We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
58 la Croisette Cs 40052, 06414 Cannes France
Update from hotel: This property is temporarily closed until 10/24/2022.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (1942)
Room & Suite (395)
Dining (136)

About

#18 of 129 hotels in Cannes
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.4
Value
3.6
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Beach
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Classic
2477Reviews37Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,339
  • 608
  • 278
  • 128
  • 124
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Victor B wrote a review Aug 2
Heemstede, The Netherlands5 contributions2 helpful votes
this hotel will be re-opened in May 2023. We have staid here many nights in many years. Always with happiness as if we come home. But the hotel was going to loose its glance as the years have made it old. Even that has his charm was too much old dated. We are looking forward now for the end of the renovation in May coming year. We are sure that the hotel will be gerat again as the old Palace energy will be still there. Till soon ! Victor
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tindra H wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
While not modern in any sense, or "scandi-chic," this hotel is a true classic, in every sense of the word. This haven, which was featured prominently in the film To Catch a Thief, will remind you of that movie's elegance at every turn of the corner. The lobby, beach, dining room, and service all live up to the hype. There are other hotels with a more modern flare and amenities, but if luxury and style are your thing, and it should be if you're staying anywhere in the Côte d'Azur, I recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giuseppe Vincelli , Directeur général at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 742tindrah, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions on the iconic Carlton Cannes! Indeed, our Grande Dame has always been respectful for its heritage! It is now on its great metamorphosis and will reopen on Spring 2023. We are so much looking forward to having you back for a new experience with us! Kind regards, Giuseppe Vincelli General Manager
Read more
Ghadah Abdulazi... A wrote a review Jan 2021
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia4 contributions1 helpful vote
My hart is mealting ,,im in love with the city .and the place. great ,best,clean ,will furnished , place to stay in cannes. i recommand this proprty for sure ,love and i will certunly come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Giuseppe Vincelli , Propriétaire at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel
Responded May 21, 2021
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this outstanding review . We are delighted to read that you are in love with our hotel. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back after the renovations in 2023. Kind regards, Giuseppe Vincelli General Manager
Read more
Aracori wrote a review Oct 2020
Poland19 contributions49 helpful votes
After a bad stay in another hotel, we had to book at the Carlton hotel, we were very well received, they comforted us with the city of Cannes, we were staying in a very beautiful room offering a magnificent view of the sea, all the staff were very good and very helpful not like in other palaces, we will come back soon
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Giuseppe Vincelli , Owner at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel
Responded Oct 8, 2020
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this outstanding review on your recent visit at IC Carlton . We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The recognition of our guests is the best reward we could get. I will share your praises with the entire team who will be thrilled to hear your kind words, Kind regards Giuseppe Vincelli General Manager
Read more
Sharan S wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Looks more aesthetically pleasing from the outside than it is on the inside. The rooms are dated and old-looking. It is well located. The service is the worst bit (more specifically the beach club and breakfast), staff were rude and slow (45 mins to get a menu, glass of water etc.)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Giuseppe Vincelli , Owner at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel
Responded Aug 31, 2020
Dear 253sharans, Thank you for taking the time for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure to read you enjoyed the location of our hotel in the heart of the bay of Cannes. However, we are sorry about the service issues you mention. Please accept our apologies, and rest assured we put daily effort into correcting those. We hope we will have the opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next stay in Cannes. Kind regards, Giuseppe Vincelli, General Manager
Read more
Paul V wrote a review Aug 2020
Warsaw, Poland8 contributions14 helpful votes
We have spent 2 months on the Côte d’Azur going from town to town, enjoying the re-awakening of the riviera after the lockdown. During this period, we have seen around 20 of the best hotels in the Provence-Alpes-Côte, and we noticed that there is an unspoken understanding with hotels: we book a simple room category, but directly with the hotel, not via Booking.com In 9 out of 10 cases, the hotel treats us well, we usually get a 1-2 category upgrade, and nice spacious rooms. After the Hotel de Paris in Monaco, our next stop is Carlton Cannes. Check-in is friendly: good voiturier, beautiful lobby. Receptionist starts good with“welcome back mr van Arkel, as a valued member of intercontinental guest program”, but then proceeds to try to sell us on room upgrade. We booked (2 weeks ago) without sea view, as sea view was (from memory) 800 EUR more expensive. It turns out that we can actually get the same upgrade for 250 now.. We decline, a nice room is good enough for us, we will get our sea view outside, on the beach, thank you very much. The offer does leave a lingering question in our minds though, imagine if how betrayed you must feel if you booked the sea-view room from the get-go, and then find out you massively overpaid upon getting to the hotel. As we get to the room, we get - in fairness - exactly what we were promised. A view of the building site behind the hotel. That is fair, we did decline to pay for sea view after all. However, we also get the worst possible room in our category. Looking at the hotel floor plan, it is clearly the smallest room with the worst view of the entire hotel. Moreover, it is smallest, darkest double room of the entire summer, which has clearly not been renovated in decades (for example, after 2 months of traveling, this is the first bath room from the shower curtain era). We nickname it Johnny Depps Broom Closet, as the only “New” feature in the room is a 10-year old picture of Johnny Depp on the red carpet of the film festival. Such a downer, it feels like this hotel has forgotten how to “delight” customers. Other hotels are eager to please the few tourists that DO come to the Côte d’Azur. They provide the nicest, largest rooms inside the category, and even 1-2 category upgrades. They invest in keeping the rooms up to date. The Hotel de Paris in Monte Carlo was a great example in this regard. They provided us with an upgrade to a “partial sea view” room, bright, spacious, newly renovated. In comparison, the Carlton Intercontinental Cannes gives the impression that they are stuck in the old days of “squeeze the tourist” - is the assumption really that guests will not come back anyway, and will not leave reviews? What makes you think we are not influencers? Why insist on giving a direct-booking guest the worst room in the house?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Giuseppe Vincelli , Owner at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 2, 2020
Dear PaulV437, We thank you for staying at the Carlton and sharing your comments. They are of great importance in evaluating and improving our services to maintain a high level of hospitality. We regret not to have met your expectations and duly noted all your comments in order to welcome you back in better conditions. Kind regards, Giuseppe Vincelli General Manager
Read more
mohamed basma wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom58 contributions101 helpful votes
This is a property where you are judged by your name,your social class,and origine. Its well known south of France have always had problems with its immigrants but i d never have expected this in an Intercontinental hotel. I ve been top loyal guest with Intercontinental for 20 years plus and travelled the world,and always felt at home . Few years back i stayed at Carlton Cannes and despite being Royal ambassador i was treated like crap,the security staff kept stopping me each time and asking me question,when i invited my french friends for lunch ,no one stop or ask them a question. This time i invited my friend who was so excited to stay at Carlton and to no big surprise,arriving alone he was harassed and treated like a crap. The hotel requesting from my friend to present them with copy of my ID since i wasnt there yet. I am wondering if the manager of this property or any of its staff will feel confortable handing over copies of their passport to friends,maybe they should be sent for training about identity theft and fraud. As mentioned before this property is looking for guests with Louis Vuitton bags,Dior dress,Rolex watches,and that really stinks. My friend might be from modest class and humiliating him at check in is unforgivable,i can stand my ground if bullied or badly treated cause i have the means. Certainly i will never set feet in this property again,happy i didnt pay for the stay,let them earn peanuts from IHG. And let me remind the manager and staff who seems completely ignorant about IHG rules,the so called GOODWILL upgrade is my benefit as SPIRE ELITE member so stop your charity and get some manners how to treat all people equally regardless or class,religion or colour.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Giuseppe Vincelli , Owner at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel
Responded Sep 2, 2020
Dear Mohamedb125, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback. We are very saddened to read that you were disappointed by your stay. We would like to assure you that this reflects in no way the high standards of quality we strive to achieve for our guests and we are truly sorry that you were not able to experience this. We regret not to have met your expectations and duly noted all your comments in order to welcome you back in better conditions. Kind regards, Giuseppe Vincelli General Manager
Read more
JonathanKingOfHits wrote a review Jul 2020
London, United Kingdom361 contributions189 helpful votes
Try the Artichoke Vinaigrette. Fabulous lamb the day I had lunch. Great service; I was welcomed with a huge, free fruit rum cocktail. Nicely relaxed and not too full; I recognised many regulars (60 years for me). A wonderful way to watch the cruise ships and the swimmers.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Giuseppe Vincelli , Propriétaire at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel
Responded Aug 5, 2020
Dear JonathanKingofHits, Thank you for your faithfulness. The hotel reopened on August 1st. It's a pleasure to read about your satisfaction. Do not hesitate to post your comments about the Carlton Beach club on the Tripadisor Carlton Beach Club page. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Giuseppe Vincelli General Manager
Read more
James wrote a review Jun 2020
London, United Kingdom387 contributions131 helpful votes
Opened in 1913, the Carlton is one of the most famous hotels in the world and has been the home away from home for many a film star over the past 70 years since the annual Cannes Film Festival premiered in 1946. The hotel itself has starred in numerous movies, including Elton John’s 1982 music video for ‘I’m Still Standing’. And still standing the Carlton very much is. The property’s grand yet welcoming façade on La Croisette was having a billboard removed by a crane to mark the end of the season as our Uber pulled up outside, and so we were unable to drive right up to the entrance. Despite this, porters rushed to take our bags and escort us up to the hotel, depositing us at reception immediately to the left of the revolving entrance door. The Carlton’s foyer, as with the rest of the property, is serenely grand, yet fairly intimate. The interior design is undeniably long past its prime (dated is perhaps too harsh a word to use), but everything is generally well kept and in good condition – in public areas, at least. An atmosphere of historic grandeur seeps from every corner, and guests feel quite literally as though they are standing in the footsteps of the rich and famous who’ve occupied the property in days gone by – some a distant memory, and some not so long ago. Whilst there was a signed IHG Priority reception desk, I couldn’t see a dedicated Ambassador one; in any case, there was only one receptionist on duty so this was a moot point. A short wait later, we were promptly checked in, with directions to the restaurant, beauty and fitness centre and lifts given and the offer of IHG Elite welcome points or a welcome drink voucher. When a property doesn’t have a Club InterContinental lounge (as is the case at the Carlton) or I don’t have Club access included in my rate, I tend to accept the drink voucher over the points, and this afternoon was no exception. On request, the receptionist was happy to provide two vouchers, which for Platinum Elite members (as I was at the time of travelling) included a choice of sparkling or house wine, beer or soft drink from the Carlton Bar. Gold Elite members have to make do without the sparkling wine, whilst Spire Elite members can also choose from a cocktail. Opposite reception, a near-identical desk is home to the concierge, whilst off to the right of the foyer is the Carlton Bar and Carlton Restaurant beyond. A staircase sweeps up to the beauty and fitness centre and guest floors to the right hand side of the lift lobby, with a small business centre tucked in underneath. The floral centrepiece of the foyer during our stay was an elegant pink display in recognition of Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Our fourth floor Deluxe room was a one-category upgrade from our booked Superior room, and the highest category room available before moving into suites (of which there are unsurprisingly many at the Carlton in various sizes, with Prestige Suites being named after famous guests). At an average of 30 square metres, Deluxe rooms are in fact slightly smaller than Superior rooms, although are still a little larger than Standard rooms. Despite the size anomaly, Deluxe rooms benefit from significantly enhanced views with impressive 180-degree panoramas of the Mediterranean as opposed to the ‘city view’ offered by Superior rooms, which one assumes is likely to be the side of an adjacent building. Our room was towards the larger end of the range for Deluxe rooms at around 35 square metres, with high ceilings and interior design unaltered for several decades. The Carlton has long been rumoured for a full refurbishment in order for it to once again truly compete with Cannes’s other luxury hotels, but it’s only in recent years that this has commenced with two new hotel wings under construction at the rear of the property to include a new conference centre and rooftop swimming pool. Any sign of refurbishment has yet to make its way into the original building, and whilst public areas may have been well maintained over the years, time is visibly showing in guest rooms. Our room’s space was used effectively, with two armchairs paired around an occasional table taking full advantage of the bay window (always more welcome than one chair sandwiched into a corner), a large desk, minibar console, suitcase stand and an expansive in-built wardrobe running the full width of the bathroom wall offering ample storage space. The wardrobe included an ironing board with attached iron, although no receptacle was provided with which to fill the secured iron with water. We had requested a room with two beds, and whilst the room had been set up accordingly, I was disappointed that the headboard was sized for a double bed, meaning one bed had to make do without a headboard – a less than ideal experience. I’d requested a birthday gift to be placed in the room, and sure enough a very pleasant chocolate cake was waiting on the table, alongside a large bottle of complimentary mineral water (courtesy of my Ambassador status), a welcome card and welcome gift of lavender. A single additional small bottle of complimentary mineral water was available in the minibar, replaced daily; it’s incredibly stingy to only have one complimentary bottle with two guests in the room, and equally stingy not to replace the Ambassador mineral water each day despite this being a published benefit. Continuing this miserly theme, despite the presence of a Nespresso machine, only four complimentary capsules were provided for the entire stay, with additional capsules being available for purchase at an eye-watering cost. I’ve never seen this level of stinginess in any hotel before, let alone an InterContinental. The spoons provided with the coffee cups were rather unexpectedly plastic. No kettle or teabags were provided in the room, although room service were happy to provide a complimentary tray on request, with cups and teabags replaced daily. I will never understand why, in many properties, housekeeping do not replace water glasses each day (or skip the chocolates during turndown service for that matter). Being an older property, there were limited power sockets with none adjacent to the beds or at desk height, although the housekeeping team thoughtfully provided an extension socket for the kettle the following morning (along with hotel-branded bookmarks for our books). The TV was inexcusably tiny, a relic of the mid-2000s for sure. What the TV lacked in size, the bathroom made up for – large enough to house a separate shower stall when the hotel finally commences refurbishment of its original building, we made do for now with a powerful but undeniably over-bath shower, complete with dreaded shower curtain instead of a screen. Dual sinks, a bidet and bath robes were all present (with slippers in the wardrobe), along with standard Agraria amenities. There were no dental or shaving kits, although there was a hilariously dated wall-mounted hairdryer, so under-powered that a standalone hairdryer was provided on the desk to alleviate complaints no doubt. By this point, a leaky tap, half-functioning heated mirror and a door that didn’t close unless abruptly shoved were all to be expected. The following morning, breakfast was taken in the Carlton Restaurant, accessed either from the spiral staircase at the eastern end of the hotel or via the foyer through the Carlton Bar. In the summer season, the Carlton Terrace is home to a large outdoor seating area, although during our stay in the slightly colder climes of mid-October, a large enclosed tent (complete with partial sea view and bouncy floor) had been erected to provide additional seating during busy times. We had breakfast included in our rate, although the full buffet (including a variety of egg dishes available on request) is also available for EUR45 per person, with further à la carte options available to all at an additional cost. The buffet offered the usual broad selection of generally high quality items, although my requested fried eggs on toast that first morning arrived without toast. DIY toast is of course available on the buffet, but it’s impossible to time the toasting correctly to align it with the arrival of the eggs, so delivery together is always preferred. An omelette the following day was left mostly uneaten as it was terribly overcooked and tasted downright odd – we stuck solely to the buffet the following mornings. Service in the restaurant was generally a little slow and haphazard if well-intentioned. The Carlton Restaurant is closed each Sunday and Monday evening, which for a property with no other true restaurants leaves prospective diners a little stuck for choice in a town where most other restaurants are also closed for dinner on Sundays. Thus, we made do with a passable meal on the Sunday evening of our stay in the oddly-lit and devoid of atmosphere Carlton Bar, which nevertheless presented a good opportunity to utilise our welcome drink vouchers as well as take full advantage of the EUR15 Ambassador dining credit. One of the most personally valuable benefits of InterContinental Ambassador membership is the guaranteed extended checkout to 16:00. Checkout was handled promptly and efficiently at reception, with a Mercedes E-Class Uber whisking us back to Nice airport in short and comfortable order.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Giuseppe Vincelli , Propriétaire at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel
Responded Aug 5, 2020
Dear James G, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your past stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes. We also would like to thank you for your faithfullness towards the IHG Group. We are always concerned about every feedback of our guests and have taken careful note of all the various points outlined. Please be reassured that each individual comment will be followed up We hope to see you again in a near future for another stay in Cannes! Best regards, Giuseppe Vincelli General Manager
Read more
Nathan B wrote a review Jun 2020
Winchester, United Kingdom146 contributions105 helpful votes
So lucky to have stayed in this iconic hotel - it's everything you imagine plus more. From the manicured front landscaping, the smartly dressed doorman and bellboys - it's just like stepping back into time! Check in was great, my room was stunning with some great features, even a small balcony. Lovely soaking tub. Very clean. Loved the lounge and the beach restaurant was great for lunch. Superb service throughout!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Giuseppe Vincelli , Propriétaire at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel
Responded Aug 5, 2020
Dear Natanb884, First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes. I am really happy to learn that you had a wonderful time at the Carlton. It is always a pleasure to receive such a nice feedback. Be sure that your comments will be shared with the rest of the team in order to let them know they managed to reach your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon at the Carlton. Best regards from Sunny Cannes ! Giuseppe Vincelli General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental carlton cannes hotel cannes, intercontinental cannes, carlton cannes
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurFrench Riviera - Cote d'AzurCannes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
343
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include La Croisette (0.2 miles), Rue d'Antibes (0.2 miles), and Le Bar a Vin (0.3 miles).
Is parking available at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Bouche à Oreille (BÀO), Mademoiselle Gray Plage Barriere, and Uva.
Is InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Cannes.
Are there any historical sites close to InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Iles de Lerins (3.1 miles), Chateau de la Napoule / Musee Henry-Clews (4.6 miles), and Musee National Picasso La Guerre et La Paix (2.5 miles).
Does InterContinental Carlton Cannes, an IHG Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.