We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
85 quai Joseph Gillet, 69004 Lyon France
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
FindHotel
$120
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Prestigia.com$127
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (466)
Room & Suite (238)
Pool & Beach (79)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#43 of 158 hotels in Lyon
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
3.8
Travelers' Choice

Hotel Lyon Metropole is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Lyon, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to a concierge and room service while staying at Hotel Lyon Metropole. In addition, Hotel Lyon Metropole offers a pool and an on-site restaurant, which will help make your Lyon trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Close to some of Lyon's most popular landmarks, such as Croix-Rousse (1.3 mi) and Fourviere Hill (1.8 mi), Hotel Lyon Metropole is a great destination for tourists.

While visiting Lyon, you may want to try some ramen at one of the nearby restaurants, such as KUMA Izakaya, Takumi, or Djizan.

Plus, during your trip, don’t forget to check out some of the popular gardens, such as Jardin Rosa Mir, Des Hauteurs Park, and Parc Blandan.

Enjoy your stay in Lyon!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Lazy river
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

Full view
62Somewhat walkable
Grade: 62 out of 100
37Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
5Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
2239Reviews15Q+A37Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 966
  • 826
  • 283
  • 91
  • 74
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Shtevie wrote a review Aug 9
Dublin, Ireland2 contributions1 helpful vote
Pool and Spa facilities are excellent in this hotel. Make sure to include the access to the Pool/Spa with your reservation as it’s €45 per person per day if you don’t. Staff are excellent and really friendly. Edwige in the bar is fantastic and goes above and beyond for the hotel guests. Food menu is quite limited in the restaurant. It’s the same menu for lunch and dinner. There is a very strict dress code for men who want to use the pool. No swimming shorts allowed. Swim trunks only (tight shorts). They sell these in the SPA shop. Drinks are expensive. Pint of Heineken is €10 but they sell really good local beers by the bottle. The location of the hotel is not close to Lyon. We got taxis in everyday for €20. Be aware that NO RESTAURANTS OPEN ON SUNDAYS in Lyon
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Lyon Metropole
Responded today
Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. While we appreciate your mention of our team's courteous and professional service, we regret that you were not completely satisfied on this occasion. Our team works diligently to ensure that every guest has a memorable experience, and your kind feedback will encourage us all to continue with these efforts. Please do not hesitate to share any suggestions you may have concerning our restaurant menu. Rest assured that your concerns have been noted and will be taken into consideration as we continue to improve our facilities. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards, Leslie Moreau, Directrice Hôtel Lyon Metropole & Spa Lyon Plage
Read more
ladpaw wrote a review Aug 2
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
Stayed here with a large group for business and the staff, rooms, grounds, and services were perfect. For anyone looking for sunshine and rejuvenation- this hotel is perfect. If you are looking to spend a lot of time in Lyon, it would be good to rent bikes or have car access.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Lyon Metropole
Responded today
Dear Guest, The satisfaction of our guests during their time with us is very rewarding for our team and we are thrilled to hear that we hit the mark for you :) We look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Leslie Moreau, Directrice Hôtel Lyon Metropole & Spa Lyon Plage
Read more
nlewis208941 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We had a one night stay on 29/07/22. Great location on the river and lots of acute parking. Lovely hotel and staff were welcoming and efficient. We had a lovely meal at the hotels restaurant, Lyon Plage. Would highly recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Lyon Metropole
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Lewis, Thank you for sharing your review. We take pride in the exceptional service our team members deliver so it's really rewarding to receive your positive feedback and are thrilled that your stay exceeded your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Leslie Moreau, Directrice Hôtel Lyon Metropole & Spa Lyon Plage
Read more
mohamedamsalkhir wrote a review Jul 2022
Oslo, Norway1 contribution
We where on a roadtrip trough Eurpoe and decided to book a night here. we where looking for a hotel with a pool. The not soo good was that you only get the room, everything else is extra, for example the pool was 45 EUR per person to access. And PS: if you don`t like spiders, this is not the hotel for you.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Lyon Metropole
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr Amsalkhir, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We regret that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay. We have made every effort to ensure that all additional charges, including the use of our pool, are clearly mentioned on our website, and we apologise for any inconvenience. Please do not hesitate to bring any concerns to us at the time so that we can address them immediately. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in future. Best regards, Leslie Moreau, Directrice Hôtel Lyon Metropole & Spa Lyon Plage
Read more
pscoul311450 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
On the Booking.com page the photo shows an amazing looking swimming pool and even the web page for this review shows an amazing indoor pool !!!!! The small print says its an additional 45 EUROS per person per day to use them, and you have to wear speedos as swimming shorts are not allowed yet the photo on Booking .com clearly shows bathers in swimming shorts. The reception and staff are the best bit of this hotel after that it all goes downhill, Very expensive drinks, average over priced food and rooms that need cleaning and maintained properly . The light above our bed flashed on and off, the basin tap was insecure and the sink didn't drain properly. The room wasn't properly cleaned and has hairs on the carpet
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Lyon Metropole
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Client, Thank you for leaving a review of your stay. We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us but are sorry to learn of the issues you had in your room and regret that you did not inform us while on-site so that we may have taken immediate action. Nevertheless, this will be addressed with the relevant teams in order to maintain our usual quality of service. As you mention we have tried to ensure that all information about our facilities is clearly stated on our booking platforms and that the use of our spa facilities incurs an additional charge if the spa was not included in the reservation. We also regret any misunderstanding due to the photos on the booking site, unfortunately, swimming shorts are no longer permitted since January 2022. We hope to welcome you back. Best wishes, Leslie Moreau, Directrice Hôtel Lyon Metropole & Spa Lyon Plage
Read more
oraxy1tyc4 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Nice hotel in a good location. The rooms were clean but old dashboard. My only real issue was the crazy cost to guests to use the pool area! 45 Euro per day to use a sun lounger was very disappointing! But the hotel staff are helpful and friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Lyon Metropole
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time share your feedback with us. While we appreciate your mention of our team's courteous and professional service, we regret that you were not completely satisfied on this occasion. We regret that the pool rates were not quite to your satisfaction, we have tried to ensure that all information about our facilities is clearly stated on our booking platforms and that the use of our spa facilities incurs an additional charge; please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Leslie Moreau, Directrice Hôtel Lyon Metropole & Spa Lyon Plage
Read more
Jamie S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
It started with a very friendly lady at the check-in desk and then pretty much went down hill from there. The Spa is shown in every photo however is €90 to use for a single night stay (45 day you check-in and €45 day you check out. Which is completely ridiculous. On top of this they have the most ridiculous swim wear policy which means you cannot swim in normal swim shorts and have to buy some off them (shock). Even though people in the photos online have them on. They claim this is for hygiene and a rule but I’ve been to all across France and never seen this at a hotel. We also had dinner at the restaurant. The staff seemed clueless - it took multiple attempts at ordering a drink to get one and then when we asked for the bill they said we had already signed which we hadn’t and didn’t seem to think it was important to show us. Food was average and massively overpriced. It was €10 for a Heineken 500ml, 16€ G&T and 18€ Caesar salad starter. The rooms were full of hair and the carpet not washed since the 60’s. Not pleasant Apart from the staff on reception (who were the only ones who seemed to care, but even got defensive over the ridiculous rules) The staff didn’t seem to want to be there or be helpful unless I’m involved you giving money. They were rude and unaccomodating in the Spa especially & restaurant. Would honestly stay away - we shall not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Lyon Metropole
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Client, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your candid feedback about your experience and extend our sincere apologies that you were not entirely satisfied. While we appreciate your mention of our reception team's excellent service, we regret that you felt our other teams fell short of our high service standards. Rest assured that we will use your feedback to address this matter with our team and take necessary action. We have tried to ensure that all information about our facilities is clearly stated on all our booking platforms and that the use of our spa facilities incurs an additional charge; please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. We are sorry to know that you felt our high standards were not upheld. We urge guests to share any concerns they have at the time so that we may deal with the matter immediately to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. We have, nevertheless, addressed these issues with our housekeeping team. We hope you will return for an improved experience in the future. Kind regards, Leslie Moreau, Directrice Hôtel Lyon Metropole & Spa Lyon Plage
Read more
leandro1234567 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The property has a deceitful advertisement online, where it shows the complete infrastructure available to guests when in reality NOTHING is available if you don't pay the "SPA" rate (45 Euros per person/day). Not even a small gym was available! It was also advertised the facility is completely renovated. I don't call renovation by only adding a layer of (sticky) painting over the sink and bath. The parking was horrible. Full of extremely narrow spots where drivers need to get off the car by the passenger door. Breakfast quality was "ok-ish". However, staff was friendly and polite. Unfortunately, this was one of the worst experience I ever had for a hotel in Europe. I don't recommend it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Lyon Metropole
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Client, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Your kind mention of our team's courteous service is much appreciated, however, we regret that your stay fell short of your expectations. We have tried to ensure that all information about our facilities is clearly stated on all our booking platforms and that the use of our spa facilities incurs an additional charge and we apologise for any inconvenience. Our hotel has indeed recently undergone major renovations, however, we regret that this did not meet your expectations. Furthermore, we do carry out maintenance whenever necessary to keep our facilities up to date and have noted your comments for future improvements. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in future. Best regards, Leslie Moreau, Directrice Hôtel Lyon Metropole & Spa Lyon Plage
Read more
Mies1206 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Very nice hotel; Excellent breakfast and diner. Nice swimming pool, spacious and tidy rooms. Friendly staff, quick check-in and out. One negative point: the airco now and then made quite some noise at night.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Lyon Metropole
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Client, Thank you for providing us with feedback about your recent experience. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciated the high standards we strive to uphold. Thank you for your kind mention of our team's excellent service. However, we understand the importance of a good night's sleep and are sorry to hear that you were disturbed. We encourage guests to let us know of any issues while on-site so we can take immediate action to ensure your comfort. Please rest assured that your comment has been addressed with our maintenance team. Nonetheless, it is a pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable dining experience and that we helped start your day off on the right foot with our tasty breakfast buffet. We all hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Leslie Moreau, Directrice Hôtel Lyon Metropole & Spa Lyon Plage
Read more
claassen2022 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Attracted by 4 stars but experienced a bad ibis-F1 hotel. The reception was professional, i assume the hotel.also but the so called residence was horrible. The breakfast was bad. Old bread. Small choice certainly for a 4 star.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Hotel Lyon Metropole
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing a review. While we appreciate your mention of our team's courteous and professional service, we regret that you were not completely satisfied on this occasion. We wish you had informed us of any concerns during your stay so that we may have dealt with them immediately, please be assured that we have taken note of your comments and will be sure to address them with our team for future improvements. We hope you will return for an improved experience soon. Kind regards, Leslie Moreau, Directrice Hôtel Lyon Metropole & Spa Lyon Plage
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$136 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
metropole hotel lyon, lyon metropole hotel
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesRhoneLyon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
174
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Lyon Metropole
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Lyon Metropole?
Nearby attractions include I-REALITY Lyon (0.3 miles), I-Scape (0.3 miles), and I-WAY Lyon (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Lyon Metropole?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Lyon Metropole?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Lyon Metropole?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Lyon Metropole?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'Octave, Fond Rose, and Ninkasi Vaise.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Lyon Metropole?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Lyon Metropole?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Lyon Metropole?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Lyon Metropole offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Lyon Metropole?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Lyon Metropole?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cathédrale Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Lyon (2.0 miles), Hôtel de Ville de Lyon (1.3 miles), and Musee des Tissus et des Arts Decoratif (2.6 miles).