We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Les Barmes de l\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 34: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am being a bit mean by only giving three stars as the hotel is excellent. The rooms and staff are great (as I expected for 1000 euros a night). BUT the food in the grill restaurant is just terrible! The starter buffet is about sufficient for a five star hotel. But, I suffered a main course on two occasions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sim0nPP
kent
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just come back from a week in this hotel and I have to say we haven't had such a good ski holiday before. The hotel is charming and the staff are all friendly, efficient and professional - although it should be as it is very expensive! The hotel is just at the bottom of the Face run (not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hpp63
Moscow
Reviewed January 12, 2017 via mobile

In short - the best skiing accommodation over the past 10 years. Location: In Val d'Isere, which is next to a glacier, so skiing is almost guaranteed. Close to ski lifts, definitely ski-out; not always ski-in, as only one particular slope goes past the hotel. 10 minutes walk to town centre, and good own shuttle service with MB Viano adapted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George G
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Sir, A huge and warm thank you for your great message about our property. We were delighted to have you during the January winter holidays and to read you and your family had a nice moment during those 9 nights. Looking forward to welcoming you again Kind regards, Valérie Boulenger General Manager Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours ***** Chemin...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 8, 2017

A beautiful hotel with lovely bar area, kids area and very nice rooms. The staff are mostly very nice and friendly. Great location. What was a huge dissapointment (which our whole group agreed on) was the poor quality of the food. It was honestly not food I would usually spend €5 on let alone the €40something prices they charge. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley_Fairburn
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We acknowledge your feedback following your stay among us and are very sorry to read the quality of the food didn't meet your expectations. No doubt we will transmit those comments to the right services in order to make sure it won't happen again. If we have the pleasure to welcome you again, please don't hesitate to share...

Reviewed December 17, 2016

We had a 5 day stay in easter 2016. Excellent location. Excellent service and facilities. Rooms and restaurants (including the Michelin stared La Table de L'ours) were however not living up its piers. Ferme de Marie in Megeve will stay my favourite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Idamar
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your nice feedback following your stay among us. We are sorry to read our rooms and restaurants were not to your taste and can understand you have a preference for another style of properties. Remaining at your entire disposal, Sincerely yours, Valerie Boulenger General Manger Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours *****...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

Fabulous hotel. Lovely staff. Complimentary pick up from ski runs in hotel BMW X5 4x4 Complimentary lifts to and from resort restaurants in hotel BMW 7 series. Lovely spa. Hotel restaurant ok but not fabulous. There are better options in town and for a Michelin star restaurant we were disappointed. Lovely hotel bar sometimes with live music. Almost ski in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Redrated
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Sir, The whole hotel team is very grateful for the review you wrote about our property. We are happy to read you've noticed and enjoyed the little services we put at our guests disposal. Believe it was our pleasure to host during your ski vacations. Hoping to welcome you very soon Our best regards, Mrs Valerie Boulenger General Manager...

Reviewed April 18, 2016

We stayed in this hotel for a week. There were 7 of us in our party ranging in age from 8 to 74 and we all had a wonderful time. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. The young ones enjoyed the games area whilst the older ones enjoyed a cocktail and everyone enjoyed the spa area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 382anned
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, A warm "Thank You" for your message. It was our pleasure to have you at the hotel. We are glad to read every member of the family could enjoy its way the vacations at Les Barmes de l'Ours. See you next year! Kindest regards, Valerie Boulenger General Manager Hotel les Barmes de l'Ours ***** Chemin des...

Reviewed April 14, 2016

I wanted to write to say what a fantastic holiday we had at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours. My step mum recommended it to me and we stayed last year and have just come back from a visit this year. The staff where amazing, so friendly and helpful, they could not do enough to help. The hotel is very relaxed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you so much for your kind message. We were delighted to have you and your family at the hotel. It is so grateful to read that you enjoyed your holidays, all the staff and myself are looking forward to welcoming you next year. Warm regards, Valerie Boulenger General Manager Hotel les Barmes de l'Ours ***** Chemin des...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

What an expensive disappointment this hotel is. For €800 per night on a B&B basis for a double room, I believe expectations should be high and les Barmes de l'ourse continuously disappoint. First, the good : - good location close to the pistes (but not quite ski in / ski out) - room was nice with good mountain view -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mmadar
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and letting us know about your experience of the hotel. We are sorry to read you've been disappointed in some aspects of our service and facilities. Be sure we will take them into account in order to improve ourselves. However we were quite surprised about 3...

Union City, California, United States
Reviewed March 5, 2016

It is a one star Michelin, if I am not mistaken. Sure the price, setting, service match up to it. It charges top $ (or euro, if you prefer) They restricted us to order the same tasting menu (for all 10 people), else we can order a la crate. For the food, it had good plating (looks good), but they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TMMak
Valerie_Boulenger, Directeur général at Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience about our restaurant and our traditional and authentic French cuisine. It is correct that we tend to recommend a unique menu for group over 8 persons, but it is only because we want to avoid and lenght for our guests during the service. We hope you understand our...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#2 of 39 in Val d'Isere
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Yule
Le Yule
#17 of 39 in Val d'Isere
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tsanteleina Hotel
Tsanteleina Hotel
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ormelune
Hotel Ormelune
#10 of 39 in Val d'Isere
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altitude
Hotel Altitude
#5 of 39 in Val d'Isere
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours

Address: les Carats, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Price Range: $541 - $3,163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Les Barmes De L'Ours France/Savoie
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#8 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“if you don't want to pay the price of the superior room the standard was lovely to and as equally as spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 541alexm, Apr 14, 2016 | Read review
“Panoramic view room”
 of 5 bubbles Meister88, Feb 28, 2015 | Read review
“Get a room or suite with a view of the Bellevarde Piste.. divine especially when Frostgun is on!”
 of 5 bubbles Titillator, Feb 25, 2013 | Read review
“Rooms above reception at the front of the hotel have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles topant1, Jan 2, 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question