We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
36 boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille France
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
FindHotel
$186
View deal
Expedia.com$207
Priceline
Destinia.com$212
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1501)
Room & Suite (604)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 03/15/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Updated 03/15/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 143 hotels in Marseille
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.0
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Ideally located at the heart of France's oldest port city, this hotel is a stopover between the Riviera, the Camargue and Lubéron,and a short boat ride away from the Château d'If on its famous island setting and the Calanques. Near La Canebière, the hotel offers an exceptional view over the Vieux-Port. In the evenings, relax in the cozy atmosphere of the Dantès Skylounge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more
Hotel links
Special Deal:Free breakfast with your stay
3226Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,883
  • 796
  • 342
  • 120
  • 85
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Simon F wrote a review Sep 2022
Amalfi, Italy493 contributions278 helpful votes
This area (the Old Port) is truly lovely and the Sofitel with the next door Novotel have a superb location. Our room has a stunning balcony with table chairs and 2 sunbeds with a view over the Port to die for, the room was very well furnished too. Concierge and housekeeping were the true highlights of this hotel. The Spa facilities are ok but they mention swimming pool which is just a large jacuzzi which is nice but you cannot swim. In my experience the French have amazing hotels but they are badly managed. For instance they took 150 Euro per day "damages" when I arrived but this had never been mentioned during the booking process. Mmmm. Then the lady Manager refused to release this deposit despite them having the room prepaid PLUS my credit card details for any "damages". Grrr. The front desk seem to me totally incompetent which is a shame as the hotel is lovely and works very well, apart from them! I have stayed many times in France and I love France, but I do not rate their manages at all.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I had room 227 which was super with a view of the Port.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Fred V wrote a review Oct 2020
Machelen, Belgium9 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
Beautiful location and service on top ! My first choice when I’m going to Marseille. Love it so much The room are great especially with view on the « vieux Port » Thanks at all the Sofitel Vieux port for making the stay a perfect moment.... Fred
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
jh23303 wrote a review Sep 2022
Swindon, United Kingdom40 contributions43 helpful votes
Arrived and the front desk ignored me for quite a while. When I did get served it was very slow. Room was very plain and not what you see in the photos (see photo of my view). Breakfast NOT included which is shocking, what's even worse is charging 30 euro for it each morning! AC did not work (essentially a glorified fan). House keeping was nice and it was clean. Not 5*. Oh and they take 150 euro per night as a deposit per room which makes you overdrawn. Be warned.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Trip09068528740 wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Great location great staff just first class. The staff at this hotel made a memorable visit to Marseille even better, the food at the restaurant and at breakfast was also very good. The location made for easy access to many of the sites highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Emeline Roudier, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, What a wonderful feedback as yours ! Thank you so much for taking the time to share it with us. We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay in Marseille with us and will follow up your encouragements with our Ambassadors' Team. Hoping to get the pleasure to welcome you back in our establishment. Best regards, Emeline Roudier Quality & Guest Experience Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peggy wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Short holiday with my adult daughter & we wanted to have an enjoyable few days. Overall this hotel has very nice staff, comfortable beds and great views from bar & restaurant. The spa access was ok but not in our opinion excellent- we enjoyed a reasonably large hydro pool, steam room and sauna. Only one shower was working properly and the other was the one that had no soap/shampoo the first day. We were expecting more from the spa access such as an aromatherapy room, various showers with jets and some juice and fruit plus a relaxation room. However, the outside seating was nice, & there is a gym with various machines if you wish to workout. The hotel is a little out of town and you do have to pass some homeless people on the way which is a little uncomfortable especially for females travelling alone. Our room was spacious with very comfortable beds and tea and coffee free. However the water bottles were not complimentary. We arrived late our first evening due to a flight delay & complimentary water would have been very welcome, but only tea and coffee seems free in the hotel room, water is €6 for a 500ml bottle. We had cocktails and tapas on the rooftop that first evening; cocktails varying from €15 to €22. The breakfast the following 2 mornings was nice but expensive. Breakfast is a great display of food but food is not very hot eg French toast is cold and has to be reheated which doesn’t really work. The fruit, granola and bread is lovely. We mentioned that we would have to miss breakfast on our final morning due to flight times & rather than be told that a little take away cold breakfast would be made up ( breakfast was included in our stay) we were advised that we could look at room service. We walked to our sightseeing destinations and the hotel is about 10-15 min walk to bars and restaurants and 30 -40min to museums etc. We had dinner on our final evening in the hotel brasserie. Dinner is expensive and a bottle of wine starts at €35. We arrived early at circa 6pm after a rain downpour & we got our dinner promptly. We lingered over our bottle of wine only to be told a short while later that the table was reserved! There were only 4-5 couples in the brasserie! We advised the very nice waitress that we were not told when we arrived that we would have to vacate the table by a certain time & she had to call the more senior waiter who did not argue. This, however put a dampener and sour note to our final evening. Is the experience worth €300? Probably not unfortunately. For us the spa, the final night dinner and the special individual touches just didn’t make the grade. Nice but not exceptional. Mary
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emeline Roudier, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Y8539QWpeggy, We thank you for this detailed feedback and are really sorry to read your mixed feeling about the experience you had with us. Indeed the quality of service you are mentionning does not reflect what you had the right to expect from us. Moreover this does not reflect the quality of service usually emphasized by our guests. So please accept our deepest apologizes and be sure your feedbacks will be shared with the team in order to improve the mentionned elements. Hoping to get the opportunity to better serve you in a near futur... Best regards, Emeline ROUDIER Quality & Guest Experience Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Camille K wrote a review Aug 2022
New York City, New York59 contributions38 helpful votes
Super nice room with a great view of the port and its boats. Big tub, large super comfy bed, and nice ammenities. The restaurant on the rooftop serves a delicious and generous breakfast (although it’s a tad overpriced at 29€), with a splendid view of Marseille
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Emeline Roudier, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Responded Aug 25, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction with us. We are really pleased and proud to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopping to get the pleasure to welcome you back for another stay in Marseille ! Best regards, Emeline ROUDIER Quality & Guest Experience Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aranka Sofocleous wrote a review Aug 2022
Larnaka City, Cyprus55 contributions44 helpful votes
I can’t say how much we enjoyed it It’s just amazing all what you can see I am a bit disappointed on how clean the street are Hopefully they are going to manage that… But yes I would visit again And hoping next time will be a different Hope tha some of the advisors will be honest like me and it will count because it’s shame for some mistakes not to go back again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emeline Roudier, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Dear ArankaS270377, Thank you so much for this message ! You can't imagine how we feel heartwarmed and deeply moved by your feedback. We are really proud to let you a such memory of your stay with us and really do hope to get the pleasure to welcome you back at Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port. Best regards, Emeline ROUDIER Quality & Guest Experience Director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JerSan05 wrote a review Aug 2022
Mill Valley, California41 contributions54 helpful votes
after a week of exploring southern France by Bike, we stayed at this property for a few nights. Incredibly attentive staff, made our recovery and relaxation perfect. Very accommodating and wonderful rooms. But I have ot say, while the rooms were very nice, it was the staff, who made all the difference.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emeline Roudier, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Dear JerSan05, Thank you so much for your feedback. Such a message is the best reward we can receive and it will be shared with our team. PS : Hoping you enjoyed your swimming session and that it was a relaxing time after your bike ride !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JJbydc wrote a review Jul 2022
San Francisco, California59 contributions88 helpful votes
The hotel is very well located in the quiet part of Vieux-Port. The terrace bar, rooftop restaurant and the room all have gorgeous view of the port and more. We also walked to many sites and restaurants from the hotel. The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. Would love to stay here again. Highly Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Emeline Roudier, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Responded Jul 29, 2022
Dear Guest, It is such a great pleasure to receive a feedback as yours ! On the behalf on the Team, please receive our sincerest thanks. It would be really fantastic to welcome you back for a futur stay with us. In this case, do not hesitate to contact me directly by e-mail, I would be very proud to arrange your stay. Best regards, Emeline Roudier Quality & Guest Experience Director emeline.roudier@sofitel.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bernard G wrote a review Jul 2022
5 contributions3 helpful votes
A fabulous reception and overall great service! Love the affiliation/access to CNM! Swimming in the Mediterranean a great benefit! Spa services are also very nice! Dinning with spectacular views everywhere!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Emeline Roudier, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Responded Jul 29, 2022
Dear Bernard G, Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback. We are really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and really do hope to get the pleasure to welcome you back for a next stay. In this case, do not hesitate to contact me directly by e-mail : It would be my pleasure to arrange your stay at Sofitel Marseille Vieux Port. Best regards, Emeline Roudier Quality & Guest Experience Director emeline.roudier@sofitel.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$197 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sofitel marseille vieux-port hotel marseille, marseille sofitel
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurBouches-du-RhoneMarseille
NUMBER OF ROOMS
134
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port
Which popular attractions are close to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port?
Nearby attractions include Palais du Pharo (0.1 miles), Mucem (0.3 miles), and Musée des Docks Romains (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port?
Conveniently located restaurants include Au Bout Du Quai, Nestou, and Restaurant Michel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port have airport transportation?
Yes, Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Marseille.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sofitel Marseille Vieux-Port?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.