We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
64 rue de la Loubiere, 13006 Marseille France
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Mama Deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Trip.com
$111
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (495)
Room & Suite (203)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 07/26/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mama Shelter Marseille
Updated 07/26/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 144 hotels in Marseille
Location
3.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Mama Shelter Marseille is much more than just a place to sleep. It is a vibrant hub, where people gather around a meal elaborated by Guy Savoy and that is meant to be shared. This Mama has a 125 rooms, each fitted with 5-star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets), across 6 floors, each decorated with different colors. They are both cool during the summertime and warm refuges during the cold winter. The rooms are equipped with connected TVs that centralise internet, television, free movies on demand and a photo/video booth function. This Mama is situated only 25km from the Marseille Provence Airport and only 10 minutes by car from the train station Gare Saint Charles. Take a break in Mama Shelter Marseille and enjoy the live concerts, shows, DJs, ping pong and if you have a car, rely on Mama's parking lot. The bank card used to guarantee the booking or make the prepayment will be requested at check-in.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Patio
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Mama Deal
1385Reviews11Q+A48Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 693
  • 478
  • 133
  • 46
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rupak M wrote a review Jun 2022
Toronto, Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
Very modern, cozy, welcoming hotel. The hotel had a really cool and funky bar downstairs where our kids could hang out. The hotel breakfast was excellent and we highly recommend it. The room was clean and we appreciated that the windows opened for airiness. The only factor preventing me from giving it 5 stars was that our room was cramped, a surprise considering the hotel was newly built. The hotel is off the beaten path, and not near the central port, so expect to walk a lot (which suited us fine).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LOIC LASTAPIS, Directeur général at Mama Shelter Marseille
Responded 1 week ago
hi, Thanks a lot for your feedback, Mama is very happy to know that everything went well :-) We hope to see you back very soon. We wish you a lovely summer. Loic/ General Manager
Read more
OnAir11008676106 wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
We stayed for one night in Marseille and had a really great time at Mama shelter. Hotel was very fun and quirky! Room was a good size and fit for purpose and very clean. We left the hotel for dinner but on return went to the bar where we had a great time. There was a DJ and good drinks selection and ended up dancing! We are now keen to stay at other mama shelter hotels in other cities
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Secure underground car park
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Emily Z wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions
We enjoyed the vibe of the hotel and found it had the basics of everything we needed. We upgraded for a "large" room, which while still not actually large, was comfortable. Bathroom was tight. Loved the in-room move selection. We did not, however, like the location, which was in a quiet part of town away from the main tourist attractions. Mask-wearing was a bit so-so among other people staying there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LOIC LASTAPIS, Directeur général at Mama Shelter Marseille
Responded Nov 25, 2021
Hi Elzeig, Thanks a lot for your kind feedback. I'm sorry you didn't like the location of our Mama, despite the fact we are in the typical district of marseille. Hoping to welcome you back, I wish you a very pleasant journey. Loic/General Manager
Read more
Bibzo K wrote a review Aug 2021
Montegrotto Terme, Italy3 contributions
Team, location, amenities everything’s just perfect, I love mama shelter concept and even if this Obe didin’t have rooftop the service make me spent à just perfect hotel and diner stay, looking forward for my next trip. All town are différents and so far all Mama Shelter I have the pleasure to visite was just perfect, bravo!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from LOIC LASTAPIS, Directeur général at Mama Shelter Marseille
Responded Aug 17, 2021
Hi Bibzok, Thanks for your lovely message :-) All the team is very glad you had had a very pleasant stay in Marseille. We hope to see you back very soon. Loic / General Manager
Read more
Anna T wrote a review Aug 2021
La Roque-d'Antheron, France19 contributions29 helpful votes
I have stayed at this hotel with my husband (and sometimes with friends) several times but not in the last few years I realise that this hotel has changed hands & now belongs to the Accor group and of course they are dealing with Covid and all the problems associated with it. However,sadly, what had previously been an exciting and fun experience has now become pretty drab.On the plus side the breakfast was good and the staff on duty in the dining room were helpful and pleasant Several negatives though…. The rooms are now tired and need a revamp. I think we were given a room for handicapped guests- grab rails and the shower without any surround ( which created a dangerously flooded floor) . Additionally the bed was too small, dirty marks on the walls, paucity of bathroom accessories, no water in fridge. Check-in is 1500. At 1720 our grandsons room was still not available. We were offered a coffee to make up for this! I think this will be our last stay at Mama Shelter Marseille.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LOIC LASTAPIS, Directeur général at Mama Shelter Marseille
Responded Aug 13, 2021
Hi Anna, Thanks for your feedback, I regret we coudn't speack together before you left. Unfortunatly due to the covid we have to apply more rules and for sure it's less friendly than usual. I'm glad you found breakfast of the Mama like your memory. I'm really sorry for the delay of your grandsons room. I immedially intervened with my housekeeping manager. I hope you will give a new chance to Mama shelter and I will be very happy to welcome you personally. I wish you a lovely week end. Loic / General Manager
Read more
Job_Adam wrote a review Jul 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands140 contributions97 helpful votes
We enjoyed this hotel although you see that they didn't put much love in the hotel. The bathroom was wrongly design because the closet where the sink is was standing next to the toilet so you could not sit on it on normal way. In room 315 one of the powerlets switch of with the light. And in the interior design you saw many quick solutions and the floor are really intense and our design style. So it felt as a IBIS quality with experience of a nice bar/restaurant. And a friendly and hip staff. The area is great. So we would come back but you should accept this.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from LOIC LASTAPIS, Directeur général at Mama Shelter Marseille
Responded Jul 31, 2021
Hi Job Adam, Thanks a lot for your feedback, I'm disappointed you didn't like the design of our hotel. Nevertheless, I'm happy you enjoyed the area and the staff of the Mama. We hope to see you back very soon with us. Mama wish you a beautifull summer. Loic / General Manager
Read more
Raul S wrote a review Mar 2020
Santiago, Chile6 contributions7 helpful votes
I visited Marseille twice for vacation in February 2020. Both times at stayed at Mama Shelter. The second one because I enjoyed the first one. The hotel has very good rooms with good natural light. Clean bathrooms with strong water pressure in the shower. Breakfast with a large variety of options in a great setting. The room is alñso a bar at night where you can have a light meal or just cocktails. The hotel is close to Cours Julien which has nice restaurants with tables on the square. To go to the Vieux Port you can either walk (about half an hour at regular pace) or take the metro at Notre Dame du Mont. I recommend the hotel if you want a Marseille experience outside the regular tourist spots, but close to them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from AXEL DE MEGILLE, Directeur général at Mama Shelter Marseille
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Hello Raul, Thank you so much for your reviews and thank you for coming back ! It’s a pleasure to have you here ! Mama Shelter’s priority is the comfort of the guest. We want you to have the best stay even if you stay one night 😉 About the food, everything is home made, Mama loves to cook ! If you come to Mama Shelter, it’s to get off the beaten track and we love that ! Don’t hesitate to comeback or try an another Mama. Paris, London, Prague ? We are all over the world !!
Read more
dax j wrote a review Sep 2019
nowhere287 contributions106 helpful votes
First of all, am big fan of mama shelter stay regularly at the hotel in Bordeaux and also have stayed in Lyon On this occasion we only visited for drinks and dinner It’s a good 20 minute walk from the vieux port, fine for us. Restaurant/ bar all looks lovely, as usual great cocktails We wanted to have dinner, I for the chicken and my partner asked about burgers, but were informed that burgers only a lunch time option I find it strange that a hotel restaurant would turn away paying customers because it’s now the evening and not the daytime - there was no ‘I’ll go and ask for the chef’ it was just a no - there was no customers at the bar and only a few at dinner - so no-one was really rushed off their feet I feel it’s time for this chain to get with the modern world and give paying customers what they want Shame really as we walked back to the vieux port area and went to a great place for dinner with numerous burger options - something that mama shelter could have done really Don’t think we’ll be back Great cocktails though !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
zerodosage wrote a review Jul 2019
United Kingdom98 contributions67 helpful votes
comfortable rooms, which have good showers and high-quality linen, it's a shame the staff are snotty and rude. Will return, but I will need to brace myself for the attitude. The bar is pleasant, I didn't try the food there but it the restaurant seemed popular.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Alarico Greco wrote a review May 2019
San Savino, Italy15 contributions332 helpful votes
Very good breakfast, not only in terms of food, the variety and quality of which was very high, but in terms of the ambience of the room where it was served. The rooms were very cleverly designed for their small space, with high tech automations. We were travelling by car and the garage was very good and spacious.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
37 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$113 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurBouches-du-RhoneMarseille
NUMBER OF ROOMS
125
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mama Shelter Marseille
Which popular attractions are close to Mama Shelter Marseille?
Nearby attractions include Real Escape Room - Escape Game Marseille (0.3 miles), L'Art de la Fromagerie (0.3 miles), and Terre Ludique (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mama Shelter Marseille?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mama Shelter Marseille?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mama Shelter Marseille?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mama Shelter Marseille?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mama Shelter Marseille?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chez Ida, Chez Nous, and Chez Didier et Brigitte.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mama Shelter Marseille?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mama Shelter Marseille offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mama Shelter Marseille?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Mama Shelter Marseille?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Palais du Pharo (1.5 miles), Palais Longchamp (1.0 miles), and Château d'If (0.8 miles).
Does Mama Shelter Marseille have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.