We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture

Official Site$87*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were moved to the Jay, which had just reopened after renovation, due to over-booking at another Happy Culture hotel. A good move as The Jay is only two blocks from the beach and within easy walking distance from the main shopping and restaurant streets. The rooms were very nicely renovated, clean and quiet. We took advantage of the free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ira N
Camille T, Responsable relations clients at The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Ira, We thank you for your nice comment. All of our Happy Culture hotels are your hotels therefore, we are glad to hear you felt at home in The Jay and in addition savored all the amenities we offer: Nespresso machine and soon the Happy Time, a whiskey tasting starting from 18 to 20 hours every day. Best regards...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was looking for a nice and warm place to stay with my family and "The Jay" has been a great choice! Very kind and helpful team working at the reception, rooms very well cleaned and a really beautiful location!! All of these in a perfect position, steps from the beach and from the city center!! I will stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank niqueunique
Camille T, Responsable relations clients at The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Niqueunique, We would like to thank you for the lovely comment towards our staff and our hotel, it was a pleasure to receive your family during your holidays on the French Riviera. Your comments are very important for us to strive a great service. Once again thank you for choosing us and we will be thrilled to have you...

Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has great potential. It is quite recently renovated and the location near the beach and shopping streets is nice. But the little details let you down. For instance, in the bathroom they have bars of soap but no dish to put them in. There is no shower curtain but a shower screen made of glass which is way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erja S
Camille T, Responsable relations clients at The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Erja, Thank you for taking time to share your experience. You were one of our first guests after the reopening and I am sorry you found some details pending from our new equipment, such as the furniture, the kitchen appliances, etc… Thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Nice and we hope you visit us in...

Auburn, Australia
Reviewed January 26, 2016

location is great and close to main shops and beach but the room was older and needed maintenance, sofa bed was not comfortable at ALL had a sore back luckily we only stayed in nice for 3days! staff were nice but not friendly enough to help us choose our daily activities the city was breathtaking and when i do return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoubeyda H
Bushey, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

We were visiting the city for a wedding over long weekend. Admittedly we didn't spend a great deal of time in the room due to exploring and attending wedding events. The room utilised space well. We opened thet door into the kitchen, the bathroom was the door on the right and the bedroom/lounge was the door to the left. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
Reviewed October 28, 2015

location is fine ,close to the beach and restaurants. the people in the hotel were very friendly the price is convenient, but the rooms are old and a bit shabby I would not recommend this hotel, everything was old, beds were not very comfortable

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yvonne V
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile

The front desk was friendly... but the property is old and needs renovation esp the kitchen and bathroom. The unit even had a weird layout because the toilet is separate from the bathroom- and this can be inconvenient. We had issues with the towels as well. We didn't use them because they were not the crisp white you will usually...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Camille T, Gérant at The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Mr Anonymous, I am deeply sorry your stay did not satisfy you. Though the kitchens and bathrooms have been renovated 2 years ago, and the towels are cleaned buy a specialized company serving the hôtels of Nice, changing for new towel quite often, delivered in plastic bags, also we check them when we put it in your room, I...

Englefield Green, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 5, 2015 via mobile

First thing to say to root this in context is I came on business during a very busy period. Not sure if that had an effect but for what was paid for the room the facilities were a joke. The room I suppose was not bad but the bed was poor with wafer thin pillows. Again shower per se nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick D
Camille T, Gérant at The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Mr Nick, I am sorry the rate was not in adequation with what you would have expected. Unfortunatly twice a year Nice is crowded with congress and events that makes the rooms rare and more expensive at that moment. Do not hesitate to come visit Nice during the low season, then the rates are more interresting. Again I am...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed September 13, 2015

We were traveling with another couple and had a one night layover in Nice. Their room didn't have a bed. The key wouldn't work for ours. We were moved to a room that had a bed thankfully. Seems like it needs an upgrade but even a bed would be an improvement.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve G
Camille T, Gérant at The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Mr Steeve, Thank you for sharing your experience, though I do not understand when you say there was no bed in the room... We do have beds or sofa bed in our studios and appartments... Could you come to me to be more precise maybe? I am sorry your stop in Nice did not meet your expectations, and I...

Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed August 11, 2015

The service was great, the staff was very helpful and nice. The location was good and the room was nice. Our only disappointment was the sofabed, that had a gap between the two beds (and is therefore not a double bed).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LiveNy
Camille T, Directeur général at The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Livny, Thank you for sharing your experience. It is always a pleasure to help our guest to improve their stay. I am sorry your bedding did not correspond to you expectations. We do have twin studios, but also double studios, please do not hesitate next time to ask us a room change, we would have been happy to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Lamartine
#91 of 204 in Nice
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#86 of 204 in Nice
92 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#93 of 204 in Nice
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Jay Hotel is located in the Niçois Golden Square, just a few meters from the Promenade des Anglais. It is just a few minutes away from the Palais des Congres Acropolis and the Palais des Expositions. The Jay is an ideal base point for discovering the attractions of the French Riviera's capital city. The Jay Hotel is an invitation to dive in the crazy of the Roaring Twenties. Worthy of Nice, the hotel pays tribute to elegance and Art-Déco of the 20's. The establishment offers 38 apartments on 5 floors, including 23 Studios for 2 guests and 15 One-Bedroom apartments where can sleep up to 4 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture

Address: 21 Rue Meyerbeer, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Résidence Coeur de City Buffa Nice)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Price Range: $120 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Nice Buffa Hotel Nice
Citadines Hotel Nice
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Nice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Jay Hotel by HappyCulture staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“DO NOT take the basement room!!!”
MSnyc2014, Jun 7, 2015 | Read review
“the studio rooms are fold out beds, not great for people with bad backs”
319katc, May 31, 2015 | Read review
“Better furnished rooms.”
RickB934, May 30, 2015 | Read review
“5th floor, less traffic noise. Although this is usual for Nice!”
normane83, May 14, 2015 | Read review
“Choose the 5th floor. Less noise from outside.”
966bhaveshs, May 10, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Official Site
$87* /night
View Deal
AMOMA$183
Agoda.com
Hotwire.com$97
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates