We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 57: English reviews
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the building is old, rooms are modern. Located in the middle of everything, which makes it noisy at night. Rooms around the courtyard get kitchen noise, rooms on the side street get late night noise and early morning noise (people dragging suitcases on cobblestone street, garbage pickup). Very clean, comfortable. Breakfast is too expensive at 15 Euros.

Helpful?
Thank nykathy
Matthias E, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Nykathy, Thank you for taking your time to post your experience during your stay at Heidelberg. I am happy to read that you like our newly renovated comfortable rooms. I do hope to welcoming you soon again at the Ritter. Kind regards Matthias Engel More 

Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very historic building right in the centre of Heidelberg. To get there by car is not easy as the hotel is situated in a predominately pedestrian area. Car parking is in a public car park approximately 400metres away. The hotel is a magnificent building ,but, does show its age in some areas. There was no air conditioning... More 

Helpful?
Thank ajknell
Matthias E, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Ajknell,an I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in one of the oldest buildings in Heidelberg. As we will celebrate next year our 425th birthday, we have renovated softly and in conjunction with our heritage the rooms and the restaurant area in the beginning of this year. I do hope to welcoming again and that... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fabulous hotel situated in the heart of Old Town Heidelberg. We stayed for one night just recently in August. Our room was beautiful. Very clean, extremely well thought out and lovely clean modern bathroom. The bed was super comfortable. The hotel is in a great spot for exploring the main street and all the many restaurants and shops that surround.... More 

Helpful?
Thank kellie458
Matthias E, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Kellie458, thank you very much for such a nice rating on tripadvisor. I am very happy to read to you have fully enjoyed your stay at the Ritter and I am looking very much forward to welcoming you soon again for a longer stay. kind regards Matthias Engel General Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

My partner and I had a 2 night stay booked at this hotel. Unfortunately due to a family emergency we had to get flight home last minute. Called hotel immediately to explain situation. Hotel was entirely unsympathetic and wouldn't even consider giving refund even under the horrible circumstances. Most hotels give 24 hour free cancellation and wouldn't refund the second... More 

Helpful?
Thank JGChapmans
Matthias E, Manager at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear JGChapmans, first of all I do hope that your family emergency has gone to a good end. I would like to explain, that your reservation was done via internet and that you have decided to book a non-refundable room rate which gives you a certain discount. You have the opportunity to add a travel insurence or if you pay... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016

We were very pleased to see the hotel building which is a charming historic building. We had to walk a bit from the parking garage. The location is great. Very central with lots of eating options very close by. We could also easily walk to the funicular to the Castle and to the pedestrian bridge. Our room was very small... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bhatku101
Matthias E, Manager at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Bhatku101, I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg. I do hope to welcoming you soon again and that you will have another possibility to explore more sights in the area of Heidelberg. Kind regards Matthias Engel General Manager More 

Leuven
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

The concierge was very helpfull for letting me park in front of the hotel. The room i had was sparsely decorated which was a bit of a disappointment after seeing the highly ornamental wonderfull facade and restaurant. Maybe management should consider to add 1 of 2 tastfull "Heidelberg styled" decorations? Overall an excellent experience! Tx!

Helpful?
Thank Jvds66
Matthias E, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Jvds66, thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at the Hotel Zum Ritter. I am happy to read that you have been satisfied with our service. I would like to inform you, that after our renovation this year, we have made some lovely pictures of Heidelberg and its surroundings which we will be framed soon and placed... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

It is exceptional to live in a hotel which in itself is a historic monument and point of sightseeing, but in this hotel in this exceptional city you do. With history back to the 15-hundreds, it is a beautiful piece of art both inside and outside. Excellent service, and a impressive breakfast table too. We had one of the rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ole R
Matthias E, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ole R, I am happy to read, that you have enjoyed your stay in the oldest building in Heidelberg at the Hotel Zum Ritter. I would also like to thank you that you have shared your experience of our breakfast selection and the friendleness of our staff. I do hope to welcoming you soon again. kind regards Matthias... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

We rented 3 rooms for 1 night for our family of 7. The rooms were very nice and clean. We stayed here the night Germany beat Italy in overtime for the Eurocup and it was very exciting to be so close to the heart of the town. The location of the Zum Ritter is fantastic, but parking is a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaryM-Pgh
Matthias E, Manager at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. MaryM-Pgh, I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Ritter and that you could follow the European Championship in Germany. I do hope to welcoming you again in Heidelberg. Kind regards Matthias More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

Could not have been any better. Perfect view outside our room, always came in to a cleaned room and sparkling water, right in the town center. All of the staff was so friendly. It is also very safe. We returned to the hotel after midnight and the doors had been locked however someone quickly came to unlock it for us.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Whitney G
Matthias E, Manager at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Whitney G, thank you for taking your time to share your experience on Tripadvisor for your stay. It is always very motivating to read that you have been happy with the service from our team and that you felt comfortable at the Ritter. I do hope to welcoming you again whenever you return to lovely Heidelberg. Kind regards... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

I absolutely loved the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful in providing directions and tips on where to go. The room was spacious and the bed very comfortable Breakfast was delicious and provided a big variety. I would definitely stay here again. Sadly, I left my travel pillow behind and I am hoping someone found it.

Helpful?
Thank Jaxfan68
Matthias E, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Jaxfan68, I want to thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at our hotel. I am more than happy to read that you have been satisfied with the service of our staff and the offer of our breakfast. I do hope to welcoming you soon again at the Ritter. Kind regards Matthias More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#2 of 77 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 77 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Falke
Hotel Goldener Falke
#17 of 77 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hip Hotel
Hip Hotel
#23 of 77 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
ArtHotel Heidelberg
ArtHotel Heidelberg
#4 of 77 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg

Address: Hauptstr. 178, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Price Range: $115 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zum Ritter St Georg
Zum Ritter St Georg Hotel
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#15 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay