We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix

Save
Share
270 avenue de Courmayeur, 74400, Chamonix France
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$205
View deal
Expedia.com
$251
View deal
Agoda.com
Only 1 left at
$107
View deal
Hotels.com$251
Travelocity$251
travelup.com$136
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (813)
Room & Suite (245)
Dining (73)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/17/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#31 of 90 hotels in Chamonix
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.3
Value
4.0
Le Refuge des Aiglons with its 107 rooms attracts mountain-lovers and families, both in the summer and winter and a clientele more studious during the mid-season thanks to its spacious seminars rooms. As well as the restaurant and the bar, the hotel offers the services of a genuine mountain SPA, outside swimming pool, steam room and sauna in the garden of the hotel, body care centre and fitness area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Ski rentals
Skiing
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
1643Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 702
  • 615
  • 216
  • 74
  • 36
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Olly_Millward wrote a review Aug 13
Chesterfield, United Kingdom84 contributions60 helpful votes
Super hotel in Chamonix Sud. Views of the Aiguille du Midi and Les Bossons Glacier from the outdoor pool. Nice spa area. Delicious breakfast. Great interior, bar and reception area. Beds really comfy. Very clean hotel. Super friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mel L wrote a review Jul 2022
Dover, United Kingdom79 contributions78 helpful votes
We visited for a 4 night stay in the height of the summer season. The ground floor has a nice lounge and bar area with lovely decking outside where you can have breakfast (not in the winter obviously). In the basement there is a modern spa with various treatment rooms. What sets this hotel apart from others is that it has a fantastic swimming pool with sun beds and loungers, perfect after a morning’s exploring/biking/hiking etc and with a view of Mont Blanc. We didn’t eat at the hotel as there are hundreds of lovely restaurants in the beautiful town where you can sit outside and see the mountains in the glorious evening heat. We asked for a room for a with a view of Mont Blanc which was amazing and also overlooked the pool and outside decking. The balcony was so small there was only room for 1 chair. The photos make the rooms look lovely but in reality our room was extremely small and not big enough for both of us to move around at the same time. I can’t imagine what it would be like in the winter if you come back with full ski kit on. The ceiling and walls were all painted dark brown and it had a dark brown carpet. It was lit by a few not very bright wall lights and we had to use our phone torches to read at times. The bathroom was also extremely small. It felt dark, dingy and very cramped, certainly not 4 star quality or worth what we paid. The dark dingy feel continued in the corridor outside and was pitch black until the movement sensor light came on. Fortunately due to the glorious weather, we didn’t spend much time in the room as the pool and outside areas are fantastic and it’s a shame the rooms (the one we had anyway) let’s the hotel down.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LAURENT GREVEN, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience your experience with the Community ! Le Refuge des Aiglons is the perfect base camp to enjoy the best of Chamonix ! Refuge means shelter, a friendly place for people to gather and share great moments all together. Bringing people in our life spaces has always been our main focus ! Our rooms were thought to offer a great night sleep after an active day out in the mountains, like a shelter. Sorry that they were not to your taste ! We thank you again for your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back. Laurent Greven General Manager Le Refuge des Aiglons****, Chamonix Mont Blanc
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rene K wrote a review Jul 2022
Allstedt, Germany3 contributions
Ist was Great! We were with a cycling group with 9 participants in the hotel. We were able to leave our luggage at 7:00 a.m. The staff was very helpful, especially with tips for visiting Aguille du Midi. Wellness area and pool are very nice. Breakfast (which is very good) easily booked. If you choose the right room, the view of Mont Blanc and the Aguille du Midi is fantastic.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LAURENT GREVEN, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix
Responded Jul 14, 2022
Dear Guests, Thank you for sharing your experience with the Community ! So proud to read that you very much enjoyed your stay ! I hope your bike trip went as smooth ! We all look forward to your next visit ! Laurent Greven General Manager Le Refuge des Aiglons****, Chamonix Mont Blanc
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pgl963 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Our stay was quite disappointing, starting from the check-in experience. There was no space left in the hotel garage even though I had requested a spot on the pre-arrival form. When I returned from parking elsewhere, the person at reception was gone and it took quite a long time to get helped, even after I asked a staff person at the bar. The person who checked us in neglected to mention the free "Carte d'Hôte" which gives free access to public transit; I learned about it at the end of our stay. Unlike pretty much every hotel I've stayed at in France, throughout our stay the reception staff never looked up or said hello as we walked in and out of the front entrance. In short, the staff didn't feel attentive or welcoming. There are printed signs at the reception and in the elevators advertising a light "snacking" menu available at the bar until 10pm. We wanted a quick supper one evening so we decided to try it. However, the bartender told us in a rather snippy tone that food was not available at the bar, ever! I asked about the snacking menu, and she replied that was only available until 6pm. I pointed to the sign a few feet away at the reception, and the bartender and reception staff just shrugged and insisted huffily that the signs are wrong. No apologies. We left and had dinner elsewhere. The hotel interior is non-smoking, but there are a lot of people smoking on the terrace outside until late at night. Unfortunately our room was above the terrace, and the weather was hot, so we had to choose between a hot and stuffy room (the internal ventilation is poor) or the noise and smoke from an open window. On the plus side the location is good, the lounge area is a nice place to relax, and the breakfast was quite good. The morning staff in the breakfast room also seemed much more attentive than the evening reception staff. However I would probably not choose to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LAURENT GREVEN, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix
Responded Jul 2, 2022
Dear Guests, Thank you for sharing your experience with the Community ! Shame on us... We are so very sorry to read your disappointment... It is obvious that we completely messed up, and please accept our most sincere apologies. Our job is actually quite simple : offering and sharing with our Guests a true, relaxing and happy experience. We manage most of the time, our reviews speak for us, but sometimes, we fail. It is important to admitt that failure is part of the game, and allows us to grow. Once again, sorry that we failed in our mission, and we truly hope to get another chance to prove our good will. Best regards, Laurent Greven General Manager Le Refuge des Aiglons****, Chamonix Mont Blanc
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mariaj0hanns wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The beds were so bad that we left after two nights but had reserved 4 nights. Staff ok, location good. Breakfast was ok. Children room ok. No cot ready when we arrived and I had to go with the staff to get the baby bed and carry it
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LAURENT GREVEN, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Dear Guests, Thank you for sharing your experience with the Community ! Sorry to read that you were disappointed by the quality of our beds... This is quite surprising ; our beds have been completely renewed in the past two years, and most of our Guests actually love them ! We did check the beds in your room immediately after your departure with our Housekeeper, but you forgot to mention that you chose to leave the main bed to your child to sleep... in the sofa bed ! Bedding can of course not be as confortable ! You are right, no baby cot had been prepared in your room prior to your arrival, and I really apologize for that. If you don't mind, I will give you an advice to avoid a similar situation in the future : while making your booking, tell the reservation department that you are travelling with a baby, so that hotels may install a baby cot in your room. Thankfully we are concerned by our Guests's confort, and the Receptionnist left the reception alone to help you arrange one... Thank you for your visit ! Laurent Greven General Manager Le Refuge des Aiglons****, Chamonix Mont Blanc
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MKG wrote a review Jun 2022
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom12 contributions2 helpful votes
Such a lovely stay! The staff we all so friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the spa, games in the bar, and outside area when the sun shone. Had an amazing burger in the restaurant and the breakfast selection was good. Great location, right by the airport bus transfers and a short walk to the bars/restaurants and tourist attractions. Loved the decor. Room was comfortable and spotless, though we couldn’t have our window open because of road noise and the room was quite hot but the hotel gave us a fan which helped. No ventilation in the bathroom/toilet could be a problem for some but we coped! Would definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LAURENT GREVEN, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Dear Guests, Thank you for sharing your experience with the Community ! A perfect comment, for a perfect spot ; thanks so much ! We all look forward to welcoming you back again ! Laurent Greven General Manager Le Refuge des Aiglons****, Chamonix Mont Blanc
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ianrdocherty wrote a review Jun 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel has a great location for the town of Chamonix however it finds itself somewhat let down by the attitude of one member of staff who was aggressive and rude during our departure on the morning of 2nd. As we were preparing to pack our motorcycles and then go to reception to return our keys we were ambushed by the gentleman in question who insinuated that we were attempting to leave without paying the car parking fee. He proceeded to be less than helpful and argued with his colleagues about the situation that had been cleared the evening before. We were all disappointed by his aggressive behaviour.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LAURENT GREVEN, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Dear Guests, Thank you for sharing your experience with the Community ! Sorry to read that you FELT mistreated by a member of our Staff ! This really is not the type of feedback I am used to receiving on my Staff... This must have been exceptional, and only related to the particular situation you are describing. Your comment is an offense to the involvement of the 50 other Staff members working along to bring smiles on everybody else's faces... Laurent Greven General Manager Le Refuge des Aiglons****, Chamonix Mont Blanc
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
msamps864754 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Great location, really knowledgeable & friendly staff nothing was too much trouble, Breakfast really nice choices & rooms well equipped. Didn’t managed to get in the spa but looked very popular, pool area nice too
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LAURENT GREVEN, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix
Responded Jun 21, 2022
Dear Guests, Thank you for sharing your experience with the Community ! So happy to read that you were delighted with our offer and service ! We look forward to welcoming you again soon ! Laurent Greven General Manager Le Refuge des Aiglons****, Chamonix Mont Blanc
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Seemore wrote a review May 2022
CA217 contributions88 helpful votes
Was originally booke into the sister hotel Le Morgane but they decided to take the May shutdown holiday until beginning of June. Although May has less visitors in the Alps’ many ski centric towns observe a shutdown period and this can apply to any kind of business so call to verify. Sometimes the websites are not updated to indicate whether a shutdown is being observed. Having said that found breakfast to be good. Didn’t bother with lunch or dinner as there are plenty of options in town. Scant bar service in the evening. No air conditioning in the rooms but this seems to be standard in Chamonix so if it is warm you will have the windows/doors open. That still may not be enough…Rooms small for a four star… ice bathroom but small tv’ desk and balcony. Bed was pretty good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LAURENT GREVEN, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Dear Guests, Thank you for sharing your experience with the Community ! Offseasons are indeed always calmer, but as you just wrote, Chamonix can not be compared with other towns, or even mountain resorts. First for the stunning and unique landscapes, but it also is one of the very unique mountain resorts opened almost all year round ! Thank you so very much for staying with us, and we all hope to welcome you back in a busier period ! Laurent Greven General Manager Le Refuge des Aiglons****, Chamonix Mont Blanc
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Savvy traveller wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Very dated and dark hotel . Despite correspondence with hotel prior to our stay no one had the courtesy that the dining room is as closed throughout our stay for dinner . Breakfast and service was good. Bar often unattended and staff not knowledgeable of the drinks I had to go behind the bar to point out the drink in the fridge !! Rooms extremely hot …no air con anywhere . It was 29/30degrees …do not go in the summer you will bake ! Cards for the rooms never worked consistently..had to get them renewed several times . Room very dark ..painted brown …how this is described as modern is beyond me. Torches required to see in the room as very poor lighting and plug facilities minimal . Avoid this hotel there are much nicer ones in Chamonix
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LAURENT GREVEN, Directeur général at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Dear Guests, Thank you for sharing your experience with the Community ! Our hotel was actually totally refurbished and redesigned in December 2017, so not so dated... But the building itself is of course a lot older ; it was built in the 1990's. Our restaurant was indeed closed for 3 weeks in May and, to be honest, information was really spread out... Due to the current shortage of labour on the market, we indeed had to close our restaurant to let our Staff have some holiday. This is the very first time this happens to us, but I fear we may have to get used to it in the future... It was important to me not to leave our Guests without anything to eat, so we had made a snacking offer on purpose. We do not have A/C in our hotel, just like every other hotel in Chamonix, even 5 stars. Above 1000 meters high, it is quite unusual to need A/C... But what is even more unusual is to have 29 to 30 degrees in May ! Sorry that you did not enjoy our property, my Staff and I are actually doing our best to provide a great and friendly service, but you obviously were not sensitive about it. Hopefully, many other Guests are. Laurent Greven General Manager Le Refuge des Aiglons****, Chamonix Mont Blanc
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$90 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel les aiglons chamonix, hotel les aiglons resort and spa, best western chamonix
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesHaute-SavoieChamonix
NUMBER OF ROOMS
107
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix
Which popular attractions are close to Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix?
Nearby attractions include Escape Game Chamonix (0.1 miles), Aiguille du Midi (0.2 miles), and Step Into the Void (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bighorn Bistro & Bakery, Le Comptoir des Alpes, and Green Soft Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix have airport transportation?
Yes, Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Chamonix.
Are any cleaning services offered at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Le Refuge des Aiglons Chamonix?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.