We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection

Save
Share
20 Place Bellecour, 69002 Lyon France
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/14/22
Hotels.com
FindHotel
$167
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/14/22
Expedia.com$168
Travelocity$168
travelup.com$170
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1064)
Room & Suite (452)
Dining (109)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 10/26/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Updated 10/26/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 158 hotels in Lyon
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
3.9
Travelers' Choice
The Royal is an iconic establishment offering 72 rooms and suites, nestled in the heart of the city between the Rhone and Saone rivers. An exclusive address for travellers who enjoy the French art de vivre, discrete elegance and naturally courteous service. Feel at home in our Cote Cuisine dining room or in our Cote Bellecour lounge, for a civilised meal or beverage overlooking the Place Bellecour. (The Hotel is a member of the MGallery collection).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
233Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
57Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1847Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 902
  • 607
  • 217
  • 87
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tracy V wrote a review Jul 2022
Vodskov, Denmark69 contributions50 helpful votes
Spent 3 nights in this hotel when we visited Lyon on our French trip. The hotel was wonderful with a beautiful chic French decor. The room was super, if I have to make a comment the bathroom only had a bath/shower, which for younger people is fine. The staff really made our stay, so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was to die for, so much choice and the eggs we had every morning where the best I’ve ever had. We drove and booked valet parking. Car was taken and brought back when left. If you’re looking for a special few days in Lyon stay here ♥️ The hotel is on Bellecour Square and central to everything. Remember to get a City Card also at Only Lyon on Bellecour square, it’s well worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BARBARA CARBONNEL, Marketing at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Responded today
Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback. Such satisfaction can only encourage us. We will be happy to welcome you again for another stay in Lyon. See you soon, we hope. Best Regards.
Read more
Enrico S wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom346 contributions203 helpful votes
Went to see the stones and i admit that the hotel impressed me more than my favourite band. ok, my room had no view, as in had two windows in front of a wall which...was a tad unsettling but nonetheless very quiet. i arrived a 2AM, thank you very much BA and Covid. went straight to bed. heat in lyon was hard to believe but thanks to ac i didnt suffer at all. remember, this is a 5stars hotel and including BF i spent £180pn. quite the deal. BF fantastic, all delicious apart from a quite grumpy asian chef that made eggs but at least they were very good. i would go back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Try the breakfast.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Becksman wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Stayed for 4 nights at the hotel. Everything was 5 star. Service level was 5 star. Check in process was efficient and the young lady at front desk escorted us to our rooms while explaining everything about the hotel and our rooms. All our bags were delivered promptly. Staff was friendly throughout my stay and addressed me by my name. Cleanliness was 5 star. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. Location was 5 star. It's very close to metro station, tram stops, a supermarket, major shopping area as well as cafes and restaurants. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BARBARA CARBONNEL, Marketing at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Responded today
Dear Wilkiemail, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to read your satisfaction which is our greatest reward for all our teams. We thank you for your trust. We hope to see you soon for another stay in Lyon.
Read more
Simone B wrote a review Jul 2022
Mona Vale, Australia274 contributions64 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel seemed quaint although is quite spacious. Our room was comfortable, had an incredible view of the square and the bed was amazing. Just needed wine in the mini bar too. We just had a bathtub that was blocked that’s all - otherwise it would have been 5 stars
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There is parking offsite but this is one of the few that offer valet parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BARBARA CARBONNEL, Marketing at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear customer, We are delighted to hear from you and your satisfaction is a great reward for all our teams. We thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We serve our alcoholic beverages in our Bar "Côté Bellecour" open every day from 11am to midnight. We hope to have the pleasure of introducing you to our range of cocktails and other drinks during your next stay. We would be delighted to welcome you again. Best Regards. Barbara Carbonnel Sales Manager.
Read more
garys66666 wrote a review Jul 2022
Oakland, California27 contributions5 helpful votes
But disappointed that they did not carry BBC channel. Very helpful with restaurant recommendations. Good food service. Provided helpful tips as to which sites to visit, see. Entrance was a little difficult to see.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BARBARA CARBONNEL, Marketing at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Customer, We are happy to read you. Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay. We are sorry for the BBC channel. We offer a bouquet of over 50 channels. However, we have taken your disappointment into account. We will be delighted to welcome you again for another stay in Lyon. Best Regards Barbara Carbonnel Sales manager.
Read more
BoardingPass610374 wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Poor treatment of even a loyal customer : arrived around noon expressing the need to have our two rooms ready asap for meetings at 5pm. Promises that we will be able to check in at 3pm. Having to wait until 4pm to get the keys (with need to be constantly on the staff, not really active on it). No excuse nor sorry expressed at anytime, neither later , or at check out, or in answer to specific email sent to hotel director. Service and customer care do not belong to hotel values. Worth Accor Membership ? Avoid.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BARBARA CARBONNEL, Marketing at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are sincerely sorry for the lack of professionalism of all of our teams that you experienced during your stay in our hotel. This does not reflect the quality we want to offer our customers. We renew our most sincere apologies. We have forwarded your comment to our manager. We might be able to regain your trust. Best regards. Barbara Carbonnel Sales Manager.
Read more
Tara Bee wrote a review Jun 2022
Sydney, Australia278 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
Great hotel with amazing staff. Well located next to metro and bus stops, supermarket and in a very central location in Lyon. The staff are impeccably dressed, extremely professional and so helpful. They really were the highlight of our stay. They need to be acknowledged for that. There is also a concierge who can provide all the information you need, but every single one is amazing. It makes a big difference. Only two small things to note were with the room - the shower was one in the tub and the sides of the tub were very high, which made it a little awkward (sometimes dangerous) to get in and out. If this is an issue for you, let them know. And the triple room came with a double and a roll-away bed. For the cost, it would have been nice to have a room with three proper beds (eg. one double + one single). But it was manageable for three nights. The decor is gorgeous throughout the hotel, and the double bed that was there was extremely comfortable. I would come back :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
madewijaya wrote a review Jun 2022
Bali, Indonesia119 contributions63 helpful votes
+1
The hotel is perfectly located in the center of Lyon overlooking La place Bellecour and surrounded by interesting shops and small restaurants or les bouchons ( in French ). Try La Mere Jean, a nearby bouchon that offers typical delicious Lyon cuisines. For the first-timer, this area could be the best hotel to stay. Need to ask the direction from the concierge though, or check google map for help. Furthermore, you can find a city sightseeing bus tour located just 5 minutes walk from the hotel, which was a great way to explore primary places of interest. However, bear in mind that La place Bellecour itself isn’t a beautiful square. The hotel is quite small. Small Reception area, small restaurant for breakfast, small bar, small lounge. All small. Unfortunately, we reserved a suite with a view of The Square, Room 302 which was spacious enough. Well, at least it was fair with the price you paid. Espresso and tea bags are offered as compliments along with 2 small bottles of mineral water. The room has a balcony which is convenient for smokers and has very good soundproofing too. The breakfast was ok, nothing was special . When you stayed often in 5-star hotels in Asia, having breakfast in hotel Le Royal was like having breakfast in a guest house. Need to improve in the room : Please provide espresso cups. During turn down , prepare the same bottles of water ( see photos ). The master bathroom had an issue with the setting of hot and cold water as when you turn the hot water on, it didn’t stay hot. Please provide bigger bottles of mineral water as a compliment. It costs nothing but is very useful. Post Stay : FO team shall send me an e-mail to review our stay as other hotel chains do. They also said will send an invoice to my e-mail which does not arrive until I asked. I am a hotelier and have been staying in many 5 star hotels in the world, therefore Hotel Le Royal Lyon is more suitable as a 3-star hotel in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Always choose room overlooking La Place Bellecour
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BARBARA CARBONNEL, Marketing at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear customer, Thank you for your feedback, which is very important for all our teams. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel. We are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations of a 5* hotel. We apologize again. We hope that you will choose the hotel for another stay in Lyon and that you will have an unforgettable experience. Best Regards. Barbara Carbonnel Sales Manager.
Read more
marcopolo1964 wrote a review Jun 2022
paris279 contributions205 helpful votes
The location is very good, walking distance to almost everything there is to see in Lyon and with a metro station around the corner for the few sites that aren't. You are also right next door to the extremely helpful Lyon tourist office where you can buy a card that allows you to visit basically all of Lyon's museums. Our room was comfortable and well appointed, and had a balcony overlooking the square but with double windows to shut out the noise (which was never really that loud because Place Bellecour is almost entirely pedestrian). The hotel decoration is stylish without being precious or fussy. The breakfast buffet is excellent with a wide range of high quality options. We never needed to eat lunch. We had a few extremely minor housekeeping issues, but that seems to be standard these days with labor shortages. They were really minor and had no impact on our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Andrew L wrote a review May 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
We were very impressed with this hotel. The location is a perfect place to explore Lyon and the staff ago the extra mile to help wherever they can. Opt to include breakfast as it is lovely and the breakfast room is really nice. Our junior suite was perfect with great air conditioning and broadband speed. Most of the T.V channels are French so it is a good idea to bring a HDMI cable with you and use your laptop. The concierge service (particularly Charles) is really good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$149 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sofitel lyon, accor lyon
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesRhoneLyonBellecour - Hotel Dieu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection?
Nearby attractions include DreamAway Lyon (0.3 miles), La Place des Jacobins (0.3 miles), and Musee des Tissus et des Arts Decoratif (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monsieur P, L'Établi, and Le Mirtillo.
Is Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.06 miles away from the center of Lyon.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Le Royal Lyon - MGallery Collection?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cathédrale Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Lyon (0.4 miles), Hôtel de Ville de Lyon (1.3 miles), and Musee des Tissus et des Arts Decoratif (0.2 miles).