We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Show Prices
#22 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,595 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 482: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Good standard in Sofitel chain. Staff is friendly and helpful. Bar on the top floor offers a great views. It closes at 1am. Breakfast was not the best in terms of choice but good quality. Stayed in junior suite which was small but cosy.

Helpful?
Thank Jakub S
SofitelLyon, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Dear Jakub, Thank you for this nice comment about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour ! We are very pleased to read that you spent a lovely stay in Lyon's city center. We hope to see you soon again ! Best regards. More 

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely hotel . Walking distance to shops and restaurants . Located on the Rhone and can walk easily to the old city. Bridges everywhere to traverse the river. Our room faced the river with a boulevard in front. Great walking and biking paths. Breakfast included with a wonderful view 8th floor.

Helpful?
1 Thank tarquinbb
SofitelLyon, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for your comment about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the city center. We hope to welcome you soon ! Sincerely. More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Sofitel in Lyon is a great choice for business or leisure trip. Very convenient located, walking distance from the Place Bellecour, metro, shops, and super nice restaurants. And if you like jogging? Just cross the bridge and go for a great jogging. Patrick and Sebastian are the TOP concierge and all the staff is amazing. Great restaurants and amazing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claudia M
SofitelLyon, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Dear Claudia, Thank you for your wonderful comment ! We are very pleased to read that you spent a lovely stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour and hope to see you soon. Best regards. More 

Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I expected a lot from such a category of hotel and I ended up being quite disappointed. The entrance has been renovated and looks good, but that's it really. Rooms were possibly among the best you could find in the 80's, but for 2016 and given the price it doesn't fit anymore. Rooms are indeed old looking style though still... More 

Helpful?
Thank BelgiumBen
SofitelLyon, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. Please note that we are currently working on a renovation project, which should take place soon. We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy the Silk Brasserie, which uses fresh products to cook simple and refined dishes. We hope to see you soon in the... More 

Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
239 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Greatly enjoyed our river view Junior Suite. I was shocked at the walk-in rack rate of 835 euro, whereas we only paid 250 euro/night with advanced, non-cancellable reservation. Room was quite nice - small living room, full bath with tub, and sleeping room - 2 huge flat screen tv sets. The complimentary internet was quite fast enough for us. Location... More 

Helpful?
Thank CharlesA
SofitelLyon, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for you sharing your experience, we are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you soon in the City of Lights! Sincerely. More 

Long Melford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here with grandsons, to break the journey to the South of France Probably not a good idea.. This is a superb hotel for honeymooners, businessmen, anybody in fact without four little boys. It was very costly, and the boys spent most of the night riding the lifts! However, the food was incredibly good, we eat at night in... More 

Helpful?
Thank irenefox
SofitelLyon, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Dear customer, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. See you soon in Lyon ! Sincerely. More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Currently staying in. "Superior Room". Was supposed to get evening turn down, did not. Very hot in the room, AC not strong at all. (We have two superior rooms and both have the same complaints). Strangely,it was recommended and booked by our tour operator (TAUCK). Extremely slow Internet and cannot check emails after being two weeks away so very frustrated.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
SofitelLyon, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you for your comments. We are sorry that the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour did not meet your expectations. Please note that the hotel is facing a large scale refurbishment project. Many thanks for your compliments on our concierge ! We hope to see you soon back in Lyon. Sincerely. More 

Versailles
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best hotel in Lyon, in the center, close by place Bellecour, the cathedral of Fourviere and market Street. Lot of good restaurants around also. Our best place to stay in Lyon each time. Service is top and specially the bar service.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mamouroune
Fjord Norway, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with my family in suite with river view. The room was of very high standard, with comfortable beds with premium sheets. The breakfast facility offered stunning view over Lyon city. The personnel was welcoming and service minded.

Helpful?
Thank Eirik J
SofitelLyon, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. Sincerely, More 

Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The Sofitel Lyon Bellecour is a very well located hotel along the Rhone river, right near the outstanding shopping and pedestrian promenade. The hotel rooms are clean and nicely appointed though not luxurious. The very special feature here is the top floor which has a terrific bar that offers beautiful views and a neighboring area that provides a terrific buffet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
SofitelLyon, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review

Dear Bruce, Thank you for this lovely comment ! We are very pleased to read that you spent a nice stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour and hope to see you soon again. Sincerely. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

413 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (354)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 190 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
Villa Florentine
#7 of 190 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Les Trois Domes
Les Trois Domes
Cuisines: French, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Address: 20 quai Docteur Gailleton, 69002, Lyon, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Price Range: $162 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#12 Business Hotel in Lyon
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#27 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#28 Family Hotel in Lyon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay