We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Alpina Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Agoda to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Alpina Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

504 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 269: English reviews
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Desperate for a room because my prior hotel was sold out, I grabbed what I could and sadly, this was it. Overpriced for the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Actually, I wouldn't stay here for free. They asked if I wanted a room with a view of Mt. Blanc (costs extra) so I went for it. The ONLY... More 

Helpful?
Thank MalbuMom
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Despite being a bit worn down the hotel offers good service and the restaurant at the top floor holds superb quality! We stayed at the hotel for the marathon Mont Blanc. The marathon village was located just 15 meters from the entrance of the hotel, perfect! The staff was ever helpful and friendly in every manner. We will return next... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joakim0010
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a night in this hotel for our last night in Chamonix - we had been on a walking tour and staying at another hotel and needed an extra night before flying home but couldn't get a room there so chose this one. This hotel was 50% more expensive than the previous one and we were expecting a very comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma W

Travelers are raving about these Chamonix hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It hasn't been updated since. Most frustratingly, the windows open but there is nothing to keep them open. The rooms are average size with old, ratty furniture. The one thing this place has going for it is the location and its size. There are many rooms.

Helpful?
Thank Hikenj
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night before a 2 week stay in a privately owned apartment. Reception like most hotels in France fills you confidence that it's a nice comfortable hotel. It was modern, contemporary and very 21st century. However we got out of the lift to find a 1970s uncleared corridor and the room, once we found it, transported us straight back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Isabelle M
Chiarina R, Responsable réception at Alpina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your message, We are really sorry to read that you do not appreciate your stay in the hotel Alpina. We informe you that we will close the hotel at the end of August for few month to do some renovation. We hope to see you after the renovation to enjoy the new modern and comtemporany... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room 404 changed to room 204. We stayed at The Alpina in June 2016, the hotel is in a great position in the middle of Chamonix. The view from the window and the balcony was worth a million dollars - But - firstly - we had to change rooms because the toilet was broken and couldn't be repaired. Secondly -... More 

Helpful?
Thank kalql8
Chiarina R, Responsable réception at Alpina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to post on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the view from the hotel. Unfortunelly we are sorry to hear you were disturbed by the music of the night club. Concerning your coming to the reception you mentioned the fact that you had to wait until a whole group of... More 

Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

the room was big and had a balcony with amazing views. At one tell you can tell this was the place to stay. Sadly, they really haven't upgraded the rooms since the 70s. the furniture was still functional, but the rooms do need a make over. But it was still a decent place, especially for the price. The toilet is... More 

Helpful?
Thank patric b
Chiarina R, Responsable réception at Alpina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your notice. We are pleased to see you enjoyed the location. Concerning the room we are all agree with you that is why we will made some important renovation in the few months. We hope to see you after the renovation so you can enjoy the new rooms. Best regards More 

Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

Views from hotel room are good.Most of the rooms has mountain views. Staff are good .some staff doesn't speak english properly but can understand what you say so no problem.they will provide you with guest card which gives free access to transport and some discount in museums.

Helpful?
Thank anji7022
Chiarina R, Responsable réception at Alpina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anji7022, Thank you very much for taking time to post on Tripadvisor. We are very greatful you enjoyed staying in hotel Alpina. Speaking about languages you are indeed pointing a problem with French people...so i am glad you were understood anyway! It will be a real pleasure to have you again in Chamonix. Best regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

Cheap for location but when arrived was given a twin room despite booking a double. Complained at reception and was told it would be made into a double for our return that evening. This was not done so on complaining for a third time we were given a new room which was larger and nicer. These rooms are very outdated... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louiss301
Chiarina R, Responsable réception at Alpina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louiss301, Thank you very much for taking time tcommenting on tripadvisor and for chosing Alpina hotel. I am pleased to read that in the end you had a room to your convenience. Our hotel is soon undergoing some renovation. Our guests will therefore be able to anjoy staying in our new rooms and the beautiful view of chamonix from... More 

Manali, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

An Typical Alpine style hotel , Very well located. and well built exteriors!!!!! Rooms are Basic and just fit to size. Positives are that the Staff is very good and responsive, It has a Wonderful Restaurant on the roof top with a very good service. They even let us have our own ready to eat food brought all the way... More 

Helpful?
Thank skihimalayas
Chiarina R, Responsable réception at Alpina Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Skinimalayas, Thank you for your stay at the hotel, and for having taken the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the location and the staff of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon in the Alpina Hotel in Chamonix. Best regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

168 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (163)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Cretes Blanches
Hotel Les Cretes Blanches
#42 of 76 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Centre
Mercure Chamonix Centre
#15 of 76 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croix-Blanche
Hotel Croix-Blanche
#63 of 76 in Chamonix
3.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#2 of 76 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Louvre
Hotel du Louvre
#32 of 76 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chamonix
Hotel Le Chamonix
#38 of 76 in Chamonix
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Alpina Hotel has a contemporary architecture where we provide a maximum number of services within the hotel: a large lounge bar with a chimney with art exhibitions, billiards and a Decleor Spa Among the 137 spacious and comfortable rooms, you have the choice of a room facing either: the rugged, steep slopes of the Brevent or the snow-covered slopes of Mont-Blanc, which you can admire directly from your balcony. Le Vista Restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch or Dinner on the 7th floor of the hotel: Enjoy the valley best panoramic view from the city center! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Address: 79 Avenue du Mont-Blanc, 74400, Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Price Range: $111 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Chamonix
Hotel Alpina Chamonix
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay