We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
50 Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice France
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$79
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/22
Booking.com
$73
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/22
Lol.travel
$64
View deal
Hotels.com$79
Priceline$70
ZenHotels.com$114
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (672)
Room & Suite (224)
Dining (51)

About

#91 of 213 hotels in Nice
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
3.7
GreenLeaders Gold level
Discover luxury at the 4-star Splendid Hotel & Spa Nice, perfectly perched in the city centre within easy reach the famed Galeries Lafayette and Massena Museum.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking garage
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot tub
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Highchairs available
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Filipino, Italian and 2 more
1342Reviews45Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 384
  • 542
  • 248
  • 93
  • 75
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ade S wrote a review Nov 2022
Llandudno, United Kingdom15 contributions
+1
Stayed in Rm 718 from the 3rd Nov to the 6th Nov' 22. Premium room on the side of the building and quite at night, apart from the odd police or ambulance going past. Checked in was quick & easy, paid our room tax on arrival. We had B&B only. Hotel, lovely staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast has a good choice, that we were satisfied with. Didn't use the spa or bar. Hotel situated well for the city & beach. Tram stop from airport was 5 minutes walk away (make sure you have change as its €1.50 per person, it saves using you debit or credit card). Remember to validate your tickets in the machine on board. The train station is 10/15 minutes walk away. We used this to get to Monaco. Again used our credit card as quicker, took a few minutes to get the tickets, they want your mobile number and email address in case there is a problem. Recommend going to the old town in Nice and trying the street food. We ate at a restaurant in the city, plenty to choose from and lots need to be booked. Monaco was a lot of walking and we explored it all with lunch at The Holel de Paris Monte- Carlo, fantastic to say the least. We then went over to the Les Casino, Monte Carlo. Remember to take your passport to go in to the casino. You pay €13 each to get in but you get a €10 voucher back towards a drink or to use in the casino. I had a Vodka Martini, shaken but not stirred! Trains going back early evening can be very busy so go early or later.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel TSCHANN, Directeur général at Splendid Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Bonjour Thanks a lot for your kind comments and advices for fellow travelers ! I was delighted to know you enjoyed ou terraces and location ,.......... and of course we hope to welcome you again You shall always find our best rates and choices on splendid-nice.com and meanwhile keep in touch on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter Have a Splendid day! Mauro
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gregory M wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Solo traveler Reception was great Top floor outdoor area was fantastic Staff really nice Harmony room was a little basic but was fine for traveling on my own Nice walk to Sea Front and near Galerie Lafayette
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel TSCHANN, Directeur général at Splendid Hotel & Spa
Responded Oct 25, 2022
Bonjour Thanks a lot for your kind comments ! I was delighted to know you enjoyed ou terraces and location ,.......... and of course we hope to welcome you again; you shall always find our best rates and choices on splendid-nice.com and meanwhile keep in touch on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter Thanks again and have a splendid evening Mauro
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vengirl13 wrote a review Oct 2022
35 contributions30 helpful votes
My big mistake in booking this very inaptly named hotel was not to read the reviews on TripAdvisor. Had I I done so I certainly would never have booked this hotel for our holiday. Unfortunately I have learnt the hard way and will never make this mistake again. I cannot stress enough to other holidaymakers how important it is to read reviews but you should also use your discretion before making any decisions. There is always the possibility that some of the reviews are not genuine. The hotel was quick enough to take our money as soon as we arrived which really surprised us. We have been staying on many occasions in a 4-star hotel in Paris and never ever have we been asked to pay in advance. However after 11 days at the Splendid Hotel we can understand why this procedure was in place. Obviously we are not the first ones with valid complaints. By getting the cash upfront they are guaranteed their money - the customer has no leverage in case of a dispute. In our case in spite of being confirmed by email that our special requests would be met they were not and we ended up in a room that was horrifically noisy and from our point of view completely ruined the holiday. They then offered us another change of room and failed to understand why we would not want to change for the 3rd time in 11 days while on holiday. The very fact that Philip at the desk did not understand why we did not want to take up the offer of a third different room shows a total lack of understanding of the Hospitality trade.Personally I do not know how the lady (and she knows who she is) who made our booking can sleep in her bed knowing she messed up our holiday to such an extent. She claimed she gave us an upgraded room. Yes it did have a fancy label on the door that says 'deluxe room'. I will leave you to decide whether the following failures in the room amount to a 4-star hotel room or even 3 stars. 1. more or less non-existent Wi-Fi despite being told on a couple of occasions this would be improved if never was. It is also included in the hotel's listing - "free high-speed internet". 2. Very poor housekeeping with balcony only cleaned on last day. 3. Tiny little bedside tables with very damaged paintwork in the utilitarian built in wardrobes. 4. curtain falling off the track 5 blind in bathroom required fixing 6. and last but not least this ghastly noise coming from the street . I sent an email to the hotel with a list of all our complaints. We were offered the ludicrous figure of €50 compensation lol... Bear in mind that the hotel for 11 night stay was €2,500 including taxes. We consider this offer as totally derisory. WE CERTAINLY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel TSCHANN, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa
Responded Oct 9, 2022
Bonjour Thanks a lot for your comments, and sorry about these difficulties: as you mention, we tried to adress your difficulties when you were here and offered to give you another room which you refused You were upgraded to a Deluxe room with no supplement; its price was 274€/night so 2740€ for 10 days So the upgrade from Premium to Deluxe , carries a discount of 550€ as your Premium room was 219€/night We indeed offered you a 50 euros refund which you refused; the offer still stand Have a splendid day
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peterodonohoe wrote a review Oct 2022
Dublin, Ireland211 contributions134 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here with my wife for a romantic weekend away in August. We picked it based on location - slightly back off the main promenade so less touristy and also we really wanted the use of an outdoor pool. The check in was a poor experience. Everyone was waiting beyond 4pm and we were made wait an extra 30 mins or more because I ordered the romantic welcome but in advance. It should have been ready. There was a very unpleasant conversation happening between one customer and the reception as we waited. Beyond that the room is lovely, the balcony was lovely to have and we enjoyed the stay. The air con wasn’t great, we needed to request the reception to check it. The automatic shutters in the room are great. Also, we didn’t use it but you can watch Netflix in the room. The breakfast upon the roof every morning was nice and the pool is great. There is a jacuzzi also. It’s just so nice to sit there after sight seeing and relax with a drink. Really enjoyed the stay, would recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Allow time for check in
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel TSCHANN, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa
Responded Oct 3, 2022
Bonjour thanks a lot for your kind comments, repeated on Google ! I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and again apologize for the delays in check in , and of course we hope to welcome you again; you shall always find our best rates and choices on splendid-nice.com and meanwhile keep in touch on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter Thanks again and have a splendid evening
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L9094EOjuliak wrote a review Sep 2022
7 contributions10 helpful votes
The price-performance ratio was not right at all. The hotel is getting on in years, the rooms were not particularly clean, the shower mouldy. The ceiling height in the room is a maximum of 2 metres. And all this even though we had a premium room. Pay attention to your bills - the reception tried to charge more from the beginning (garage, a third breakfast although only 2 nights there, etc). We do not recommend staying at this hotel for the high prices.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Please check the bill in the end precisely, they tried to charge a multiple compared to what we...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel TSCHANN, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa
Responded Sep 26, 2022
Bonjour thanks a lot for your comments; ceiling height is on average 2.50 meters; prices vary a lot and as September is very busy the prices are higher but I assume you knew them when you booked; I apologize if there were some cleaning difficulties,.......... and of course we hope to welcome you again; you shall always find our best rates and choices on splendid-nice.com and meanwhile keep in touch on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter Thanks again and have a splendid evening
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ceebee51 wrote a review Sep 2022
Chicago, Illinois215 contributions131 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay at the Splendid and think it may be underrated in TripAdvisor. It is a good value, not too far from the sea and it was perfectly serviceable in every way. Breakfasts were pretty good. Rooftop pool was nice (although crowded and not perfect). Service was fine. I'm not confident that there are any better choices in Nice for someone who wants a good value and has even a modicum of price sensitivity. Admittedly, you can do better if money is no object.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel TSCHANN, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa
Responded Sep 23, 2022
Bonjour thanks a lot for your kind comments ! I was delighted to know you enjoyed ou terraces and location ,.......... and of course we hope to welcome you again; you shall always find our best rates and choices on splendid-nice.com and meanwhile keep in touch on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter Thanks again and have a splendid evening
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve Buckley wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom5577 contributions1000 helpful votes
+1
My wife and myself - travelling as part of a 24-strong Great Railways Group - spent last night at the Splendid Hotel & Spa in Nice - a 10 minute walk from both the Railway Station (where we arrived the previous evening from Paris) and the outstanding Promenade des Anglais (not to be missed!). No doubt the Hotel was splendid in its heyday but the rooms are a little tired but - that said - perfectly comfortable with plenty of hot water. The Hotel’s greatest asset are (despite recent Reviews!!) are the staff! A good example being our late arrival (around 2200 hours) but the Hotel kept the 8th Floor Restaurant (great views of the City as we discovered over a very good Breakfast this morning!) open and we not only an excellent 3 course dinner but one accompanied by excellent and user-friendly service. The same applies to the Reception Staff who could not have been more accommodating. As such, I certainly would have no qualms in paying a return visit!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel TSCHANN, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa
Responded Sep 23, 2022
Bonjour thanks a lot for your kind comments ! I was delighted to know you enjoyed ou terraces and location and our flexibility ! ,.......... and of course we hope to welcome you again; you shall always find our best rates and choices on splendid-nice.com and meanwhile keep in touch on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter Thanks again and have a splendid evening
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Todd K wrote a review Sep 2022
Nice, France6 contributions5 helpful votes
Horrible customer service, just horrible. After a positive experience with Hotel Splendid earlier in the year, I chose to reserve again for contractors that would be doing some work on my apartment. When I arrived to meet the gentlemen that would be staying in the room, they informed me that the room was only 1 bed and that the truck could not fit in the parking lot. I attempted to figure out and pay for the room but was told I could only do so after check-in, even though I had made those same arrangements earlier in the year. I reviewed my reservation, and it was specifically for a Family Room, which they finally were able to get. Regarding parking, I will admit that I should have looked at the parking limitations, but I was asked if they could help in finding alternate parking, and they said "no" that was the "Tant pis!" moment that has stuck with me and soured my experience with this hotel. I had a problem and they all but said "too bad" to my face. No attempt to help or aid. I am dumbfounded at the lack of concern. Finally, if this was not already a problem, I get the bill only to see that they have overcharged me. They added breakfast costs, even though it was in the reservation booking, and charged incorrect city tax. I have sent the information to them in hopes that they will refund the difference, but I am not hopeful that it will happen. I love Nice so much that I chose to move here. The hotel is 1 block from my apartment and the most convenient resource I have for when guests visit, I will never utilize this hotel again and I encourage anyone to look elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: This is too far from the beach to be at this price point. Would suggest Best Western options...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel TSCHANN, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa
Responded Sep 13, 2022
Bonjour Thanks a lot for your kind comments; the breakfast charges are indeed a mistake and we have reimbursed you with our apologies for this mistake As you mentioned you were allocated the family room you booked Our garage is underground and it is clearly mentioned that the maximum height is 1,90 meters; I can understand you were upset, and apologize if we did not show enough consideration; we do have an open air parking in our hotel Gounod next door which we could have booked if we had known about the size of your vehicle We hope to welcome you again nevertheless: you shall always find our best conditions on our website as you did, and meanwhile, keep in touch on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter Have a splendid evening
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveller wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
We arrived and were given suite 420 with a non-functioning air conditioner, mould on the walls (see attached pictures) and a terrible smell in the room and outside in the hallway. There is no way that the hotel did not know the room was uninhabitable but they chance their luck. Complained about the room and was offered a double room as apposed to the suite we had booked. Refused a double room as we could not fit 4 people. Finally was given suite 702 which also had mould but was bearable with a semi-working air conditioner. Having stayed for 11 nights I can honestly say I will never stay here again. It is advertised and charged as a 4 star hotel but in reality it is more like 2.5 stars in my opinion. Roof area is small and pool is very very deep, shallowest part is 1.85m so you cannot stand, deepest part is 2.4m. Useless if you have small children or are not a strong swimmer. Also nowhere to hold onto the sides comfortably. Hot tub is tiny, 3 adults will be rubbing together. Bar area is nice, good view and the band on Saturday night is excellent. Gym is very limited but good air conditioning - unlike the rest of the hotel. Staff are helpful, but you can sense their frustration at the state of the place. No compensation was offered for our inconvenience and hassles. The hotel claimed that we were "upgraded" to a better suite which is not true as the size and furnishings were equivalent to the first suite we were given albeit less mould and an air conditioner that semi-worked... on the hottest days it was 35 degrees Celsius outside and 27 degrees Celsius in the room. The bed was awful, too soft and uneven, woke up every morning with back pain. Rooms were very well cleaned but often did not replenish consumables and had to ask from reception or go without.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: As soon as you enter room, make sure air conditioner works and there is no mould and does not...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel TSCHANN, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Bonjour Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and us know about your experience with us I am very sorry about these difficulties: we indeed had a difficulty getting spare parts for one of our air conditioning unit and we tried our best by giving you another suite, which contrary to the first one had a balcony Again, our very sincere apologies
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Baljeet D wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
Good Rooftop pool and jacuzzi. Restaurant is on the rooftop. Don’t leave your food unattended outside as the seagulls will take it as I found out to my cost! There was a smell of sewage outside the hotel which I could smell in our room on the 5th floor. We were moved to the 2nd floor for one night and then the 4th floor after that. None of the bathroom doors have locks on them. Gym is very poor. 10 min from the beach and the train station. This is a tired old hotel that is doing it’s best. I would stay elsewhere next time I go to Nice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel TSCHANN, General Manager at Splendid Hotel & Spa
Responded Aug 23, 2022
Bonjour thanks a lot for your kind comments ! I was delighted to know you enjoyed ou terraces and location , I have noted your positive critics and we shall work on them........... and of course we hope to welcome you again; you shall always find our best rates and choices on gounod-nice.com and meanwhile keep in touch on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter Thanks again and have a splendid evening michel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$77 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
splendid hotel and spa, splendid hotel nice
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurFrench Riviera - Cote d'AzurNiceMusiciens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
128
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SPLENDID HOTEL & SPA $67 ($̶1̶7̶8̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Nice, France

Frequently Asked Questions about Splendid Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Splendid Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Musée Massena (0.2 miles), Blue Beach (0.3 miles), and Bay Side (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Splendid Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Splendid Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Splendid Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Splendid Hotel & Spa?
Yes, a parking garage is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Splendid Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Cucina Nice, L'Alchimie Restaurant, and Indian Curry & Tandoori.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Splendid Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Splendid Hotel & Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Nice.
Are any cleaning services offered at Splendid Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Splendid Hotel & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Splendid Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.