i.e., about 7 days each time). It's a small boutique hotel with an '80s vibe. There's definitely an attempt to make it look cool and hip -- and it works. But what impressed me this time was the quality of the staff. Not that the staff was a problem before -- they weren't, they were always good. But the staff members during our stay last week were excellent. I didn't catch the names of the two gentlemen at the front desk, but they were always helpful, from the check-in, which we were a little early for, to when I had to discard a piece of luggage that I didn't want to travel home with. And a shout-out to "Angie," who worked the breakfast area -- she always had a spectacular and pleasant smile. I would recommend this property anyway -- the rooms are clean and well-kept, plus, when you close the window, the rooms are quiet, too. Internet service is pretty good. But mostly this time, it was the staff who were deserving of the 5 stars. Doug Schneider
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Cosy room is very small -- go for the Lovely room at minimum.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$101 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyBavariaUpper BavariaMunich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
174
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RUBY LILLY HOTEL MUNICH $110 ($̶1̶4̶7̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Germany

Frequently Asked Questions about Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
Which popular attractions are close to Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich?
Nearby attractions include Lenbachhaus (0.2 miles), Glyptothek (0.3 miles), and Königsplatz (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hamburgerei, VI VADI Cucina Italiana, and Sophia's Restaurant & Bar.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Asamkirche (0.9 miles), Nymphenburg Palace (2.7 miles), and Rathaus-Glockenspiel (1.0 miles).
Is Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.