We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

New Hotel Saint Charles

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
New Hotel Saint Charles
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for New Hotel Saint Charles
See the most recent reviews
Showing 123: English reviews
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

The hotel is in a very good location - walking distance to the port and also to the train station. We paid 16o Euros for two nights over Easter which was good. Nevertheless, I think there could be a little bit more attention to detail - no clean tables in an empty breakfast room, depending on time not sooo nice... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank amtraveller2016
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

We stayed here for one night and got eaten alive by bed bugs. The bites didn't start to come up until the flight home so it was too late to complain. The bites took about 10 days to clear up which was bad enough, but now we are worried that we may have brought them back to our house! I've... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M

Travelers are raving about these Marseille hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2016

My partner booked this hotel by mistake,but it was not a bad one after all. The receptionist were nice for the few days we spent there. Everything was clean. The bath had no plug but that was fixed when we told the receptionist. Its just walking distance from the train station and also few minutes from tram and bus stops.... More 

Helpful?
Thank annalC8538AS
JL_De_Bodisko, Directeur général at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are really glad that you appreciate our hotel. See you soon! More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

This is a nice hotel in a very handy position, just 5 minutes walk from the station and 10 minutes to the old harbour. It's not luxurious but it is finished to a good standard. Rooms are smallish, but well organised and they are quiet. The staff are friendly and helpful. The only negative for me was that the wifi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian L
JL_De_Bodisko, Directeur général at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We take note about your remarks. See you soon! More 

Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

This is a, you get what you pay for hotel. A colleague had chosen this hotel based on price, so I booked it without looking at it. I was pleasantly surprised. It is isn't in the best location, but it's not bad. Pretty central and only a few minutes walk to the harbour etc. The rooms are reasonably well equipped.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mattbradney
JL_De_Bodisko, Directeur général at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We take note about your remarks. See you soon! More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Located within walking distance of a train station, restaurants, shops and the port. Reception staff were ok and there was also a computer and printer in the lobby that guests were able to use for free. Perhaps the room was a pricey for what you get, but room was clean and bed was fine.

Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
Steven_Bak, Directeur général at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment Katherine. We are really happy to read that you appreciate your stay. We hope to see you soon in Marseilles. More 

Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Cheap hotel not far from the port area, sadly to get there you need to cross shady neighbourhood (wouldn't recommend for single female travellers). The front desk have problems with paperwork, they didn't know whether they charged me or not after some pushing and pulling it was sorted out. Rooms are allright for the price, bathroom a bit worse. Average!

Helpful?
Thank Bartek S
Steven_Bak, Directeur at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We apologize for your bad experience in our hotel. We fully respect your point of view, however, we can assure you that the district of our hotel is not dangerous. It's a popular district with a great police station really close. Best regards. More 

Marseille, France
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

Very poor, this hotel is not even worth 1 ⭐️ We were very disappointed. I don't know how people could pay this price? 85£!! The location is dangerous too. I guess the pictures will tell you more about it. Thank god we left for a better place for the second night, we've been refunded but the receptionist didn't even questioned... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamgordy91
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We apologize for your bad experience in our hotel. We fully respect your point of view, however, we can assure you that the district of our hotel is not dangerous. It's a popular district with a great police station really close. Best regards. More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

Stayed here for a few days on vacation. The best thing I can say is the location. Otherwise, I'm not impressed. And btw: when I say location is good - I really don't know what I'm talking about. The bus/train station is right near by, and the harbour is about 10 min walk. It was difficult to decide what was... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnitaK76
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are sorry that you didn't like your stay in Marseilles. As you know maybe, NewHotel is a group of 10 hotels of 3* and 4* in Marseilles, Paris and Brussels. Therefore, we hope to see you soon in Paris or Brussels for a better experience in our hotels. More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

Terrible hotel, weak wifi, aircon doesn't work, lift is so tiny, staff are rude and worst of all rooms are infested with bed bugs. Area is very dangerous and full of rough locals who will follow you home and try to steal from you if you're not alert, happened to my twice in week stay ended up dressing poorly to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy J
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Mandy, first of all, we apologize for your bad experience in our hotel. Bugs are a bane in hospitality and we treat them as soon as they appear. We'll be happy to welcome you for your next trip in Marseille in our hotels NEWHOTEL. Best regards. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (117)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Hotel balladins Marseille Gare
#100 of 127 in Marseille
3.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Préfecture
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
#63 of 127 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Préfecture
Kyriad Marseille Centre - Paradis - Prefecture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern hotel with comfortable accommodations; multilingual staff; located in the downtown area; 25 km from Provence MRS airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Hotel Saint Charles

Address: 4 allee Leon Gambetta, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Price Range: $56 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your New Hotel Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay