We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:This business is temporarily closed until 2/9/23
Save
Share
route de Murs, 84220, Gordes France
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19 and is temporarily closed until 02/09/2023.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Cozy Winter 30% discount
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (480)
Room & Suite (102)
Dining (80)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#10 of 23 hotels in Gordes
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Welcome to this new haven of peace and resources, in the heart of the Luberon, in the picturesque village of Gordes classed “Most beautiful village of France”. The Petit Palais d’Aglaë offers comfortable inside and outside lounges, a beautiful restaurant room allowing to welcome up to 28 guests who will taste an organic cuisine, a swimming pool embellished by an outside bar, a magnificent garden sprinkled with napping and meditation areas, and a SPA with outside massage areas. The Petit Palais d’Aglaë suggests 16 rooms, all with almost unreal views, depending on the season, over the Luberon, the Alpilles and the village of Roussillon. The SPA, “Les Moments de Thalie”, brings an extra touch of calm and serenity to the location around natural products. Particular activities: A cinema, a “petanque” court, electric bicycle rentals with the colours of the Petit Palais d’Aglaë, a calendar of annual events.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Water park offsite
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Rate:Cozy Winter 30% discount
573Reviews6Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 349
  • 153
  • 48
  • 16
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MrsNopper wrote a review Oct 2022
Cranbrook, Canada4 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
Hands down one of my all-time favorite finds! We stayed here for 4 nights this month and everything was perfect! The rooms are individual little gems, each boasting their own unique personality. Ours was spacious, luxurious and quiet with a balcony providing the most glorious views of the Luberon Valley. Food was outstanding, service was top-notch! We can't wait to return again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aglaé Gordes, Propriétaire at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé
Responded Oct 25, 2022
Dear Sir, Dear Madam, All of the staff of Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé would like to warmly thank you for this magnificent score of 100% and that you were kind enough to share your opinion with our readers. We do our very best during a guest stay to ensure that it is a magical one. We try to be attentive to your needs and to the quality of the services that we offer. We are always delighted to read that this was the case for you ! We hope that our beautiful village charmed you as well and would be delighted to welcome you back to Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé for yet another unforgettable stay. With our very Best Regards, The Direction
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jules H wrote a review Jun 2022
Grittleton, United Kingdom9 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed here for three nights in June on a cycling trip - our second visit to the hotel! The booking had to be amended at short notice due to Covid and the hotel could not have been more accommodating - a good start! Our stay was first class - incredibly helpful staff (special mention for Steve, Mathieu and Valentine - the names I can remember but they are all lovely) with very comfortable rooms and delicious food and drink. Our return flight was then cancelled and the hotel could not have been more helpful in arranging a taxi to get us to Avignon and liaising with Europcar. If you haven't been here before you will be assured of a warm welcome, excellent service in an amazing location. In fact the only downside is that of you are riding a bike to the hotel and coming from the south, it's all uphill to get there (but I can't blame them for that)! In short, if you stay here you won't be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aglaé Gordes, Propriétaire at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé
Responded Jun 28, 2022
Dear Sir, All of the staff of Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé would like to warmly thank you for this magnificent score of 100% and that you were kind enough to share your opinion with our readers. We do our very best during a guest stay to ensure that it is a magical one. We try to be attentive to your needs and to the quality of the services that we offer. We are always delighted to read that this was the case for you. We feel glad you came home safely after all the troubles with the airplane! We hope that our beautiful village charmed you as well and would be delighted to welcome you back to Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé for yet another unforgettable stay. With our very Best Regards, The Direction
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark L wrote a review Jun 2022
New York City, New York127 contributions80 helpful votes
Hotel was very well located in Provence. Food was off the charts. Every meal was better than Le Cirque in NYC. Room was spacious & well attended. I’d adopt any member of the staff or all of them. Service was beyond solicitous. Gordes itself was charming. Had to convince wife not to chain herself the bed and be left here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Réservation Hôtel Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé, Propriétaire at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé
Responded Jun 5, 2022
Dear Sir, All of the staff of Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé would like to warmly thank you for this magnificent score of 100% and that you were kind enough to share your opinion with our readers. We do our very best during a guest stay to ensure that it is a magical one. We try to be attentive to your needs and to the quality of the services that we offer. We are always delighted to read that this was the case for you. We feel very flattered of your lovely comments on all of our staff, the comparison of our restaurant to Le Cirque, we would definitely welcome you another time with pleasure for an unforgettable stay! With our very Best Regards, The Direction
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CLMoo7 wrote a review May 2022
Chesham, United Kingdom41 contributions17 helpful votes
A disappointing overnight stay. Being 1.6km out of town and as guests, we anticipated some provision to be made to allow us to eat in the restaurant. Unlike a previous hotel, no effort was made to accommodate us, although reception did attempt to book a table in town. The walk was not welcome after cycling up to the hotel earlier. Our corridor had an unpleasant odour, whilst the shower looked fancy with all its nozzles, but had no water pressure. The photos all looked lovely, but style over substance definitely comes to mind. The only saving grace was a good breakfast, on a beautiful terrace, which included GF bread. If any response is forthcoming from the hotel, I trust it will address the matters raised and not be a standard cut and paste.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: You need to book dinner.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Réservation Hôtel Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé, Propriétaire at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé
Responded Jun 5, 2022
Dear Madame, Sir, The staff of Le Petit Palais d’Aglaé is sincerely sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your responses are essential to the evolution of the services that we provide in the hotel. We are always invested in the small touches to make the day of our clients. It is always a disappointment to read when a guest stay was not as good as it possibly could be. We remain surprised that you felt like the staff made no efforts to welcome you in our restaurant, as we send you confirmations e-mails to remind you that you need to book the restaurant so that such unpleasant events do not happen, as we have very few tables in our restaurant. As you raided, we provided help to book a restaurant on the village, so it seems the reception made efforts to accomodate you as much as possible. We also feel sorry that you didn't bring up any problem at the reception so we could help. We also never had any comments or issue due to water pressure. We hope that you were, at the very least, able to enjoy your time visiting the city of Gordes and villages nearby, Best regards, The Direction
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stuart R wrote a review May 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom37 contributions17 helpful votes
The hotel was situated in beautiful village of Gordes. It had some good points. Great setting and view. Lovely breakfast. Lovely pool with loads of beds. However downsides. We were in room 1 and it had a terrible damp smell. This was witnessed by all the couples in our group. When I mentioned at reception they seemed to be aware of it and explained it due to the weather. However it was a really strong smell. The staff we’re fine but not as welcoming as previous hotels
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Réservation Hôtel Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé, Propriétaire at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé
Responded May 28, 2022
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are deeply disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. The staff at Le Petit Palais d’Aglaé is always doing our best to offer our guests the most enjoyable stay possible. We remain at your disposal if you would like to communicate with us directly concerning your response. We hold dearly that all of our guests leave satisfied with their stay with us. We are always open to hearing suggestions so that the hotel can improve day by day. We are truly sorry to read that nothing was to your liking. We hope to be able to welcome you again to prove that our hotel is a magical stop during any trip in Provence. Hoping that you retain fond memories of our beautiful medieval city, With our Best Regards, The Direction
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DWD26 wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom345 contributions131 helpful votes
The hotel is located in a stunning location just outside of Gordes and overall we had an great stay. The staff were friendly throughout and always available to answer questions. The room itself had a fantastic view and was comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and there were a variety of things including pastries, hams, cheese, yoghurts, fruit salad and eggs. There were only a few downsides which did not detract too much. The wi-fi was poor in the room, frequently having no connection to the internet, so don't bother trying to stream any Netflix (there is a cinema room you can book and borrow DVDs from the reception). The spa is limited to a infra-red sauna and a jacuzzi, both were nice but it was confusing how the system worked as the person manning the spa did not speak any English. The restaurant in the hotel was also a tad disappointing, the presentation was excellent but the flavours were lacking, for €65 per person we should eaten in one of the many good restaurants in town. Gordes is beautiful so I would definitely return to the hotel, with the only difference that we would eat out in town.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Réservation Hôtel Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé, Propriétaire at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé
Responded Apr 12, 2022
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We send our warm thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with our readers. It is always a moment of success for the team to read such positive comments as yours. We try to pay attention to the smallest details so that each client at Le Petit Palais d’Aglaé **** has an unforgettable stay. It is delightful to know that our beautiful historical building and your experience were to your tastes. We are disappointed to read that some details stay did not meet your expectations. The staff at the Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé is invested 100% to offer our guests an unforgettable stay. We are sorry to read that certain issues perturbed the enjoyment of your stay with us. We are always open to hearing suggestions that can improve our services. We hope that you retain fond memories of our beautiful village as well. We would be delighted to welcome you once again at Le Petit Palais d’Aglaé. Best regards, The Direction
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
goodone_417 wrote a review Aug 2020
Germany163 contributions148 helpful votes
This place is just gorgeous! The location: What a grea view over the valley, couldn‘t be better. The pool: Spacious and good for a dip or a swim. Plenty of sunloungers around the pool or on different levels of the entire hotel area, perfect for a quiet and relaxed time. The staff: Everyone is super friendly and attentive and they really care about you. The restaurant: Excellent food, great chef!! The rooms: Comfy bed! Good A/C and everything is clean and well maintained. Also: The hotel is dog friendly, they love dogs, so dont hesitate to bring yours. Clearly 5/5 and we‘ll definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah Lauferon, Propriétaire at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé
Responded Aug 21, 2020
Dear goodone_417, Thank you for your nice comments, we are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was our pleasure ! We appreciate your recommandations a lot and we are waiting to be welcoming you again very soon ! Sincerely yours, Your reception team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adele M wrote a review Nov 2019
11 contributions24 helpful votes
A great place tucked away in the hills. This is set in a beautiful rural setting with beautiful views everywhere you look. There is a lovely pool with plenty of sunbeds and a few beanbags to chill out on. It is quite pink though! The pool could probably have done with a clean as there were a few leaves floating about but this could be because it had been windy and they had blown off the trees, some of the towelling sunbed covers are looking a bit shabby with the sun bleaching them but they do give you clean hotel towels and they will cover this. There is also plenty of outdoor seating with sofas too! We came out of season so it was fairly quite. We stayed in a beautiful room, the bed was really comfortable, they have colourful throws on the bed but I think it looks better without them as there is lovely white bedding underneath, the room has a separate toilet and bathroom, considering the room is so traditional the bathroom is really modern with his and hers sinks and a big walk in shower and comfy bathrobes. There was a lovely surprise when walking through the glass doors into what I would describe as a little conservatory with panoramic views. We had a cool day and chilled in here with a book, it was lovely and warm. The only down side is there is just a pink voile curtain so not very private. There is a spa facility with massage, however, we were out of season and no therapist was available. We had a game of boules instead!!! The hotel has electric bikes which we used to cycle to the village and the surround areas. We cycled into the village one evening for dinner but everywhere was closed, restaurants close quite early so make sure you're eating by 8pm! We had nowhere to eat one night and the lovely man on night reception got us some breads and cheeses which we ate around the fire whilst playing a game of chess! On leaving the hotel, however, we were charged Euro 30 for 2 little plates of cheese and left over bread which we thought was a bit pricey! We had a meal in the village with a cheese board for this price! The dining area is really lovely (you eat here for breakfast and dinner) there is lovely roaring fire in the evening to sit around! We didn't have dinner here, we looked at the menu and it is quite a la carte, so don't expect anything too simple. Breakfast is intimate with lovely homemade cakes Randomly, there is a small cinema room here; you just need to book with reception! Our experience with the staff was mixed, on the whole they are friendly. I was ill on our first night and just wanted some soup, the chef was very willing to make this but the manager didn't seem to want him to make it, to so I did without. On the whole a lovely place for a getaway. See my full video review on youtube, look for 'Hôtel Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé, Gordes, France, #hotelreview'
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from lepetitpalaisdAglae, Réception at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé
Responded Nov 5, 2019
Dear guest, We thank you four your detailed comments, we are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Petit Palais d'Aglaé, it was our pleasure ! Like you said you went out of the season, so it would have been easier to plann massages at least 48h before, in order to arrange an appointment (one therapist was off duty). Your reception team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mitch0872 wrote a review Oct 2019
Braunschweig, Germany1 contribution
Excellent Hotel but not suitable with small kids - Restaurant has no kids menue or dishes for kids. My daugter do not like snails, truffles or fish. So we could not eat dinner in the hotel and had to search another restaurant.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anne wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Terrible stay and unfriendly staff. Will NOT recommend. Unfortunately, my friend and I were terribly disappointed about our stay. The hotel does not reach the luxury experience expected for a 4 star - AT ALL. A few things to know about it if you dare booking there! THE ROOM - No wifi - or very limited when working - The rooms are very small with no wardrobe in some - We were offered a room child beds and had to ask to change rooms in order to fit in - Second room was fully pink with terrible and inconvenient lighting (fully bright or too dark...) THE SERVICE: - Unfriendly - Unprofessional at times - Not welcoming THE POOL - Pool itself is not being cleaned (there were leafs in it) and the pool area is a weird mix of pink unapealing and sad looking sofa beds, plastic yellow tables and some funky furniture which looks like second hand and do not fit all together. - Overall terrible - there was even a brown-ish carpet which seems older than cathedral in town! THE SPA Unexistant - there is only one masseuse so we could not have a massage booked together NO SPA - just a hammam which closes at 5pm THE RESTAURANT - The "gastronomic" menu was badly printed with ink fading and presented with mistakes... (for a menu worth 90euros!!!) - Poor atmosphere - Old looking and sad decor - VERY expensive
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Rooms are really disappointing - terrible experience
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from lepetitpalaisdAglae, Réception at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé
Responded Oct 12, 2019
Dear customer, We are very surprised about your comments ... First we do apologies for the wifi, wich may be limited sometimes, we are in the countryside and this is why things donnot work like it does in the village. Some of our rooms are tiny but we provide other kinds of rooms as well. We cannot accept your position about the service, every one is dedicated to our guests, and all of them are satisfied. Our guests satisfaction is our goal so it does not sound right. Your comments about the pool is surprising as well. May we remind you that most of the trees let their leafs down in automn season ? Yesterday was windy and we cannot send someone to run after every leaf. The Petit Palais d'Aglaé is a small unit of 16 rooms, 1 masseuse in low season is enough. We provide 2 masseuses in high season then, but the second was on holidays. You were given several opportunies but none of them were satisfying. The restaurant provide a "Menu Degustation" at 90€, but you have several opportunities, either our 3 courses menu at 65€ or half board menu at 50€. What you identified as ink fading is a special effect, and the poor atmosphere was really poor friday night with trumpeter M. Berody and yesterday saturday night with Gianni DJ ! All the restaurant friendly staff is looking foward to your reservation, you may then be able to give your feeling (no music tonight we are sorry in advance). We remind you that you can find the hotel description everywhere in social medias, so colors and fourniture (nearly brand new - we opened 3 years ago) cannot be changed for each guest. May we add we would have prefered to talk directly with you about all this, this is not fair from you. With our best regards. Your Reception Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$131 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurVaucluseLuberonGordes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LE PETIT PALAIS D'AGLAE - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Gordes, France)

Frequently Asked Questions about Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé
Which popular attractions are close to Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé?
Nearby attractions include Art Gallery Contemporary Tapiezo (4.7 miles), Le Sentier des Ocres (4.8 miles), and Vieille Ville de Gordes (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'Outsider, Le Carillon, and Auberge de la Bartavelle.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, locker rooms available in the fitness center, and yoga classes during their stay.
Is Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Gordes.
Are any cleaning services offered at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Le Petit Palais d'Aglaé?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.