We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau de la Chevre d'Or

Save
Share
Rue du Barri, 06360 Èze France
Lowest prices for your stay
Only 1 left at
$355
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Only 4 left at
$429
View deal
Orbitz.com
Travelocity$355
Trip.com$513
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1281)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (305)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 6 hotels in Èze
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
3.9
Travelers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Solarium
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
1078Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 814
  • 149
  • 58
  • 38
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Meg S wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
My husband and I stayed here on a couples trip. We had been to the village of Eze a few years prior and thought the views were so incredible, we wanted to come back. Seeing that Chèvre d'Or was 5 stars, we booked 2 nights as a no brainer expecting 5 star service from Relais & Chateau. Our check in attendant was sick and coughed all over our check in paperwork, pen, key and then accompanied us to our room where she coughed all over our room and white room service tablet. Upon check in we had a room category with an upgrade but were told that due to a wedding, we could not be upgraded. usually this wouldn't be a big deal, but we were supposed to have a very filtered partial view. They should have given us the option to upgrade the following day to a new room, but they did not. For $710 a night, you'd think you would have some sort of a view. Our view was obstructed by a rooftop over the main restaurant and AC units. The doors to the rooms are not private from the public village paths of Eze so any public visitor can walk by your room at any time. The doors and keys are very old and it makes you lose trust in your safety. The room service menu is a joke, there are 3 items on the "all day" menu and they are sub par considering the hotel restaurants have 2 Michelin stars. When we checked in on Saturday, I called the concierge to make a dinner reservation and they told me there was nothing available due to the wedding and when I asked for a backup plan suggestion we could walk to I was told they had no options for me. The hotel grounds and public area furniture are not kept up to 5 star standards. The pools are dirty with leaves and foliage. Only 1 of 2 pools was heated and the second one felt like a cold plunge (if you're into that, its great, but most people are not). There is ZERO pool service. They have phones in boxes around the pool area, but you have to call to ask for anything such as water or other beverages. The pool towels are self serve. The pool umbrellas are also self serve and too heavy for a normal person to lift or situate. I went to the "gym" to work out and there was a water jug but no cups to fill it with. There were no water bottles to suffice. There are no mats or free weights. While the rooms are unique and provide medieval charm, I do not think they are worth the cost. I'm sure the suites are far better but I'd never come back and pay the rates they charge knowing the service around the common grounds is lacking in every category. If you go to Eze, come for the day and take a taxi or drive to another hotel close by. I did not attend the 2 Michelin star restaurant myself but our friend went last week and said they "left hungry and unsatisfied after spending $1,000 on 2 people". Sadly we were underwhelmed and could think of many other places for the price that we'd rather be. My husband called it "Disneyland hotel of the French Riviera". The hotel is riding on their views and Relais and Chateaux brand and is not fulfilling their end of FIVE STAR standards. We are not sad to check out tomorrow and move to a true 5 star hotel. What a disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Get a luxury suite or don't go at all
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
193jenns wrote a review Sep 2022
36 contributions31 helpful votes
I have eaten here several times over the years but had never previously had the chance to stay. It is a wonderful hotel with the rooms set in the village of Eze The grounds and views are beautiful and our room was gorgeous. They also have a small gym, which I think is quite recent and I was really pleased that they now have one. I would recommend anyone to stay here and hope to return myself. Just make sure and wear flat shoes for the steep cobbled streets.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chevredor Manager, Directeur général at Château de la Chèvre d'Or
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erin K wrote a review Sep 2022
14 contributions7 helpful votes
I traveled with a group of girlfriends and spent 3 nights in Eze. One of my friends found Chevre d'Or and I am so glad she did. The hotel is beautiful, it surrounds the town of Eze and has the most stunning views of the coast and town, each turn provided us a new breathtaking view. Chevre d'Or has 2 Michelin rated restaurants, and is close to several wonderful restaurants in the village. My friend and I stayed in Room 1 which had 2 twin beds. This was a very unique room that was built into the mountain with cave like archways in the bedroom and bathroom. The only drawback was the bathroom which was located up a narrow iron spiral staircase on the second level which got hot during the day and after a shower. The vanity in the bathroom was also too low due to the cavelike walls the mirror was built into, making it difficult to get ready in the bathroom. A separate vanity outside the bathroom provided a better set up for getting ready in the morning. The uniqueness of this particular room coupled with the beauty of the hotel and its stunning grounds made up for everything, and our stay was incredible, I would absolutely stay at Chevre d'Or again and would recommend this beautiful place to anyone visiting the lovely town of Eze!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chevredor Manager, Directeur général at Château de la Chèvre d'Or
Responded 3 days ago
We would like to thank you for your comment and recommendation. It is wonderful to know how much our guests enjoy the uniqueness of our rooms and location . We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elinco1234 wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The Chevre d’Or is completely unique. It is a gorgeous property- with many steps and terraces to explore. There are gardens and small sitting areas around every turn- all wondrous finds and all with breathtaking views of the mediterranean. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. The staff was wonderful and accommodating- and it cannot be easy for them to navigate all the steps and alleyways while carrying supplies! The whole experience is uniquely private as there are many quiet little spots throughout. We had all meals at the terrace and the food was delicious! The town of eze is absolutely charming. We loved the Chevre d’Or and we will plan to return while we are still young and fit enough to navigate its beautiful steps, turns, and alleys.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chevredor Manager, Directeur général at Château de la Chèvre d'Or
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you very much for your kind words. It means a lot. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SimpleTastesBest wrote a review Aug 2022
Hilversum, The Netherlands7 contributions1 helpful vote
The bathroom was filthy, the table on balcony wobbled, the little midlevel side-streets were littered with cigerette butts, the non-Michele star restaurant was a disappointment, and on the last day of our stay there were workmen outside our window sawing tiles for the continuing renovations that the place needs. Young staff (and foreign-born) excellent, older were a bit sour. It something was wrong it was the customer's fault. Stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chevredor Manager, Directeur général at Château de la Chèvre d'Or
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a wonderful experience at Château de la Chèvre d'Or. Our location is unique and we can not anticipate what is happening in the public street of the village. We will follow with the staff to make sure these details are taking care of. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma B wrote a review Aug 2022
Coulsdon, United Kingdom19 contributions6 helpful votes
We decided to take a quick couple of days at this hotel (being a family of 5 with 2 dogs). The hotel staff were amazing, rooms were exceptionally clean, food excellent - especially when we ordered the fish special with salad. It does have a lot of stairs which certainly gave us all a work out! (and made us appreciate the efforts of the staff running around even more!)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chevredor Manager, Directeur général at Château de la Chèvre d'Or
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Château de la Chèvre d'Or. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
H4735Advisor wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
Some facts I can relate about my stay: - Great location & view. Nice restaurants. - The quality and cleaniness of the room was ok but not excellent. I've shared many small improvements with the hotel staff. - Hotel parking is really tiny and too small for both hotel guests and restaurant clients. Priority is apparently given to Restaurant clients. Hotel staff will not hesitate to park your high end car in the street with no consideration for potential damages by third parties (which actually occurs occasionally) - Restaurant clients are a mix of hotel clients and clients from outside - Staff is nice and professional. However service quality (outside the Chèvre d’Or Gourmet Restaurant) is ok but not outstanding compared to similar hotels. Unless you speak a foreign language, restaurant/bar staff seem to assume you're not staying at the hotel (and will consider you accordingly...) before you sign the bill. I felt more welcome after signing the bill, which is a bit late.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chevredor Manager, Directeur général at Château de la Chèvre d'Or
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments and feedbacks. We will make sure to share them with the staff. Regarding the parking, it is indeed very limited due to our location and we recommend all of our guests to use transfers when possible to make their journey and daily explorations easier.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
harlemfamily wrote a review Aug 2022
New York City, New York697 contributions471 helpful votes
What an amazing destination! The views are spectacular, from all areas of the hotel and from the balcony of our room. Our room -- a junior suite - was spacious and comfortable. Enormous bathroom! Comfortable bed and bedding! But most importantly - an amazing view. We had breakfast on the terrace overlooking the spectacular view, and dined twice at the Gourmet restaurant. The dinners were among the best during our trip, and the wine was fabulous. A truly amazing destination and a wonderful conclusion to our vacation!! (BTW - quite close to Nice airport...) The only downside was that it was challenging to sit by the pool and could not find someone to help us...Also the drinks at the bar were unimpressive and expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chevredor Manager, Directeur général at Château de la Chèvre d'Or
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your feedback and constructive feedback. We appreciate it and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back for another amazing stay. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patch wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Amazing view but everything else was awful. Food terrible, old fashioned room with bad smelling drains, jacuzzi which flooded the terrace twice, limited room menu service, dirty sun loungers, no pool bar or service, unhelpful concierge and reception. Don’t bother spending the money here as there are so many better places to visit for the huge expense. Great shame as it must have been wonderful once.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Chevredor Manager, Directeur général at Château de la Chèvre d'Or
Responded Jul 25, 2022
Thank you very much for your comment. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a wonderful experience during your visit as the majority of our guests do. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and change your memories for the better.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TheoMonk wrote a review Jul 2022
Vence, France53 contributions44 helpful votes
We checked in with friends visiting us in France. We arrived around noon and thought it would be nice to enjoy lunch at the property once we saw how charming it looked. The hostess informed us they had a high-top bar table "take it or leave it" were her words, not mine. I thought that she was a bit brusk saying that but we agreed. We walked to the patio and the restaurant was about 1/3 full. The staff in the restaurant was much more accommodating and moved us to a table after a bit. The lunch was very nice. We were a bit taken aback by the hotel not saving any tables for hotel guests last minute or not. We made plans to meet our friends at the same spot in the evening before dinner in their Michelin restaurant. We were walking up to meet our friends and they were leaving saying they were told they could not save seats and they had to vacate!! We were astonished that paying guests were not allowed to sit when tourists from outside the hotel are allowed to take over the place. The whole bar was full of people not staying at the hotel!! We normally love Relais & Chateaux but this whole experience was new to us. The whole place is like a Disneyland for Americans!! We wanted and expected something a bit more romantic and were very disappointed. A gentleman did finally find 4 seats for us after my husband had a meltdown over the service. We were just expecting something much different from what we got. We will never return. The "working" staff was very nice but the problems come from management obviously. They have no concern or regard for guests of the property. It is survival of the fittest!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chevredor Manager, Directeur général at Château de la Chèvre d'Or
Responded Jul 13, 2022
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate it. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectation. We do try to accommodate all of our guests and this is why we ask on all our booking confirmations for our hotel guests to book any lunch or dinner in advance to avoid any disappointment once on site. Indeed during the pick season our restaurants are on high demand and space is limited. Of course our hotel guests are our priority, but we need to also consider the guests that have reserved ahead of time, although they are not staying at the hotel. It is the same at the bar, as many visitors want to stop for a drink. We do have to find the balance each day between visitors and hotel guests while space is limited. We are sorry if obviously we were not able to do that the day of your visit. We are pleased to hear however that our staff tried to accommodate you the best they could and find solutions although it was not the experience you expected. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you and meet your expectation as we do care very much for our guests and want the best for them. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$301 - $894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau de la chevre d`or hotel, chateau chevre d
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurFrench Riviera - Cote d'AzurÈze
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Château de la Chèvre d'Or
Which popular attractions are close to Château de la Chèvre d'Or?
Nearby attractions include Deli' (0.07 miles), Le Jardin Exotique d'Eze (0.05 miles), and Vieux Eze (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Château de la Chèvre d'Or?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Château de la Chèvre d'Or?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Château de la Chèvre d'Or?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Château de la Chèvre d'Or?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Château de la Chèvre d'Or?
Conveniently located restaurants include Château Eza, La Chevre d'Or, and Mets Vins Chics.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Château de la Chèvre d'Or?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Château de la Chèvre d'Or have airport transportation?
Yes, Château de la Chèvre d'Or offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Château de la Chèvre d'Or located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.02 miles away from the center of Èze.
Are any cleaning services offered at Château de la Chèvre d'Or?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Château de la Chèvre d'Or?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.